2018 Best 22

Mundy should play back or forward in 2018 to give the future of the club the time to gel in the middle. Depending on match ups on the day that should determine where he plays. Johnson should only get a game based on matchups his time is near end and same with Mundy the young defense needs time to gel and he will prevent that. Walters needs to rotate in the middle with say a bennell and neale. The three of them rotating with rests up forward would make matchups confusing for the opposition. Cerra and brayshaw to rotate with each other off the bench 60-65% game time through the middle to slowly expose them to afl. Switkowski and crownden to gets games over ballantyne. Based on form whoever is performing stays in. Don’t want to see Sheridan or surcliffe in the team at all unless we are riddled with injuries

For me the backline and midfield all but selects itself. I'd have to wait til the end of preseason training and the nab cup to determine my ideal forward line, though I do lean towards this set up.

FB: Hughes Hamling Logue
HB: Ryan A Pearce Wilson
C: S Hill Fyfe B Hill
HF: Cerra Taberner Bennell
FF: Walters Cox Crowden

R: Darcy Brayshaw Blakely

I: Tucker, Mundy, Neale and McCarthy.

- So torn on Taberner's inclusion or omission. I really only want 2 talls but McCarthy isn't up to taking a true KPD imo so I went a traditional arrangement.

- If McCarthy still can't perform as a genuine third option behind Cox and Taberner I wouldn't hesitate to bring in Matera or Langdon and go shorter. Simply needs to perform.

- Youngens on the field for demonstration of position purposes only.

- I don't think Cerra is physically ready but I'm a play your early picks kind of guy. If he can't make an impact then he'd come out for Langdon or Matera.

- Please no to 2 ruckman.

Not much has changed for me. I still find playing Darcy and Sandi together the most difficult thing to reconcile, especially if you consider Taberner to be a lock. I know Darcy is honing his forward craft this summer but having two of those 3 up forward at any given time isn't ideal. Sandi has been a legend of this club but I hope the club uses his rests very liberally.

As for MJ and Spurr, it's less difficult. Neither should play unless injury/suspension dictates it
I hate you for saying anything remotely negative about Sandilands, but your post is spot on as usual.

If sandi is fit..you have to have darcy playing from ff alternating. If sandi goes down, that's when cox/tabs come into the picture as best 22 as back up ruck/Fwd.

Kersten & McCarthy will start in the best 22 as general fwds..but they wont have as much chances as 2017.

Our Backline and Midfield are pretty settled and I won't expect much change besides Wilson coming onto the back flank and maybe Brayshaw during the year.

The Fwd line setup is the tricky one. If sandi is fit, kersten/Mccarthy find form it will hopefully look like this.

HF: Bennell McCarthy Matera
FF: Kersten Darcy Walters

If sandi goes down and Darcy is no 1 ruck..and if Kersten/Mccarthy cant get there shit together.

HF: Bennell Cox Matera
FF: Ballas/Mundy Tabs Walters

Theres always the possibility of fyfe playing down there, but all in all its obvious we need our mids kicking goals if we have any chance making finals.

Where can I find that ross Lyon interview?
Think it was the une-acki mid draft interview. Where he pretended not to know how to pronounce his name. Went on to say very happy with our picks and expects Andrew to play quite a bit of senior footy.

Can someone please tell me about Duman, Strnadica & Grey. Don’t know much about them
Duman is a tall (192) skinny guy, maybe projects as a back flanker or wing. I think he can play, but will find it difficult to get opportunities.

Strnadica is a big local boy; an original Dockers supporter. Projects as a Ruck/Fwd. Very much a project player, perhaps lacking mobility.

Grey is a hard nut mid/forward who you don't want to be going into a contested ball situation with. Not the best disposer. May have some competition with Crowden coming in who projects similarly, but with a significantly better kick.

After the draft I think our round 1 team could look like:
B: ryan hamling logue
HB: blakely johno wilson
C: b.hill walters s.hill
R: sandy neale fyfe
HF: cerra mcarthy bennell
FF: matera tabs mundy

I/C:Darcy brayshaw
tucker Hughes

Em: Langdon,
Quick note: How much better are the foot skills of this team compared to Round 1 2017 team.
Really think Cerra could impact early on playing half forward with short stints on the ball. I also think Brayshaw could start his career on a wing and then move into an onball/wing role as the season progresses. Personally think both are too good to leave out of the team.

I wouldn't be surprised if by the end of the year our team may look like:
B: Ryan Hamling Logue
HB: Wilson A.Perace Blakely
C: Brayshaw Fyfe B.Hill
R: Sandy Cerra S.Hill
HF: Bennell McCarthy Walters
FF: Neale Cox Darcy

I/c Hughes, Tucker, Mundy, Crowden or matera depending on form.

Ryan Hamling logue

Wilson Johnson Hughes

B Hill Fyfe S Hill

Walters Mccarthy Bennell

Matera Cox Mundy

Ruck: Sandilands, Blakely, Neale

Bench: Darcy, Tucker, Brayshaw, Cerra

A Pearce to replace Johnson when he has played 5 games in the WAFL without hiccups.

B: Ryan Hamling Wilson
HB: Blakely A.Pearce Johnson
C: Bhill Neale Walters
HF: Bennell McCarthy Crowden
F: Matera Cox Ballantyne

F:Sandi Fyfe SHill

I/C: Logue Hughes Brayshaw Mundy

E: Langdon Cerra Tucker Darcy

B: Ryan Hamling Wilson
HB: Blakely A.Pearce Johnson
C: Bhill Neale Walters
HF: Bennell McCarthy Crowden
F: Matera Cox Ballantyne

F:Sandi Fyfe SHill

I/C: Logue Hughes Brayshaw Mundy

E: Langdon Cerra Tucker Darcy

Really? Cox before darcy in the starting 22. Have you seen Cox shoot at goal and rucking!

