Play Nice 2022 AFL/AFLW Crowds/TV Ratings/Stream thread

Looking at the crowd numbers and everything is "down" a little.
People just aren't completely ready/ don't want to go the live games at this point in time.

It's not dramatic, but it's enough to be noticeable.

The bigger concern would be if the TV ratings show poor numbers. Lower crowd numbers makes sense in this "at home" era, but TV ratings across the board should then theoretically be strong.

Looking at the crowd numbers and everything is "down" a little.
People just aren't completely ready/ don't want to go the live games at this point in time.

It's not dramatic, but it's enough to be noticeable.

The bigger concern would be if the TV ratings show poor numbers. Lower crowd numbers makes sense in this "at home" era, but TV ratings across the board should then theoretically be strong.

To continue with that theme, even stable FTA numbers is a good result given eyeballs are spread across more platforms than ever before.

CodeRoundDateDayTimeHomeAwayVenueAttendanceCapacity%CapacityHost BcastSydneyMelbourneBrisbaneAdelaidePerthSyd/BrisMetro O/NMetro Cons 7Regional O/NReg Cons 7FTA O/NFTA Cons7Foxtel O/NFoxtel Cons 7O/N TotalCons 7 TotalFox Group(est 83% STV )Cons 7 Total
AFL116/3Wed1910MelbourneWestern BulldogsMCG58,002100,02457.99%Seven41,000333,00034,00079,00060,00075,000547,000695,000187,000270,000734,000965,000268,000268,0001,002,0001,233,000470,000202,0001,435,000
AFL117/3Thu1925CarltonRichmondMCG72,179100,02472.16%Seven18,000302,00030,00072,00050,00048,000472,000515,000154,000163,000626,000678,000232,000235,000858,000913,000424,560192,5601,105,560
AFL118/3Fri1950St KildaCollingwoodMarvel Stadium40,12956,34771.22%Seven30,000320,00023,00068,00063,00053,000504,000509,000161,000162,000665,000671,000262,000265,000927,000936,000479,460217,4601,153,460
AFL119/3Sat1410GeelongEssendonMCG54,495100,02454.48%Fox 160,000162,000160,000162,000292,800132,800294,800
AFL119/3Sat1710GWSSydneyAccor Stadium25,57283,50030.63%Fox 212,000214,000212,000214,000387,960175,960389,960
AFL119/3Sat2010BrisbanePort AdelaideGabba25,10041,97459.80%Seven22,000175,00064,00068,00086,000329,000339,00092,00092,000421,000431,000184,000190,000605,000621,000336,720152,720773,720
AFL120/3Sun1310HawthornNorth MelbourneMCG38,279100,02438.27%Fox 138,000137,000138,000137,000252,540114,540251,540
AFL120/3Sun1610AdelaideFremantleAdelaide Oval28,18653,50052.68%Fox87,000100,000 187,000261,00031,00031,000218,000292,000157,000160,000375,000452,000287,310130,310582,310
AFL120/3Sun1940West CoastGold CoastOptus Stadium20,93230,63368.33%Fox23,000116,00023,000139,000139,00045,87046,000184,870185,000160,000160,000344,870345,000292,800132,800477,800
Total362,874666,05054.48%111,0001,130,000174,000374,000389,000262,0002,178,0002,458,000670,870764,0002,848,8703,222,0001,773,0001,791,0004,621,8705,013,0003,240,0001,451,1506,464,150
Average40,31974,006 27,750282,50034,80074,80077,80052,400363,000409,667111,812127,333474,812537,000197,000199,000513,541557,000360,000161,239718,239
Fox Group Ave: 360,000

All crowds for Round 2 have been good under the current environment. Roos and especially Suns very disappointing.

Do not know if the recent floods (and prepping for another lot) were a factor, but yes the Go Co numbers were very disappointing.

The North numbers are bleak. West Coast have a reasonable fan base here but I am guessing their numbers were down. Would have thought with an almost certain win there would have been a solid turn out from the Roos.

6 mill per round, for the equivalent of 22 rounds takes you to 132 million viewers for the H&A season.
Yes, probably won't maintain 6 mill per round, but even an average of 5 mill per round gets you to 110 mill for the H&A season.

also note: no FTA audience supplied for the Sydney Derby

So in one sentence, you say we should've got high 30's (pies got mid 30's on Sat arvo against a team that brought thousands of its own fans) then you acknowledge that 10K less seems to be the trend at the moment and Vics have gone off Sunday football. Totally understand your reasoning:think:

Bloody hell Tigers supporters are precious. Not hard to follow. I said I was expecting a bigger crowd for your first home game and cause you have such a "massive following", however being understanding enough when looking at the trends of expected crowds vs attendance. Just relax or go to bed.

