2017 trade/draft thread

• Thread starter Thread starter mattyc75

They started the game well and were in the game at half time and there were moments even in the third that they could have got them selves into the game as the tigers hadn't nailed them in. They looked absolutely shell shocked after half time (even tho the deficit was around the 20 odd points mark). Sloane who started so well was average in the second, tex was garbage(minus the junk time goal), Jacobs had minimal influence despite the hitouts(rucked heaps against a midget as well, talia was week, atkins was non existent (finished 2nd or third in their brownlow count). The only two thats fought hard were the crouch brothers.

ok then I don`t agree but if you saw it like that then that's ok .

??

Hart was AA, Evans was one of the best finals performers ever at WC, at the other two were very good players
Wasn't saying they weren't good players, just some of the ones with more heart and determination that were known as more in and under and doing the hard work. The type of players we need more of in the current side to be successful.

Also shows that a swarm of hungry small-medium sized players will make tall teams look very very slow.

It makes you wonder what NN's true value is given his lack of endurance means we always need to play a second ruckman.

Or maybe we scrap the second ruckman idea and go with Darling as second ruck - I mean, ****, the two most recent premiers have used smaller players as their second rucks.

Can we seriously afford to play Vardy, Kennedy and Darling in the same forwardline?

I hope we are able to be flexible enough to pick and choose our forwardline based on the opposition. We would have been fine with that set up against Adelaide, but that Richmond side needed a different approach. Jenkins, Otten, Walker, Lynch, Talia, Lever, Hartigan and Jacobs....sheesh.
It's frustrating and worrying that when questioned about making tactical changes, coaches and players seem to rip out the old "we just didn't play our brand of footy" or the variant "we believe our brand of footy can beat anyone".

It shifts responsibility to effort rather than the merit of the gameplan. I mean they probably can't talk about that area to the media, but I hope they aren't seriously trying to play the same gameplan regardless of the opposition.

Teams that target and disrupt the opposition's weaknesses will always beat a team with no plan B.

Darling is not a giant at 192cm and agee we definitely can`t do NN,Vardy and Lycett who I would see as tradeable this year ..
Darling isn't a giant but he plays tall compared to other players his height in that position. Yes Lycett very tradeable. 2 rucks no good anymore.

Can remember when Mick Malthouse was coach that he normally liked to play 9 talls - how the game has changed - not for the better in my opinion as what happens to all the young talent coming through who happen to be on the tall side?
Agree but its the old argument if you can't beat em join em! Still room for talls in the game but they need to be able to be more than just a tall target. Daniher imo is the prototype tall, tall as a giraffe, mobile, pinch hits in thw ruck can play up the ground or out of the goal square and can take pack marks or crumb too.

ok then I don`t agree but if you saw it like that then that's ok .
Crows were the best and highest scoring team all year who played the fourth best team and kicked their lowest score for the year in the GF. Reckon that is a choke.

I didn't think Richmond were any chance before the game.

Can remember when Mick Malthouse was coach that he normally liked to play 9 talls - how the game has changed - not for the better in my opinion as what happens to all the young talent coming through who happen to be on the tall side?

I'm pretty sure he had 7 spots for talls.

Crows were the best and highest scoring team all year who played the fourth best team and kicked their lowest score for the year in the GF. Reckon that is a choke.

I didn't think Richmond were any chance before the game.

The ball delivery to the fwds was poor due to Richmond pressure further up the ground ,the opportunities were well defended..
Adelaide didn`t choke just beaten by a better team on the day who pressured and harassed all day ..

The ball delivery to the fwds was poor due to Richmond pressure further up the ground ,the opportunities were well defended..
Adelaide didn`t choke just beaten by a better team on the day who pressured and harassed all day ..
So they succumbed to pressure in a GF? Choke....

They started the game well and were in the game at half time and there were moments even in the third that they could have got them selves into the game as the tigers hadn't nailed them in. They looked absolutely shell shocked after half time (even tho the deficit was around the 20 odd points mark). Sloane who started so well was average in the second, tex was garbage(minus the junk time goal), Jacobs had minimal influence despite the hitouts(rucked heaps against a midget as well, talia was week, atkins was non existent (finished 2nd or third in their brownlow count). The only two thats fought hard were the crouch brothers.

