List Mgmt. 2020 List Management

• Thread starter Thread starter Jeremias

Do you think giving up 2 first round picks for Macrae is unreasonable?
I'd do it for sure.

I always look at Collingwood and see how many 1st round picks they've butchered the past few years, only to still become a force. Freeman, Scharenberg traded 2x firsts for Treloar.

Richmond traded pick 3 + 24 for Prestia.

paying 'overs' for the odd deal and trading away picks can be beneficial, despite slightly scary.

If we want to talk about FA midfield talent I'd be taking a serious, serious look at Fiorini from GC. I think he's very, very underrated since he plays for the least followed club in the league, but I think he is one of the brightest young mids in the league. Is only 22 and is out of contract at the end of the year.

Oh and Curnow is not on $750k - it is up to $800k with a case of $600k. Only gets the extra $200k if he hits certain targets (games played, B/F finish etc).

Is the fixation on a ready made mid an acknowledgement that we've given up on our coaching/development in that area?

Yeah a bit I reckon

The plan was great, I just reckon we were a bit let down with qiai
The one I want to pry loose this year is Ian Hill. If he doesn't play ones at any point, get in his ear and get him to us as quickly and quietly as possible.

Yeah great call, I'd rather give up a second for Hill and keep our first rather than vice versa for papely

I’m just saying I don’t think they are easy to find(Quality ones). SOS has used picks 4,7 on players he hoped would play that role well at GWS and failed. I just don’t think there are actually many around that can make your side noticeably better like Papley would.
I wouldn’t blame anyone for wanting a quality mid more then a quality small forward and totally understand why we would go the Mid but when we are talking quality I don’t think one is easier to find then the other.
That's just it though mate, my initial point was not that small forwards or mids are any easier to find than each other but more my own personal preference being to prioritise securing a top shelf mid over a top shelf small forward - a scenario in which there is no losers as we'd be strengthened either way. :thumbsu:

A number of posters have also taken my noting that quality crumbers can be secured late to mean that you will get top shelf talent in any draft, which is clearly not the case. (admittedly I probably could have communicated this a little clearer tbh)
I was only ever noting that the top smalls have generally been found later on while your elite mids generally speaking go quite early but as with all things, there are exceptions to every rule - ie. the names you had noted previously + Rioli x2, Higgins, Ainsworth etc.

I'd be curious what it'd take to get Ben Ainsworth across, he reminds me a bit of Papley and has a bit of mongrel in him that you don't often find in small forwards which will hold him in good stead once the physicality ramps up come finals time.

Macrae!! Now we're talking.

given the WB may be capitulating there's gotta be one or two blokes that spill out.

I just threw his name up there, but he is the exact type of player we should be targeting, not just the ‘easy’ out of contract players like Crouch or those disenfranchised with their current club.. We want players at the top of heir game who can make an impact from the get go that would add to our culture. A player that is contracted is only a minor hurdle as long as we are prepared to pay.

i was meaning to bag them its just they are both in their 30's and will need to be replaced eventually
I wasn’t specifically referring to you juice but the overall tenor on the board which is hard to understand after 2 rounds.

Really? We need to give Dow another couple if years to be consistent, but Caldwell and Hately are ready to play good footy?

On SM-N960F using BigFooty.com mobile app
Watch the game tonight Katman and then tell me what you think tomorrow as both will be playing, watch Hatelys work at the stoppages and his contested work in general.

If we want to talk about FA midfield talent I'd be taking a serious, serious look at Fiorini from GC. I think he's very, very underrated since he plays for the least followed club in the league, but I think he is one of the brightest young mids in the league. Is only 22 and is out of contract at the end of the year.

Got dropped this week, strange one but suppose they had to make way for the captain Swallow.

When there is 5 minutes left in a prelim or GF and Charlie with his X factor takes the game by the scruff and delivers the knockout blow....remember this moment
Yep, with what Charlie has shown in his very short time in the game he is probably the most exciting young forward in the game and would be a major target for other clubs so I have no problem with paying him on his potential which is sky high, forwards with his tank, agility, marking power and overall game smarts are very hard to find, his 7 goals against the Dogs last year was just a taste of what he can deliver to this footy club.

