Opinion 2018 Non-Crows Discussion Thread

There'd be a difference between cash for comment and paid air time though. Cash for comment was about presenters misleading the public. Running a pair for segment, like those "current affairs" shows do is a little different.

I don't think there's a rule that says commentators can't be total dicks.

Went to the women's game today. Had a good time, standard is up from last year, plenty of people there with their young daughters. The more i see of AFLW the more i think we have really backed the right horse compared to Chyna. The club will reap benefits well into the future

Port tried to back the right horse with AFLW though. They only withdrew because Fagan's genius decision to link with the NT gave the AFL no choice but to select us.

The only reason I watched 3 quarters yesterday was because my 5 year old daughter wanted it on. If it gives her an interest, and gets her outside and running around then that's good.

And she is the market AFL are after,
and she'll get a boyfriend and he'll have to take her ... ah, we are no longer the forgotten 51% of the AFL market.

Port tried to back the right horse with AFLW though. They only withdrew because Fagan's genius decision to link with the NT gave the AFL no choice but to select us.
I wondered what happened there!

Check
And check mate !:D

The naysayers of AFLW are deluded.

My daughter who proudly used to tell be footy is boring is now going to bed with her autographed footy after excitingly telling me who signed her hat and footy ( watching the highlights).

Im sure im not alone in that experience.

Wonder how many Port girls went to bed with their ticket to China as their most prized possession
!

Quite the opposite...

BT, Brayshaw, Basil, Campbell Brown, Barry Hall

I don't know who I'm going to listen to this year.

It's going to be quite the dilemma.
Hopefully ABC step it up.

It's that simple is it ? ......Hawthorn / North have had zero effect on the states football development / demise ....how about you do some research into the issues first
Bullshit.

Hawthorn and North made promises to football development but they've done the absolute minimum. They've been very willing to take millions of dollars of sponsorship out of the state.

But there's no state loyalty, no grass roots efforts other than trying to squeeze out more money.

It's been a terrible thing for the state, and only the truly naive would look at it and not realise the role that the Victorian sides have played in starving football there.

Bullshit.

Hawthorn and North made promises to football development but they've done the absolute minimum. They've been very willing to take millions of dollars of sponsorship out of the state.

But there's no state loyalty, no grass roots efforts other than trying to squeeze out more money.

It's been a terrible thing for the state, and only the truly naive would look at it and not realise the role that the Victorian sides have played in starving football there.

Recall reading Gillon singing the praises of their highest ranking AFL bloke there and how he'd invested record amounts of cash into the system. And yet it seems a bit of a shambles. I might have it wrong, but I remember thinking the evidence suggests the opposite of Gil's view.

Bullshit.

Gee, what a surprise! North going into a market, making all kinds of promises, then using it for their own ends and giving nothing back in return. All that's left now is for them to walk away, leaving their latest victim pissed off at them again. It's not as if this has happened before. Oh wait - it has! Twice!

Bullshit.

Only AFL clubs developing grass root footballers are those with Academies .....North & Hawthorn have no commitment to grass roots development, the same as the Crows don't

The issues in Tasmania are club politics & money, neither of which the two AFL clubs can impact

Only AFL clubs developing grass root footballers are those with Academies .....North & Hawthorn have no commitment to grass roots development, the same as the Crows don't

The issues in Tasmania are club politics & money, neither of which the two AFL clubs can impact

Is there no subject that your posts don’t leave the reader dumber for having read them? :)

Closeness of scoring wise, you’d have to agree. Even a thumping is only a 2/3 goal difference so really anything can happen.
The men’s game has become a blowout fest. How many games are decided by somewhere in the second quarter nowadays. Glad when we’re on the right side of the ledger but give me a close game like today’s AFLW or Port v eagles final any day.
In fact, let it be so that every game Port play, ends the same way.:thumbsu:

Interesting when people so far removed from the coal face seem to easily be able to identify the issues and put up equally shallow solutions. "Politics and money" could not be more generalised if you tried !

As a relatively new Taswegian, I have only the insights from people I know who have been around this their whole life.

