Draft 2022 AFLW Draft Analysis - Slice of Pie

Stats wise Taylor has been more impressive this season, and honestly after Ham in the VIC group you could have almost any order for the next 5-6, but I think Scott's new found unselfish approach to her gamestyle is perhaps hampering how others are viewing her, I reckon I've seen her hand off near every possession she's had in the forward half this year. That said if she can't find the right balance she's certain to slip, but hopefully being the focal point for Country will see her get back to snagging a few a game.
Also, Scott would likely have been ahead of Taylor going into this year, at least based on performances from last year. AA at the champs and NAB League team of the year. Not sure how you guys saw it, but I'd have had her behind only Ham, Clarke and Baskaran (with Fleming as a maybe) going into this year. She's kicked 4.7 in four games this year for a not particularly good team. Taylor's playing mid for one of the better teams. It's a hard comparison to make.

In terms of current order, I'd have Ham then Clarke and then start throwing darts (assuming Goldsworthy nominates NSW). Separating all the ~165cm mid types is difficult and probably comes down to a team's preferences. If somebody forced me, I'd probably go Fleming > Baskaran > Hurley, but I wouldn't be surprised if that's wrong. I could easily imagine teams seeing more scope for improvement taller girls. And I have no idea where Scott fits into all that.

Also, Scott would likely have been ahead of Taylor going into this year, at least based on performances from last year. AA at the champs and NAB League team of the year. Not sure how you guys saw it, but I'd have had her behind only Ham, Clarke and Baskaran (with Fleming as a maybe) going into this year. She's kicked 4.7 in four games this year for a not particularly good team. Taylor's playing mid for one of the better teams. It's a hard comparison to make.

In terms of current order, I'd have Ham then Clarke and then start throwing darts (assuming Goldsworthy nominates NSW). Separating all the ~165cm mid types is difficult and probably comes down to a team's preferences. If somebody forced me, I'd probably go Fleming > Baskaran > Hurley, but I wouldn't be surprised if that's wrong. I could easily imagine teams seeing more scope for improvement taller girls. And I have no idea where Scott fits into all that.
Taylor's split her time as CHB and midfielder, she was actually reasonably close to making the AFLW Academy from reports so she came in highly rated for sure, which is amazing when you consider her second and third games were for Metro U17s! On her v Scott tho, it's like an apples to oranges argument, are you looking for a Rowbottom style player with more versatility to play defence, or someone that can make a forward line her own, there's no 'bad' option at all, at the time of doing my rankings I just favoured Scott's proven performance over the last year

I think pretty unanimously P4L and I had a Fleming and Ham as our top 2 Vic girls coming in, then any combination of Clarke, Scott, Baskaran and Hurley following, but Taylor has always been in that next bracket for me at least, although I'm pretty bias for tall athletic players in general (Mia Austin from Ranges a good example of this)

Think that order of the 3 is what everyone would agree on currently, they've all improved ridiculously in the early stages of the year so at least it's an interesting watch, but I'd argue Hurley may be the best of the next group with how the top 4 have played this year

Taylor's split her time as CHB and midfielder, she was actually reasonably close to making the AFLW Academy from reports so she came in highly rated for sure, which is amazing when you consider her second and third games were for Metro U17s! On her v Scott tho, it's like an apples to oranges argument, are you looking for a Rowbottom style player with more versatility to play defence, or someone that can make a forward line her own, there's no 'bad' option at all, at the time of doing my rankings I just favoured Scott's proven performance over the last year
Knowing that teams also tend to have a bias toward taller players, I suspect Stan Judkins may be right and Taylor may wind up going before Scott.
I will be really interested to track how Scott goes once inside an AFLW club environment, though. She could also potentially wind up playing some VFLW with Baskaran and Ham at the end of the season, which will be interesting to see, if it happens.

It's an interesting discourse, and I do have a few thoughts.

