Game Day 2018 DRAFT - Christmas is early this year

• Thread starter Thread starter GrommoT

How do you rate our draft this year?

I'm pretty happy at this point. No shiney new draftee was going to roll into 2019 and get us a premiership. They may contribute if they get games, but the draft is future proofing our squad, and getting carlton's first next year is a solid move. Footy clubs are transient (I can use funny words too) and we need to be consistently be bringing in top talent.

We have ruck issues, and an aging list. We have lost another top talent and I think we have a team that isnt overly close or happy.
For me we tread water.
We had Lynch, Sloane, Seed, Crouch, Laird and Smith all re-sign to stick with this distant and miserable squad.

No I believe Anzac is not eligible for the same reason his brother is not. Danial is a he is overseas and alternates sport pick
Yep no SA indigenous boy that lives metropolitan is eligible under current rules otherwise Rankine would be playing for Port next year.

GWS have an Academy kid who is a jet and possible top 3 in Tom Green.
Plus theres a decent Tassie kid who I have no doubt Hamish wants to draft with Carltons first.
Im going early with that call.
How do they and Sydney have all these academy guns and we get nothing?

You guys almost couldn't say no to a likely top 5-6 pick, which would be your highest pick in forever. .
The highest pick that the Crows have ever been allocated is pick 8 IIRC. We did trade Kane Johnson for pick 3 which became 2 with the Carlton draft sanctions. We gave up that pick for Wayne Carey :$

Yep no SA indigenous boy that lives metropolitan is eligible under current rules otherwise Rankine would be playing for Port next year.
To be allowed in any teams NGA you have to tick the boxes for eligibility. Thats why you havent seen Rankine or Pickett for instance in a NGA. Anzac is a member of our Academy.

Where is this dross that Carlton aren't a bottom 3 team next year coming from?????

Carlton won 2 games last year. And that's with having their best player play at his best all season.

They have an injury prone ruckman and no one to replace him. They have the weakest midfield in the comp bar the Gold Coast. They have no forward line. They have an unproven coach.

They had one player miss last year, Docherty. He will be a big inclusion for them. So what, the Gold Coast were crippled with injuries again. The Saints had some big injury outs. The Dogs the same, Freo the same, etc.

The Blues have a genuinely poor list in the short term.

The Crows had the worst off season possible and were crippled by injuries.

If the Crows don't finish top 4 then I'll be very surprised.

It was a genius trade by the Crows. Pick 1-3 for pick 15ish & 19. Anyone who wouldn't do that trade is very poor judge.

How many people picked Jones as our first?

I'm a little shocked with our selection with McHenry having attained McAdam and gullucci ready to rise

Having 3 first round picks was exciting.

Feeling a bit underwhelmed to be honest. I don’t know enough about either of our picks to be excited I guess. I wonder where they go if we didn’t pick them? Would anyone have picked either in the first round? I doubt anyone else takes McHenry. Jones probably does.

Reckon Port nailed it.

Go take a look the highlights (for what they're worth) of both of the lads we picked up, that'll cheer you up :)

A few people picked both of them in their best 25, I'm happy we got Jones with our first.. Just feel like we let a big fish slip in caldwell.