AFLW 2022 AFLW Fixture

Round 5 looks like a heritage round type theme with all Victorian (including Sth Melb, Fitzroy) teams playing each other.
Probably more to do with the AFL GF in town, so cheaper for the AFL/clubs so they dont have to find hotel rooms for the clubs involved or risk having to fly a team to Victoria when fans of a mens team is hoping to get over too.

No offence. But why do they think it'd justify the move to Marvel?

When tickets were free and no one knew what to expect and people got behind their teams. Sure, it'd get a big enough crowd to justify playing at Marvel.

But now it costs money to attend
Now fans know what to expect
Now fans know that it's highly unlikely that the Expansion teams will be competitive from the get go.

There's probably enough reason (1st game for both clubs) to justify moving it to Princes Park, but Marvel? Surely they're having a laugh.
If season two's Grand Final couldn't justify it, why would this.

The more I look at it, the more I like the fixture time wise

Double header Friday Night football from mens GF weekend onwards.
I might look into it later in who plays who though.

Seven have never been the regular host broadcaster for Friday night AFLW games. They've predominantly been doing 2 games on Sunday arvo and 1 on Saturday night in the 14-team era.

No offence. But why do they think it'd justify the move to Marvel?

When tickets were free and no one knew what to expect and people got behind their teams. Sure, it'd get a big enough crowd to justify playing at Marvel.

But now it costs money to attend
Now fans know what to expect
Now fans know that it's highly unlikely that the Expansion teams will be competitive from the get go.

There's probably enough reason (1st game for both clubs) to justify moving it to Princes Park, but Marvel? Surely they're having a laugh.
If season two's Grand Final couldn't justify it, why would this.
Nobody is holding up the 2018 grand final as a beacon of great planning. It was clearly a mistake to play that game at a neutral suburban venue, and it would've been at Docklands (which would've enticed more supporters to attend, as well as facilitating a much higher quality of football) if not for a clash with a men's match (R1 no less, taking away much of the spotlight from the women's GF).

To even bring up the expected competitiveness of expansion teams is just silly when considering the venue for a match between two expansion teams. Never mind the fact that Adelaide v Port and Sydney v GWS will be played at major stadiums.

The more I look at it, the more I like the fixture time wise

Double header Friday Night football from mens GF weekend onwards.
I might look into it later in who plays who though.
Thursday Nights
R1- Carlton v Collingwood
R5- Geelong v St Kilda, West Coast v Fremantle

Friday Nights
R1- Adelaide v Melbourne
R2- Melbourne v Kangaroos
R3- Western Bulldogs v Fremantle
R4- Kangaroos v Geelong
R5- Sydney v Hawthorn, Carlton v Melbourne
R6- Hawthorn v West Coast, Port Adelaide v Adelaide
R7- St Kilda v Carlton, West Coast v Richmond
R8- Carlton v Richmond, Brisbane v Adelaide
R9- Adelaide v Geelong, Gold Coast v Carlton
Its been Friday and Saturday x 2, I assume that will continue, hence the WBBL schedule
Based on what the clubs have released/announced, these are the confirmed FTA games already. A trend looks like a Friday night, Saturday night and Sunday afternoon match on FTA. WBBL matches on the Sunday could be on 7mate as seen in the past.

Blue is my prediction with Saturday matches missing during men's finals season, Black is confirmed
R1- Carlton v Collingwood at Ikon Park (Thu Aug 25, 7:10pm), Adelaide v Melbourne at Norwood (Fri Aug 26, 7pm), Essendon v Hawthorn at North Port (Sat Aug 27, 7:10pm), Geelong v Richmond at GMHBA (Sun Aug 28, 4:10pm)
R2- Melbourne v Kangaroos at North Port (Fri Sep 2, 5:10pm), Essendon v Carlton at North Port (Sun Sep 4, 11:10am)
R3- Western Bulldogs v Fremantle at Ikon Park (Fri 9 Sep, 5:10pm), Richmond v Hawthorn at Punt Road (Sun Sep 11, 4:10pm)
R4- Kangaroos v Geelong at UTAS (Fri Sep 16, 5:10pm), Collingwood v Adelaide at Vic Park (Sun Sep 18, 12:10pm)
R5- Sydney v Hawthorn at Punt Road (Fri Sep 23, 5:10pm), Carlton v Melbourne (Fri Sep 23, 7:30pm), Richmond v Brisbane at Punt Road (Sat Sep 24, 11:10am)
R6- Port Adelaide v Adelaide at Adelaide Oval (Fri Sep 30, 7:30pm), St Kilda v Collingwood at RSEA Park (Sat Sep 30, 4:10pm), Brisbane v Essendon at MBC (Sun Oct 2, 12:10pm)
R7- Richmond v West Coast at Min Resources (Fri Oct 7, 7:10pm), Hawthorn v Port Adelaide at SkyBus (Sat Oct 8, 7:10pm), Melbourne v Western Bulldogs at Casey (Sun 9 Oct, 3:10pm)
R8- Richmond v Carlton at Ikon Park (Fri Oct 14, 6:30pm), Gold Coast v Melbourne at Metricon (Sat Oct 15, 6:40pm), Western Bulldogs v St Kilda at Mars Stadium (Sun 16 Oct, 1:10pm)
R9- Gold Coast v Carlton at Metricon (Fri Oct 22, 7:30pm), Hawthorn v Brisbane at SkyBus (Sat Oct 22, 7:10pm), Richmond v GWS Giants at Mildura (Sun Oct 23, 3:10pm)

