2017 Non Crows AFL Discussion Thread

My issue with "Australia Day" being Jan 26th is that it is actually "NSW Proclamation Day". The day that the NSW colony was proclaimed in 1788. Has little to do with Australia the nation.

Australia Day should be January 1. The day our country was officially created with the colonies forming one nation via Constitution of Australia being enacted.

That would also somewhat mitigate the "Invasion Day" argument.

Sent from my HTC_0P6B6 using Tapatalk

I agree wholeheartedly with this but we already have a public holiday for January 1, so you see the insurmountable problem.

Maybe another holiday for a horse race or sporting event?

So its more to do with the opportunity to have an extra day off work rather than any meaningful result?

shouldn't be, but it absolutely is for most - although I think 1970 is just taking the piss on that count. I liked because I laughed, I'll tell you that much.

I remember heaps of people I knew being outraged that they weren't getting a day off for ANZAC day last year.

That is true.

Maybe we could move the NSW Proclamation Day PH to another day. AFL Grand Final Day PH?

We lost the SA Proclamation Day PH to Boxing Day.

Sent from my HTC_0P6B6 using Tapatalk

Probably use the date it was passed through parliament (whatever date that is) rather than the enactment date. I like the idea too.

I guess it depends what we want to celebrate. The Commonwealth of Australia Constitution Act (UK) was passed on 5 July 1900 and given assent by Queen Vicky. It was in September the same year that a relative of mine was asked to form the first federal gvt in Australia. He was Premier of NSW at the time and it was considered by Vicky and co to be right that the head of the biggest colony should have the honour. No one would work with him to form a government as he'd been a bitter opponent of federation. Barton, one of the key architects of federation and also from NSW, got the nod. Australia federated several months later than would have been if Lyne had been able to form his gvt. He became the first Minister for Home Affairs in Barton's gvt.
So, if we do away with 26 Jan, should we celebrate 5 July 1900? Or should it be the date of the referendums in each colony? That was June 1899, except for WA where it was held the following year?
Gets a bit messy trying to find a date. I reckon 1 Jan might be the go, except few would front for a celebration because majority of people are hungover on that date.

I guess it depends what we want to celebrate. The Commonwealth of Australia Constitution Act (UK) was passed on 5 July 1900 and given assent by Queen Vicky. It was in September the same year that a relative of mine was asked to form the first federal gvt in Australia. He was Premier of NSW at the time and it was considered by Vicky and co to be right that the head of the biggest colony should have the honour. No one would work with him to form a government as he'd been a bitter opponent of federation. Barton, one of the key architects of federation and also from NSW, got the nod. Australia federated several months later than would have been if Lyne had been able to form his gvt. He became the first Minister for Home Affairs in Barton's gvt.
So, if we do away with 26 Jan, should we celebrate 5 July 1900? Or should it be the date of the referendums in each colony? That was June 1899, except for WA where it was held the following year?
Gets a bit messy trying to find a date. I reckon 1 Jan might be the go, except few would front for a celebration because majority of people are hungover on that date.
My Birthday ? :D

It's purely a marketing gimmick. Look at the coverage. The council wanted something that would give Fremantle a reason to be talked about - it has nothing to do with reconciliation at all.

If we just recognised, officially, the negative sides of Jan 26 for aboriginal culture - and acknowledged that it does mark an invasion day for a lot of indigenous people ... that would be significant. It doesn't need a change of date, it needs a change of context.

Hell, one of our biggest days in Australia is ANZAC day - where we acknowledge the 8000 or so Australians that lost their lives in Gallipoli and the 60k+ that died in the first World War. Why can't we acknowledge the negatives of European settlement in the same way? Over 20,000 aborigines were killed as a result of colonisation ... it was acknowledged back then, why not now?

"In less than twenty years we have nearly swept them off the face of the earth. We have shot them down like dogs. In the guise of friendship we have issued corrosive sublimate in their damper and consigned whole tribes to the agonies of an excruciating death. We have made them drunkards, and infected them with diseases which have rotted the bones of their adults, and made such few children as are born amongst them a sorrow and a torture from the very instant of their birth. We have made them outcasts on their own land, and are rapidly consigning them to entire annihilation."

