List Mgmt. 2020 List Management

• Thread starter Thread starter Jeremias

Don’t see any way GWS lose both Williams and Kelly.
They have intentionally stockpiled great midfield depth with list management in mind.
This year, they need to re sign Cameron and Williams.
By cashing in Kelly now, who is a FA next year, they free the cap space for Cameron and Williams and use the draft picks to restock with elite young talent from the draft and so the cycle continues.
It’s just good list management.

just replace Williams for someone like B Smith on half the money and B Smith has been a better player then Williams in the past so giving up stuff all in ability terms.

If you’re going to let Kelly leave then He is near impossible to replace. If he left GWS they wouldn’t accept anything less then a top 5 pick and probably TDK. Otherwise a McKay or Curnow would have to be on the table imo. They aren’t going togive him up for our two firsts for instance just for them to take a risk on another Hatley, Caldwell etc that they don’t need atm.

By 'now', I mean a tried and consistent performer that will be good for 5-7 years. Not a Taylor Walker that would only impede development.
It doesn't matter what I say, as that was the clear path we tracked down last year so why not this year? The CFC have expressed as much, anyway.

I don't know what will come about but I'd be disappointed if all w could front up with is 'future talent' and particularly talent of he type we have plenty of. It would be a treadmill trade period for us.

It won't. Trust me.

Coniglio and Papley were the big fish last year. Didn't land either of them, yet here we are, 6 wins 6 loses and in the mix for finals for the first time in many many years.

Player development will drive us forward. Definitely won't mean it's a treadmill type trade period for us.

What we don't want to do is upset the apple cart and start trading away players from our core group in order to bring a player in. That's the worst possible thing that can happen and could derail all the good work done during this rebuild.

McGovern will take Jones’ spot eventually.

I have been wondering about this option.
I’m not saying it hasn’t been mentioned before, but I think it is really a win/win for us.
Let’s say we are fully healthy, I just cannot see where Mitch fits into the forward line.
His brother is a champion CHB, and I think Mitch has similar traits. Clearly a long way off Jeremy’s level, but surely worth a go back there?

You can go for the now by finding a cheap, effective small lockdown defender, which allows SPS to play up the ground.

We've gone for the now with Mitch McGovern. What has he done for us?

Examples of teams going for the now that haven't worked out (just a few examples, there are plenty more):
Carlton: Mitch McGovern
Fremantle: Jesse Hogan
Adelaide: Bryce Gibbs

Sometimes we get lured into trading for the messiah, only to realise they're just an above average player or the trade just doesn't work out as planned.

At the end of the day, I don't mind what we do and who we target, as long as we're not trading for Tom Papley. I said this before but Clarkson was on the money with his comments about Papley playing for free kicks. There's no coincidence that his drop off in form has been because the umpires are paying more attention to his game. He's a good footballer who's probably the most overrated player in the game right now. There are also elements of his game that suggest he's playing for his own stats as opposed to playing for the team (refer to my past posts). Don't need hindsight to tell us that trading for him would be a massive mistake.
Every premiership side has spent big on trading in ready to go players too though. Bulldogs are probably the only ones off the top of my head who haven’t and they were a real outlier. Getting the right player is only ever known in hindsight. The majority thought Richmond Had gone mad when they got Prestia and Caddy.
fair enough if you don’t rate Papley that highly but if Dow, Walsh and Setterfield become very good players then it would be hard to imagine a better player then Papley for us If Dow is a bust and Setters is only ever a B grader then all of a sudden Papley could be seen as a real mistake.

Also looking at Papley’s free kick count he has had three games for the season with more then one free kick for, one in the first 8 weeks and two in the last 4 so it has no correlation at all.
He kicked 19 goals 10 in the first eight games in the last four games 2 goals 7. Production has dropped off a heap but conversion is also a huge reason.
He is also in the top 4 in the league for tackles inside 50 so he is obviously still doing the defensive stuff well.

I'm projecting where he'll be in 2 years time. He's also the right age to develop with our current crop.

Reasons for targeting Caldwell:

1. He's a dual sided player with burst from the contest.
2. Possessions per game are limited to match constraints. When you have a midfield including Kelly, Coniglio Whitfield, Taranto, Ward, Hopper, Perryman etc. if those guys are racking up 30 disposals a game, it's hard for others to be as actively involved as what they would be at other clubs. Hence, he's currently underrated and undervalued from a trade perspective.
3. The strength at the top end of the 2018 draft is too good to ignore. His talent is undeniable.
4. Will fit in well with our current crop. Played a lot of junior footy with some of our current players from Bendigo Pioneers and Vic Country.
5. If you watch him closely, he applies heaps of defensive pressure. Buys into game plans and plays his role for the team. He's the type of character you want at a club.
6. Honestly believe he'll elevate his game to the next level next season. The signs are there. Won't take long for him to have a massive impact on games.
7. He has elite vision and disposal. This will come to light with a bit more development in the system. In time, would be a great replacement for Ed. When you have an elite midfield, the need for taggers declines. Will be a great player to have at the centre bounce.

On a side note, we're not as desperate for players in the 24-28 year old range as what we were in the past.

Next year, Weitering, Charlie, McKay, Cuningham and JSOS all enter that age bracket.

The following year, Setterfield, SPS, Fisher, TDK and Williamson enter that age bracket too.

The list of players grows as each year passes. We're technically adding 4-5 players in that age bracket every year from now on. The best thing to do is keep bringing in youth or younger players and back our development system.
Do like a lot of your post Eif, on Caldwell pick 11 in a very strong 2018 draft two years in the system, what do you think he’s worth or would be willing to depart with draft pick range wise?
We do have a big group of midfielders coming through already but have other pressing needs as well, If it come down to Wines or Crouch I’d take Caldwell over both every day...

SPS would wanna have a big off-season. Reckon if he doesn't hit the weight room and put on some muscle then he could be in line for the Dow/LOB/Fisher treatment next year - a nice little 6-10 week block in the reserves learning how to play like a senior leader instead of a rookie.

Williams for free and assets for Papley
OR
Assets for Kelly and pick up a Spargo type

What would we prefer, gang? Think I might lean towards option 1...

Papley 2 goals in 4 games yeah?

Sure we have small mid size forwards that have had a better return of late

We don’t have anyone that can match 19 goals in 8 games. He has been quiet recently.

It all depends on price with Paps. He’s a top 3 small in the comp regardless of what we have.

We don’t have anyone that can match 19 goals in 8 games. He has been quiet recently.

It all depends on price with Paps. He’s a top 3 small in the comp regardless of what we have.
Yeah, he's definitely worth a mid to early second; or stay in Sydney who need him way more than we do.

None of that really changes what I put forward.

We're playing weird little scratch matches right now and they have to be commented on as it's all we have, but -
I watched Polson this pre-season and there were still huge limitations on many aspects of his game and ability.

If somehow his kicking, game-awareness, defensive pressure have stepped-up enormously, then credit to him and the coaches.
It's rarely seen though and I can't name any aspect of his game that's above a 5/10.....but I haven't seen these practice matches live....so maybe.

His defensive pressure has always been top notch, interesting you mention that needing a step up. He'd also be one of the top 5 quickest guys on the list, if not 3. Hes a fighter too.

Those 3 things alone are things he does better than SPS.

And considering Sammo has been a total liability off half back lately, id have no isdue with Polson getting another go.