Play Nice 2022 AFL/AFLW Crowds/TV Ratings/Stream thread

Spot on, was going to say the same thing. They smacked hawks in the preseason and beat up top 8 fancy saints in RD 1, so why wouldn't they roll up to see their team play in RD 2 in a prime slot. They look exciting and some of my pies mates I told them, McRae, and Leppa will turn you guys around.
They will bring the Richmond pressure game to Collingwood.

Davis King said pies can make the top 6, I'm not sure about that and I know king can be full of it but he did say it.
Correct, and conversely the round 1 ‘disaster’ inflicted by Essendon on itself effectively robbed the club of most of the new found trust and respect the supporters had in their club built throughout 2021 with such a poor turnout against Brisbane. And this will be evident again with a paltry turnout on Friday night when compared to the rollup that would’ve been predicted only 2 weeks ago.

Reality is one bad performance can impact attendances (and membership) and flip side a preseason of hope works the other way with Collingwood.

Before the season started, I was expecting a bottom 6 finish but with the expectation of a more exciting game plan than the one which we became accustomed to under Buckley.

I think renewal at board and coaching level and the recruitment of Daicos kept the supporter base hopeful.

With 2 wins on the board already, I'm hoping that translates into bigger than anticipated membership growth.
Correct and agree. It’s about the supporters optimistic mindset. It’s not necessarily about material wins, it’s a sense of optimism around the new direction of the club, supported by getting arguably the best player in the draft, a well ‘sold’ coaching appointment, positive vibes on game plans, a well executed trade period and a solid round 1 win in what was a genuine 50/50 pointer if the year ahead against the Saints.

This is a sensational effort.
Credit where it’s due.

Going in I’d have expected 4-5 games to be a higher attendance

Depending the roll up of Dons and Dees as well as Blues V hawks, you might just do it again too.

Demons / Bombers will be a poor turnout due to Demons home game (1) and poor Essendon prospects (2). Probably 45,000 ish.

This Carlton home game is also a Hawthorn member replacement game. That will likely see another ~5,000 Hawks members turn up as a result. It should draw close to or above 55,000.

Correct, and conversely the round 1 ‘disaster’ inflicted by Essendon on itself effectively robbed the club of most of the new found trust and respect the supporters had in their club built throughout 2021 with such a poor turnout against Brisbane. And this will be evident again with a paltry turnout on Friday night when compared to the rollup that would’ve been predicted only 2 weeks ago.

Reality is one bad performance can impact attendances (and membership) and flip side a preseason of hope works the other way with Collingwood.

100% agree with this, especially about the bombers. It wasn't just a loss it was a shocker in RD 1, and thus severely affected the attendance in RD 2.
Admittingly I thought you would get 35K due to the lions having good support in Melbourne but many of the Ess reserve areas at marvel seemed half full.

I still think the bombers are on the right track even though their supporters are a little disillusioned from the first 2 games and might need another 1-2 years before announcing themselves, a little like Carlton who finally are hitting their straps.

It's Melb's home game on prime time Friday night and up to them to carry the bulk of the attendance.

NO. I'm talking about real systems in place a.t.m.
In a hypothetical I'd always have the club come out in front.
The idea is to compensate the re-seller for some return better than nothing.

Yes but my point is that it's not in the club's interest to have the system in place unless they're selling out the stadium more than occasionally.
No matter how you structure it, the club will always prefer to sell an unsold ticket than a resold ticket. If there remain unsold tickets to a game, they're going to want to sell those first.

Only West Coast is in that position, which is why they're the only club with such a system in place.

Good to have another Collingwood v Richmond crowd fight on this board. I am sure I will get sick of it eventually but it just feels so familiar and "normal".

I echo the sentiments that the GC Suns crowd was very disappointing. IIRC, a lot of Suns fans on this board really dislike the night games for their club.
As a Brisbane-based Geelong supporter, I do not like the night games at Carrara for one very good reason... people drive that highway between Brisbane and the Gold Coast like they've dropped half a dozen pingas before getting behind the wheel, principally because they HAVE dropped half a dozen pingas before getting behind the wheel.

Yes but my point is that it's not in the club's interest to have the system in place unless they're selling out the stadium more than occasionally.
No matter how you structure it, the club will always prefer to sell an unsold ticket than a resold ticket. If there remain unsold tickets to a game, they're going to want to sell those first.

Only West Coast is in that position, which is why they're the only club with such a system in place.
Geelong has it too I believe

100% agree with this, especially about the bombers. It wasn't just a loss it was a shocker in RD 1, and thus severely affected the attendance in RD 2.
Admittingly I thought you would get 35K due to the lions having good support in Melbourne but many of the Ess reserve areas at marvel seemed half full.

I still think the bombers are on the right track even though their supporters are a little disillusioned from the first 2 games and might need another 1-2 years before announcing themselves, a little like Carlton who finally are hitting their straps.

It's Melb's home game on prime time Friday night and up to them to carry the bulk of the attendance.

