List Mgmt. 2020 Trade and List Management Thread II

Pickering, Rama are pis$ed at us and Connors never sends anything our way. Our key forward and one of our best mids are out the door. A highly paid recruit from two years ago on the outer. A lot of negative feedback in the media, no response from the club on a plan or the direction we are taking.

It’s going to be hard work getting one to come our way.

It's been a debacle, but while you know that I have always been a fan of your input, I have noted that you have also issued support for this slash & burn list adjustment also mate.

I hope you're correct, because all we have to go on right now is something that more akin with a television evangelist relying on blind faith and little else.

This really does have religious undertones in its psychology.

I'm not one for blind trust, you have to earn mine.

It's been a debacle, but while you know that I have always been a fan of your input, I have noted that you have also issued support for this slash & burn list adjustment also mate.

I hope you're correct, because all we have to go on right now is something that more akin with a television evangelist relying on blind faith and little else.

I’m supportive of the list cuts, I’m supportive of the turnover in coaching staff, I’m puzzled by the handling of the Brown situation, I’m confused with the reports on Higgins.
And I’m really unhappy with the messaging from the club.

Wait what? Even if this is true, which I have no reason to believe, other clubs have players with criminal records, on domestic violence charges, with massive gambling debts and outlaw motorcycle gang links, but the tough new sherrif at North is going to trade away a model citizen and fan favourite because his wife is allegedly a "pest." I suspect not.

you just answered your own question... if he’s not being traded based on form or because he is a terrible person, why is he being Traded then, Oracle

Wait what, I suspect you have your head up your ass.

It will all come out sooner or later, I suspect you will be one of the first to put up their hand and tell the world that deductive reasoning isn’t your strong suit, won’t you Oracle?

I’m supportive of the list cuts...........

I hope you're on the money buddy, because I haven't seen anything to support going all in with this, and I am yet to see any convincing arguments from the posters supporting this that isn't some straight up "change for its own sake" mentality, or draftcentric zealotry.

I do know this much though, a very long list of people have forfeited the right to complain about anything for at least the next two years, and I will be pulling them up the moment they start whining next year.

After a season like we’ve just had something had to give. Either our coach and possibly assistants were no good, or the senior players have hit the wall or refused to dig in. We’ve lost 14 out of the last 15 FFS, that’s just putting up the white flag. And had half the list coming out of contract. You had to expect major charges.

I do have my reservations of course but without knowing all the details it’s hard to know exactly what’s going in within the four walls. And while the Brown situation isn’t great (especially given his diminished trade value), I can see some logic in it.

We will have to just wait and see.

I believe it would be more to do with age than anything else.

....and just how does this address anything?

Do we have 5 x 24-26 year olds sitting in the draft pipeline?

After a season like we’ve just had something had to give.

Mate, the season "we just had" was contrived by the ****ing football department!!!!

They wrecked the careers of some blokes!!!!!

Either our coach and possibly assistants were no good, or the senior players have hit the wall or refused to dig in. We’ve lost 14 out of the last 15 FFS, that’s just throwing a white flag. And had hand the list coming out of contract. You had to expect major charges.

Okay, then why should anyone go all in on it being about the players when it's patently obvious they delivered significantly better under a different tactical regime? I just don't get it. These folks seem certain about this direction but so far NONE of them have been able to convey any solid reasoning.

I do have my reservations of course but without knowing all the details it’s hard to know exactly what’s going in within the four walls. And while the Brown situation isn’t great (especially given his diminished trade value), I can see some logic in it.

We will have to just wait and see.

We don't seem to have much choice now mate.

I just hope this "burning the boats" stuff doesn't leave us stranded in oblivion.

I’m supportive of the list cuts, I’m supportive of the turnover in coaching staff, I’m puzzled by the handling of the Brown situation, I’m confused with the reports on Higgins.
And I’m really unhappy with the messaging from the club.
Being the only Brad Scott fan on our forum every single poster on here was rapt when he and the rest got the boot. I am sure there are a few nervous supporters about now and confused ones i certainly are one of them. I will always back the club with the choices they make not always agreeing but i do have faith in them but to be fair i am a bit puzzled at the moment. ps in saying i was a fan of Brads it was also probably time for the club to go in a different direction but his record was not as bad as a lot make it out to be in my opinion.

