2017 trade/draft thread

• Thread starter Thread starter mattyc75

Totally agree. It's a good strategy to draft in a midfielder whose inside balanced/ contested game is a strength rather than developing an inside game to an outside mid.

Good example of that has been Matt Crouch at the Crows. Weakness was his disposal by foot when drafted and it still is an issue sometimes but he has worked hard at that aspect of his game. Arrived at the Crows with a great work ethic in the contest which has translated itself into senior SANFL and AFL level against men.

This is why I was pretty bullish on us drafting Jonty Scharenberg last year, even as a rookie when he was passed up at the National Draft. Weakness is his disposal by foot but he has a strong work ethic at the contest and a but like Priddis is a guy who you find at the bottom of packs, scrapping hard and feeding it to his mates.

While we are working on teaching these kids how to kick enlist a few of the players already playing as well and teach them all to kick both feet , just staggers me how many guys can'tt kick both feet

On iPad using BigFooty.com mobile app

While we are working on teaching these kids how to kick enlist a few of the players already playing as well and teach them all to kick both feet , just staggers me how many guys can'tt kick both feet

On iPad using BigFooty.com mobile app

Bad coaching at junior levels ........ simple as that.

Got to master the basics before you move on to the fancy stuff.

There again I had a Father that drilled it into all his kids.... left then right, left then right, one for one in the back yard as nippers.
He hung hula hoops from trees and the car port that we had to kick and hand pass through both left and right sided, by the time both my brother and I were 10 we were proficient on either side by hand and foot.

As a teen I still remember the hours of circle work where we had ten minute secessions on the non preferred.

There again I had a Father that drilled it into all his kids.... left then right, left then right, one for one in the back yard as nippers.
He hung hula hoops from trees and the car port that we had to kick and hand pass through both left and right sided, by the time both my brother and I were 10 we were proficient on either side by hand and foot.

As a teen I still remember the hours of circle work where we had ten minute secessions on the non preferred.

Not being proficient on both sides effectively closes off half the field to you. We should be drafting kids that have exceptional disposal (on both sides) before anything else ala the hawks policy.

One of the most impressive things I read about Higgins was that he spent ages learning to kick on his non-preferred, basically off his own bat because he realised it'd make him a better footballer.

Higgins preparation and attention to detail has been has been a feature of his junior years.
He is an impressive kid.

Similar with Hunter Clark when he had right leg injured as a kid , his father made him concentrate on developing his left, now he just swings out of contested packs onto either foot and passes it off, Clark's hand dexterity is even better than his feet.

Took me one off season of only using my left side hand and foot to be comfortable doing it, absolutely no excuse for an AFL player not to be able to use either side with confidence, should be ashamed to call yourself a footballer if you can't.

Drawing a long bow here but whatever I feel like having some fun

Somebody recently posted that nizzy was recently seen having coffee with hogan. Got me thinking that it wouldn't be the worst idea to trade jk if we could in fact obtain somebody like hogan plus a midfielder. Would kind of fix our needs both short and long term. A team like geelong would be interested because they need somebody better than Hawkins to win it next year. Anyways I got super carried away...

In:

Kennedy, GAJ, picks 43,45,57

Out:

Picks 20, 34, 2018 first and second rounder, motlop, Duncan,Hawkins

Gold Coast

In:

masten, wellingham, motlop, Duncan, schofield

Out:

GAJ, picks22,24,33,37

Saints:

In:

Gaff, lamb

Out:

Pick 7, 43,57

Melbourne:

In:lycett, Hawkins, pick 13,37,48 geelong 2018 second rounder,

Out:

Hogan, pick 45

West coast:

In:

Hogan, pick 7, 22,20,24,33,34, and geelongs 2018 first,

Out:

Kennedy, Schofield, Gaff, Lycett, lamb, wellingham, pick 13,48

We go to draft with:

7, 22,20,24,30,33,34,

We get a long term Kennedy replacement

We get an extra first rounder for next year

Obviously this will never happen but in theory is this fair?

Drawing a long bow here but whatever I feel like having some fun

Somebody recently posted that nizzy was recently seen having coffee with hogan. Got me thinking that it wouldn't be the worst idea to trade jk if we could in fact obtain somebody like hogan plus a midfielder. Would kind of fix our needs both short and long term. A team like geelong would be interested because they need somebody better than Hawkins to win it next year. Anyways I got super carried away...

In:

Out:

Gold Coast

In:

Out:

GAJ, picks22,24,33,37

Saints:

In:

Gaff, lamb

Out:

Pick 7, 43,57

Melbourne:

Out:

Hogan, pick 45

West coast:

In:

Out:

We go to draft with:

7, 22,20,24,30,33,34,

Football manager

Yeah my Dad taught me to kick on the right, then left..... :'(

Took me one off season of only using my left side hand and foot to be comfortable doing it, absolutely no excuse for an AFL player not to be able to use either side with confidence, should be ashamed to call yourself a footballer if you can't.

