Analysis 2017 List Management Discussion - Part 3

Tall defence is covered but I still believe we lack run and smal defenders. As for Mids Gibson was already traded. We brought in Kennedy & Lang and our first 2 picks will almost certainly be mids plus we have more picks. Patience

Can't understand the number of posters who seem to think we don't need another running half back...we literally have zero depth in that area outside our starting 22 players in Simmo, Doc, Byrne & Willo.

The tears over Boek are quite surprising. It was a massive shock when he got drafted on the night and less of a shock he turned out to be a squib. Never had the work ethic/appetite to be a successful player and was way too soft.

This year proves that he deserved to be delisted. Barely got a game (deservedly so) until they played him the last few rounds to perhaps get a trade. By then decided he needed to put the effort in and did some nice things. Problem is, where was this urgency in previous years and earlier this year? Players like him don't deserve to be on the park, back to WA. Id dare say he did quite well off the field I reckon.....

Poor form! :thumbsdown:

Time will tell if Boeky does well at another club, but he is unlucky

Yes actually, Mullet is yet another Defender!!
Mullet down back, Docs in the middle, end of story
I'm coming for you in an aggressive font - possibly bolded. You have been warned.

I'm liking the look of McCreadie - kid has added some meat to his bones...

Bolton made a public statement regarding Docherty spending more time in the midfield a few weeks ago...don't understand why people are debating the issue..

Looking like a terrible draft...possibly the worst in a decade or more.

The names called before Boekhorst at 19 aren't flash either...includes illustrious players such as McCartin, Ahern, Darcy Moore, Cockatoo, Duggan, Corey Ellis, Jarrod Garlett, Durdin & Langford...

Lot of injuries among that lot. In fact Petracca and Brayshaw have both had big stints out with injury/concussion, Pickett missed a whole year of footy, DeGoey's dog put him out of action, Marchbank was injured quite a bit at GWS, Ahern did an ACL, Cockatoo's often injured...

Darcy Moore was always going to struggle being the best forward this year. I don't think his ceiling is huge, but he's a great contested mark and and accurate kick at goal. Will still be a reasonable player.

And yet Boekhorst, DVR, Smith and Foster were been fairly injury-free during their time at Carlton :cool:

Just been reading the 2013 draft thread, amazing how things change. At the time people were convinced Menzel, Temay and Graham were strong gritty players to take us into a new era. Everyone had so much faith in what Rogers would do that year. Funny that the guy that only a few mentioned as a possible second round pick, ended up being his only saving grace. Makes you wonder about what we will think 4 years from now, I'm confident that it will be different, but I also think development will play the biggest part in that.

Who can kick very averagely I'm told from a north supporting mate. No more than an experienced HBF back up to Simmo, Doch, Williamson and Byrne

I would like to know why NM moved Mullet on?

It's not like they have an excess of players who can run and kick the ball well - I would have thought quite the opposite actually.

Can anyone enlighten me? (I don't want to go to the Norf board - scared of what I might find.....)

Gibson was already traded. We brought in Kennedy & Lang and our first 2 picks will almost certainly be mids plus we have more picks. Patience
Just think there's some good experienced talent out there- would like to get some of it... Also though I love the progress till now, really think it's time and we're ready to move into the next gear with a more agressive and offensively minded gameplan- hope that's what SOS and co. are thinking too when bringing in players.
If there's one critcism to our game and coaching last year, that's what I would say slightly too defensive...also a little too cautious and slow in making changes and playing some kids but cant wait for a big 2018!

on another note- how the heck is Graham still on the list?!?

Lot of injuries among that lot. In fact Petracca and Brayshaw have both had big stints out with injury/concussion, Pickett missed a whole year of footy, DeGoey's dog put him out of action, Marchbank was injured quite a bit at GWS, Ahern did an ACL, Cockatoo's often injured...

Darcy Moore was always going to struggle being the best forward this year. I don't think his ceiling is huge, but he's a great contested mark and and accurate kick at goal. Will still be a reasonable player.

And yet Boekhorst, DVR, Smith and Foster were been fairly injury-free during their time at Carlton :cool:

Under any other coach the kid would already be a star - nafan is doing a great job of killing him.

According to Ralphy, we have turned over 64 players in five seasons. :eek:

I wish Carlton would get a hurry up and embrace the whole draft/trade thing - seriously someone needs a kick up the backside!!

Not sure many are excited by the recruitment of Mullett but can see some logic. Cheap addition maybe worth a shot for free
Well time to polish the Daisy stains off my boots then lol!
I had a little Gibbs dirt on them to I must confess.....

Just think there's some good experienced talent out there- would like to get some of it... Also though I love the progress till now, really think it's time and we're ready to move into the next gear with a more agressive and offensively minded gameplan- hope that's what SOS and co. are thinking too when bringing in players.
If there's one critcism to our game and coaching last year, that's what I would say slightly too defensive...also a little too cautious and slow in making changes and playing some kids but cant wait for a big 2018!

No No No No No

We are in a rebuild. It's going very well but it's not finished. We have another trade period and 2 drafts to go and we will have made around 13 changes this year alone. All looks positive.

As for game plan it is about development and protecting the kids. As we mature and get better it will change.

PATIENCE. Everything is fine.

I believe Mullet can run and kick, but not defend. Still, we can *almost* cover that with our squad, and a genuine distributor could be useful.

Really reminds me of Tuohy.

Tuohy also wasn't great defensively and Mullett similarly looks good when running in straight lines and using his booming kick.
Decent backup option and he may improve in our defensive structure.