Coach 2022 Coaching

• Thread starter Thread starter ScrappyDo

Someone on SEN was talking about Carlton and their pressure and defence. Pointed out the way they pressure the ball carrier but always cover the receiver as well which stops the Dogs getting their weapon going. That's the opposite to us where we all run at the carrier like an under 9. It was very noticeable in the Pies match.
Leppa is very good defence coach we should've chased him

Yeah, he was good on radio last year, you could see why he got picked up again.

I believe we did, probably wanted to join his Lions mate. You are right, he is very good and was a big part of Richmond's success too

So, Ratts being unsigned is a double edged sword.
On the one hand, I don’t want sign him too soon and land up with another Richo,
But on the other hand you know he’s going to be coaching for his career.
Having said that, playing 4 debutants into the first two games is interesting.

I believe we did, probably wanted to join his Lions mate. You are right, he is very good and was a big part of Richmond's success too

He was so good on radio that clubs lined up to get him. Really clear communicator and made tricky stuff simple to understand.

If 2022 ends up being a bit same same I can’t imagine Ratts getting extended. Who would make a tidy appointment?

The reason we don't defend well is due to our ball movement. Watch next time we transition the ball from back to front.

If it's not a fast break, we push numbers forward to provide options and get numbers to the ball, but all it does is congest space in front and limits leading lanes for forwards to present to the ball, resulting in stagnant ball movement.

The flip side to this is by moving numbers forward of the ball, we leave our defense exposed on the turnover, which is why fast break teams have such an easy time scoring against us. Our midfield is all ahead of the ball, and unless we can scrap for a stoppage, we don't have enough time to work back to help our defenders.

The alternative approach (which most successful teams use) is overlap run, counter attacking from the back half in waves, which stems from working with numbers BEHIND the ball. Rewarding the lead up forward but then having the next wave move past him for the quick hands and so on.

You can see how this approach is supported defensively as numbers are already behind the ball, and workrate back in defense is seen not only as the imperative from a defensive perspective, but also translates to offensive play also.

This has been my biggest concern with our game plan. Even in 2020, blind Freddy could see our rebound and run and carry from defense was dreadful, and it's no wonder we have looked to Hill and Sinclair since to try and rectify this (should have been Hind!).

We have zero forward nous built in to our game plan. When was the last time you saw space created in F50 to lead into through dummy leads? Or teammates blocking for one another to create separation and a mismatch? Or heaven forbid only one player flying for the mark?

It's because we move numbers forward more often then not, and because of this, don't have options presenting to the ball, so the only option we have is to kick long and hope.

This is what frustrated me so much about Round 1. We have been seeing this for close to 6 years. Not only our entire game plan needs to be reconsidered, but our general philosophy and principles need to be reviewed AFAIC.

(the above relates to ball movement when in possession / defense when not in posession, and not around stoppage work, of which has generally been our bread and butter over the past 3 years when we have looked good)
It’s this obsession with trying to gain territory and locking the ball in our forward half at all cost. Again, we play more like a rugby team, and a a mature rugby team as well.. with a little bit of opposition pressure, we fumble, rush, scrap every single disposal just to get it forward with no accuracy and precision whatsoever. Someone needs to tell Ratten the objective of the game is to kick the ball through the two sticks as efficiently as possible, not long bombs into 50 to a big pack.

The territory game is fine but we seem to be half committed to it. We want to be Geelong or WCE but don't have the skills so we have an each way bet and have a chaos kick mark hybrid. When Dunny was playing we stopped stuffing around and just ugly kicked the ball in quickly out of the middle. It didn't give us time to mess up disposal and we could swarm up and lock it in.

We need our mids to do that again. The more we touch the ball the more opportunities we have to turn it over. At the moment we have an ineffective game plan that is low energy because you don't get any reward for hard work. Apparently we are trying to be deliberately dour but leak like a sieve.

At least Freo look ripe for the picking and we should get at least an ugly win that should build confidence.

If 2022 ends up being a bit same same I can’t imagine Ratts getting extended. Who would make a tidy appointment?
If it's same same we have gone backwards. Playing with no ruck to start last year was a bloody disaster which had us on the backfoot, no such excuse this year, what was it like 3 huge defeats by round 6

As we all know if we don't make finals he will be gone - the media are already onto it and Ratten knows.
But talking about coaches there are a few that could be sacked , just look at the start the Dogs , Port , GWS and Bombers have had.
All the 4 teams are stuffed with talent and have class midfielders yet have lost the first 2 games - Port getting beaten by the Hawks would be the end of there coach with how feral they are.
Leon Cameran would have to be moved on this year - if they can't win a flag when gifted the best talent that was around , I can't understand how he is still there.
Dogs have played better sides but they just don't seem right and the Bombers well he is a fairly new coach so that may save him if they make the 8.

I fully expect we make the 8 and Ratten will get a 2 year contract , but let's see what happens.

The territory game is fine but we seem to be half committed to it. We want to be Geelong or WCE but don't have the skills so we have an each way bet and have a chaos kick mark hybrid. When Dunny was playing we stopped stuffing around and just ugly kicked the ball in quickly out of the middle. It didn't give us time to mess up disposal and we could swarm up and lock it in.

We need our mids to do that again. The more we touch the ball the more opportunities we have to turn it over. At the moment we have an ineffective game plan that is low energy because you don't get any reward for hard work. Apparently we are trying to be deliberately dour but leak like a sieve.

