2020 AFL fixture released

Fu*** me with these bulls*** draw changes when the obvious answer has already been proposed that fixes all the problems you are complaining about. 17-5. But when you had the chance to embrace it you rejected it out of idiocy.
How is 17-5 fair?

You play 17 games, finish 6th then play the top 5 teams above you? Meanwhile 7th plays the 5 teams below them ans jumps you on the ladder...

If there are N teams in a comp, fair is to play 2(N-1) games for a full H+A fixture. Otherwise its not fair and the status quo is just as compromised.

Either we play a 34 game season with 18 teams, or we increase/decrease the number of teams so that the current 22 game season remains (12 teams or 24 split into 2 divs)

Again, EVERYONE in the top six plays two or three teams in the top six. You're not singled out, it's the stock standard rule and it's applied to all top six clubs

Oh is it?

We played Collingwood twice and Melbourne twice but Richmond once this year.

All prelim finalists.
Go figure.

How is 17-5 fair?

You play 17 games, finish 6th then play the top 5 teams above you? Meanwhile 7th plays the 5 teams below them ans jumps you on the ladder...

If there are N teams in a comp, fair is to play 2(N-1) games for a full H+A fixture. Otherwise its not fair and the status quo is just as compromised.

Either we play a 34 game season with 18 teams, or we increase/decrease the number of teams so that the current 22 game season remains (12 teams or 24 split into 2 divs)

Exactly

Add in Tassie.

19 teams. 18 games. 9 home. 9 away. Keep 22 or 23 rounds and give teams multiple byes every year.

Players get more rest - tick
Blockbusters on FA - tick
Premium ticket prices - tick

We already have a situation where we get only 1 Carl v Coll or Ess vHaw game in a seas so really the biggest impact would be to the Non Vic teams.

How would you guys and girls feel if there was only 1 Showdown? 1 Derby? What if it was locked in as the last round of the season so that no team had to travel in round 23?

Ironic indeed...how was the prelim against your co tenant last year?

I’m not the flog calling out teams for being mentally weak.

Collingwood were the better team that night; I’ll Admit to that.

Richmond get 'runs' of MCG games because we play away games there as well..... where do you suggest Collingwood, Carlton, Essendon, Melbourne, etc play Richmond for their home games?

I feel that this complaint continually comes up in every other thread on Big Footy. Yet-- no West Coast Whinger seems to have an actual answer to it other than #VICBIAS
How about the AFL space them out so there is no "Runs" of consecutive games?

I think, since you have never been, it is a given.

I’m a Richmond supporter and as said repeatedly before; Richmond HAS been to Tasmania 😛

But you may want to not assume Collingwood dictate that they don’t want to go there, purely because they haven’t been fixtures there.

How about the AFL space them out so there is no "Runs" of consecutive games?

As for some reason— Richmond’s 2019 fixture is still a topic of interest in the 2020 fixture thread.

Not all of the games were home games, Richmond didn’t request that run of games (definitely would’ve preferred one of the GWS/Port games away in that run instead of having to play them away in back to back weeks early in the season)

...and there’s an entire other thread for the West Coast Whingers to continue to complain about those. Can you continue it there so we can focus on next season?

Did not whinge, just asked a legit question. It seems you have made yourself the "Mouthpiece" for the 2020 season while it is stil 2019.

This is the 2020 AFL Fixture thread—- wouldn’t it make sense to discuss the 2020 season in a thread dedicated to it?

Well, yes, but the thing is we are. Just that you don't like what we are talking about. The fairness of it. West Coast supporters have rights too, you know.

If the 2019 Fixture was unfair— shouldn’t we have been discussing this when it was announced in Nov 2018???

Rather than months after it happened??

As I’ve repeatedly said— there’s threads to discuss the 2019 fixture, it doesn’t need to fill up this one.

You could play geelong in geelong rather than at the mcg. That would be a start. A few more dockland games against dockland tenants too.

Fwiw usually we get docklands clubs there for both home and away. This year has been a surprise on that front

If the 2019 Fixture was unfair— shouldn’t we have been discussing this when it was announced in Nov 2018???

Rather than months after it happened??

As I’ve repeatedly said— there’s threads to discuss the 2019 fixture, it doesn’t need to fill up this one.
Sorry but we have crossed wires. I am talking about the 2020 draw................and the unfairness of it.

You also get 10 home games with the biggest home advantage in the comp. Funny how you leave this out.

I make a post that backs up those who don't think the Eagles fixture is unfair and then you come in with irrelevant stuff in an effort to start a shitfight.

Well done.

Oh is it?

We played Collingwood twice and Melbourne twice but Richmond once this year.

All prelim finalists.
Go figure.

That's two, which is correct.

The rule is top six play two or three of the top six twice. Same is happening this year.

You are seriously off your tree

2020 AFL fixture released