Mind if a Coaster gives it a shot?

B: Logue Hamling A.Pearce
HB: Blakely Johnson Wilson
C: Bhill Neale Shill
HF: Bennell Mundy Walters
F: Matera McCarthy Ballantyne

F: Darcy Fyfe Cerra

I/C: Sandi Ryan Hughes Brayshaw

As much as you're the purple enemy and the team that we are guaranteed to play twice each year - I think you're list is looking exciting.
I would love to see Matera and Ballas combine as small forwards.
I also would love to see Walters and a firing Bennell combining as half-forwards but also pushing deep into mid-field from there.
But at the very least I know I will get to see Hamling and Wilson combine on the backline.

Go hard or go home. Commit to playing youth from Rd 1.

B: Hughes Hamling Logue
HB: Wilson A.Pearce Ryan
C: S.Hill Fyfe B.Hill
HF: Walters Tabs, Bennell
FF: Crowden, McCarthy Matera
R: Sandy, Neale, Mundy
I/C Blakely, Brayshaw, Cerra, Darcy

Em: from Cox, Langdon, Balla, Tucker, MJ, Spurr, Rix, Kersten, Grey

I have long thought Sandilands is a bit overrated, to me he was essentially useless as a mark as he'd just palm off to a handball, as a forward he was shit, and in a good 250-game career he never had a day out as a forward. I would immediately be pumping games into Sean Darcy. He's competitive, confident, and has already played fairly well against some much more experienced rucks. He's a great little get and slowing down his momentum is a bad idea.

For me, it's about constant rotation, but this is how I'd view certain players:

Sandilands – get him out there to help Darcy ease in but by the end of the season, he's redundant
Ballantyne – no more than about six or seven games
Mundy – play exclusively off half back, where his kicking and roving of the ball helps and his leadership can show
Johnson – would much rather Mundy in his position and considering his age, I don't really get playing him... Pearce, Wilson, Hamling, Luke Ryan, they all play tall or are defenders who essentially can mark and cleanly get the ball – two things Johnson is
– Sutcliffe, Sheridan, Spurr, Pearce: see yas. Much better class coming through
– Guys like Hughes, Grey, Langdon, Tucker, and Blakely are all good players and I'd love to see them continue on but with the highly rated young midfielders coming in and the reinforcement of run in Bennell and Matera, they really really will want to show their extra pre-seasons and game nous. They need to elevate and try their guts out when they get a chance, because there are players who within a year, could be taking their spots
– Kersten... you're pretty shit mate, got a gig by default, you need to kick 25 goals minimum this season if you're allowed more than 10-odd games
– Taberner is someone who I do not rate as a player, and he now has some competition down there. No longer has the benefit of youth as he's played 50 games and is about 24, so this is the year he needs to impose himself and kick some arse. I just don't see him doing it however, as physically he is far too intimidated and simply does not get the game enough to effect it. He goes missing and gets his goals through free kicks and waiting at the back of packs. Even then he still rarely gets more than a few goals a game. Just needs to do something
– Logue needs to do something as he'll be competing and put up against our two first rounders. Needs to make a position his own and have a few games where he's a clear stand out player

Big year for lots of young guys, who are battling for their careers or else need to impose themselves or risk being overtaken by the end of the year. Hopefully the plethora of midfielders under about 23 sees them all take their chance and try their guts out, as by this age, you need to be really doing something. We also have lots of defenders and those guys have to do something in a real obvious way.

The older guys, well some of them I see as pretty much redundant. Don't get Ballas and Johnson sticking around for another year as guiding the forward line can be done by much better, more 'leader-like' players like Mundy and Sonny. Whatever though.

I also really don't see the point of picking up Matera. He's what, 26? His career is now as a back-up. We have Bennell as a much much better player who is more dynamic, more ballsy, and they're equally inconsistent but Bennell's best is much better. Bennell can also function as a mid, a half forward, a winger, and a bonafide crumbing forward so what's the point? Throw in your Langdon and Tucker and the addition of our draftees (sans the tall and ruck) and you have way too much competition for a spot already essentially reserved for Michael Walters and about two others.

Crowden - McCarthy - Walters
Bennell - Dixon - Blakely
Hill - Fyfe - Hill
Mundy - A Pearce - Logue
Wilson - Hamling - Ryan

R: Darcy - Neale - Brayshaw
I/C: Grey - Langdon/Tucker - Johnson - Cerra

Johnson to come in and take the place of Mundy, Mundy can go forward.

Grey is someone who will probably be replaced a bit but he's a back and forward pocket.

Cerra obviously rotating in as a midfielder.

Bennell and Blakely going in as half forwards, both are bigger bodies and can take marks but also have some physicality, however generally they'd be rotating through the middle with Fyfe. So essentially your half forward line could easily be Fyfe - Mundy - Tucker while your midfield is Bennell, Blakely, Neale.

Good mix of age, leadership, guys who are effective and at their peak, guys who are just about to get serious, young kids ready to go with heaps of potential, and those who are finding their feet (Crowden, Dixon).

Side full of youth. Would need to find a way to work Mundy and Sandi into this side. Maybe Tabs as well.

B: Hughes Hamling Logue
HB: Wilson A.Pearce Ryan
C: S.Hill Fyfe B.Hill
HF: Walters Cox Bennell
FF: Crowden, McCarthy Matera
R: Darcy, Neale, Blakely
I/C Langdon, Brayshaw, Cerra, Tucker

Tabener,Cox,kersten,McCarthy,Dixon,apeman to fight it out for the 2-3 tall forwards in the 22 personally I think it’s cox and tabener at the moment. Looking forward to pre season games to see who can make an impact before round 1