List Mgmt. 2021 Draft picks: 4/33/75

• Thread starter Thread starter Deaneus!

Interesting, so Melbourne have adopted a buy now pay later strategy of getting picks in now at the cost of future picks

https://www.afl.com.au/news/683596

Whereas we’re the opposite. It’s always jam tomorrow as we try to buy next years picks

they just won the flag, and we continue to suck. Maybe Binuk isn’t all that he’s made out to be?

What on earth is this formatting.

Also happy to be on the K.Rypstra draft train if he gets rid of the a at the end of his surname. So close to an all consonant surname.
Nickname could be sphynx

Interesting, so Melbourne have adopted a buy now pay later strategy of getting picks in now at the cost of future picks

Whereas we’re the opposite. It’s always jam tomorrow as we try to buy next years picks

they just won the flag, and we continue to suck. Maybe Binuk isn’t all that he’s made out to be?

I mean has anyone actually had any evidence that Binuk is any good?

As someone who has their career in data analytics his LinkedIn profile doesn't exactly inspire much confidence.

He has 11 endorsements for Microsoft Excel and 1 for the R programming langauge, none for SQL. Only has 1 endorsement for Analytics but 15 for Marketing...

Honestly if his resume is as poor as his LinkedIn I probably wouldn't even grant him an interview for anything but a junior analyst role.

Is D’Aloia a bit of a standout? He seems to be getting a lot of midfield time for an underaged player and I definitely noticed him in the Allies game.
I think he’s an absolute ripper but there will be those who will knock him on athleticism. He’s a kid who just knows how to find it and gets heaps. I have a soft spot for kids who may not excite the watchers, may not be Usain Bolt and Michael Jordan rolled into one, BUT CAN football.

As with all these under agers next year is the big unknown. This time last year Cooper Murley looked to be one of SA’s best - horrible year with injury and now who knows?

We seem to be good at the future picks thing, but it remains to be seen how good that actually makes us on field.

Roos was rebuilding Melbourne while Chapman and co were destroying us.

Melbourne had a bucket of high picks already because they were crap for so long.

Binuk or Reid have put together 11 players inside of pick 30 in 3 years not including Hately.

At some point bringing in 3 top 30's each year should develop a talented group capable of winning a flag

Those pick swaps aren’t the reason they won the premiership (albeit still acknowledging that Pickett and Bowey look like great picks). They won the premiership due to having early picks for the past 10 years (Petracca, Oliver, Jackson etc), some high profile trades (May, Lever, Langdon) and bolstering their coaching/fitness staff (Yze, Richardson, Choco, Burgess).

Oh yeah, wasn't that one of our most satisfying wins of all time, one to cherish and remember and tell grandkids about - NOT! Said it at the time, it will cost us JHF and it has.

I've watched him live a number of times, he is so far in front of players like Luko and Rankine it's not funny. We will regret that junk win against Hawthorn for 15 years
Jesus mate, nobody and I mean nobody was that far in front of Rankine on talent alone at the same age...nobody

Have you told Gold Coast or Carlton?
Carlton have taken 3 x top 30 picks twice in 15 years.
They have constantly traded in spudsalong with earnings pick 1

GC are a little bit different

Brisbane trade in minimum 3 top 30 picks in 15, 16 ,17.

Mel have taken minimum 3 inside 37 for the last 4 years.

Powa did it in 2016, 18, 19.

So I feel there's a bit of evidence that we are following a plan that genuinely returns teams to top 4

Carlton have taken 3 x top 30 picks twice in 15 years.
They have constantly traded in spudsalong with earnings pick 1

GC are a little bit different

Brisbane trade in minimum 3 top 30 picks in 15, 16 ,17.

Mel have taken minimum 3 inside 37 for the last 4 years.

Powa did it in 2016, 18, 19.

So I feel there's a bit of evidence that we are following a plan that genuinely returns teams to top 4

huh?

You questioned me suggesting binuk or Reid's plan of taking 3 x top 30 picks for 3 or 4 years should lead to success and you suggested Carlton have done it and yet they didn't follow this route at all.

Yet 3 of the current top 4 teams have taken minimum 3 top picks for a minimum 3 years close together just like we are doing

You questioned me suggesting binuk or Reid's plan of taking 3 x top 30 picks for 3 or 4 years should lead to success and you suggested Carlton have done it and yet they didn't follow this route at all.

Yet 3 of the current top 4 teams have taken minimum 3 top picks for a minimum 3 years close together just like we are doing

you’re right, I misunderstood your point. But now you’ve explained it, it’s more batshit than I thought

Batshit is you quoting Carlton without facts

Barshit is you saying we are doing the opposite to Melbourne when we have actually taking the same amount of top picks in the last 3 years even though they are trading forward.

Maybe use some facts when trying to do a comparison instead of making shit up

To be fair though it does look like we're switching approaches and trying to buy now pay later on JHF. Might be a good sign of where the club thinks we're at in the rebuild cycle.

Assuming we trade for pick 1, over the past 3 years (2019, 2020, 2021) we will have brought in DOUBLE the allocated first and second round picks per year, and 2 pick ones;

In three years:
6 first rounders (Thilthorpe, JHF, Pedlar, Cook, McAsey, Hately)
6 second rounders (Schoenberg, Berry, Worrell, Rowe, OConnor, 33)

To be fair though it does look like we're switching approaches and trying to buy now pay later on JHF. Might be a good sign of where the club thinks we're at in the rebuild cycle.

Assuming we trade for pick 1, over the past 3 years (2019, 2020, 2021) we will have brought in DOUBLE the allocated first and second round picks per year, and 2 pick ones;

In three years:
Cook?

In three years:

I mean when we bought Hately it was very very clear that he wasn't worth a first rounder. He might have been taken there originally but we should not be considering him that for any sort of discussion about quality.

Pick 2, pick 6, pick 9 (X2), pick 10, pick 11, pick 12, pick 16, pick 17 all in our squad today, plus this year's first (4).

Half the team could be first rounders.

Thilthorpe, McAsey, Jones & Pedlar, Hately, Milera, Fogarty, McHenry, Doedee.

We are building a pretty handy team, not including Smith or Brown who are also first round picks, or our very good second round picks (Cook, Schoenberg, Berry).

On Pixel 3 using BigFooty.com mobile app

Unfortunately there are a few busts on that list. This is the reason Reid commented we need to expose the list further

Massive doubts on half the players listed

Its sounds like the Crows had the opportunity to land pick 17 from the Bulldogs. We ended up with Melbourne's Future 1st. Why did we rate the Melbourne Future 1st higher than this years Pick 17?
I think we converted it because Sydney rejected 17 and we wanted an equal asset we could trade to them later or hold and use next year if they continue to be dicks.

I don’t think 17 is as valuable to us if we end up with it at the conclusion of trade week.

Its sounds like the Crows had the opportunity to land pick 17 from the Bulldogs. We ended up with Melbourne's Future 1st. Why did we rate the Melbourne Future 1st higher than this years Pick 17?

because next year is a better draft, but most of all there is upside and 0 downside risk on the Melbourne pick. It can only get better