Yep, I agree with all of this. I attended the Melbourne v Dogs match in round 1 as a neutral supporter, and regretted it. The lines were up to 40 minutes for a drink or food, and when I arrived at Richmond station to head home on the Frankston line, the next train was 20 minutes away!

Public transport doesn't get talked about enough when it comes to the effect of why crowds are low. The deplorable public transport system has kept heaps of people I know from Frankston and the Peninsula from going anymore. Now with every game live and accessible with Kayo, they rather just save their money, stress and time watching it at home, rather than paying ridiculous fees for transport which always gets delayed, have to wait for over halfa on the way home to get on one cause of the log jam at Richmond and lack of trains and have to stand up for basically the whole way home. Only made worse when the MCG car park is closed.

Bloody hell Tigers supporters are precious. Not hard to follow. I said I was expecting a bigger crowd for your first home game and cause you have such a "massive following", however being understanding enough when looking at the trends of expected crowds vs attendance. Just relax or go to bed.

Lmao new to the crowds board it seems. If you want to throw stones be prepared to get a few back. Give me a break with this tigers are precious bullshit.
I took you to task because I disagreed with your post plain and simple. You were literally contradicting yourself.
Anyways I'm leaving it there don't mind back n forth banter but it seems you get overly triggered.

Took me to task? You basically just had a go cause I said I was expecting higher, which bugger me, with a membership of 100,000 and allegedly the biggest club in Australia, is not unreasonable to think you could. Then again you are the biggest bandwagoners, so shouldn't be too suprised. Na not new to the board. I've read plenty of salty tears from Richmond supporters on here for the last couple of years when you draw low crowds. Then you always bring up "but Collingwood drew this" cause they basically live rent free in your head. You've basically just showed how much of a glass jaw you have. All the best champ 👍.

Check my posts for the first 2 rounds, I am understanding of the current situation and have said so, I haven't had a dig at any crowds no matter how small.
Salty tears? Why would we? Richmond has topped the home and away attendances 4 out of the last 6 years. (exc 2020 no crowds recorded).

We are not the first and won't be the last to have low crowds on games. But some take great pleasure in seeing this happen, you're one of them.
Lol, please stop assuming things about Richmond supporters or myself for that matter, the weak-minded talk like this to make themselves feel better.

I pretty sure the biggest crowd of the Round was Collingwood v Adelaide

Pretty good considering Collingwood are expected to be a bottom 4 side
I don’t think Collingwood supporters think they’ll be bottom 4. There’s an air of optimism around the Pies and that’s been evident with the Collingwood fanbase all preseason. Thss asts why your memberships on track for good growth. And that’s the only factor of material nature driving attendances.

That’s what a new coach, fresh start and a number 1(2) recruit generates.

That’s why the crowd on Saturday was strong. And it was also the prime slot of the weekend on a sunny afternoon.

I don’t think Collingwood supporters think they’ll be bottom 4. There’s an air of optimism around the Pies and that’s been evident with the Collingwood fanbase all preseason. Thss asts why your memberships on track for good growth. And that’s the only factor of material nature driving attendances.

That’s why the crowd on Saturday was strong. And it was also the prime slot of the weekend on a sunny afternoon.

Spot on, was going to say the same thing. They smacked hawks in the preseason and beat up top 8 fancy saints in RD 1, so why wouldn't they roll up to see their team play in RD 2 in a prime slot. They look exciting and some of my pies mates I told them, McRae, and Leppa will turn you guys around.
They will bring the Richmond pressure game to Collingwood.

Davis King said pies can make the top 6, I'm not sure about that and I know king can be full of it but he did say it.

Before the season started, I was expecting a bottom 6 finish but with the expectation of a more exciting game plan than the one which we became accustomed to under Buckley.

I think renewal at board and coaching level and the recruitment of Daicos kept the supporter base hopeful.

With 2 wins on the board already, I'm hoping that translates into bigger than anticipated membership growth.

I pretty sure the biggest crowd of the Round was Collingwood v Adelaide

Pretty good considering Collingwood are expected to be a bottom 4 side

This is a sensational effort.
Credit where it’s due.

Going in I’d have expected 4-5 games to be a higher attendance

Depending the roll up of Dons and Dees as well as Blues V hawks, you might just do it again too.

but a lot of that doesn't go to the club.

