2020 AFL fixture released

Look don't deny you and the other mcg tenants get a good run.

But 7 in a row to close out the season.?

Seriously that's bullshit and you know it.

Wasn't there an entire thread dedicated to this??

How many matches Richmond played at the MCG in 2019 has NOTHING to do with the 2020 Fixture.

Lets kill off the following

Saints
Bulldogs
Gold coast
Fremantle/port

That would fix the comp and leave more money for development in the lower local leagues etc.

1) hawks successfully fought off a takeover when they were half their current size and power

2) good luck getting the dees killed with the MCC behind them

3) no chance Sa/wa go back to one team only

4) what extra money? The tv deal will be hit because they lose a third of their games.

Also we have two stadia currently hosting 90 games, with this reduced to 33. Are you breaking the contract with the mcg (and thus allowing a breakaway league to use it), or are you selling marvel (and allowing a breakaway league to use it), or are you demolishing marvel and writing off an AFL asset worth hundreds of millions of dollars?

Where did I say noone should play the premiers twice?

I said we shouldn't be. Given the fact we are playing Collingwood and Geelong twice already.
So remove at least one of them for a fairer fixture.

It's a stitch up job and you know it.

So if the Eagles are exempt, who isn't? All the top six teams are playing two or three of the top six teams.

You seem to just want special treatment for the Eagles

Where did I say noone should play the premiers twice?

I said we shouldn't be. Given the fact we are playing Collingwood and Geelong twice already.
So remove at least one of them for a fairer fixture.

It's a stitch up job and you know it.

We finished top 6 and were guaranteed at least 2 double ups against other top 6 teams.

We also can only get 1 double up against a bottom 6 team and Freo takes care of that.

The only way our draw could get easier is if we drop one of the top 6 double ups and pick up a middle 6 double up. If that turns out to be the difference between top4/finals or not then we don't deserve it anyway.

The only reasonable complaints that a West Coast fan can have about the 2020 fixture is travelling to Queensland twice and Tasmania again.

We finished top 6 and were guaranteed at least 2 double ups against other top 6 teams.

We also can only get 1 double up against a bottom 6 team and Freo takes care of that.

The only way our draw could get easier is if we drop one of the top 6 double ups and pick up a middle 6 double up. If that turns out to be the difference between top4/finals or not then we don't deserve it anyway.

The only reasonable complaints that a West Coast fan can have about the 2020 fixture is travelling to Queensland twice and Tasmania again.

I have issues with the fixture as a rule, but the 6/6/6 arrangement at least attempts to smooth some of the issues. Not perfect, but better than the AFL deciding it without any weighting

Lol

Nice straw man.

We have the worst draw and I ask for some fairness and it's special treatment?

#eaglespriviledge

I'm asking who gets the five games, since you want noone with 2 games against top six playing us twice

As Richmond is in the top six, we have to play at least two of the top six twice. If we were exempt and allowed to play the lesser ranked teams more, we would have a softer draw

Lol

Nice straw man.

We have the worst draw and I ask for some fairness and it's special treatment?

#eaglespriviledge

We will always travel 10 times during the home and away season and because of the 6/6/6 grouping for fixtures it is a strong possibility that during those 10 away games we will play top teams from 2019. We were always likely to have a Collingwood or Richmond at the MCG, Brisbane at the Gabba etc, simply because Freo and the two SA teams aren't in the top 6 grouping.

I don't know what you're moaning about. If you need to complain it's having the longest road trips in the AFL in the same season that is worthy of complaint.

I'm asking who gets the five games, since you want noone with 2 games against top six playing us twice

As Richmond is in the top six, we have to play at least two of the top six twice. If we were exempt and allowed to play the lesser ranked teams more, we would have a softer draw

Again.

Straw man

I never said I want "noone with 2 games against top six playing us twice"

Stop putting Words in my mouth

My frustration is we (eagles, not all other teams) play Richmond Geelong and Collingwood twice. Those teams making up the top four all while we travel to Brisbane and Tasmania as well.

If you can't comprehend that you are more biased than I thought.

How about your team does it while travelling half the season and see how that goes for you.

Richmond struggles to win away from Melbourne, you'd finish 10th

Again.

Straw man

I never said I want "noone with 2 games against top six playing us twice"

Stop putting Words in my mouth

My frustration is we (eagles, not all other teams) play Richmond Geelong and Collingwood twice. Those teams making up the top four all while we travel to Brisbane and Tasmania as well.