Estimated flight distance for each team (km)...

WCE: 29992
Frem: 23398
BL: 12952
PA: 11290
GC: 10596
Carl: 9468
Ess: 9444
Syd: 9378
Melb: 9342
Coll: 8058
Geel: 7634
GWS: 7294
Adel: 7060
Haw: 6810
WB: 6684
Rich: 6310
StK: 5172
NM: 4752

Some truly awful choices there. Bris v GC, NM v Syd, Frem v WC, Melb v WB at Casey Fields... come on.

The correct list (ordered from no.1 must-see to no.10 must-see) is as follows:

Melb v BL
Adel v Melb
Frem v Melb
WB v NM - At least hype up one of the games on the day/eve of the men's grand final, sheesh.
Rich v GWS - I'm predicting this will decide the last spot in the 8. And it will be spiteful, like the last time they met.
Carl v Coll
Geel v WCE - Spread the spotlight around a little bit, albeit for a game that will actually be a good contest.
Ess v Haw
Syd v StK
PA v Adel - Gonna be a slaughter (like all other non-Vic derbies), but still a spectacle (unlike all other non-Vic derbies).

So I have just Gold Coast without a top 10 appetising match, on account of them playing the ugliest style of football last season.

Some truly awful choices there. Bris v GC, NM v Syd, Frem v WC, Melb v WB at Casey Fields... come on.

The correct list (ordered from no.1 must-see to no.10 must-see) is as follows:

Melb v BL
Adel v Melb
Frem v Melb
WB v NM - At least hype up one of the games on the day/eve of the men's grand final, sheesh.
Rich v GWS - I'm predicting this will decide the last spot in the 8. And it will be spiteful, like the last time they met.
Carl v Coll
Geel v WCE - Spread the spotlight around a little bit, albeit for a game that will actually be a good contest.
Ess v Haw
Syd v StK
PA v Adel - Gonna be a slaughter (like all other non-Vic derbies), but still a spectacle (unlike all other non-Vic derbies).

So I have just Gold Coast without a top 10 appetising match, on account of them playing the ugliest style of football last season.
Ugly? Excuse me. We were playing some fast and exciting footy and were challenging finals. I would say the PA v GC match is a blockbuster given the fact we want revenge for them stealing our players

3 wins and a percentage of 68 (3rd worst in the comp). Really had the top 6 looking over their shoulders. The only thing fast about the GC was their rate of tackling (which they predictably couldn't sustain in the back half of the season).

I know that you, a totally biased Suns-supporting poster, would say that.

But the topic of player departures is another reason to be wary of Gold Coast games. Hopefully there's a change in tactics befitting the change in personnel, as opposed to just depending on newly recruited school girls to play the same contest-heavy football that Yorston/Dunn/Surman could provide each week.
No need for insults thanks.

Pull your head in.

Or you can have a break.

No need for insults thanks.

Pull your head in.

Or you can have a break.
It's obvious shitposting to come on here and start accusing any team of "stealing" players. I'm going to keep pointing that out.

Saying shit posting I can live with.

Calling someone a shit poster, I wont live with.

You do add vast knowledge to this forum, but play the ball not the man. This isnt the first time.

Pull it back thanks.

One of the other things I wanted to mention in regards to the 10-round fixture is the AFL's public stance on extending the season. I say "AFL" because I don't believe the CEO was going rogue at the CBA announcement by essentially saying there'll be more rounds when there's a more even spread of competitive teams.

If that's the case, a 17-round season is a looooong way down the track--a result of the undignified depths plumbed by incumbent clubs (and supporters) to hinder the list builds of expansion teams.

Single funniest sentence ive read in an AFLW thread since we started this forum section.
Five years later I'm still laughing at your claim that Brisbane were getting away with daylight robbery in the Harris for Exon/Ayre trade.

