2017 trade/draft thread

• Thread starter Thread starter mattyc75

People said that and worse about Petrie.

A Hawks Mod in another thread mentioned we have offered Hartung an enticing contract.

3rd round pick or fringe player?
Petrie covered a hole in the list with doubts the two main ruckmen would play at all in 2017. They only needed him for one year so drafted him as a rookie and not directly onto the main list.

The LeCras decision will show if the new list management group is any different to the past.

difference is that lecca was cooked half way through 2016 and didn't improve on it. The dish also has heart and endeavour and that takes yu a long way.

Not fussed on hartung being a thrid rounder. he's still youngish and has pace and and endurance which we lack off. He'd be an upgrade on masten.

He's averaging 22 touches a game this year and could flourish under a midfield coach like Mitchell.

Hartung has steadily improved and the boy can run and run fast. Obviously Simo and Mitchell know his strengths and weaknesses and are interested.

The interesting question is he coverage for Gaff if Gaff is traded out?

Here's Hartungs totals for 2017
View attachment 417248

OUTSIDE midfielder with pace. I don't think he's necessarily a bad player at all, but he's not a world beater.

In fact if Gaff left i wouldn't be upset landing Hartung at all, for the right price.

It's not a realistic discussion anyway, some Hawk noob was just throwing a random trade suggestion out there and everyone else mentioning Hartung has just been facetious or daft.

The post I read mentioned the Eagles had offered him a contract and a decent one. The general discussion was about Gaff. He mentioned the two could be linked in that the Eagles were chasing a winger to replace Gaff.

No my general take on the article is that the club might choose not to properly rebuild simply due to Kennedy. Result = the next 3 years of us finishing 7-10th followed by a rebuild

Oh OK. That's much more likely.

Though I don't think it's simply due to Kennedy, but a combination of having him and McGovern/Barrass at the other end, NicNat coming back and Shuey/Gaff/Yeo/Sheed as building blocks to work around. We've definitely got some holes that need filling, but adding to what we do have seems preferable to scrapping everything and starting again.

http://www.perthnow.com.au/sport/af...s/news-story/3b09ef7409cd11c18763e40f41d1ef43

If this article is correct then that pisses me off. We can't base our entire list management decision on Kennedys age

That's an overreaction mate.

The article says if we cant win a flag we should trade Kennedy but we wont.

So how does the club stay in the top 8?

I agree I pray the club doesn't do a Geelong and throw 90% of it's draft picks at trade targets. I don't think it will or could because not many players are willing to move West in a trade.

Hopefully we can trade out some surplus players for 3rd round picks or upgrades, Masten, Schofield or Wellingham types.

Possibly Gaff should he advise the club he will move anyway next year, get pick 7 or 8 from the Saints.

Pick 7 gets Higgings, pick 13 Hunter Clark, pick 30?, and then grab an Ah chee, Kelly or Ryan with later picks.

Hartung has steadily improved and the boy can run and run fast. Obviously Simo and Mitchell know his strengths and weaknesses and are interested.

The interesting question is he coverage for Gaff if Gaff is traded out?

Massive downgrade on Gaff...

Would be fine with Hartung if he came cheap as he would be an upgrade on Masten.

The Lecras contract isn't certain still has exit meeting in the next two weeks with the Coach but wants to play on and he knows he has a few heroes ( critics ) out there but wants to be part of our fourth premiership and believes still got some good footy left in him .
As the Coach said you cannot cut too many players we are already losing quite a bit of experience .

https://thewest.com.au/sport/west-c...ant-he-wants-to-play-on-in-2018-ng-b88602129z

I don't know Hartung well at all.

What's the issue with him? Thought he was a midfielder with pace.

He is a slight up grade on Masten albeit a much quicker one, similar endurance.

One big difference is that Hartung run's much more attacking routes.

