List Mgmt. 2020 Trade Thread - Part I

If we keep getting others except class mids we will never reach our peak. And he would cost a first rounder for sure plus huge salary cap space And he will be 27 next year. No from me. And hopefully the club.

I think we need to get mids still but say we draft a mid with our first this year. Charlie Cameron with next years FRDP, FA Crouch, we start to look pretty good. Richmond has Cotchin, Prestia, Edwards as their core mids. Steele, Gresham, Jones and Hanners. Hill and Billings as wings looks actually not that far apart. Just need our own Dusty to have runs in there. Still have Bytel and Byrnes to look at and Dunny and Sinclair in reserve.

What's going on with Matt Crouch? Out of Adelaide's team but he always tears us to shreds. Really good inside player who probably walks in as our best mid. Maybe Brad stays and he leaves?

giphy.gif

He’s a very limited player. Can’t run, can’t kick & can’t play more than one position. Players of his skill set are a dying breed.

What's going on with Matt Crouch? Out of Adelaide's team but he always tears us to shreds. Really good inside player who probably walks in as our best mid. Maybe Brad stays and he leaves?

giphy.gif

Doesn't have the injury history of brad either.
I think brad's best is better/more impact than matts though.
Brad is a RFA though.

In summary, both have their pros and cons, but I'd take either or both because we are desperately missing a ball pig or two shovelling it out to hanners, hill, gresh and billings.

Game has changed a lot since then. Mids are more important than forwards now. Forwards are averaging less and less every year and that will continue unless there are some rule changes that the coaches can’t exploit.

Do you remember were having a perfectly even game with Brisbane last year and Cameron just decided to molest us from a pocket. 5 goals most in a short period. Went on to kick a lot of goals last year, I think around 60, was high in the Coleman.

He’s a very limited player. Can’t run, can’t kick & can’t play more than one position. Players of his skill set are a dying breed.

tom mitchell is equally limited to all those things and won a brownlow.
So was dane swan who did the same.

When your one trick in your bag is winning an absolute pile of football- you can go places.

We have a gaping hole to fill in that department- gresh shouldn't be the guy at the bottom of the pack.
Normally I'd agree with you about steering clear of one trick ponies- but in this instance we have a square hole and guys like the crouches are square pegs.

Hill is equally one dimensional in his own way and he was worth getting despite his lack of flexibility in where he can play.

I think we need to get mids still but say we draft a mid with our first this year. Charlie Cameron with next years FRDP, FA Crouch, we start to look pretty good. Richmond has Cotchin, Prestia, Edwards as their core mids. Steele, Gresham, Jones and Hanners. Hill and Billings as wings looks actually not that far apart. Just need our own Dusty to have runs in there. Still have Bytel and Byrnes to look at and Dunny and Sinclair in reserve.
Those last few players are either no good or proven nothing. I can honestly say I have no interest in a small forward no matter how good some think he is.

Do you remember were having a perfectly even game with Brisbane last year and Cameron just decided to molest us from a pocket. 5 goals most in a short period. Went on to kick a lot of goals last year, I think around 60, was high in the Coleman.
We got gamble because he played against us. He averages one and half goals a game and has got to just over 2 the last 2 years. Mids are more important.

tom mitchell is equally limited to all those things and won a brownlow.
So was dane swan who did the same.

When your one trick in your bag is winning an absolute pile of football- you can go places.

We have a gaping hole to fill in that department- gresh shouldn't be the guy at the bottom of the pack.
Normally I'd agree with you about steering clear of one trick ponies- but in this instance we have a square hole and guys like the crouches are square pegs.

Hill is equally one dimensional in his own way and he was worth getting despite his lack of flexibility in where he can play.

Two years ago I would’ve agreed however the AFL will implement changes that will diminish the value of the old fashioned inside pig that sees ball gets ball but can’t spread to attack or defend.

Hill is completely different. Yes he’s one dimensional however his run & carry, ball skills & footy smarts most certainly suit the modern game.

I agree we need to find a better inside mid however not one as limited as Matt Crouch. Ideally we find a player like Bont, Cripps, etc that can win a heap of inside footy & also rest forward. I don’t think we should settle on Matt Crouch, I’d prefer we invest in guys already on our list (Bytel?)

Two years ago I would’ve agreed however the AFL will implement changes that will diminish the value of the old fashioned inside pig that sees ball gets ball but can’t spread to attack or defend.

Hill is completely different. Yes he’s one dimensional however his run & carry, ball skills & footy smarts most certainly suit the modern game.

I agree we need to find a better inside mid however not one as limited as Matt Crouch. Ideally we find a player like Bont, Cripps, etc that can win a heap of inside footy & also rest forward. I don’t think we should settle on Matt Crouch, I’d prefer we invest in guys already on our list (Bytel?)
We have no idea if bytel is good bad or indifferent. Crouch only costs money so if he is available and did want us it’s a no brainer.

I am quite aware almost everyone in here will disagree with me, but assuming we finish 7-10 this year (or better), I would be having a massive crack at Rory Sloane in the off-season. For me he is exactly what we need.

Firstly, to get it out of the way, yes I know he is 30. But he is that inside mid battering ram we are crying out for. In a pathetic team he is top 5 in the league for stoppage clearances, and top 10 for total clearances. Does all the hard contested stuff that allows others to shine.

We also have a massive massive leadership gap. Hanners and Jake will likely be our only best 22 players 28+ moving into next year. Realistically, Sloane could walk in as captain. Outside of Cal Ward, he is about the closest thing to Lenny in the current AFL environment. Would absolutely love that in the trenches in a tough final.

