Play Nice 2022 AFL/AFLW Crowds/TV Ratings/Stream thread

40k very unrealistic.

Very very rare Richmond break 40k against interstate teams. Only really started doing it in prime time the last 4 years.

In home and away I think 2 GWS games in Melbourne fixtures have got 40k and I’m sure they were both Collingwood?

Yeah but was their first home game for the year. Wasn't expecting 60,000 or anything, but high 30s should have been the crowd. 10k less seems to be the trend though at the moment. Plus Victorians have really gone off Sunday football for some reason.

I thought the crowd was ok. People aren’t going to footy atm and Richmond were underwhelming last week. We all know a loss previous week hurts subsequent crowds. I though it might get just over 30,000, however it was 1,200 off and almost rounding being the shortfall.

Proves Collingwood is the big dog in Melbourne.
Look at crowds back to the 50s. Collingwood were always 1st, 2nd or 3rd but most of the time 2nd, then became 1st when Melbourne’s reign ended.

Richmond even back in the 70s when they were winning, had the highest crowd drawing totals but fell back below Collingwood when they weren’t on top. They are a close second though.

I thought it would crack 30K, but I think the expectations at Richmond were low today.
  • Coming off a round 1 loss for the first time in a decade.
  • Train disruptions on the Belgrave/Lilydale line; and
  • No Dusty, Riewoldt or Grimes playing would have had some expecting a loss.

Spot on. Having Dusty, Prestia, Riewoldt, Grimes, Vlustuin and Lambert out no doubt lowered expectations on some, I guess it shaved a few thousand off.
I went didn't expect much, thought we'd maybe lose but super rapt we won.

I thought the crowd was ok. People aren’t going to footy atm and Richmond were underwhelming last week. We all know a loss previous week hurts subsequent crowds. I though it might get just over 30,000, however it was 1,200 off and almost rounding being the shortfall.

Me too, it's not like we had the opposition bring fans, ok maybe 50
Crowds are up and down atm by 10-20% but we do understand the reasons.

Crows brought 3-5K from 36K on a sat game v pies
Ess V lions combined 30K, lions have good support in Melbourne
Blues V Dogs 35K combined.

So in one sentence, you say we should've got high 30's (pies got mid 30's on Sat arvo against a team that brought thousands of its own fans) then you acknowledge that 10K less seems to be the trend at the moment and Vics have gone off Sunday football. Totally understand your reasoning:think:

In home and away I think 2 GWS games in Melbourne fixtures have got 40k and I’m sure they were both Collingwood?
It's only happened once which was in 2015 against Collingwood (43,390)

Highest Vic crowds against GWS
  • Collingwood vs GWS (Round 11 2015) = 43,390
  • Richmond vs GWS (Round 17 2019) = 38,986
  • Melbourne vs GWS (Round 23 2018) = 37,285
  • Richmond vs GWS (Round 14 2015) = 35,968
  • Richmond vs GWS (Round 18 2017) = 33,467
  • Collingwood vs GWS (Round 18 2013) = 32,691

Good to have another Collingwood v Richmond crowd fight on this board. I am sure I will get sick of it eventually but it just feels so familiar and "normal".

I echo the sentiments that the GC Suns crowd was very disappointing. IIRC, a lot of Suns fans on this board really dislike the night games for their club.

And I assume the Eagles would’ve had reasonable support from their Victorian fans. Keeping it real, the Roos are no show for finals and a reasonable portion of their match going fans would’ve drifted into the inactive space.
Saw pretty much no Eagles supporters. Maybe a lot of West Australians not travelling for footy yet.

I know you mentioned this prior. will crowds return pre-2019, are people now just comfortable to watch it on Kayo and Fox Footy. Covid as we know some are still not going. Ticketing is still a bit messy. I know many are pivved off with mobile membership. Surely this is where the 10-20% drop comes from.

Question is, will they ever return? I am hoping once these mandates are done and there is more clarity on ticketing and membership mobile cards etc we will hopefully see a jump back of sorts in attendances.

Read this on another forum re crowds.
I was sitting at a table with 7 other blokes at the golf club yesterday, all of whom were regulars at matches pre-Covid.
All were expressing the same sentiment, not going to the footy made them realise how much time, money and effort are saved by watching games on the TV.

Fremantle v St Kilda was at Optus Stadium, not Optus Oval.
Optus Oval was the former sponsored name of Princes Park, Carlton (currently Ikon Park).

I know you mentioned this prior. will crowds return pre-2019, are people now just comfortable to watch it on Kayo and Fox Footy. Covid as we know some are still not going. Ticketing is still a bit messy. I know many are pivved off with mobile membership. Surely this is where the 10-20% drop comes from.

Question is, will they ever return? I am hoping once these mandates are done and there is more clarity on ticketing and membership mobile cards etc we will hopefully see a jump back of sorts in attendances.

Read this on another forum re crowds.
I was sitting at a table with 7 other blokes at the golf club yesterday, all of whom were regulars at matches pre-Covid.
All were expressing the same sentiment, not going to the footy made them realise how much time, money and effort are saved by watching games on the TV.
The clubs are generally very good at encouraging fans to games: Kids free Sundays etc. it’s going to take time. I think they can do it.

I just wonder if the MCG and Marvel redevelopments could be the catalyst? It’s as though fans need the venues to sort of lure them back by upping the ante, like the TV networks have.

Let’s be honest. Marvels a shit joint. I go to home games but it’s a shithole. Essendon people reluctantly go there as well. It’s dark, expensive, you can’t rock up and sit with friends together unless you pay $50 a seat! On Saturday, 60% of Essendon’s reserved seats were vacant. Great seats on the wing empty. Yet, the the footy goers who decide to rock up are forced into the top deck behind the goals. Apparently the function room used normally for Essendon’s High Mark members was under renovation, they were given the worst bogan bar in the joint as a replacement whilst renovations take place. And it was under staffed! Is it any wonder the members, or fans generally decide to stay at home? Especially if your teams crap!

The clubs are generally very good at encouraging fans to games: Kids free Sundays etc. it’s going to take time. I think they can do it.

I just wonder if the MCG and Marvel redevelopments could be the catalyst? It’s as though fans need the venues to sort of lure them back by upping the ante, like the TV networks have.

Let’s be honest. Marvels a shit joint. I go to home games but it’s a shithole. Essendon people reluctantly go there as well. It’s dark, expensive, you can’t rock up and sit with friends together unless you pay $50 a seat! On Saturday, 60% of Essendon’s reserved seats were vacant. Great seats on the wing empty. Yet, the the footy goers who decide to rock up are forced into the top deck behind the goals. Apparently the function room used normally for Essendon’s High Mark members was under renovation, they were given the worst bogan bar in the joint as a replacement whilst renovations take place. And it was under staffed! Is it any wonder the members, or fans generally decide to stay at home? Especially if your teams crap!
Yep, I agree with all of this. I attended the Melbourne v Dogs match in round 1 as a neutral supporter, and regretted it. The lines were up to 40 minutes for a drink or food, and when I arrived at Richmond station to head home on the Frankston line, the next train was 20 minutes away!

Play Nice 2022 AFL/AFLW Crowds/TV Ratings/Stream thread