The big question mark for me is, which Paige Scott will we see consistently in the future? At her best, she's a Top 5 talent. Can rip games apart, look like the most damaging player on the field, a big game player. But there's a lot of question marks I have on her ability to be that number one forward in a lowly ranked team.

The issue is, and this happens with a lot of players who perhaps have that individuality streak about them, is when the game isn't going their way, they disappear. It's interesting the argument of "she's in a bad team so will naturally be worse". Last season the Rebels only won the three games and though they were more competitive (with two AFLW Academy members as example), I wouldn't necessarily say they are that much worse on paper this year. For me (to go on a tangent from the Scott point), the Rebels have lost that marking prowess of Ella Friend, Chloe Leonard and Nyakoat Dojiok. Those three were outstanding at being link-up players, with Friend the best contested mark in the league. They've been replaced with much smaller players who have shown signs, but are not at the same level. That's why it's expected Paige Scott could be the one to step up.

But, what if the reason Scott was able to do what she was able to do, was because of Friend and co? The defenders have to try and stop the most damaging marking target, and she will always draw a crowd. Now that crowd is drawn to Scott. Same at Vic Country, they'll levitate to the bigger-bodied forwards and AFLW Academy members. She had more freedom than she had last year.

I've been lucky enough... to watch every Rebels game this year. Each game I've been left underwhelmed by a player I was expecting to tear the competition a new one. But without that support, she just hasn't been able to fire the same shot. Her highlights package (like a great goal on the weekend) is fantastic. But if she ends up at a team that struggles, will she be able to impact? What happens from an onlookers point of view, is she seems to drop her head and then starts getting aggro (which don't get me wrong we love to see) but there was a play on the weekend where she went to pick up the ball (had the motion and everything, but went past it to lay a front-on hip-and-shoulder. It's all well and good to do that when a teammate is getting it, but Scott was literally on the verge of picking up the ball, saw the opponent and opted not to get it.

If I'm being 100% honest, as it stands right now, she's outside my Top 10 Vic/Tas prospects. I want her to prove me wrong, but as it stands, I'd have not only Taylor ahead of her, but Busch, Hipwell and Eardley. Paige Scott is one of my favourite players to watch, but from a neutral observer point of view, if this was her first season, she'd be considered a late prospect IMO. Maybe that's because we know what she gave last season, but still. There's nothing more I'd love than to see her kick a bag, but also do it when the chips are down and you're the number one player.

I also think if Charlotte Baskaran was 10cm taller she'd be the consensus number one pick. She's clearly the standout player in NAB League this season (ahead of Goldsworthy) and honestly she's found another gear. She's got from an A+ player to an A++ player. I think she has broken into the Fleming category (with Ham and Clarke) the other two. They're the four I've got at this stage, and then you've got your Goldsworthys, Hurleys and Ransoms, with the likes of Taylor, Eardley, Busch, Hipwell and Scott just after that. Di Donato IMO is hovering in between that group and then next one which features Skepper and Shepherd types (potential but some areas to iron out).

Personally I just love that we can have these discussions about these players, rather than the days of "Huntington/Molloy/Conti then daylight" "Prespakis, Hanks..." etc. where the drop off was significant. It does drop off outside those 20 or so (maybe just under too) but the drop off is not as significant as it once was, and there's still plenty of value late.

To be able to critically analyse players (such as Scott) is credit to the professionalism of the players and how far the quality of the league has come. I know players welcome the feedback.

If I'm being 100% honest, as it stands right now, [Scott]'s outside my Top 10 Vic/Tas prospects. I want her to prove me wrong, but as it stands, I'd have not only Taylor ahead of her, but Busch, Hipwell and Eardley.
Just looking at GWV's fixture ahead, there's certainly an opportunity for Scott to show she can perform against quality opposition. Hopefully, the ball gets down to her or, if it doesn't, she gets more of a run on the ball. It's very hard to be consistent as a forward in any team, but particularly one that's struggling.