Meanwhile, my unpopular predictions about previous expansion phases turned out to be 100% correct. So it would be either brave or foolish to dismiss my view about this next phase: a parade of unprecedented beatdowns for the new kids, despite the heavily imbalanced fixture helping minimise the damage.

Not sure what's so funny about 6 teams hoarding 75% of the top talent, especially since it's the biggest factor in the AFL's hesitancy towards a 17-round season.

Five years later I'm still laughing at your claim that Brisbane were getting away with daylight robbery in the Harris for Exon/Ayre trade.

Meanwhile, my unpopular predictions about previous expansion phases turned out to be 100% correct. So it would be either brave or foolish to dismiss my view about this next phase: a parade of unprecedented beatdowns for the new kids, despite the heavily imbalanced fixture helping minimise the damage.

Not sure what's so funny about 6 teams hoarding 75% of the top talent, especially since it's the biggest factor in the AFL's hesitancy towards a 17-round season.

Show me a quote for that Brisbane complaint.

I had issues with the North recruitment process.

Its funny because the media and clubs are reporting the exact opposite of what you are trotting out.

And I guarantee that the biggest factor in the AFLs hesitancy isnt quality, its finances.

Show me a quote for that Brisbane complaint.
Ok...
Not bad? Its daylight robbery
Plus there's the Carlton trade thread from that year, lest there be any doubt about where your laughable football knowledge landed you on the matter. But I would never post a quote from a club board, since that actually would be a clear breach of forum rules!

Its funny because the media and clubs are reporting the exact opposite of what you are trotting out.
The media have been proven repeatedly wrong on the issue of expansion teams (such as NM would be too strong--another laughable take you went along with).

All top-half teams have played the woe-is-us card (and people actually bought it) in order to reduce a fair talent spread across the league. That is part of the undignified depths I'm referring to. Of course those clubs aren't going to agree with a direct criticism of them.

And I guarantee that the biggest factor in the AFLs hesitancy isnt quality, its finances.
The issue is the AFL's hesitancy in providing more financial support to allow for a 17-round season. The biggest factor for that hesitancy is the competitiveness of the bottom-half teams. Not a difficult concept.

Ok...

Plus there's the Carlton trade thread from that year, lest there be any doubt about where your laughable football knowledge landed you on the matter. But I would never post a quote from a club board, since that actually would be a clear breach of forum rules!

The media have been proven repeatedly wrong on the issue of expansion teams (such as NM would be too strong--another laughable take you went along with).

All top-half teams have played the woe-is-us card (and people actually bought it) in order to reduce a fair talent spread across the league. That is part of the undignified depths I'm referring to. Of course those clubs aren't going to agree with a direct criticism of them.

The issue is the AFL's hesitancy in providing more financial support to allow for a 17-round season. The biggest factor for that hesitancy is the competitiveness of the bottom-half teams. Not a difficult concept.
What’s your problem? Like seriously!

You can’t reply to anyone, about anything, without having a dig at them and/or putting them down. And talking yourself up.

As has been mentioned previously, you offer so much in terms of work effort and knowledge, but, and it’s a massive BUT, you are nasty and turn every body off, to the point that people leave here, purely because of your nastiness, people no longer appreciate the amount of effort you go to with your lists, etc, because of how you treat everyone else.

Ok...

Ok. Its also a breach of the forum rules to indulge in personal attacks and play the man. For which you have already been warned earlier by the other mod on this board. You may want to consider confining your posts to your team board where your style of posting may be more appreciated.

They aren't appreciated there either.

I have the same question ahead of this season as I did ahead of last season

Geelong is now entering their 5th season - what valid reason is there that we're yet to play Melbourne during the h&a season
It does seem to be a weird quirk of the AFLW because NM are also entering our 5th season and we are playing them for the fifth time, all away. Thankfully its not at Casey Fields this time.

Something else that ought to be expounded on here (whether it's appreciated or not, doesn't bother me) is the TBC times for the Saturday games during the men's finals. Particularly Round 2 & Round 4, corresponding to the EF/QF and PF weekends, where there seems to be one too many AFLW games to squeeze in.

It would be straightforward if overlapping games were an option, but I suspect it's not (thankfully) considering that option has been avoided for the rest of the fixture. I'm thinking that Fremantle v Geelong game in WA might be an 8pm AWST start at the earliest, after the men's Saturday night final finishes.

There also seems a good chance of a few extra 11am starts included (in addition to the 2 already scheduled), which screams bush league... and yet still will be much more popular with the fans than Friday 5pm, I'm guessing.

Last edited by a moderator:
I’d be astounded if an AFLW game started over in Perth at 8pm, no game ever starts that late here and part of the appeal of the competition is for it to be accessible to juniors, which it certainly wouldn’t be in that timeslot.

AFLW 2022 AFLW Fixture

Write your reply...