You would honestly think with great weather the Melbourne v Essendon game will draw 55,000. Surely Melbourne will draw around 35,000 of there own fans and Essendon will bring 20,000 of there loyal fan base.

Collingwood and Geelong should draw 60-65,000. Just depends on how many Geelong fans turn up being a Saturday night as most of there fans won’t get home till around midnight

You would honestly think with great weather the Melbourne v Essendon game will draw 55,000. Surely Melbourne will draw around 35,000 of there own fans and Essendon will bring 20,000 of there loyal fan base.

Collingwood and Geelong should draw 60-65,000. Just depends on how many Geelong fans turn up being a Saturday night as most of there fans won’t get home till around midnight
Not a chance. Essendon supporters won’t bother going. For a start they don’t think the games winnable. Second, supporters will be wanting the team to earn their trust back before they make the effort to go along, especially to an away game. That first game was more than your average garden variety loss. Supporters were filthy.

Best recent guide was 2019 round 3, Demons home game early in season after they made Preliminary Final in 2018. 53,000. It was a balmy Fridsy night too. That was pre covid. It will struggle to exceed 45,000.

Gut feel Pies / Cats draw 55,000-60,000. Just doubt enough Cats fans will come up the highway after last weeks disappointing loss. I may be wrong.

Not a chance. Essendon supporters won’t bother going. For a start they don’t think the games winnable. Second, supporters will be wanting the team to earn their trust back before they make the effort to go along, especially to an away game. That first game was more than your average garden variety loss. Supporters were filthy.

Best recent guide was 2019 round 3, Demons home game early in season after they made Preliminary Final in 2018. 53,000. It was a balmy Fridsy night too. That was pre covid. It will struggle to exceed 45,000.

Gut feel Pies / Cats draw 55,000-60,000. Just doubt enough Cats fans will come up the highway after last weeks disappointing loss. I may be wrong.

Ironically these are the types of games Essendon get their shit together and snag one. Only to loose the following week to Gold Coast or someone.

Correct weather is fine on Friday and In normal circumstances, it would hit 55K. But with the Bombers being off the boil and disillusioned with their team, yes it's only RD 3. I think a crowd of about 50K is likely.
Melb's home game, so I think they'll bring 25-30K of their fans and bombers say 20K. My crowd guestimate 48-52K because it's on prime time Friday night. Now if it was on say Sunday arvo, id be more inclined to say about 45K.

For Pies V Cats, pre-2019, 60K+ no worries. Pies fans will come out in force feeling bullish about their chances against the cats. For the Cats fans, they ain't keen on night games travelling down the highway and so I'm inclined to think a crowd of about 55-60K

Ironically these are the types of games Essendon get their shit together and snag one. Only to loose the following week to Gold Coast or someone.

Yes, however the forward lines basically injured so even if it won the battles up the ground you can’t see them kicking enough goals. Supporters know that.

I’m reluctantly attending Friday night. I purchased a ticket before the season started. Definitely won’t be attending rounds 4 and 5. They might be the lowest ever Essendon attendances (minus a couple from 2016).

I.E. When I say lowest ever, I mean since they left Windy Hill.

I’ve got a feeling that if the crowd is low 40’s, then the AFL will be bound to make an announcement on lowering ticket prices or something of that magnitude.

Reviewing ticket sales for Melbourne / Essendon. No walk ups in the MCC reserve so need to book seats (no cost to members). Noting these clubs are comfortably the two biggest clubs in the MCC.

All level 1, 2 & 3 seats sold. On level 4, they’re selling bays 37 & 41 only. I can only assume the better seats between Q42-48 are sold out?. Bay 41 up to row Q. Q37 row F now.

Based on my limited knowledge of ticket sales it appears the reserve will be at least 80% full. They’re also selling the back half of Q49-52 too. I don’t know about pre sales in the AFL members (does anyone know?), however it may be an ok crowd, potentially 50,000+.

Thursday crap time slots affect us smaller clubs much more than they affect Collingwood and such. A few thousand more is the difference between a meh crowd and a good crowd.

Public transport doesn't get talked about enough when it comes to the effect of why crowds are low. The deplorable public transport system has kept heaps of people I know from Frankston and the Peninsula from going anymore. Now with every game live and accessible with Kayo, they rather just save their money, stress and time watching it at home, rather than paying ridiculous fees for transport which always gets delayed, have to wait for over halfa on the way home to get on one cause of the log jam at Richmond and lack of trains and have to stand up for basically the whole way home. Only made worse when the MCG car park is closed.
This is the main cause for me not attending games. First home game for the bombers last week and PTV decides to close half the Lilydale/Belgrave train line. Who wants to catch a train, get off and get a bus, stop all bus stops and add around 60 mins total for the round trip. Watching it at home from now on as they find more ways to make it difficult to attend in person.

Play Nice 2022 AFL/AFLW Crowds/TV Ratings/Stream thread