If you can't comprehend that you are more biased than I thought.

How about your team does it while travelling half the season and see how that goes for you.

Again, EVERYONE in the top six plays two or three teams in the top six. You're not singled out, it's the stock standard rule and it's applied to all top six clubs

How would you suggest the AFL Fixture it to give Richmond 10 interstate games in a year? There's only 8 interstate clubs.

...and even IF Richmond played all the teams away; then West Coast Whingers (the fans, not the club) would complain that they don't get enough exposure and matches at the MCG.

I don't think anyone is shitting themselves down at Punt Road my friend. If you want it, come and get it.

We will be.

About time the Tigers played someone decent in a GF. Two wins against arguably the two most mentally weakest teams in the competition.

Good to see you don't spend the last two months bar one game at the MCG.

We travel more than any other Vic side next year including twice to Perth and twice to Qld and our double ups are against other T4 sides plus your mob. I live in WA you plonker. I'm just sick of the WA whinge.

When you go play in Northern Antartica you can talk to us about travel.

I've never lived in WA but certainly get tired of the favorable draws key Vic teams get just to get Gil and his fat cat mates their annual bonuses. That is what its all about. $$$$$$.

We will be.

About time the Tigers played someone decent in a GF. Two wins against arguably the two most mentally weakest teams in the competition.

Good to see you don't spend the last two months bar one game at the MCG.

Ironic that West Coast supporters call other clubs ‘mentally weak’ after Round 23 this year.

We will always travel 10 times during the home and away season and because of the 6/6/6 grouping for fixtures it is a strong possibility that during those 10 away games we will play top teams from 2019. We were always likely to have a Collingwood or Richmond at the MCG, Brisbane at the Gabba etc, simply because Freo and the two SA teams aren't in the top 6 grouping.

I don't know what you're moaning about. If you need to complain it's having the longest road trips in the AFL in the same season that is worthy of complaint.
You also get 10 home games with the biggest home advantage in the comp. Funny how you leave this out.

Richmond get 'runs' of MCG games because we play away games there as well..... where do you suggest Collingwood, Carlton, Essendon, Melbourne, etc play Richmond for their home games?

I feel that this complaint continually comes up in every other thread on Big Footy. Yet-- no West Coast Whinger seems to have an actual answer to it other than #VICBIAS
You could play geelong in geelong rather than at the mcg. That would be a start. A few more dockland games against dockland tenants too.

Nah I think we keep expanding to 24 teams.

Two divisions of 12 teams who play a full H+A season (22 rounds + finals)

6 new teams: 3rd WA, 3rd SA, Canberra, Tassie, Auckland and a 6th team, probably N-QLD or NT.

Ontop of this, AFL reserves is introduced, travels with the main team (fixture is determined by AFL season, won’t play finals based on reserves W-L but scratch matches following main comp finals).

AFL lists (combined main + reserve) consists of 66 players. Half must be under 25 (33). Half the fielded reserves team must be under 22.

Div 2 plays top 5 finals system (3 weeks). Div 1 plays top 6 finals system (4 weeks), gives each div a free saturday arvo for the GF.

Top 4 div 2 switches with bottom 4 div 1 each season as a relegation/promotion system
Fu*** me with these bulls*** draw changes when the obvious answer has already been proposed that fixes all the problems you are complaining about. 17-5. But when you had the chance to embrace it you rejected it out of idiocy.

Yes, because everyone knows the easiest numbers to divide equally are 17 and 5.

Oh yeah that’s right, you guys seem to think you have a god given right to dictate where you play away games.

No, but not to be absolutely slated by games in tasmania and at Geelong and 2 in qld. Surely you get that. Eagles got the hardest draw in the comp and didnt finish top 4 while the top 4 all got easier draws. Hell, Lions finished 2nd and they got like the 6th easiest draw in the comp. What the **** are the AFL running here? How is that fair?

You could play geelong in geelong rather than at the mcg. That would be a start. A few more dockland games against dockland tenants too.

In the past 12 H&A games between Cats Vs Tigers where Geelong has been the home team:
  • 7x Kardina Park
  • 3x Marvel Stadium
  • 2x MCG
When Geelong is the home team, most of the time Richmond plays down in Geelong rather than the MCG.

OR if you want to talk Marvel tenants in general-- Richmond in 2020 will play North Melbourne at the MCG in a H&A for the first time since 2012.

2020 AFL fixture released