We need to start developing some of these guys through the 2's. Honey and Phlip aren't ready despite a solid pre-season and outing on the weekend. We can't keep throwing 1st year players into the seniors, it's not working for us. We need to build these kids up as well as get the 2's back on their feet.

Cunningham can predominantly play wing and drift forward. Martin will mostly play high half forward.

Betts + Murphy is a good combo and will be low-key headaches for opposition coaches.
Agree I think the fact we are now giving our young players time to develop there games before coming in is a big positive and we will see the benefit when they do eventually come in, same goes for Stocker if he’s not ready then let him develop same with Obi4 although he is probably very close as I think he has put on some upper body size in the off season and would love to see him running the wing over Newnes.

Yeah a bit I reckon

The plan was great, I just reckon we were a bit let down with qiai

Yeah great call, I'd rather give up a second for Hill and keep our first rather than vice versa for papely
Hill is very highly rated by GWS and has resigned until 2022 so not sure how we would go getting him, would love to have him though.

I was very surprised we didn’t make a big play for his cousin last year as Brad is exactly what we need on the wing, dissapointing.

Macrae!! Now we're talking.

given the WB may be capitulating there's gotta be one or two blokes that spill out.
Toby McLean...
Played his best footy as a mid but is now stuck in a pocket due to the depth in their midfield. Contracted to 2022 but might be gettable. Dogs might need currency for JUH bids, so could be a win-win.

Papley: rookie draft
Charlie Cameron: rookie draft
Betts: pre-season draft
Milne: rookie draft

If you want to give up prime assets for small forwards that's your prerogative, the above confirms my point though that good small forwards can be secured quite cheaply.

Sounds easy. So why haven't we been able to do that. Eddie was drafted in 2004 and Milne last century.

Since 2004 Cameron and Papley were rookie picks but how many others were rookies. I'll give Garlett and Tippa which makes 4 in 15 drafts. You may find another one or two but it certainly isn't many.

I don't think they grow on trees and they certainly don't come regularly. If you can get your hands on one I reckon you go all in.

Papley: rookie draft
Charlie Cameron: rookie draft
Betts: pre-season draft
Milne: rookie draft

If you want to give up prime assets for small forwards that's your prerogative, the above confirms my point though that good small forwards can be secured quite cheaply.
Another way to interpret that is small forwards rarely come on compared to draftees from other positions so clubs are less willing to risk early picks on them.
This explains why successful small forwards tend to have much higher value than their original draft position at the trade table.

Toby McLean...
Played his best footy as a mid but is now stuck in a pocket due to the depth in their midfield. Contracted to 2022 but might be gettable. Dogs might need currency for JUH bids, so could be a win-win.
The other one depending on what sort of season he has is Jong who is well worth having a look at and toured the Pies facilities a few years ago.

At GWS Perryman is another one I would like us to have a sniff around has been playing forward I think but was a very good Hb in juniors and could certainly play the wing for us has neat disposal and pretty good run.

The other one depending on what sort of season he has is Jong who is well worth having a look at and toured the Pies facilities a few years ago.

At GWS Perryman is another one I would like us to have a sniff around has been playing forward I think but was a very good Hb in juniors and could certainly play the wing for us has neat disposal and pretty good run.

so second/third tier players from other clubs? Been there done that. A grade talent only

Hately is the one we need to go after and he is ready to impact right now, hard at the ball and the man, strong overhead, strong over the ball, flies the flag for his teammates and makes good decisions in close, the perfect apprentice for the Crippler.

Had 21 disposals 7 marks, 85% disp eff playing out of his usual position in the guts, has really good vision and hits his handball targets even at a distance just a shame he didnt get any inside mid time, confirmed for me he is ahead of Caldwell atm.

Perryman continues to impress me as well he had 23 and kicked 2 nice goals and did some really nice things.