Unofficial Preview 2020 Draft Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter HeHateMe

Before the season started, JUH was in the No1 pick discussion. TBH, not sure where it's all gone and why he's not being talked up? Davo-27

Looks amazing from highlights I've seen.

Although it will force a deficit, the Dogs will take him wherever he's picked, the same for the swans and Campbell.

I'm not sure Adelaide will do it to Dogs with Tilthorpe (sic) and McDonald available but think North and us would be silly not to for both of them wherever we finish, preferably below the swans for this exercise.

Force their hand to match the bid, remove their subsequent points required on the bid and position in the draft order down thus moving us up the draft order.

If Roos bid on Campbell @ pick 2, swans would need to use pick 4 points value on him and then don't get another free hit.

Interesting. Makes sense RE Campbell if Swans finish below us on ladder but I wouldn’t have thought where a JUH bid comes really matters to us given bulldogs will just match

Is there a view that our preferred player is not rated top 4 by Crows and North (meaning he’d be available if JUH and Campbell bids are made), but that Swans are keen?

He’s been mentioned here regularly mate.

JUH getting bid on very early will make sure the Bulldogs stockpile enough points, the more he ‘slides’ the less they will pay. This is where their first round pick potentially comes into play.

We will look to try & get another pick in before we think Downie will be bid on.

Appreciate the intel and hope you will continue to share it, mate!

Do any of your sources have an idea of what list sizes will look like next year?

As reported mate 35 to current list size.

A lot of issues at other clubs with players hitting triggers, 40 players already at one club already signed for 2021 etc. A lot to play out, I reckon it’ll be the most interesting off season ever. It helps when we have an early pick and a gun academy player.

If we could get 2 guys in the top 10-12 plus Downie, that’s a bloody good haul.

A lot of issues at other clubs with players hitting triggers, 40 players already at one club already signed for 2021 etc. A lot to play out, I reckon it’ll be the most interesting off season ever. It helps when we have an early pick and a gun academy player.

35 seems to be the number floated about for list sizes. With around a third of our list out of contract its almost as if Wrighty must have a time machine with the timing of it all. It would be interning to know what other clubs have a similar number of OOC players too as they will likely be our biggest completion in securing any bargain buys.

No thanks to trading out of next years draft just to get more picks in this one.

Very little footy played this year
We might have a high draft pick next year
it is supposed to be a stronger draft next year

Every year people want to trade the future first to get in to the current years just because of impatience. Unless on Draft night there is a clear slider that we rate very highly i want to keep that future first.

Spot on. 2017 wasn't fun going down the ladder knowing there was no high draft pick to look forward to

35 seems to be the number floated about for list sizes. With around a third of our list out of contract its almost as if Wrighty must have a time machine with the timing of it all. It would be interning to know what other clubs have a similar number of OOC players too as they will likely be our biggest completion in securing any bargain buys.
35 plus 4 rookies surely?

I’m a big fan of having 3 good draft picks (including Downie) and then cutting the list heavy to take advantage of the spill out at stronger clubs. Bottom line is other clubs with better depth will lose fringe players who are better than our own fringe players. I am hopeful we cut the list very heavily to take advantage. We have historically done well by taking decent value players from other clubs. This will be the best opportunity in years to do it. It might fast track our rebuild if we can find 3-4 role players on the cheap. Then use the draft to target stars.

A bit of a brain fart but do we have to announce de-listings before the trade period? If so you’d hope that our list management team have a fair idea of the decent fitting players that are likely to be cut. The draft happens after the trade period but that doesn’t concern me because IMO we take the best available kids anyways.

My hope is that we can secure some decent small / pressure forwards and really just a player or 2 that is good but just looked bad because of the role he was playing (ie Toby McClean etc).

I've felt the same, in fact, I think our best is pretty good. Unfortunately, the side just hasn't been able to click due to new faces and, possibly, the environment that Covid's created.
New faces & covid-19?

I reckon there's a couple of other contributing factors

I think when you look at the system that Clarkson wants to play you can blame the disconnection in the group on COVID training protocols. There is still enough talent on the list to make the 8 next season if we nail this draft and get a FA like Jezza Cameron or Williams or a couple ofoff contract cheapies that fill a need in Skinner, Gallucci, Cockatoo. Then it certainly looks ok. There is also simply trading a future first for a Caldwell type player but I think that ship has sailed with high end mature talent. We need to be developing our own at this point and try to land a couple of top up gems.
Yeh, the problem with that sentence isn't COVID.

What is with the Wingard rumours and are we being linked to Lonie?
Both serious questions.
Wingard rumour stems from a singular post by a poster with a poor track record on these types of things. Epitome of grain of salt. As for Lonie... no idea.

Word on McLean though is he loves the Bulldogs but others are coming hard, including us, with $$ and promises of midfield time. Is contracted so they'd be looking for picks to pay for JUH I would imagine.

What is with the Wingard rumours and are we being linked to Lonie?
Both serious questions.
The Wingard one does not make one iota of sense so has register strongly on the bullshitometer I would have thought.

As for Lonie he has shown some signs he is capable of being serviceable and Abasi did his nuts over him around draft time but I would have thought he would be a reasonable target.

The major benefit would be he is no longer able to pull career-best performances out of his ar*e against us!
This is, without doubt, the main reason his name gets mentioned here
Pity he struggles to get a kick against anyone else

McDonald? He would be good option alongside Lewis for the next decade. The type of player you can build a forward-line around.

Phillips? He would complement Worpel, Maginness, Jones, Day and Downie very nicely in the future.

Hollands? He would add class playing as a half forward and inside/outside midfielder. The kind of player who can add the finishing touches.

I would be very happy with anyone of those three players as they would all be worthy of being selected with our first round pick.

After last nights result need something to focus on! This podcast worth a listen, started last week they will do a weekly update on potential draftees playing and any news around. This week interviewed Elijah Holland’s - very well spoken kid sounds like a ripper makes me want him ever more. Talked about how his rehab going. Working this year on putting on size and strength. Starting running next month - cloning his game on Bont! Nat Edwards is big hawks fan also.

Attachments

• 15301A5F-4A83-4546-A0FD-0168936B9B83.jpeg
    15301A5F-4A83-4546-A0FD-0168936B9B83.jpeg
    507.2 KB · Views: 107
McDonald? He would be good option alongside Lewis for the next decade. The type of player you can build a forward-line around.

Phillips? He would complement Worpel, Maginness, Jones, Day and Downie very nicely in the future.

Hollands? He would add class playing as a half forward and inside/outside midfielder. The kind of player who can add the finishing touches.

I would be very happy with anyone of those three players as they would all be worthy of being selected with our first round pick.
Phillips. Another short mid with questionable disposal. How would he compliment our current mids?

Well his composure is supposed to be a strong point so that would be an improvement on the rest of our mids.

We are drafting a kid for the next 10+ years, Worpel is the only one i am sure will be here for that sort of time frame. If he is best available at our pick i am all for it.

Well his composure is supposed to be a strong point so that would be an improvement on the rest of our mids.

We are drafting a kid for the next 10+ years, Worpel is the only one i am sure will be here for that sort of time frame. If he is best available at our pick i am all for it.
I think he has significant downside risk due to his stature. I don't think he is a top 10 pick. At least not in a normal draft. Has some good attributes but he is ver similar to what we have.

I remember early last year when some people said Rowell was a generic midfielder and Anderson was the clear number 1 pick, this take reminds me of those times.