- Reaction score
- AFL Club
- Carlton
- Other Teams
- Arsenal
Ryan good for eagles at pick 60-70 in the draft?
I’m sure there are others, but point stands you don’t just hope to get them on the cheap
Ryan was pick 26

BigFooty Tipping Notice Img
Weekly Prize - Join Any Time - Tip Round 13
The Golden Ticket - Corporate tickets, functions, Open Air Boxes at the Adelaide Oval, ENGIE, Gabba, MCG, Marvel, Optus & People First Stadiums. Corporate Suites at the Gabba, MCG and Marvel.
Ryan good for eagles at pick 60-70 in the draft?
I’m sure there are others, but point stands you don’t just hope to get them on the cheap
I also really like Charlie, I was only pointing out that I think, the SOS doesn’t/didn’t pay overs line, isn’t entirely correct.
Our TPP was stuffed in 2015 when we won the spoon. You can debate SOS’s drafting but he fixed our TPP. Simple fact
no Daisy was moved on because he had a bad attitude and he pissed off someone he shouldn’t have
Well that’s just stupid then, he was still playing well.
Exactly the point I made about Wines I think at one stage they had him playing at 92-93 kg which is ridiculous for his height, Russell can strip him back and get him doing some sprint training and he would be a different player, his strength is his power not his size which Port got all wrong, direct that power in the right way and look out both as a mid and a resting forward, the perfect addition to Cripps with the speed around them.Williams and Crouch/Wines, Hill for a second (hopefully).
I'd prefer Wines because IMO he is kept artificially heavy by Port's policy of having big inside mids, and he could slim down and potentially gain a bit of agility and a step or two of pace, because he's just too big, and Crouch is extremely injury prone.
The idea is, Walsh isn't slow, Cuningham isn't slow, Murphy isn't slow, Fisher isn't slow, Martin isn't slow, and Williams isn't slow; having Wines and Cripps isn't going to hurt us defensively if they're surrounded by enough speed. Stocker replaces Ed, Wines Murphy inside (with Murphy to either retire and LOB to play on the other wing, opposite Walsh, or to take that wing). We get the ball into Williams, Martin or LOB's hands, as distributors into forward 50; let these players be links between the fifty and the midfield, even if that's the only way we get the ball in. Make it a coaching rule; if you kick inside forward 50, you're dropped unless your name is one of these three.
Hill to take the other pocket and lay tackles and kick goals, in anticipation for him to move onto a flank or a wing if he's got the chops. I like Honey, but we need someone to replace Eddie within 2 seasons.
Oh and Curnow is not on $750k - it is up to $800k with a case of $600k. Only gets the extra $200k if he hits certain targets (games played, B/F finish etc).
You're either 'in the know' or 'full of shit' K2F....which one is it?no Daisy was moved on because he had a bad attitude and he pissed off someone he shouldn’t have
Do you think giving up 2 first round picks for Macrae is unreasonable?
Daisy was gone the moment we had Newman in mind, with Doch coming back, SPS playing half back, Willow finally on the park their simply was no spot for A 33 yo hbf who is likely to spend half the year.
ItSoundsSpotOnTooMee
Same year they got caddy for a 2nd off Geelong aswell I thinkUm, #6 + future 2nd rounder (#38) for Prestia + #24
Ryan was pick 26
I think we need to scrap this idea of wines. Him and cripps in the same midfield would simply be too slow. It would look a lot like the crows midfield right now. Yeah they can win the ball but all plodders who don't hurt on the outside and teams with speed run rings around them.Exactly the point I made about Wines I think at one stage they had him playing at 92-93 kg which is ridiculous for his height, Russell can strip him back and get him doing some sprint training and he would be a different player, his strength is his power not his size which Port got all wrong, direct that power in the right way and look out both as a mid and a resting forward, the perfect addition to Cripps with the speed around them.
Did I ever say that it was easy? no.Sounds easy. So why haven't we been able to do that. Eddie was drafted in 2004 and Milne last century.
Since 2004 Cameron and Papley were rookie picks but how many others were rookies. I'll give Garlett and Tippa which makes 4 in 15 drafts. You may find another one or two but it certainly isn't many.
I don't think they grow on trees and they certainly don't come regularly. If you can get your hands on one I reckon you go all in.

