Game Day 2018 DRAFT - Christmas is early this year

• Thread starter Thread starter GrommoT

How do you rate our draft this year?

So we've known about Luko and Rankine for how long?

And we put ourselves in a top 3 position ........next year.

How absolutely Adelaide

Could we have traded 16 and a 2019 1st for pick 2 or 3 this year?

Absolutely not in a million years. Would have cost us 8 and 13 and 21 minimum.

Some massive players left. Reckon we go with Valente as a bigger midfielder, or Williams as the athletic tall.

1 month ago heaps of people were prepared to trade 3 1sts for a top 5 pick. Now we trade 2 end of 1st rounders for a top 3 and still melt.
Classic BF.

We wanted to do it this year, to get a gun SA kid, and maybe help us win a bloody flag.

We’re pushing the intake of elite talent further down the track.

Honestly. Who would carlton finish above next year. Gold coast? Port maybe?

next years draft is rubbish. a top 3 pick next year is 10th this year. There is no chance Rankine or Luko are coming back after one year. We just jumped at a trade we over thought and we drafted players we may not have drafted if we pre traded this pick before the draft. This is not Ogilvy's finest hour. In fact I don't think this trade will sit comfortably at all tonight with the AFC.

I really like our draft. The game is changing and it's all about quickness across the field- you can't carry that many jarryd lyons, mitch griggs or ellis yolmans in a side as defensively you'll get cut up. From what i've heard and seen of McHenry and Jones they are both HUNGRY to chase, +++ intensity, harass and work defensively. Add to the fact with the ball in hand they're both good ball users is a massive tick. The top sides this year (richmond, collingwood and west coast) all have guys that can chase and run and compete all day which is where IMO we lack at the moment but these 2 guys can help!

I dont agree. Look at their list. They will be the climber next year. I think we may finish around the same next year as this, and they will climb 4 or so spots up the table. I think GC, Freo, St Kilda will all finish below Carlton.
You think adding two draftees, a guy who's played zero games and McGovern will make Carlton a mid table team?

Lol

Kinda wonder why we didn’t do that this year, don’t you?

Please dont be so silly as to suggest GC, having lost Lynch and May were going to sell pick 2 or 3 for 8 and 16. Come on. It would have been 8, 13 and 16 for them to consider it.

You answered your own question, im sure if they could have done 16(19) and a future 1st for pick 2 or 3 they would have. But suns werent going to accept.

This way the club has a top 3 pick next year for 2 end of first rounders presumably after Hamish's picks had all gone.

I dont agree. Look at their list. They will be the climber next year. I think we may finish around the same next year as this, and they will climb 4 or so spots up the table. I think GC, Freo, St Kilda will all finish below Carlton.
Freo got Hogan and Lobb. i dont think they going to go worse

Powaa done well at the draft hurts me to say.
They lost Wingard and Polec and traded up to try and get a Lukosious or Rankine, Rozee is a good get but it was a safe pick for them at pick 5, talent wise it should have been Smith or B.King before Rozee.
Then the other 2 picks, their board aren't too happy about, especially the last one...…..

next years draft is rubbish. a top 3 pick next year is 10th this year. There is no chance Rankine or Luko are coming back after one year. We just jumped at a trade we over thought and we drafted players we may not have drafted if we pre traded this pick before the draft. This is not Ogilvy's finest hour. In fact I don't think this trade will sit comfortably at all tonight with the AFC.
Shit, after all the insight you've had over the course of the year on the draft (none), I definitely think you're in a position to bash Ogilvie. 100% factual, assured opinion coming from a professional draft watcher this is.

Wtf? How would trading up for Lukosius help win us a flag next year?

Posters beg for us to take some risks, then when we do, everyone starts sooking, it shits me to tears.

Because he’s a ****ing gun who could play in the AFL side from round 1?

I really like our draft. The game is changing and it's all about quickness across the field- you can't carry that many jarryd lyons, mitch griggs or ellis yolmans in a side as defensively you'll get cut up. From what i've heard and seen of McHenry and Jones they are both HUNGRY to chase, +++ intensity, harass and work defensively. Add to the fact with the ball in hand they're both good ball users is a massive tick. The top sides this year (richmond, collingwood and west coast) all have guys that can chase and run and compete all day which is where IMO we lack at the moment but these 2 guys can help!
Yeah but but the game changes quickly. Right now it’s about tackling, pressure and intensity, over skill even, but who’s to say it won’t swing back to speed and skill shortly?