2020 Non-Crows AFL Discussion

2% sounds like a brilliant result so far. Cats might rely on stadium earned revenue more than most other clubs though. My guess would be that our membership drop will be a fair bit more, but empty stadiums not as damaging. I wouldn’t guess as to how sponsorship revenue will be impacted. The AFL have mandated footy dept trim, that’s a non-negotiable. I would presume that Admin function has been looked at, I’m sure we have as well. But because we’re a better operation than the Cats, we’re ignoring the AFL’s finance facility. Only dumb clubs will use that, coz, you know, reasons.
Like a dog with a bone aren't you.

No issue with that... just pointing out the double standards of the Victorian media playing favourites with their local clubs & being hysterical when it comes to reporting on non-victorian clubs.

Yes, Stevens is the victim, but could have been avoided if he acted like a professional AFL player & avoided being out after midnight. Given his reluctance to talk about the incident, I doubt he is totally innocent...
They're interviewing his ex wife .....maybe the reason for the silence

Think you'll find the Cats have big loans for the Stand Redevelopments at Kadinia Park ....would have forward projected revenues, and took a calculated risk to borrow heavily

Would have been us too, if we had already proceeded on Nth Adelaide .....sometimes it's about timing & luck

They owe $22m, which is sucking about $1.3m from cashflow. Broadly consistent with what we pay to play in the SANFL and license purchase instalments. Their debt is no more a cashflow burden to them than our relationship with the SANFL is to us at present.

I haven't studied the GEEL books like you have, just an observation

They're interviewing his ex wife .....maybe the reason for the silence
Yes, she appears to know what happened. Hope she wasn't the one with the knife.

The truth will come out, so it was pointless him not cooperating at the beginning.

Bryan Cook doesn't sound too pleased.

Why is Tom Browne not coming out with his usual outlandish sanctions for Stevens...

If 2x8 players kicking the footy around together for 10 minutes deserves a $100k fine & loss of draft picks.... what does being out late at 1am getting stabbed deserve...

But he’s there on unders, he’s sacrificed enough.

Just using the depth of your logic on this. If Cats are borrowing from the AFL then they’re not smart like the Eagles, Pies, Hawks, Tigers and (giggle) us. What’s wrong with me prosecuting your view? I thought you’d appreciate the support.
They would have to borrow due to the debt they're running on the stadium upgrade and as you rightly say the lack of revenue from no play.

We've chosen the better of the bad options, pretty clear to see that.

I haven't studied the GEEL books like you have, just an observation

I only had a quick look, the information isn’t detailed in terms of picking holes in operations, but some info is absolute. They might have an issue securing more funding against that asset given that the economy is hitting the shitter, but I doubt that. We’ve got no similar asset to secure significant borrowings against with not too different financials and we’re going down the bank lending path. The closest we have is the westpac centre which has some commercial value, but not in the same ballpark as Kardinia park.

The Crows were able to finance a loan thru Bendigo Bank,
And I know you not going to like this but the Crows ownership of the two ESport organisations along with the Crows multimedia company, plus a few other assets helped us, as I am lead to believe their value is surprisingly higher than most would think or believe.
Note the Crows own those assets outright,

I’ve no issue him protecting his ex. From all reports he’s a ripper of a bloke.
If you are stabbed, you should be open with the police about the incident.

They would have to borrow due to the debt they're running on the stadium upgrade and as you rightly say the lack of revenue from no play.

We've chosen the better of the bad options, pretty clear to see that.

Explain how it’s better. And their borrowings require $1.3m to service a significant asset that they’d be able to borrow more against. We spend more on playing in the SANFL and paying the license purchase instalments. We’re going to our bank trying to borrow against leasehold improvements with minimal earning potential. Our lease agreement may not even allow sub-let.

What I’m surprised that you haven’t learned yet is that when considering major club decisions, it’s folly to do so with a hearing that they’ve got it right and/or are doing it in the best interests of anyone other than Admin. That you tefuse to even consider that 13 clubs are heading down the best and most obvious path is astounding. We, the 1 of 14 are the only club to get this right. I just cannot understand how you can wake up in the morning with that unwavering belief in our board and admin function.

The Crows were able to finance a loan thru Bendigo Bank,
And I know you not going to like this but the Crows ownership of the two ESport organisations along with the Crows multimedia company, plus a few other assets helped us, as I am lead to believe their value is surprisingly higher than most would think or believe.
Note the Crows own those assets outright,

What interest rate?

Explain how it’s better. And their borrowings require $1.3m to service a significant asset that they’d be able to borrow more against. We spend more on playing in the SANFL and paying the license purchase instalments. We’re going to our bank trying to borrow against leasehold improvements with minimal earning potential. Our lease agreement may not even allow sub-let.

What I’m surprised that you haven’t learned yet is that when considering major club decisions, it’s folly to do so with a hearing that they’ve got it right and/or are doing it in the best interests of anyone other than Admin. That you tefuse to even consider that 13 clubs are heading down the best and most obvious path is astounding. We, the 1 of 14 are the only club to get this right. I just cannot understand how you can wake up in the morning with that unwavering belief in our board and admin function.
It's not really unwavering belief, as one can't have that given our position.

I liken it be being an owner of a strata property as opposed to your own home. The other clubs will be told how much to spend and where, and when they "want to build a pergola" in their unit, they not only have to go to the bank, and the council, you also have to get it approved by the other people in your unit block.

You can bet your bottom dollar that the AFL will run each club at a similar if not same level.

We don't have to do that.

Now of course it has it's pitfalls, but I'd rather take the option we have in the hope that it's the better one.

Well I wouldn't think Bendigo would be charging us a higher interest rate than the AFLs banking partner, but it would be a prerequisite of mine.

The AFL’s banking partner is using Etihad as security, we’re using our business, what’s your understanding on how banks determine interest rates? Maybe kirky could remove his crow’s hat and wade in here.

Geelong needing about $10m. I think we’ll be similar.
Possibly, but I wouldn't think our debt levels would be as high given the complete redevelopment of LGBTQI Stadium.

I reckon half probably.

No Idea, but with all the bankers on the Crows board it would be a good one for the Crows, and must be better than the AFL deal.

Must? We said we weren’t borrowing from the AFL before we even secured finance. Geelong with their actual asset went with the AFL line of credit. Why would you assume we’ve got a better rate? Do you believe that the club a,ways makes the right decision?