VFL's probably going to be important for her. If she shows she can keep up with pros (even if it's just developing pros), I think it will go a long way to boosting her draft stock.

I also think if Charlotte Baskaran was 10cm taller she'd be the consensus number one pick.
I'm very much hoping that her size slides her past the expansion teams to the worst performing Victorian team, whichever one that might end up being. She's listed as being about the same height as Conti and I don't think it's a ridiculous comparison (as much as I hate to set the bar that high for her). If she keeps things up, she'll have had the best statistical season in the history of the NAB League girls. She was also the best statistically in this age group the as a 15- and 16-year old and she was born in December. Most of this was done on a team that was regularly mediocre or worse. If she winds up the best player in this draft, she's certainly given everyone fair warning.

But, that said, the other top players are pretty great. I don't think I'm going to be able to fault much of what teams do in this draft.

Just looking at GWV's fixture ahead, there's certainly an opportunity for Scott to show she can perform against quality opposition. Hopefully, the ball gets down to her or, if it doesn't, she gets more of a run on the ball. It's very hard to be consistent as a forward in any team, but particularly one that's struggling.

VFL's probably going to be important for her. If she shows she can keep up with pros (even if it's just developing pros), I think it will go a long way to boosting her draft stock.

I'm very much hoping that her size slides her past the expansion teams to the worst performing Victorian team, whichever one that might end up being. She's listed as being about the same height as Conti and I don't think it's a ridiculous comparison (as much as I hate to set the bar that high for her). If she keeps things up, she'll have had the best statistical season in the history of the NAB League girls. She was also the best statistically in this age group the as a 15- and 16-year old and she was born in December. Most of this was done on a team that was regularly mediocre or worse. If she winds up the best player in this draft, she's certainly given everyone fair warning.

But, that said, the other top players are pretty great. I don't think I'm going to be able to fault much of what teams do in this draft.
Yeah for Scott it's more so about what she does off the ball, or how she chooses to act. I'm not as fazed about her kicking five off 20 touches (though it would be nice). I'm more interested in her being willing to push up when required, show appropriate defensive pressure, and be willing to do both the team things, but also stand up and take the onus on herself when required. Basically there's a lot of ways she can impress without doing it on the stats sheet and hopefully she can do it.

As for Baskaran, she was someone I felt was Top 5 for this draft in her Under 15s year (possibly one or two because it was mostly her and Ham at that stage a few years ago). She slipped back a little in my calculations last year (Still clearly Top 10, but around that mid-range) mostly because whilst very impressive, she did not quite have the same impact on the inside. Speaking to her, she said she really wanted to increase her efficiency at the contest and up her decision making. This year you can't fault her. Saw her live for her 32 touches against Northern, and it was a genuine 32 touches, where basically none were wasted. She's a ripper kid too, and as professional as they come. She'll be headed to an expansion club with those early picks IMO. Wouldn't be surprised to see either the Hawks or Bombers pair her with Ham.

Good news for WAFLW fans coming out yesterday, with a new streaming platform Streamer launching today. Apparently all three games will be streamed this year with one commentated.

As someone who watched all the WAFLW games last year that were available, I can tell you how frustrating it is to see two out of three games (and trying to cover the matches equally) so that's fantastic. The addition of Champion Data stats is also an "about time" moment, and brings WA up to the other women's leagues.

Looking forward to this weekend with Biggie West Perth taking on South Fremantle. Someone is getting their first win. On that, I really hope the Bulldogs can notch up a win or two this season, going two full years with nothing is tough.

Expecting Peel Thunder and Swan Districts to again be the teams to beat.