That's what you said.

Because most of it goes to the person reselling the ticket.

As if it is fact.
If it didn't, then there's no incentive to resell the ticket and no-one's going to use the scheme.

Then you say "if". I thought one of the problems with these schemes was that indeed that lack of monetary reward to the reselling person.

How can you not assume when you get so thin skinned with the mere mention of someone saying your crowd was low. Considering you said you'd stop replying a few comments ago, you're just showing again what I originally said was correct, you're precious. You call yourself "Astute Tiger"...... Enough said

Ciao

I gotta ask are you OK? Do you even know what you're replying to making up assertions on a whim!

Like I said you seem new to forums, thin-skinned 🤣 says the one who lost the plot cause of my post in reply. Wake up we are on big footy you know you post and you get replies whether it's positive or negative just take it on and stop having a sook because you didn't like the reply you got back.

I stand by what I said which was You expected high 30's which only two clubs have ever got against GWS at the G, that's Rich and Coll
Btw GWS have only ever played to a crowd over 40K once in the H&A season V pies, and 2nd highest was against Rich 39K

So if we go by your analogy you know the second part of your post, 10K less seems to be the trend and Victorians have really gone off Sunday football, doesn't that equate to a crowd around 29K which was what we got in that Sunday arvo time slot in these covid times.

These are the facts, that's what you said. I didn't agree with it but you got in a hissy fit and you're calling me precious lol
If you cant handle objections to your posts then you're in the wrong forum.

Ciao ;)

That's what you said.

As if it is fact.

Then you say "if". I thought one of the problems with these schemes was that indeed that lack of monetary reward to the reselling person.

Jesus christ, we're obviously talking about a hypothetical system here - obviously the bulk of the ticket revenue has to go to the reseller. Even if it doesn't, the home club is still better off selling a normal ticket where they gross all of the proceeds. Clearly some of the money needs to go to the reseller, and that's just money that would otherwise be in the club's pocket.

How on earth would you design it so the home club is better off (or at least no worse off) selling a resold ticket than a normal available ticket, and people would still opt to resell their ticket?

Spot on. Having Dusty, Prestia, Riewoldt, Grimes, Vlustuin and Lambert out no doubt lowered expectations on some, I guess it shaved a few thousand off.
I went didn't expect much, thought we'd maybe lose but super rapt we won.
To get less than 30k when you spruik 100k members is underwhelming. Beautiful day, first home game, recent success with multiple flags. One middling season and a loss to Carlton and the bandwagoners jump off already?

Good to have another Collingwood v Richmond crowd fight on this board. I am sure I will get sick of it eventually but it just feels so familiar and "normal".

I echo the sentiments that the GC Suns crowd was very disappointing. IIRC, a lot of Suns fans on this board really dislike the night games for their club.
Was also bucketing down half an hour before game time wasn't it? Pretty crappy weather up that way for a few weeks would've deterred plenty but it also seems a large portion of the crowd were supporting the Demons.

I gotta ask are you OK? Do you even know what you're replying to making up assertions on a whim!

Like I said you seem new to forums, thin-skinned 🤣 says the one who lost the plot cause of my post in reply. Wake up we are on big footy you know you post and you get replies whether it's positive or negative just take it on and stop having a sook because you didn't like the reply you got back.

I stand by what I said which was You expected high 30's which only two clubs have ever got against GWS at the G, that's Rich and Coll
Btw GWS have only ever played to a crowd over 40K once in the H&A season V pies, and 2nd highest was against Rich 39K

So if we go by your analogy you know the second part of your post, 10K less seems to be the trend and Victorians have really gone off Sunday football, doesn't that equate to a crowd around 29K which was what we got in that Sunday arvo time slot in these covid times.

These are the facts, that's what you said. I didn't agree with it but you got in a hissy fit and you're calling me precious lol
If you cant handle objections to your posts then you're in the wrong forum.

Ciao ;)
Wow..... So Richmond have gotten 39k against GWS before, as you just stated? So expecting 39k, at your first home game for the year, on a beautiful Sunday afternoon, with your supporter base, probably isn't that unreasonable? Or as the diplomat I am, maybe after a rational Richmond supporter replied to my original post that high 20k was what he was expecting, I pointed to reasons how to justify a low crowd. Am I ok? Not really. I've wasted an evening arguing with a moron. Now people might not know the difference.

Play Nice 2022 AFL/AFLW Crowds/TV Ratings/Stream thread