2017 Trade and FA thread

• Thread starter Thread starter dlanod

Gardiner has played only 4 NEAFL games in his time here compared to 61 senior games.

What is it you see that none of our coaches do?
I'd put it to you this way, how many top 8 -10 teams would take Darcy Gardiner as their 3rd tall??

Essendon board is talking about our first pick.

They are also saying the names Berry and Witherden.

Lol at any of those suggestions.
I have never really thought he was that good.
Offer them Close in a straight swap i reckon.

I was pretty critical of Darcy a few weeks ago and then he came out and that weekend and absolutely killed it vs the Bulldogs and has barely put a foot wrong since. I happily eat humble pie with extra crow on that.

Seems an odd time to be singling him out when he's probably in the best mini-patch of form of his career.

Fairly confident it's nonsense. Bloke openly said he wanted to troll the Essendon board before he posted it.

Anyone on here who thinks our backline is a top 8 backline is off head, Andrews Witherden and maybe McStay can be in a top 8 backline. Daniel Rich is a great kick but his defensive running and positioning not great, he's playing out of position. Sam Mayes is run of the mill and perhaps playing out of position. Gardiner has taken 60 games to have his best game and people on here are thinking he's the next josh Gibson. We have some other young talent like Allison and Cox who could be future top grade players, but as of right now we desperately need an A grade talent to Marshall the troops down back. Ie McVeigh even if it's only for two years.

I'd put it to you this way, how many top 8 -10 teams would take Darcy Gardiner as their 3rd tall??

At the Crows he's similar to Kelly, at GWS he's similar to Haynes, at Richmond he's similar to Grimes, at Geelong he's similar to Kolodjashnij and at Port he's similar to Jonas.

Apart from Haynes I think he's at a similar level to the other four.

Anyone on here who thinks our backline is a top 8 backline is off head, Andrews Witherden and maybe McStay can be in a top 8 backline. Daniel Rich is a great kick but his defensive running and positioning not great, he's playing out of position. Sam Mayes is run of the mill and perhaps playing out of position. Gardiner has taken 60 games to have his best game and people on here are thinking he's the next josh Gibson. We have some other young talent like Allison and Cox who could be future top grade players, but as of right now we desperately need an A grade talent to Marshall the troops down back. Ie McVeigh even if it's only for two years.
Just because other people have a different opinion to you doesn't mean they are 'off their head'.......

We are a young side with much work and improvement required, both individually and collectively but that doesn't mean other people shouldn't see potential in players you don't.

How many wouldn't ?
People seriously under rate Gardiner, I reckon he would be one of the first blokes picked.
Pretty tough job being a defender in one of the worst teams in the comp.

I'll have a bet each way on Gardiner.

I agree with this statement and I personally don't see him developing greatly into an above average player. but he is only 21ish and 60 games so has time ahead of him. At most other clubs he might be a 21yo with 15 games.

IMO he is a tweener... a touch too slow to play on the best smalls, not big enough to play on the talls and not mobile enough to play on a the best mid sized forwards. He gets a pass for his job on any of those types of players because he did a 'great effort' on a small when he was recruited as a big, or on a big when he is undersized or whatever.

Having said that I would give him a pass mark this year, has improved his disposal a lot and jumped in my mind from 'maybe not making it' to 'maybe not making it in a finals team'

At the Crows he's similar to Kelly, at GWS he's similar to Haynes, at Richmond he's similar to Grimes, at Geelong he's similar to Kolodjashnij and at Port he's similar to Jonas.

Apart from Haynes I think he's at a similar level to the other four.

disagree with that. I would straight swap Gardiner for any of those players. His 'junkyard dog' status makes him a fan favourite but those players have the same underlying basic skills and then 1 or 2 qualities that is much stronger than Gardiner (eg. Kelly intercept marking, Grimes one on one etc).

I'll have a bet each way on Gardiner.

I agree with this statement and I personally don't see him developing greatly into an above average player. but he is only 21ish and 60 games so has time ahead of him. At most other clubs he might be a 21yo with 15 games.

IMO he is a tweener... a touch too slow to play on the best smalls, not big enough to play on the talls and not mobile enough to play on a the best mid sized forwards.

I would give him a pass mark this year, has improved his disposal a lot and jumped in my mind from 'maybe not making it' to 'maybe not making it in a finals team'

And yet in recent weeks he's ran down 2 very quick forwards.

^ two lazy forwards going half paced. The Garlett run down Garlett had slowed to a trot working out what he would do to ensure a goal (kick or draw a player off the goal line and handball).

disagree with that. I would straight swap Gardiner for any of those players. His 'junkyard dog' status makes him a fan favourite but those players have the same underlying basic skills and then 1 or 2 qualities that is much stronger than Gardiner (eg. Kelly intercept marking, Grimes one on one etc).