The Lecras contract isn't certain still has exit meeting in the next two weeks with the Coach but wants to play on and he knows he has a few heroes ( critics ) out there but wants to be part of our fourth premiership and believes still got some good footy left in him .
As the Coach said you cannot cut too many players we are already losing quite a bit of experience .

https://thewest.com.au/sport/west-c...ant-he-wants-to-play-on-in-2018-ng-b88602129z

To be honest, now that i have let this info sink in overnight - May be a good idea to keep lecca for 1 more year, provided:
  • Its no secret he was carrying a hip injury for most of this year. you would assume his set shot accuracy will revert back to normal once this is sorted.
  • There will be a vaccum of experience exiting in 2017
  • Is selected on form and not reputation
  • Happy to play WAFL if he is omitted on form, not "injured"
  • On a vastly reduced playing contract, $250-$300k

How much do you think Hartung is worth mate?

Late second more likely early third.
Worth about what ever the Doggies got for Koby Stevens which was Stevens and pick 61 for pick 50.

By comparison Kersten went for pick 63.

Others have mentioned it before, but the club should really be trying to find out whether gaff is planning on leaving at the end of next year and trying to orchestrate a trade for him this year if he is.

Something like pick 8 + Acres for Gaff and our second. Trade our 3rd to bring in hartung to replace gaff. Try and offload masten and Schofield for 3rd rounders if possible.

This would give us a decent young core of midfielders in Sheed, Duggan, Acres, Hartung, Venables and whoever we take with picks 8 and 13, while we'd still have 2 3rd rounders to try and grab Tim Kelly and Liam Ryan.

We're probably paying unders in most of these trades though so don't know how realistic they'd be.

I can live with lecras getting one more year, but hard truths about his position in the team need to be made in the exit meeting this year. No more free games.

With that in mind, I'd like to see something like this:

Out: Mitchell, priddis, Butler, hill, masten (trade), mcinnes, Tunbridge, gorter, emac (FA)

Giles to rookie list (1 more year, Asif he will retire . Unless we pay him out)

Leaves us with list make up of 33 and 2.

Hope some other team offer emac enough to get us 3rd round compo.

Trade our 2018 2nd and masten to GC for matera and pick 22 (next year is more highly rated hence why this gets over the line.
Plus they both duds really.)

In: matera, 13, 22, 31, 48(Kelly), 49 (ryan).
And 3 rookies (including young ruck).

Not that I really want matera, I just reckon we will go for him.

If Lecras is on the list next year he's playing. Free games and all.

Never been dropped, why would they start now? It's not as if we have a history of being up front and dropping "marquee runs on the board" players. He got an absolute free pass in the middle of the year despite not kicking a goal and being horribly out of form and they STILL played him over others.

Priddis, Darling, Lecras.. those sorts of players will NEVER have (omitted) next to there name despite their form.

Haven't read the whole thread but Libba could be good for us if his attitude is there. Tough inside mid 25 years old and wouldn't have to trade the world for him

If Lecras is on the list next year he's playing. Free games and all.

Never been dropped, why would they start now? It's not as if we have a history of being up front and dropping "marquee runs on the board" players. He got an absolute free pass in the middle of the year despite not kicking a goal and being horribly out of form and they STILL played him over others.

Priddis, Darling, Lecras.. those sorts of players will NEVER have (omitted) next to there name despite their form.
Well to be fair there wasnt any dedicated forwards ready to go to replace him. At least next year we will have Rioli and possibly others. Venables should play 50% forward too

Others have mentioned it before, but the club should really be trying to find out whether gaff is planning on leaving at the end of next year and trying to orchestrate a trade for him this year if he is.

Something like pick 8 + Acres for Gaff and our second. Trade our 3rd to bring in hartung to replace gaff. Try and offload masten and Schofield for 3rd rounders if possible.

This would give us a decent young core of midfielders in Sheed, Duggan, Acres, Hartung, Venables and whoever we take with picks 8 and 13, while we'd still have 2 3rd rounders to try and grab Tim Kelly and Liam Ryan.

We're probably paying unders in most of these trades though so don't know how realistic they'd be.

If we got Acres for pick 30 we would all dance naked around the new stadium.

I think pick 7 or 8 would be it. Possibly a swap of later picks in our favour as a sweetener.

Baby and bathwater, some of you lot really need some perspective.

I'd petition to deregister the club if some of the potatoes named ever play again.