Partner is from Melbs, as is he, and they have a young family. With all the uncertainty in the world at the moment, and the utter and total collapse of the Crows, maybe he would consider a move home? And lets not forget he was (and remains) a mad Sainter.

Trade would cost peanuts (like Hodge, Mitchell etc), so it doesn’t impact drafting. I would rather hold our first rounder and keep investing in youth.

We would just have to convince Adelaide to let us take over his contract. In 2018 he signed a 5 year deal. Done 2, 3 left. Original deal was about $4mil. So he would maybe cost $700 a year across 3. Do Adelaide want to be spending $700 x3 on a player 30+ while they bottom out? If not, we would almost certainly have that available.

Would rather Sloane at $700 x3 than B.Crouch at $700 x5. And B.Crouch looks about the best available uncontracted mid (outside some internet pipedreams about a Josh Kelly, JDG, Ollie Wines hybrid suddenly nominating us and coming for no draft cost).

If we walked away from this offseason adding Sloane and a top 10 mid, I reckon we are ready to launch for 2021. Just me, but given travel restrictions to SA just got extended, I would be starting to make some calls to Sloane’s manager.

I am quite aware almost everyone in here will disagree with me, but assuming we finish 7-10 this year (or better), I would be having a massive crack at Rory Sloane in the off-season. For me he is exactly what we need.

Firstly, to get it out of the way, yes I know he is 30. But he is that inside mid battering ram we are crying out for. In a pathetic team he is top 5 in the league for stoppage clearances, and top 10 for total clearances. Does all the hard contested stuff that allows others to shine.

We also have a massive massive leadership gap. Hanners and Jake will likely be our only best 22 players 28+ moving into next year. Realistically, Sloane could walk in as captain. Outside of Cal Ward, he is about the closest thing to Lenny in the current AFL environment. Would absolutely love that in the trenches in a tough final.

Partner is from Melbs, as is he, and they have a young family. With all the uncertainty in the world at the moment, and the utter and total collapse of the Crows, maybe he would consider a move home? And lets not forget he was (and remains) a mad Sainter.

Trade would cost peanuts (like Hodge, Mitchell etc), so it doesn’t impact drafting. I would rather hold our first rounder and keep investing in youth.

We would just have to convince Adelaide to let us take over his contract. In 2018 he signed a 5 year deal. Done 2, 3 left. Original deal was about $4mil. So he would maybe cost $700 a year across 3. Do Adelaide want to be spending $700 x3 on a player 30+ while they bottom out? If not, we would almost certainly have that available.

Would rather Sloane at $700 x3 than B.Crouch at $700 x5. And B.Crouch looks about the best available uncontracted mid (outside some internet pipedreams about a Josh Kelly, JDG, Ollie Wines hybrid suddenly nominating us and coming for no draft cost).

If we walked away from this offseason adding Sloane and a top 10 mid, I reckon we are ready to launch for 2021. Just me, but given travel restrictions to SA just got extended, I would be starting to make some calls to Sloane’s manager.

I already pitched it as a Hanners style pick up but he hasn't had many touches in 2020, nearly all his possessions must be contested.

Sloane will be 31 next year and is currently averaging 14 touches a game.

We'd be crazy to go after him ahead of Crouch, who is 4 years his junior

With us already having Hanners, do we need another imported, ageing midfielder?

I think we need to be targeting midfielders in the 20-25 age bracket to match the rest of the lists age profile.

If it weren't for Hanners l might agree.

I think you blokes are being just a tad impatient.
StKfc is on Max Kings time line now and you'd better get used to it.

Taking a 30yo, even one as good as Sloane would be madness.

Keep your powder dry till we get a look at Bytel and Byrnes.
These two will have a big effect on who we go after at trade time.

Hey sorry to intrude sainters, but as a hawks fan - your recent acquisitions of Ratts, Roughy and Hill (let alone Savage) have had me cheering on the Saints this year.

The consensus seems to be the midfield needs another big piece seeing as thought Ross is getting on and Clark looks way too good at half back. Dunstan looks to be on the outer, and funnily enough so does Matt Crouch. Dunstan is a South Australian and he would add a lot to the Crows seeing as thought without Greenwood or Ellis-Yolmen, the brothers Crouch and Sloane are being massively exposed as not the most powerful mids that have trouble winning their own ball. And none of them are known for their tackling. Althought Matt Crouch is the better player, Dunstan might actually be more valuable to their list.

Would you part with Dunstan to bring Matt Crouch to Moorabin?

Hey sorry to intrude sainters, but as a hawks fan - your recent acquisitions of Ratts, Roughy and Hill (let alone Savage) have had me cheering on the Saints this year.

The consensus seems to be the midfield needs another big piece seeing as thought Ross is getting on and Clark looks way too good at half back. Dunstan looks to be on the outer, and funnily enough so does Matt Crouch. Dunstan is a South Australian and he would add a lot to the Crows seeing as thought without Greenwood or Ellis-Yolmen, the brothers Crouch and Sloane are being massively exposed as not the most powerful mids that have trouble winning their own ball. And none of them are known for their tackling. Althought Matt Crouch is the better player, Dunstan might actually be more valuable to their list.

Straight swap I would but they wouldn't do that trade I'd imagine

Ross isn’t really getting on, he’s only just turned 27. I can’t speak for anyone else but I would definitely trade Dunstan for Crouch. Crouch wins a lot more of the ball than Dunstan.

I hope we make a play for Constable. Only 21 so fits our list age profile and could be the ball winning inside mid we have been asking for. Contracted until 2021 so Cats will demand a min 2nd rounder for a player that is not currently in their best 22. Will be good if we can get him for a 3rd.
could be our future 2nd special this year