He's more whipping boy than fan favourite on this board. He plays on the oppositions most dangerous non-tall forward each week. We've been over how much pressure our midfield puts on our defenders. He's played well on Eddie Betts multiple times and still has heaps of growth.

Don't think anyone is saying our backline is a "top 8" so nobody on this blog is "off head" as you say. Not right now at least.:thumbsu: Andrews is definately showing signs to be elite and to a lesser degree so is McStay but the rest of them are either young guys developing (Witho / Dizzy) or inconsistent guys (Rich) who plays well in patches. IMO Gardiner is a very important piece in our backline make up. Love his efforts & his mongrel that is evident in every contest he's in. You can be assured he will give you everything when he runs out which is what we cannot say for some others. I am a fan & supporter of Dizz. In saying that, we do need a mature age defender that can help out while these guys develop into better footballers. NOT ALEX RANCE, NOT JACK FROST, but someone who is an above average big bodied defender. (maybe B+ as a minimum) If someone bobs up on the radar in this trading season, I am 100% sure we will look at him providing he fits our future plans.[/QUOTE]

Of course he is going to make a few poor decisions with the footy, he's still a kid and playing on the last line of defence. He's still learning a new game plane just like the rest of his team mates who turn the footy over occasionaly. He will get better at that with experience. His defensive game is brilliant for a kid. Cut the guy some slack

Mentioned this before but Boyd rated Gardiner as the best defender he played on. And Boyd was a monster in junior footy. Will be a gun

Sorry Bunton Rules but I again disagree with you and somewhat feel a little bit pissed off with your reply back. Let me be more succinct to you seeing I am not being very alert & thoughtful with my posts:
In my opinion (& some of the Lions coaching staff who will be unnamed) we need a mature age defender to help our young guys handle the pressure of the heavy number of entries into our defensive 50. Rance is not on the table as he would cost us BIG $ and is also contracted to the Tigers. There is however a few good candidates out there who would be suitable should they have agreeable terms that suit our club at this time. Should another Jack Frost become available, I would be stunned (& horrified) if our current coaching group would consider such an option as he obviously is not the answer to our problems right now.
On another subject that has more sense to it....is there any information as to how many times the opposition has scored when coming into our defensive 50 this year? I know we have that % stat for forward entries but unsure if we have that for our defensive entries. That would be interesting to see how it compares to other clubs.
Saw the above post after I had sent this one.sorry.

Apologies if I worded it offensively, and whilst I do not have your inside knowledge, I stand by my thoughts.

Sorry Bunton Rules but I again disagree with you and somewhat feel a little bit pissed off with your reply back. Let me be more succinct to you seeing I am not being very alert & thoughtful with my posts:
In my opinion (& some of the Lions coaching staff who will be unnamed) we need a mature age defender to help our young guys handle the pressure of the heavy number of entries into our defensive 50. Rance is not on the table as he would cost us BIG $ and is also contracted to the Tigers. There is however a few good candidates out there who would be suitable should they have agreeable terms that suit our club at this time. Should another Jack Frost become available, I would be stunned (& horrified) if our current coaching group would consider such an option as he obviously is not the answer to our problems right now.
On another subject that has more sense to it....is there any information as to how many times the opposition has scored when coming into our defensive 50 this year? I know we have that % stat for forward entries but unsure if we have that for our defensive entries. That would be interesting to see how it compares to other clubs.
Saw the above post after I had sent this one.sorry.
I heard similar that we might be after a mature age key defender (Frost wasn't seen as long term option just very cheap cover - too good to pass on considering his cost) but that was beginning of the season and have not heard those whispers for a while. I personally reckon the club might have moved on from scouting key defenders from other teams. Key members of the club are almost shocked at how well our youngsters are developing especially McStay and Skinner. I personally reckon will be looking for ball carriers and defensive minded players... both of which are becoming very apparent list weaknesses as the season rolls on.

It's no surprise then that the names that have been heavily linked to the Lions all share common characteristics. Also expect two or three Hawks names to be mentioned in the coming weeks.

You could ask the same question of about 35 blokes on our list. Few of our players would be automatic selections in the better sides. It is pretty much the reason why we're currently running last.

The Dayne Beams trade is why I cry myself to sleep at night.
I don't know, I accidentally infracted Haso after a few drinks on a Saturday night. That was almost worth the irritation of the rest of the trade period.

It's fine to argue a point but not when you start putting words in people's mouths that they never said. At no point has anyone said we're a top 8 defence nor has anyone said Gardiner is the next Josh Gibson. Cut the bullshit

You're assuming McVeigh can get on the park,he missed plenty this year,and his form in recent years has been inconsistent, he is slowing appreciably.