At least Freo look ripe for the picking and we should get at least an ugly win that should build confidence.
For me we seem to be trying to play 90's footy most of the time with our transition. Bomb it to tall mate - gain territory. Hope for a mark or winning the crumb, at the very least get a stoppage. As Significant said - when we don't get the mark, we seem to try and rush to get goal side and if we don't win the ball we are exposed resulting in being exposed on the counter and us bemoaning lack of pressure thru the midfield. Unfortunately it isn't the 90's and we do it too predictable so oppo knows where we are going and can peel off. The other thing is we are not a great clearance or contested ball side so chances aren't in our favour once it hits the ground.

I reckon we have enough skilled players to kick thru a zone, unfortunately half the time it ends up being in one of our worst kicks, which again it isn't the best when you have a Brad Hill passing to a Crouch to send it i50

As we all know if we don't make finals he will be gone - the media are already onto it and Ratten knows.
But talking about coaches there are a few that could be sacked , just look at the start the Dogs , Port , GWS and Bombers have had.
All the 4 teams are stuffed with talent and have class midfielders yet have lost the first 2 games - Port getting beaten by the Hawks would be the end of there coach with how feral they are.
Leon Cameran would have to be moved on this year - if they can't win a flag when gifted the best talent that was around , I can't understand how he is still there.
Dogs have played better sides but they just don't seem right and the Bombers well he is a fairly new coach so that may save him if they make the 8.

I fully expect we make the 8 and Ratten will get a 2 year contract , but let's see what happens.

Hinkley would be the most pressured. Even with a beaten up side they were uncompetitive with a bottom 4 list from last year.

For me we seem to be trying to play 90's footy most of the time with our transition. Bomb it to tall mate - gain territory. Hope for a mark or winning the crumb, at the very least get a stoppage. As Significant said - when we don't get the mark, we seem to try and rush to get goal side and if we don't win the ball we are exposed resulting in being exposed on the counter and us bemoaning lack of pressure thru the midfield. Unfortunately it isn't the 90's and we do it too predictable so oppo knows where we are going and can peel off. The other thing is we are not a great clearance or contested ball side so chances aren't in our favour once it hits the ground.

I reckon we have enough skilled players to kick thru a zone, unfortunately half the time it ends up being in one of our worst kicks, which again it isn't the best when you have a Brad Hill passing to a Crouch to send it i50

It seems to be the normal thing theses days. 666 has meant that there is an advantage to bombing long and locking in. Small pressure forwards who can lock the ball in are gold and inside clearance mids who move it forward fast are the most important players. Rucks who can feed them help too.
Backs need to be able to hold the ball in and absorb pressure while the field peels back.

Take it with a few grains of salt, but McEvoy wasn't glowing in his praise of Clarko in an interview this week.

Flip side. You didn’t find anything negative being said as they won flag after flag.

Would have meant more if a player challenged him during those times.

Perhaps Clarkson pushed McEvoy (and the team) more than they’d like in pursuit of creating a winning culture.

Since Ratten has taken control, we’ve looked flat and unfit on field. Even the club admits that.

Would it be so bad to have a guy in charge who’s goal is to win games, rather than being Mr Popular?

The reason we don't defend well is due to our ball movement. Watch next time we transition the ball from back to front.

If it's not a fast break, we push numbers forward to provide options and get numbers to the ball, but all it does is congest space in front and limits leading lanes for forwards to present to the ball, resulting in stagnant ball movement.

The flip side to this is by moving numbers forward of the ball, we leave our defense exposed on the turnover, which is why fast break teams have such an easy time scoring against us. Our midfield is all ahead of the ball, and unless we can scrap for a stoppage, we don't have enough time to work back to help our defenders.

The alternative approach (which most successful teams use) is overlap run, counter attacking from the back half in waves, which stems from working with numbers BEHIND the ball. Rewarding the lead up forward but then having the next wave move past him for the quick hands and so on.

You can see how this approach is supported defensively as numbers are already behind the ball, and workrate back in defense is seen not only as the imperative from a defensive perspective, but also translates to offensive play also.

This has been my biggest concern with our game plan. Even in 2020, blind Freddy could see our rebound and run and carry from defense was dreadful, and it's no wonder we have looked to Hill and Sinclair since to try and rectify this (should have been Hind!).

We have zero forward nous built in to our game plan. When was the last time you saw space created in F50 to lead into through dummy leads? Or teammates blocking for one another to create separation and a mismatch? Or heaven forbid only one player flying for the mark?

It's because we move numbers forward more often then not, and because of this, don't have options presenting to the ball, so the only option we have is to kick long and hope.

This is what frustrated me so much about Round 1. We have been seeing this for close to 6 years. Not only our entire game plan needs to be reconsidered, but our general philosophy and principles need to be reviewed AFAIC.

(the above relates to ball movement when in possession / defense when not in posession, and not around stoppage work, of which has generally been our bread and butter over the past 3 years when we have looked good)
Update - continued to do the same thing this week - careful and considerate ball movement by foot instead of run and gun (although this was utilised when the opportunity presented).

The difference in my mind is we rewarded the short kick out of defence, changed the angles, and found players even inside the centre square - there weren't a lot of bombs down the line, which is a much better outcome than usual in terms of our ball movement.

Freo allowed us to do this by defending space, not playing man on man, so we have learnt somewhat of a lesson from the Pies game, as they did the exact same thing and we continually bombed to packs.

Again, not sure if I love it - would prefer the overlap run, handball game as I think it gives our forwards the best opportunity, we were just lucky that King started clunking his marks and that Higgins was opportunistic and smart with his leading.

The difference in my mind is we rewarded the short kick out of defence, changed the angles, and found players even inside the centre square - there weren't a lot of bombs down the line, which is a much better outcome than usual in terms of our ball movement.

Yeah the short kicking was clearly different and imo worked better.