2017 Draft thread

Recruiting did brilliantly again.....Bailey was sensational in the allies win against Metro... will not be beaten....u are on the money mate,Bailey would not have lasted,and Higgins s not the midfielder we needed.Starcevich is highly regarded at East Perth,a great club,and we got him thanks to the unbelievable stupidity of the West Coast, who again have failed to address their crying need for fast midfielders. Don't think Geelong did well at all...doubts over most of theirs.Apart from Freeo,and StKilda,no one's near our draft.
Your joking about Geelong right? They picked blokes who can play, didn't take crazy chances on 18 year olds who played a handful of good games like some other clubs did. Geelong had a set strategy to just pick on what a player has to offer right now. I thought they were very solid especially given no picks in round 1.

Geelongs draft is massively overrated imo.

That's not correct.

Last year we nominated five players and only took one at all:
  • Jacob Allison (Aspley Hornets)
  • Nate Dennis (University of Qld)
  • William Fletcher (Sherwood)
  • Jack Rolls (Morningside)
  • Declan Watson (Aspley Hornets)
Previous years show similar or higher numbers not taken.

So "Nomination" is so the nominating club can match (with discount in the case of Academy players) if they so desire. This way, the club gains an advantage over "bidding" clubs. However it doesn't lock the nominating club into an obligation to draft the player

I'm a bit shaky on the process myself, so would the above be an accurate precis of how it's supposed to work?

Unless there's stuff been posted here I haven't read, has anyone really rated Geelong's draft that highly?

I believe they (and Hawthorn) drafted well with the picks they had, which is different from having a highly rated draft crop.

All their draftees were discussed as there or there a-bouts around Brisbane's later first round picks. From memory, didn't Quigley rate Tim Kelly highly.

They might not be high ceiling kids, apart from Fogarty, but they should all play next year and keep Geelong in the premiership hunt, and provide depth. And they all fill a genuine current or future need.

Moving forward, they'll be decent squad players, similar to Ryan Lester, and when the Selwood's and Dangerfield, etc retire, they'll provide a frame work to draft around. And you never know, Constable or Miers might become very good best 22 players in 5 years time.

Kelly is a gun. McLeod like when he runs with the ball in hand.

Could be a gun*

I suspect he will have big go home issues as well.

Fogarty will be a good pressure player but reckon his cap is around c+ - B.

Constable will get found out at AFL level. That's no doubt why he slipped.

Miers dropped a bit and is not a bad potential prospect.

Ultimately though it's not like that is the coup lf the century like some posters on other boards have made it out.

So "Nomination" is so the nominating club can match (with discount in the case of Academy players) if they so desire. This way, the club gains an advantage over "bidding" clubs. However it doesn't lock the nominating club into an obligation to draft the player

I'm a bit shaky on the process myself, so would the above be an accurate precis of how it's supposed to work?

Pretty much.

Just like nominating a F/S kid, just because the kid is nominated by the club, doesn't mean the club is committed to drafting them. If a club thinks a bid comes in to early, they can always pass and keep picks it would have required to match the bid.

Say if Ballenden was bid on at pick 10 last night, we could have passed, believing we'd get a better kid at pick 15 than Ballenden, and that we there might have still been a comparable kid available at our later picks.

Correct. You've covered most of it - basically there's five outcomes after a player is nominated:
  1. They are bid on by another team and we match (Ballenden; Allison).
  2. They are bid on by another team and we don't match (Watson).
  3. They are not bid on and we take them with our own pick (Payne).
  4. They are not bid on and we prelist them as a rookie before the rookie draft (Reuben William).
  5. They are not bid on and we don't take them at all (Dennis; Rolls).
There is no commitment to any one result by nominating, though the club might choose to do so anyway.

Constable is a classic example of the type of kid that (and has) divides discussion.

He's genuinely rated as having elite skills, by hand and foot, and very good vision and footy brain, but is considered to lack the speed for todays pressure and turnover based game.

But he's also often compared to Cripps for those very same attributes and his size. And every club would love to have a Cripps type player in their side.

Re-watching the draft as I got tired of the election, and f-me last nights commentary did nothing to discourage the go home discussion. Any kid watching this, if walking in to a future draft, will think they have the right to say to recruiters I don't want to move interstate.

Constable is a classic example of the type of kid that (and has) divides discussion.

He's genuinely rated as having elite skills, by hand and foot, and very good vision and footy brain, but is considered to lack the speed for todays pressure and turnover based game.

But he's also often compared to Cripps for those very same attributes and his size. And every club would love to have a Cripps type player in their side.

I think Constable will be a valuable player in the AFL.

Despite his lack of "speed'' he appeals to me as a geniune footballer with all the attributes that you have already listed above

It would not have bothered me in the slightest if we had spent Pick 18 on him.

Simon Black (Pick 31 , 1997), Sam Mitchell (Pick 36, 2001), Matt Priddis( 2006 Rookie Draft), Josh Kennedy (Syd) (Pick 40 F/S Haw) to name few. All slow as a wet week. All drafted well back in their draft year . All Champions

Speed is nice.

Being a genuine footy player is bettter.:footy:

Sounds so much like the talk about Barlow (Fremantle) before he got drafted.

Be nice to see our list and compare it to the major phantoms in relation to our selections ! Real life v make believe

So I watched the tape of Payne. He really is a monster of a lad, but what else stand out is he has a laconic and fluid kicking action. I know scored 29/30 on the test, hoping it is a real asset in his kicking and not just a on the day fluke. Could have gotten a real potential player here!

Rich n witho will be pleased to share the kicking out load....must be a pain in the bum running 50 m when ur buggered to do the kick in.

Four talls out and 3 in, but at least Toby Woller has that third tall mould, with the hybrid potential to play midfield at some stage. Although I would have liked Oscar Allen, I think he's a really good choice. Initially, I can see him holding down CHF in the twos, with Ballenden at FF and Oscar/Archie changing in the pocket. Still a pretty tall forward forward line, but one less than this year. Payne at full back, the mobile Eagles at CHB and Frost taking the resting ruck. Pretty well balanced with Paparone freed up to play the running transition role that he's best at. And that's barring injuries with Skinner not back till later in the year.

Different midfield in the twos will be interesting with the young guys given full reign to put pressure on the players in the ones. Development is the key, but we must be a reasonable chance to go back to back. Bring it on.

Knocked this up yesterday

B... Hanley Payne Hinge

Hb. Cutler Eagles Cox

C... Allison Bailey Bewick

Hf. Rayner Ballenden Paperone

F... Barrett McInerney Lester

R... Smith Lyons Starc

I.c Dawson Wooler Bell Beams Frost

Sorry if this has been discussed already , rookie draft we have committed to Hanley and beams , do we have another live pick ?

Be nice to see our list and compare it to the major phantoms in relation to our selections ! Real life v make believe
Be nice to see our list and be able to compare it to other teams lists.

This is a quote from a short private conversation I had yesterday.

Know a lot of clubs I spoke to after the draft were really high on Starcevich. Few clubs would've taken him in the 20s.

2017 Draft thread