I hope you're on the money buddy, because I haven't seen anything to support going all in with this, and I am yet to see any convincing arguments from the posters supporting this that isn't some straight up "change for its own sake" mentality, or draftcentric zealotry.

I do know this much though, a very long list of people have forfeited the right to complain about anything for at least the next two years, and I will be pulling them up the moment they start whining next year.

the last bit is your best work in years.

Given I wanted this to happen in 2013, I will not be whining or whinging, just praying we get it right.

Something had to change, we were dying a slow death.

We need to keep the older blokes with ability on each line ,we seem to be getting rid of anyone .We need the experienced players who imo will fast track the younger players. My concern is we end up like blues and demons no experience and we lose by large margins each week and young players lose all confidence and that is hard to reverse imo.

Being the only Brad Scott fan on our forum every single poster on here was rapt when he and the rest got the boot. I am sure there are a few nervous supporters about now and confused ones i certainly are one of them. I will always back the club with the choices they make not always agreeing but i do have faith in them but to be fair i am a bit puzzled at the moment. ps in saying i was a fan of Brads it was also probably time for the club to go in a different direction but his record was not as bad as a lot make it out to be in my opinion.

Brad had a crack, and I'll give credit where it's due as I will always maintain that luck wrecked our very realistic chances of winning the flag in 2016, but he fell over when it came to any semblance of tactical flexibility, and his time had come to move on.

The annoying "media spruik" persona didn't endear him to everyone either. It got tired after a while.

The highest accolade I can afford him is that I truly believed he wanted the best for the club and gave everything he had in pursuit of that goal, and that alone makes him a noble and honorable man. It's just that like many coaches, his unflinching focus and self belief ultimately also became his undoing.

Pickering, Rama are pis$ed at us and Connors never sends anything our way. Our key forward and one of our best mids are out the door. A highly paid recruit from two years ago on the outer. A lot of negative feedback in the media, no response from the club on a plan or the direction we are taking.

It’s going to be hard work getting one to come our way.
Negative feedback from media has been the norm toward our club for ever and no public response from the club is a breath of fresh air in my opinion. For the last decade the telegraphing of our intentions by the last custodians has been nothing short of embarrassing.
i think it’s going to turn around, being able to bring Blakey in is a real shot in the arm for the club. The fact that it has been met with deadly silence from the likes of DB and the like is incredibly telling already.

you just answered your own question... if he’s not being traded based on form or because he is a terrible person, why is he being Traded then, Oracle

Wait what, I suspect you have your head up your ass.

It will all come out sooner or later, I suspect you will be one of the first to put up their hand and tell the world that deductive reasoning isn’t your strong suit, won’t you Oracle?
I have no doubt that I have my head well and truly up my ass.
Wtf would I know? I've never spent a day in the inner sanctum of the club in my life. That's why I make it a policy never to make out like I know stuff when I really don't. Or to make sh#t up just so anonymous people on the interweb might think I know more than I do.

After a season like we’ve just had something had to give. Either our coach and possibly assistants were no good, or the senior players have hit the wall or refused to dig in. We’ve lost 14 out of the last 15 FFS, that’s just putting up the white flag.

Won 31 games across the last four seasons. Everything is peachy. We would've won more, but we just chose not to.

From left field, but these players I like below.

Out of contract: Brayden Ham

while speedster Ham
, utility Townsend and ruckmen Phillips and Crauford are in a holding pattern.

I liked the look of Ham off the half back flank. He is quick and has a great kick and would come cheap.

Out of contract: Quinton Narkle, Brandan Parfitt, Sam Simpson,

Parfitt is edging closer to a likely two-year pact .Narkle is still waiting to receive an offer, with Geelong having plenty on its plate, including interest in the likes of Brad Crouch, Shaun Higgins, Joe Daniher.

Any of these 3 should be a target.