From the discussion I have been involved in over the last 5 years , it basically comes down to this:

We need our own team, and an academy to go with it. We need the AFL to commit to Tasmania in the same manner that they committed to Western Sydney. The moving population within Tasmania has played havoc with some of the more remote teams ... the resulting TSL problems need to be solved with direct funding from the AFL so playing and coaching talent doesn't get lost to other state leagues.​

Sure we only have 500,000 on the island ... but a huge number of those are AFL consumers. Blundstone has 20k capacity, which would more than hold it's own as a venue most weeks for a Hobart based team. Check GWS figures for home games for the first 6 years:

2017 - 12 @ 13,335
2016 - 12 @ 13,121
2015 - 11 @ 10,691
2014 - 11 @ 9,226
2013 - 11 @ 9,701
2012 - 11 @ 10,825

The AFL are treating Tasmania very badly, and they should just knuckle down and create a Hobart team with some healthy startup concessions ... play 9 games in Hobart and a couple up North every season.

It would be supported. It is viable.

The naysayers of AFLW are deluded.

My daughter who proudly used to tell be footy is boring is now going to bed with her autographed footy after excitingly telling me who signed her hat and footy ( watching the highlights).

Im sure im not alone in that experience.
Oh but Cap for every little girl like your own there are 10 little boys and girls like Tintin.
http://www.portadelaidefc.com.au/news/2016-12-20/an-open-letter-from-shanghai

[emoji23][emoji23][emoji23][emoji23][emoji3][emoji3][emoji3][emoji3]

Sent from my SM-T355Y using Tapatalk

Interesting when people so far removed from the coal face seem to easily be able to identify the issues and put up equally shallow solutions. "Politics and money" could not be more generalised if you tried !

As a relatively new Taswegian, I have only the insights from people I know who have been around this their whole life.

From the discussion I have been involved in over the last 5 years , it basically comes down to this:

We need our own team, and an academy to go with it. We need the AFL to commit to Tasmania in the same manner that they committed to Western Sydney. The moving population within Tasmania has played havoc with some of the more remote teams ... the resulting TSL problems need to be solved with direct funding from the AFL so playing and coaching talent doesn't get lost to other state leagues.​

Sure we only have 500,000 on the island ... but a huge number of those are AFL consumers. Blundstone has 20k capacity, which would more than hold it's own as a venue most weeks for a Hobart based team. Check GWS figures for home games for the first 6 years:

2017 - 12 @ 13,335
2016 - 12 @ 13,121
2015 - 11 @ 10,691
2014 - 11 @ 9,226
2013 - 11 @ 9,701
2012 - 11 @ 10,825

The AFL are treating Tasmania very badly, and they should just knuckle down and create a Hobart team with some healthy startup concessions ... play 9 games in Hobart and a couple up North every season.

It would be supported. It is viable.
Who said i'm removed from the Tasmanian situation .....that's your assumption

I think you've come up with conclusions, without a full understanding of a working financial model required

If it was on the books, which it isn’t

Have a listen to their promo re Caroline Wilson and Stinkley having a sook about her having an opinion on their leadership groups

Precious little snow flakes down at Alberton.
They are just sticking up for the listeners as many follow Port.

I'd be very surprised if presenters are getting cash for comment re Port Adelaide.

Sent from my SM-T355Y using Tapatalk

Crows have an Academy and run quite a few community sessions.
Both North and Hawthorn run communities session and junior coaching sessions. in Tasmania,

The Tasmanian issue is you have Hobart and Launceston, two different cities, and football organisations who do not see eye to eye, The whole state cannot work together It's like the Hatfield and McCoys. And its runs deeper than Football. Then you have Queenstown

Went to the women's game today. Had a good time, standard is up from last year, plenty of people there with their young daughters. The more i see of AFLW the more i think we have really backed the right horse compared to Chyna. The club will reap benefits well into the future
Yeah, I haven’t really got into the AFLW this year but if your a young girl and likes the footy in Adelaide you are probably going to support the club as a whole, glad we got in early.

Who said i'm removed from the Tasmanian situation .....that's your assumption

I think you've come up with conclusions, without a full understanding of a working financial model required

Have never heard you moan about the quality of coffee in Hobart. So we all just presume that you've never been there.