TBH I reckon part of it might be that kids just aren't playing outside enough with their mates just mucking about with a footy.

During footy season, as a kid, we'd be outside from after school to sundown. Pretty much every day. And we'd play mock footy games and you'd play as your idols, some were opposite foot and you'd just force yourself to do that. Then you'd have all sorts of goal kicking "contests" kicking right, left, over your head, torps etc.

Just having a ball in your hand hours every day and being a kid you got a decent feel for it in my experience.

My left foot proficiency was tested and improved after a knee reconstruction where I lacked a bit of confidence most of one season specifically with kicking. So I used my left as my default side. Got to the point where everything was just as good on my left except distance.

But I do wonder, based on observation, whether there are enough kids just mucking around with footys day and night to learn the feel for the footy outside formal training?

I'm a soccer player but am pretty handy at AFL and can kick pretty well on my opposite. probably translates from kicking on my left in soccer.. but out of curiosity am i supposed to drop the ball with my left hand? i still seem to drop with my right and it works okay

Its not ideal. In actual games, under pressure, that style with drop from right hand onto left foot significantly increases the likelihood of a crooked ball drop - leading to a shit kick.

If you were just kicking to a mate in a park it's still got more risk of error but you might be able to compensate by practice. Id think it's costing you some distance too because the mechanics would be out of whack.

I might have to try it and see :)

Its not ideal. In actual games, under pressure, that style with drop from right hand onto left foot significantly increases the likelihood of a crooked ball drop - leading to a shit kick.

If you were just kicking to a mate in a park it's still got more risk of error but you might be able to compensate by practice. Id think it's costing you some distance too because the mechanics would be out of whack.

I might have to try it and see :)
True, plus its not aesthetic :)

I would be ok with taking Higgins with our 1st rd pick ..
A player has got to want to kick on opposite foot and even though it will feel awkward with plenty of practice it will get easier and get you out of trouble in a game ..

TBH I reckon part of it might be that kids just aren't playing outside enough with their mates just mucking about with a footy.

During footy season, as a kid, we'd be outside from after school to sundown. Pretty much every day. And we'd play mock footy games and you'd play as your idols, some were opposite foot and you'd just force yourself to do that. Then you'd have all sorts of goal kicking "contests" kicking right, left, over your head, torps etc.

Just having a ball in your hand hours every day and being a kid you got a decent feel for it in my experience.

My left foot proficiency was tested and improved after a knee reconstruction where I lacked a bit of confidence most of one season specifically with kicking. So I used my left as my default side. Got to the point where everything was just as good on my left except distance.

But I do wonder, based on observation, whether there are enough kids just mucking around with footys day and night to learn the feel for the footy outside formal training?
Did you also wear an onion on your belt because that was the style of the day?

To the people that want to trade Kennedy.
giphy.gif

Totally agree. It's a good strategy to draft in a midfielder whose inside balanced/ contested game is a strength rather than developing an inside game to an outside mid.

Good example of that has been Matt Crouch at the Crows. Weakness was his disposal by foot when drafted and it still is an issue sometimes but he has worked hard at that aspect of his game. Arrived at the Crows with a great work ethic in the contest which has translated itself into senior SANFL and AFL level against men.

This is why I was pretty bullish on us drafting Jonty Scharenberg last year, even as a rookie when he was passed up at the National Draft. Weakness is his disposal by foot but he has a strong work ethic at the contest and a but like Priddis is a guy who you find at the bottom of packs, scrapping hard and feeding it to his mates.
M Crouch, P Cripps and SPP slid because of their supposed kicking issues. Now they'd fetch top 5 picks

I only ever could use my right foot. Always found it easier to do checksides for passing to the right than use my left.
Shooting for goal, I always found it more comfortable from the skinny side too. Weird really.
Only more comfortable because you were shit with your left? the idea is to be able to kick as well with your left as your right

Having been involved in the juniors for some time I believe it's because most of the coaches out there are coaching to win, not to teach skills and develop the kids. That is changing as of a few years ago and the different coaching techniques are starting to flow through and coaches are having their thinking adjusted to change how they do things. Cricket is going through the same process. it's a breath of fresh air. ;)

Only more comfortable because you were shit with your left? the idea is to be able to kick as well with your left as your right
I was shit with my left and adept with the checkside so yes....Plus I never had a Daddy to teach me. (waaaa waaaaa)
* and I'm nearly 40, it wasn't pushed quite as much back then.

Drawing a long bow here but whatever I feel like having some fun.

In:

Out:

Gold Coast

In:

Out:

GAJ, picks22,24,33,37

Saints:

In:

Gaff, lamb

Out:

Pick 7, 43,57

Melbourne:

Out:

Hogan, pick 45

West coast:

In:

Out:

We go to draft with:

7, 22,20,24,30,33,34,

Wow that would take me at least four posts to come up with all that.:huh::D

Too many clubs, players and picks involved. Need to keep things simple.

Also we are far too conservative to trade Kennedy.