- May 6, 2009
- AFL Club
- St Kilda
Throw everything at JDG. He is exactly what we need.
Yeah nah.
He's great, but we need fulltime mids for a million bucks a year

Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
Throw everything at JDG. He is exactly what we need.
Not in the 22 atm.Sorry to intrude and I am new to big footy. What is happening with Matthew Parker ? Is he someone the bulldogs should target ?
Doggies have all the talent the need but the gameplan sucks balls, coach is loyal to a fault to his premiership players, all understandable but it's time to move on from the 2016 every plan get's found out.Sorry to intrude and I am new to big footy. What is happening with Matthew Parker ? Is he someone the bulldogs should target ?
Can’t see him getting back in the side either. Isn’t set the world on fire in these practice games.Sorry to intrude and I am new to big footy. What is happening with Matthew Parker ? Is he someone the bulldogs should target ?
We won’t he get back into the side? I have no doubt he will at some point.Can’t see him getting back in the side either. Isn’t set the world on fire in these practice games.
He is an excitement machine, but I always found his decision making and disposal to be a little poor.
Probably not someone I would be targeting
Yeah nah.
He's great, but we need fulltime mids for a million bucks a year
The filth will find the money both inside and outside the SC.I disagree. You pay a million bucks a year for match winners regardless of position. I think he’s ripe for the picking & about to hit his peak. Adding someone of his quality could be the difference between fighting for a finals spot & a top four spot.
Do we still have the cap space to spend thar much money on a player?I disagree. You pay a million bucks a year for match winners regardless of position. I think he’s ripe for the picking & about to hit his peak. Adding someone of his quality could be the difference between fighting for a finals spot & a top four spot.
Do we still have the cap space to spend thar much money on a player?
Speculative savings 2021:I’m not sure. Remove Geary & Carlisle’s salary & we should?
The numbers seem right enough and ignoring covid caused drops to wages I'd imagine we'd be able another 800k to 1mil player and be comfortable in keeping everyone else.Speculative savings 2021:
Stuv @ $400K
Gears @ $5-600K?
Sav @ $350K?
Brownie @ $250K?
Joyce @ $120K
Alabakis @ $80K
Payouts for Paddy and Young @ $450K (maybe)
= $2.25M
Jake @ $6-650K? > $450K
Ross @ $5-650k? > $400K
Dunny @ $4-500K > $350K
= $500K
This is just a guess, but I think we'll have some cash to splash even if this is significantly less...
Howard definitely suits our needs and demographics better than Keath would have. And with Carlisle looking fit and starting the season off well, him and Howard's strengths compliment each other really well. We are lucky the way that all worked out.It really is amazing to think back on last year’s trade period. Still early days but there are good signs that it is going to be the catalyst to get us going in the right direction.
Clubs have had big off seasons bringing players in, ala Port a few years ago. It’s hard to think of one where the players have had such immediate impacts though. It’s definitely not the quantity of players we brought in, but rather the need we have for them that is so impressive. There was a time early in the off season when we were thinking maybe Keath and Sam Gray. A combination of luck and good recruiting saw that turn into Howard and Butler. Both four years younger. Butler playing miles better footy than Gray. Howard I would argue is playing better than Keath and is better at taking a genuine KPF.
There was plenty of talk about one of Bruce or Carlisle leaving. I’ll put my hand up, I thought that the list balance meant we needed to keep Bruce more but I was wrong. Carlisle and Howard look so solid together down back and the forwardline is showing real promise. Gives King a clear run at developing with support from Membrey and then a handy bunch of options (Battle, Marsh, Marshall at times).
Very early on and we haven’t actually achieved anything yet, but that off season has given a sense of optimism we haven’t had in many years.
Seems like a big risk for him I reckon.I’m not sure. Remove Geary & Carlisle’s salary & we should?
Yeah I don't reckon Keath would've been a great fit for us. Isn't suited to taking the number one tall. Is already 28.Howard definitely suits our needs and demographics better than Keath would have. And with Carlisle looking fit and starting the season off well, him and Howard's strengths compliment each other really well. We are lucky the way that all worked out.
If we can get a decent inside mid you'd have to take it. Unless something miraculous happens before the end of the year and a kid really comes out of the blocks.
Option might be to look at a money ball inside mid type.
I'd throw the kitchen sink at isaac heeney.
I know he has plateaued in recent times, but it's still a pretty high plateau and that is what could make him slightly more gettable perhaps?
I reckon he'd thrive playing as an inside mid on the ball all day everyday (joel selwood style)... something he doesn't get to do because of kennedy.
I'd offer him a million bucks + a year long term and back him in to become a very close imitation of joel selwood in his prime.
He isn’t very good.We won’t he get back into the side? I have no doubt he will at some point.
He plays as a marking forward. Not sure if it’s because they need him to play that role or he isn’t good enough in the midfield. If that’s the case he isn’t worth gettingAlso I am well aware that there are probably 50 other more talented, younger, higher potential options than heeney for a godfather contract (walsh, rowell, taranto etc).
Those are simply fantasy targets so I've excluded those from contemplation.
A guy like heeney is in the sweetspot for contemplation I think.
He's not sooo brilliant that he or his club would NEVER entertain a discussion but he is brilliant enough and young enough to see that he could be worth taking a punt on offering a godfather contract to.
So before you go poo-pooing my suggestion I simply ask that you take realities into account.
we have a good relationship with colin young