You've lost me here mate - Wines offers us a considerable upgrade on other similarly slow mids that you've mentioned in Setterfield and JSOS.I think we need to scrap this idea of wines. Him and cripps in the same midfield would simply be too slow. It would look a lot like the crows midfield right now. Yeah they can win the ball but all plodders who don't hurt on the outside and teams with speed run rings around them.
Winning contested ball isn't our issue and we still have lots of upside in that area with fisher, kemp, setterfield, JSOS and dow still developing. The issue is maintaining possession once we win it which is primarily a skill & decision making issue. Outside ball users need to be our focus.
My idea is go for zac williams and push docherty into the midfield. His physique since he came back looks like a bonafide midfielder and i think weitering can general the defense.
Why not both?Yeah a bit I reckon
The plan was great, I just reckon we were a bit let down with qiai
Yeah great call, I'd rather give up a second for Hill and keep our first rather than vice versa for papely
You're either 'in the know' or 'full of sh*t' K2F....which one is it?
If it's the former, what are your sources...and please don't insult us saying "the media"
agree 100%. against dees our pressure was much better in the second quarter and onwards but still nowhere near the sort of pressure the dogs apply so well.Carlton needs to play more street and fu** the pretty off! See Dogs tonight stuff, hard and uncompromising. I feel we don't have anywhere enough street.
stuffed is an exaggeration imo. In SOS’s first season we literally had so much money in our cap that we could take salary cap dumps. It needed work but was obviously not hard to fix. I know we moved players on/they wanted out but it wasn’t as if we done anything drastic. After that we had so much room in our cap we didn’t know what to do with it. That was five years ago. We are probably going to finish in a similar spot on the ladder after 5 years of mediocrity and have managed to spend 95%+ of the amount teams who have won premierships have. We have absolutely been overpaying some players. 5years, The salary cap floor and our results make that indisputable.Our TPP was stuffed in 2015 when we won the spoon. You can debate SOS’s drafting but he fixed our TPP. Simple fact
stuffed is an exaggeration imo. In SOS’s first season we literally had so much money in our cap that we could take salary cap dumps. It needed work but was obviously not hard to fix. I know we moved players on/they wanted out but it wasn’t as if we done anything drastic. After that we had so much room in our cap we didn’t know what to do with it. That was five years ago. We are probably going to finish in a similar spot on the ladder after 5 years of mediocrity and have managed to spend 95%+ of the amount teams who have won premierships have. We have absolutely been overpaying some players. 5years, The salary cap floor and our results make that indisputable.
I don’t think he done anything wrong but when you have a salary cap floor and you are at the bottom for 5 seasons then you have had to overpay someone.he had the guts to move on those players, take short term hits and keep things on plan. Don’t underestimate how hard that is.
I don’t think SOS is omnipotent - I disagreed with probably 30% of his draft choices. But on TPP he was excellent.
To give you an example - I was pissed when we passed on Flanders last year. I think Ned will be the second best player from that draft and the silky skilled mid we need. But there is a more than 30% chance I am wrong.
You've lost me here mate - Wines offers us a considerable upgrade on other similarly slow mids that you've mentioned in Setterfield and JSOS.
Kemp has played predominately off a HBF to date, we hope that he can develop into a regular mid but there are no guarantees there. (TBH I see a bit of Nick Haynes in his game)
I don't agree with this statement. 2015 we were an aging and awful list. The combination of Malthouse and Rogers in the recruiting/list management model was incompetent and the worst in the AFL. We progressed forward strongly towards competence in this area under Bolton and SOS, from which their is now a talented young core from which to build. Now it's up to Teague and Austin to fill the remaining gaps and take it from competence towards elite. Here's hoping they are up to it.I think we’ve been caught missing a trick and following an obsolete model, again.
The trend has changed since free agency that even guys who are under contract get traded to their preferred destination.
We assumed because we had heaps of cap room we’d land players, no matter how bad we were. We were very wrong and have the opposite problem where if we were paying on actual output we’d probably be fined for paying under the cap floor.
So here we are with a list with slightly more talent and upside than 2015. Better guys 23 or under than then but way less in the mid-late 20s range.
Only players we have in mid late 20s who will take us forward are cripps, Docherty and Martin.
We have progressed about as far as Melbourne did from 2008-13.