Out of contract: Jye Caldwell, Jackson Hately, Xavier O'Halloran

Aidan Corr and Zac Williams will exercise their free agency rights to join North Melbourne and Carlton, respectively. There is significant interest in what happens with Cameron and Caldwell. GWS is believed to have increased its offer to Caldwell from two years to four, but St Kilda and several other clubs are circling. Hately seems likely to land at Adelaide in search of greater opportunity. O'Halloran also has admirers and what he does may depend on what happens with Caldwell and Hately.

Out of contract: Dan Howe, Jack Scrimshaw

Scrimshaw is the best long-term prospect among this crop and set to score a two-year deal. Howe is on track for fresh deal – still worth asking the question.

Out of contract: Bayley Fritsch, Jayden Hunt,

Fritsch has long been close to committing to a new two-year deal. Hunt had extended senior stints this year, but also time out of the side.

Out of contract: Jarrod Lienert,

Lienert is on track for a one-year deal that will probably include a trigger for 2022.

Out of contract: Jake Aarts, Nathan Broad, Ryan Garthwaite, Marlion Pickett

Aarts is discussing a deal of 2 years - I'd offer 3 ...love him. Grand Final hero Pickett and the others must wait for the list sizes decision.

Out of contract: Jack Lonie, Matthew Parker,

Lonie's been linked with a move to the Western Bulldogs and is part of a small forward market that has many suitors.

Out of contract: Ben Ronke, Jackson Thurlow

Ronke's name has come up in the small forward sweepstakes - Thurlow has really impressed me this year.

Out of contract: Jamaine Jones, Daniel Venables, Jake Waterman

Negotiations are ongoing with Waterman, who's been a good contributor either side of breaking a hand in mid-August. Venables sat out the season because of ongoing concussion issues.

Well, you've done a 180. Weeks ago, you were of the reasonable opinion that Shaw's tactics were not about 2020, they were already looking to 2021 and beyond. It was the most sensible course, IMO.

Now you're full on anti-Shaw, throwing "zealot(ry)" into every second post, and complaining about the loss of "good North folk". You seem to also be anti-Brady, which is surprising as you've been one of many looking for steel at the top.

It begs the question - which one of the 11 de-listings has triggered you so much? Which of the "good North folk" was badly treated?

I feel for Jasper, Majak, Tom Murphy, even JMac, but them leaving is probably for the better if we're going to rise from mediocrity.

I think speed is more important when you don’t have the ball.

Agree with this to an extent but how many players have made the AFL due to their speed but been exposed due to their inability to actually get the ball or dispose of it correctly? I think ball magnets like Tom Mitchell and Jack Macrae have shown winning the ball outside of the contest is significantly more about having a good footy IQ and knowing where to be rather than foot speed.

Gary Rohan, Jarrod Pickett, Jarrod Garlett, Sam Blease, Kieran Harper are some names of first round draft picks that come to mind who, for the most part, failed due to their inability to win the ball or make good decisions. Rohan the best of them but he's not lived up to his draft position.

You obviously need to build a balanced side and can't totally neglect foot speed but I'm not sure there's a trait in AFL football more overrated than foot speed.

Well, you've done a 180. Weeks ago, you were of the reasonable opinion that Shaw's tactics were not about 2020, they were already looking to 2021 and beyond. It was the most sensible course, IMO.

Now you're full on anti-Shaw, throwing "zealot(ry)" into every second post, and complaining about the loss of "good North folk". You seem to also be anti-Brady, which is surprising as you've been one of many looking for steel at the top.

It begs the question - which one of the 11 de-listings has triggered you so much? Which of the "good North folk" was badly treated?

I feel for Jasper, Majak, Tom Murphy, even JMac, but them leaving is probably for the better if we're going to rise from mediocrity.

Say what?

Let's put it this way, if Shaw's tactics weren't about the future, then there's a conspiracy at play to bring down the NMFC.

That doesn't mean that I am in full support of what's going on with the list massacre and revelations that he is now in over his head!!!!

No, no, no, no, no, no, no, no no.....................the onus is on YOU to inform me as to how this IS a good thing moving forward.

Throwaway lines and cliches will NOT suffice mate.

SHOW ME that you're not just ANOTHER frustrated supporter running the "change for it's own sake" mantra based upon NOTHING?!