Looking forward to this weekend with @Biggie West Perth taking on South Fremantle. Someone is getting their first win. On that, I really hope the Bulldogs can notch up a win or two this season, going two full years with nothing is tough.
Soon to be 2 yrs & 1 week 😛

I think pretty unanimously P4L and I had a Fleming and Ham as our top 2 Vic girls coming in, then any combination of Clarke, Scott, Baskaran and Hurley following, but Taylor has always been in that next bracket for me at least, although I'm pretty bias for tall athletic players in general (Mia Austin from Ranges a good example of this)

Think that order of the 3 is what everyone would agree on currently, they've all improved ridiculously in the early stages of the year so at least it's an interesting watch, but I'd argue Hurley may be the best of the next group with how the top 4 have played this year
Yeah for Scott it's more so about what she does off the ball, or how she chooses to act. I'm not as fazed about her kicking five off 20 touches (though it would be nice). I'm more interested in her being willing to push up when required, show appropriate defensive pressure, and be willing to do both the team things, but also stand up and take the onus on herself when required. Basically there's a lot of ways she can impress without doing it on the stats sheet and hopefully she can do it.

As for Baskaran, she was someone I felt was Top 5 for this draft in her Under 15s year (possibly one or two because it was mostly her and Ham at that stage a few years ago). She slipped back a little in my calculations last year (Still clearly Top 10, but around that mid-range) mostly because whilst very impressive, she did not quite have the same impact on the inside. Speaking to her, she said she really wanted to increase her efficiency at the contest and up her decision making. This year you can't fault her. Saw her live for her 32 touches against Northern, and it was a genuine 32 touches, where basically none were wasted. She's a ripper kid too, and as professional as they come. She'll be headed to an expansion club with those early picks IMO. Wouldn't be surprised to see either the Hawks or Bombers pair her with Ham.

any of you knowledgeable fellows know the squads or team line ups for the
NAB AFLW National Development Champs - Girls (U16), Vic Country v Vic Metro?
supposed to be played this weekend 19/20 Feb?

Gotta admit, had no idea it was happening

I assumed it wasn’t still based on the A) non-existent promotion and B) Futures still happening. But who knows tbh.

, Centra is already a favourite to watch of @Pie 4 Life. Plenty of really good 06ers about, Mahony (Chargers), Howley and Morrissy (Falcons), Field (Jets) are others that have really impressed me early on. Chargers have a few that performed really well in their futures matches that I'm excited to see come through, but I think it speaks to how quickly junior girls football is improving that these girls that are 15/16 (and in Ella Stoddart's case, 14) are already some of the most impressive prospects in the league
Add White and Woods (183 cm already) to this from the Falcons, very good today

Grieves from Western
Yeah her and Lou-Lou Field have been talked up by the Jets for a couple of years before they were allowed to even list them.

So Scott sort of had the big game we were asking for this week, still not massive on the scoreboard (swandered a few easy set shots) but was moving up the ground more and looked dangerous as a link up half forward type of player, took 4 or 5 contested marks in the first quarter alone, but unfortunately I've got to say the performance left more questions than answers. Her defensive stuff has never been great but it stood out a lot more than usual when she was getting her midfield rotation, there was just not enough effort in that regard even if there was an opportunity to provide pressure just 5 steps away, but the big thing now is I'm questioning her kicking on the run/ under pressure, a lot of loopy kicks or helicopters when there wasn't any real reason for them was worrying

I'll be writing up proper stuff over the next few days, but Gold Coast 12.6 (78) defeated Brisbane 3.5 (23) today.

Gold Coast:

- Alana Gee reaffirmed herself as Queensland's clear top prospect, will rewatch the game for a detailed player focus but genuinely was miles above

- Forwards benefited off the midfield dominance and they have plenty of speed, from an 04 prospect outside of Gee, Jasmyn Smith and Piper Phelan were a couple of impressive ones out of defence, whilst Fleur Davies dominated at stoppages, though I still have question marks over her game (from a footy IQ perspective), good project player and works hard at ground level though and her size gives her plenty to work with

- Josie McCabe was a clever 05-born midfielder/forward with a fierce attack on the ball, Maggie O'Connell and Ella Calleja kicked a couple of goals as well

