Preview 2019 Draft General Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter Pykie

G'day boys, what are your thoughts on Murray Bushrangers trio Lachlan Ash, Jye Chalcraft and Jimmy Boyer. All look like promising players..

imo Ash is a star, Boyer is a decent player and i have not seen Chalcraft
Chalcraft currently has a minor injury at the moment, very nice player. Played more forward this year, pressure is elite. Will move into the midfield next year.

What do people think about will Gould and where he could be available next year at this early stage?

I rate him highly as looks a good interceptor but can defend as well. Is that right from people with more vision than me? Can use the ball, seems to make good choices and surprisingly mobile and quick for a chunky lad.

I want him at port to pair with Howard and clurey which is a great fit in my eyes and a terrific young backline.

What are your guys thoughts on a kid of the name of Mitch O’Neill
He’s my pick 1 for next year . Did not play a bad game at any level including Academy and Div 1 . Regularly had 20+ possessions and a balanced inside outside game

Future star

My Official Top 30 for 2019
Mitch O'Neill (North Hobart)
Jeremy Sharp (East Freo)
Jack Mahony (Sandringham Dragons)
Matthew Rowell (Oakleigh Chargers)
Noah Anderson (Oakleigh Chargers)
Caleb Serong (Gippsland Power)
Sam Flanders (Gippsland Power)
Lachlan Ash (Murray Bushrangers)
Cameron Taheny (Norwood)
Will Gould (Glenlg)
Lachlan Potter (Northern Knights)
Dylan Williams (Oakleigh Chargers)
Emerson Jeka (Western Jets)
Mitchell Georgiades (Subiaco)
Connor Budarick (Labrador - GCS)
Thomas Green (Marist - GWS)
Hayden Young (Dandenong Stingrays)
Cooper Stephens (Geelong Falcons)
Spencer Johnson (Western Jets)
Mitch Mellis (Eastern Ranges)
Brodie Kemp (Murray Bushrangers)
Flynn Perez (Bendigo Pioneers)
Charlie Dean (Sandringham Dragons)
Ned Cahill (Dandenong Stingrays)
Jay Dahlhaus (Geelong Falcons)
Isaac Wareham (GWV Rebels)
Will Chandler (Murray Bushrangers)
Corey Watts (Sandringham Dragons)
Josh Worrell (Sandringham Dragons)
Deven Robertson (Perth)

that would be my top 30 for 2019, i have had limited viewing on interstate players other than the championships and in Taheny's case highlights, so im sure theres a few interstaters that will push out a Vic or 2 next year, but this is my estimate of the top 30 talent for 2019...

some that got close Mitch Martin(GWV), Ryan Byrnes(Sand), Riley Baldi(gipps), Finn Magginess(sand), Lucas Rocci(west), Trent Bianco(oak)
Nailed your first pick

Cooper Stephens too low, top 10 easily and Baldi should be on the main list.
I don’t think Stephens is top 10 easy by any stretch. Sits in the 15-25 for me at this stage

Opinions are like .......'s, everyone's got one. :)
Wouldn’t have said anything if you said “imo Stephens is top 10” saying Stephens is top 10 easy sounds like your stating it as fact haha

I should have put IMO, my bad.

Edit : and Baldi?
I like Baldi, he is a smaller inside mid but certainly knows how to find the footy. I haven’t watched him close enough to try and find issues with his skills so I’ll have a better understanding of him when I go through TAC footage in the lead up to the draft.

Surely East Freo ruck Luke Jackson will be top 30....played 2 games in the champs with no footy under his belt because of international basketball....as an underager too.....Surely now with footy as his number 1 focus.....and a focused footy preseason under his belt....
Haha Jackson will be, to steal a term from Bicks "top 10 easy" (at this stage).

He’s my pick 1 for next year . Did not play a bad game at any level including Academy and Div 1 . Regularly had 20+ possessions and a balanced inside outside game

Future star
Everyone should have this kid at number 1 as of now he’s dominating every bottom ager bottom ager all Australian is massive and also heard he’s killing it back in tassie

Plenty of others have had strong years. Both Noah Anderson and Dylan Williams have had great years. Lachlan Ash a consistent performer for Murray. Deven Robertson has been a ball magnet in the WAFL colts.

Yeah I’m not saying they have had a bad year Noah and Dylan are on track for top five but the thing Mitch did what Noah and Dylan didn’t was dominant at div one level

Williams only got to play 1 game and Anderson 2 and they both kicked 4 goals in a game, if priority wasn’t given to draft age players they would have also dominated more games.

My Official Top 30 for 2019
Mitch O'Neill (North Hobart)
Jeremy Sharp (East Freo)
Jack Mahony (Sandringham Dragons)
Matthew Rowell (Oakleigh Chargers)
Noah Anderson (Oakleigh Chargers)
Caleb Serong (Gippsland Power)
Sam Flanders (Gippsland Power)
Lachlan Ash (Murray Bushrangers)
Cameron Taheny (Norwood)
Will Gould (Glenlg)
Lachlan Potter (Northern Knights)
Dylan Williams (Oakleigh Chargers)
Emerson Jeka (Western Jets)
Mitchell Georgiades (Subiaco)
Connor Budarick (Labrador - GCS)
Thomas Green (Marist - GWS)
Hayden Young (Dandenong Stingrays)
Cooper Stephens (Geelong Falcons)
Spencer Johnson (Western Jets)
Mitch Mellis (Eastern Ranges)
Brodie Kemp (Murray Bushrangers)
Flynn Perez (Bendigo Pioneers)
Charlie Dean (Sandringham Dragons)
Ned Cahill (Dandenong Stingrays)
Jay Dahlhaus (Geelong Falcons)
Isaac Wareham (GWV Rebels)
Will Chandler (Murray Bushrangers)
Corey Watts (Sandringham Dragons)
Josh Worrell (Sandringham Dragons)
Deven Robertson (Perth)

that would be my top 30 for 2019, i have had limited viewing on interstate players other than the championships and in Taheny's case highlights, so im sure theres a few interstaters that will push out a Vic or 2 next year, but this is my estimate of the top 30 talent for 2019...

some that got close Mitch Martin(GWV), Ryan Byrnes(Sand), Riley Baldi(gipps), Finn Magginess(sand), Lucas Rocci(west), Trent Bianco(oak)

Making a huge error not including Dylan Stepehens in your top 30. I actually think whilst he might not quite have the upside of Taheny he is very close and far more consistent. He is built for the modern game with top line speed, endurance and nous. Just covers the ground amazingly and could perhaps should have had 35 and 4 goals in the final last weekend against South Adelaide. The kid is a star!

D stephens actually had 30 and 4 goals the week before in the first final as well and he coach described him as taking the piss!! Almost kicked goal of the year twice as well after multiple bounces and baulks.

Making a huge error not including Dylan Stepehens in your top 30. I actually think whilst he might not quite have the upside of Taheny he is very close and far more consistent. He is built for the modern game with top line speed, endurance and nous. Just covers the ground amazingly and could perhaps should have had 35 and 4 goals in the final last weekend against South Adelaide. The kid is a star!
This is from a Victorian perspective, so i'm bound to miss some interstate talent from not being able to see them play.

Knightmare has Tom Green (GWS Academy) going in the top 3, possible No 1.
Started in the middle for Allies, when he played GWS reserves (NEAFL) was a key midfielder and dominated last month u/17 Rams v Vic Metro at Ikon

Thoughts...?