~Edward Wilson, Argus, 17th March 1856

We can celebrate how far we have come together, what we have learned from each other .... oh, come to think of it - that might be a sticking point :(
You want Aus Day to be a celebration - a joyous occasion. ANZAC Day isn't that.

Well that's the problem right there mate ... for some people it is a mix. For aboriginals it doesn't feel like it should be 100% celebration ... and moving the day is just avoiding the discussion imo.

There is a way to acknowledge the bad stuff of the past and look ahead with positivity together - maybe it's just beyond us at this point and time?

Well that's the problem right there mate ... for some people it is a mix. For aboriginals it doesn't feel like it should be 100% celebration ... and moving the day is just avoiding the discussion imo.

There is a way to acknowledge the bad stuff of the past and look ahead with positivity together - maybe it's just beyond us at this point and time?

An Old mate of mind had the answer why we are not ready to change.
Australian is too immature to hold discussions about this subject, And to be honest, he was right we are nowhere near ready to have a decent constructive discussion about this.
I thought I could But I still cannot remove all the emotion from the discussion.

I completely understand why for aboriginals that 26 Jan is not a day of celebration.

So, let's just scrap 26 Jan, become a republic on another day, and celebrate Australia Day as the day we became our own country.

It doesn't need to be a day with any racial connotations. It's a day we're all Australians and all happy to be Australians.

Am I missing something here on the Hird saga...?

5AA saying GCornes is vindicated with Hird stance. How? And that Caroline Wilson & Co should be ashamed of themselves... Why? Has there now been a change of ruling? Regardless of what James is going through, he's still the coach of a team that has been charged with doping. Piss off Cornes. All these apologist coming out... Geez

Has the world gone mad?

A friend of mine posted something on the FB on the weekend. Straight up I thought what a loon, exactly like your reaction. Over the weekend we talked about it, I did a bit of research. I came to the conclusion fairly quickly, the date is all wrong for the celebration this day is. This needs changing so we can all celebrate the day in the same way.
My friend posted a informative movie to my messenger but for the life of me I can not work out how to get it here and I couldn't find it on YouTube.
I want my barbecues and thong throwing competition to be free of guilt and enjoyed by every Aussie.

5AA saying GCornes is vindicated with Hird stance. How? And that Caroline Wilson & Co should be ashamed of themselves... Why? Has there now been a change of ruling? Regardless of what James is going through, he's still the coach of a team that has been charged with doping. Piss off Cornes. All these apologist coming out... Geez

Hird paid the price for his stupidity or whatever some want to call it. But what he did was not a death sentence sometimes we all need to grow and learn to let it go, Unfortunately, some cannot and it leads to what Hird is going thru today,
Again what he did was not worth a death sentence.

Was ridiculous listening. Completely out of touch with everyone bar Essendon supporters and the old boys network

Mental illness is a process of social redemption now is it? I must have missed discussing that with my Psychologist when working out my mental health plan, but then again I guess I have far less actual things to feel guilty about.

Mental illness of the social elite is the new 'top bloke after death'.

I wish it worked that way for the rest of us.

Was ridiculous listening. Completely out of touch with everyone bar Essendon supporters and the old boys network
''If you haven't played at this level you just don't understand''

I completely understand why for aboriginals that 26 Jan is not a day of celebration.

So, let's just scrap 26 Jan, become a republic on another day, and celebrate Australia Day as the day we became our own country.

It doesn't need to be a day with any racial connotations. It's a day we're all Australians and all happy to be Australians.
Don't mind that idea, but you know that there will be a nice juicy spot left open for parts of our society to use Jan 26th as a vindictive platform. Maybe that is just the path we must walk to get to the other side ... sometimes you need to give the nut-jobs enough rope. I think we could be bolder, and take control of the day - of course that might be giving the other side's crazies the same rope and it could end up in just as big a mess :)

An Old mate of mind had the answer why we are not ready to change.
Australian is too immature to hold discussions about this subject, And to be honest, he was right we are nowhere near ready to have a decent constructive discussion about this.
I thought I could But I still cannot remove all the emotion from the discussion.

Just curious, which countries do you suppose are mature enough for this conversation, and what do you think this conversation should entail?