- The two players to not only take not of for the 2006-born category (2024 AFLW Draft) are Nyalli Milne and Tara Harrington. Project as clear first rounders on ability. Milne kicked the two best goals of the day, one from a four/five-bounce run from the forward side of the centre, sidestepping opponents, and then another reading it off hands inside 50, sidestepping two more and composing herself for a goal on the run. Raw talent but bloody hell she's good. Harrington is a more readymade 06-er. Played off half-back and boy her overall game for her age does not look like there are too many flaws in it. Footy smarts, positioning, one-on-one, intercepting, decision making and disposal all seemed very high for her age. Played on a wing in the final term as well and continued to impress. I had her as second best-on behind Gee.

Brisbane:

- Charlotte Mullins and Ava Seton were the best for the Lions, both played inside which saw Mullins mostly do all the work first half, and Seton second half with GC generally winning the midfield and having more contributors

- Brooke Sheridan has great draftable traits, she could push Mullins for one of the first Lions taken, played forward and then pushed back in the game late, nice athleticism and decision making

- Kadie Fletcher was another to watch and whilst limited opportunities showed off her speed inside 50

- The Browne twins (Sarah and Courtney) generally in the defensive half of half-back/wing had some nice moments

As I said I'll put up more stuff through the week, but Gee, Milne and Harrington really impressed me (Gee I knew would star), whereas there weren't a great deal of unknowns about Brisbane other than Seton popping up, because I had Mullins, Fletcher and Sheridan as their top three heading into the clash.
In the game at Yeronga this year

I think Jassy Smith has a lot of traits that will get her drafted, very good endurance. The suns have a number of tall prospects who could find their way through.

Brooke Sheridan did her acl, which was a real shame. Her and Rival-Quinn were dominating up forward. When Brooke went down the lions lost a bit of structure. At that point i think they were 5 goals up and up losing by two.

Seton played for uq last year i think she is ahead of Mullins, Aspley struggled last year, Seton held her spot in a premiership side. I know Setons endurance testing was very good.

Courtney Browne and Kiara Hillier looked good in the backline. But Browne was playing jnrs last year and is a prospect for 2023 imo. Hiller played for Maroochydore, so has seniors experience.

Laura Roy is another inside mid, likes it tough, good left foot.

Suns are fitter and a good kick /mark side.

In the game at Yeronga this year

I think Jassy Smith has a lot of traits that will get her drafted, very good endurance. The suns have a number of tall prospects who could find their way through.

Brooke Sheridan did her acl, which was a real shame. Her and Rival-Quinn were dominating up forward. When Brooke went down the lions lost a bit of structure. At that point i think they were 5 goals up and up losing by two.

Seton played for uq last year i think she is ahead of Mullins, Aspley struggled last year, Seton held her spot in a premiership side. I know Setons endurance testing was very good.

Courtney Browne and Kiara Hillier looked good in the backline. But Browne was playing jnrs last year and is a prospect for 2023 imo. Hiller played for Maroochydore, so has seniors experience.

Laura Roy is another inside mid, likes it tough, good left foot.

Suns are fitter and a good kick /mark side.
Yeah Brisbane has a lot of inside kids, as evidenced by having the flexibility to play Ella Smith on a wing.

I agree re: Smith, she’s battling with Evans for that third Suns spot IMO (Keeping in mind it was Evans’ first game in eight months). I think Calleja is a raw talent I’d definitely consider if she can continue building this year.

From Brisbane, they have a lot of similar types in that midfield. Seton definitely in better form, I still would rather Mullins more outside and E Smith inside as Mullins looked better (IMO) when she was forward/wing in the past. She will win less of the ball, I just think she’s more potent that way. Seton is your pure inside mid. Honestly think she’s probably done about as much as E Smith, so will be interesting to see what they do for QLD at champs. Kadie Fletcher one I like for upside. Not a high volume ball-winner, but a forward who can capitalise. Courtney Browne is one I’ve got on my to-watch list.

Draft 2022 AFLW Draft Analysis - Slice of Pie