I'm pretty sure the definition of a choke is a side that is leading with victory in its sights and for whatever reason give up the game through various acts that allow the opposition to steal the win.

What Adelaide did was not a choke. They got beaten by a better side on the day who brought pressure and belief and did not allow Adelaide to play to their strengths most of the day.

Good sides exploit weakness in the opposition and pressure their strengths.
That is what Richmond did to Adelaide.

Tigers had 3 genuine a-graders (martin, rance and cotchin) surrounded by 19 guys that cracked in.

We potentially have 4-5 next year (kennedy, gov, nic nat and potentially yeo and shuey).

Big pre season and 2015 effort and there is hope for us next year yet

Tigers had 3 genuine a-graders (martin, rance and cotchin) surrounded by 19 guys that cracked in.

We potentially have 4-5 next year (kennedy, gov, nic nat and potentially yeo and shuey).

Big pre season and 2015 effort and there is hope for us next year yet

The difference is right now only 1 of those you have mentioned is a midfielder.

Hopefully Venables, Sheed, Duggan etc take a step up.

I'm pretty sure the definition of a choke is a side that is leading with victory in its sights and for whatever reason give up the game through various acts that allow the opposition to steal the win.

What Adelaide did was not a choke. They got beaten by a better side on the day who brought pressure and belief and did not allow Adelaide to play to their strengths most of the day.

Good sides exploit weakness in the opposition and pressure their strengths.
That is what Richmond did to Adelaide.
In sports, a choke is the failure of an athlete game or tournament when the player or team had been strongly favored to win or had squandered a large lead in the late stages of the even
just a quick google search.

Weren't the crows heavy favourites going into the even though it was at the tigers home?

At the end of the day crows chocked as well as being out played. I never disagreed that they were outplayed.

Combine starts Tuesday .... Murphy kid played Cricket mainly so is rising up the rankings now AFL bound , top 30 pick if we are a chance at our second pick that would be good , played well in the all star game also .

Murphy has a lot of potential and at 188 cm and 83 kg thats a very good frame to work with.
He is not quite an area of critical or immediate need, but the talent is considerable and its the sort of pick that O'Brien loves to make.

Its going to be very interesting to see just who we spend our second round pick on, as I can see the likes of James Worpel, Dylan Moore and Charlie Spargo being available with that pick.... or do we reach a bit to ensure we don't miss out on Tim Kelly as he is plug in ready to go.

I personally don't want to give up our second to get Fasolo...... in fact I would rather we pass on him completely as he doesn't offer much more than what Cripps already does.

Indicative draft picks: 13, 30, 48, 67, 85

Delisted: Simon Tunbridge

Retired: Sam Butler, Paddy Brophy, Jonathan Giles, Sam Mitchell, Drew Petrie, Matt Priddis

Unsigned free agents: None

What they said: "Obviously we'd love another A-grade midfielder – they're very difficult to get - and a small forward as well. If we thought we could get the right player we'd look at the best way we could to achieve that for our footy club." – football manager Craig Vozzo.

Whispers: The Eagles are in the midst of a clean-out as they look to regenerate their list.

Out-of-favour midfielder Chris Masten is contracted until 2019 but will almost certainly be on the trade table, while out-of-contract defender Sharrod Wellingham's future is unlikely to be decided until the end of the trade period. One player West Coast won't want to part with is hard-running midfielder Andrew Gaff. The Victorian is contracted for 2018 but is being circled by St Kilda and Hawthorn. The Eagles will look to short-circuit that interest and prevent Gaff from becoming a free agent at the end of next season by re-signing him to a long-term deal this summer. Earlier this year, Eagles coach Adam Simpson identified a small forward as the club's No.1 list management priority, with contracted Magpie Alex Fasolo a likely target. Fasolo is due to become a free agent at the end of next season, but Eagles football manager Craig Vozzo recently said the club would seriously consider trading for him this year. However, West Australian Suns small forward Brandon Matera is set to join Fremantle early in the trade period.

Richmond defence is very under rated, even the hype that Rance gets the rest of them play their role very well.
I think they set up well, but it helps massively when your teammates are actually applying pressure up the ground.