List Mgmt. 2022 Draft Thread - Part I

ST KILDA

Picks:
9, 28, 32, 47, 73, 81

Latest intel: At this stage, the Saints are believed to be after a midfielder and the best one available at Pick 9. The Saints won’t be able to match a bid on Next Generation Academy prospect Cameron Mackenzie, but the good news for them is they could still pick him up via the draft with Pick 9 if he slides that far. Still, the Hawks are looming large with their earlier pick when it comes to the midfielder. Should the Saints miss out on Mattaes Phillipou, Elijah Tsatasand Mackenzie and Geelong overlook Jhye Clark, there’s a growing belief the Saints could pick up Clark. Multiple reports have also indicated St Kilda could trade for a second first-round selection. With the Saints’ later picks, WA on-baller Elijah Hewett has been linked to St Kilda. Although it’s been suggested the Saints will target a key-position player with one of their second-rounders, with Eastern Ranges tall Lewis Hayes and GWV Rebels backman James Van Es understood to be in their plans. The Saints could also look to SA with one of their two later picks, with Billy Dowling and Archie Lovelock linked to the club.

Best-case scenario: One of Phillipou or Tsatas slides to the Saints. Both players tick the “elite talent” and “match-winner” boxes — the type of player the club is so desperate to recruit. St Kilda also finds a suitor to acquire another first-round pick, while also picking up a key-position defender with one of its later selections.

Worst-case scenario: Neither Phillipou or Tsatas are available at Pick 9 (although the Saints will still be getting a great talent at that selection) and they can’t get that extra first-rounder in.

It's not just his senior footy he is being judged on though.

He had a disappointing under 18's championships after his first game.

Clearly he's got many recruiters thinking the same way too, which would be why many have tipped him to fall to the 2nd round.
No he didn’t, I think you should rewatch some of his champ games in full, apart from one or two quiet games in the champs for his standard he was solid all year in all grades he played. Can agree he was a touch inconsistent throughout games in the champs but was still in his sides handful of players.
The WA vs SA game he was unreal while phillopou was just about unsighted. No kid is the finished product as phillopou and hewwet were at times inconsistent but what is certain is they have elite afl quality’s and if we get the development right for once we will be laughing

I reckon it would be a nightmare trying to place Tsatas.

Finds obscene amounts of the ball, and runs like Speedy Gonzales, but doesn’t win his own ball, thinks he’s playing Gaelic football (no tackling), only runs one way (according to some), struggles to kick under pressure, or at speed (which are basically the two times he’s going to do most of his kicks at AFL level!) and lacks kicking penetration.

What a mixture!

Watch Tsatas win the Rising Star next year after a Judd like rookie season.

Haha, those who scout for clubs do apparently tend to focus more on what they’re lacking, rather than what they have, so they’d be like that about just about everyone ever drafted.

He did say in a post from September that he didn’t think the top of this draft was particularly exceptional though, and that he wanted WC to split their top pick, as they eventually did.

Reckons the “2nd tier mids” from this draft (eg Clark, McKenzie) would have gone after pick 10 last year.

If we got Phillipou, that would make it Bytel, Windy and him that we’ve drafted in the last few years who came to the club with back issues.

Outside of that he’s very high on Pou though (at least his talent), and also a huge fan of Hewett.

It sounds like Hewett killed it last year and was expected to go really high, but that he didn’t quite take that next step as expected.

How much of that is due to being knocked around heavily due to Covid is the big question. A club getting him in the teens or beyond could be getting a real bargain.

Seems a real Luke Shuey type. Explosive out of stoppages and with very good kicking (including being dual-sided) to go with it.

Is he indigenous? I’m a lot more keen on him since reading how much Covid knocked him around. No way you’re going to play to your best if you’re lethargic af, and you’d probably be worn out by the end of the year even when you’d recovered.

D'Aloia was expected to go top 10 this time last year though I think. The under 17 year can be a tease. I really like Phillipou but that back injury stuff has me worried. Humphrey is the gamble pick that could be anything IMO. It's a pretty average draft but looks like the kind of one where a player taken outside 30 could be a gun still. There will be a smattering of talent outside round one that comes on by the look of it.

Hewett being a flight risk doesn't appeal throwing away a 2023 first round pick for after reading that.

D'Aloia was expected to go top 10 this time last year though I think. The under 17 year can be a tease. I really like Phillipou but that back injury stuff has me worried. Humphrey is the gamble pick that could be anything IMO. It's a pretty average draft but looks like the kind of one where a player taken outside 30 could be a gun still. There will be a smattering of talent outside round one that comes on by the look of it.

Hewett being a flight risk doesn't appeal throwing away a 2023 first round pick for after reading that.
I actually think it’s a really well balanced draft. Good mids good forwards some really decent kpd later and enough forwards.

This recruiter sounds v harsh imo. At some point you also have to remember that they’re kids still and even between now and rd 1 they’ll develop heaps.

Some more tidbits from WCE_phil, for those interested:

Burgiel is a mid who can play forward primarily but he can play all over the ground. It's why i prefer him to a couple of others who are more forwards who can play mid etc. If he's there at our fourth pick i'd love him. Third pick if other options are off the table.”

“Just on Busslinger I dont have that as a concern. I actually think the future requires 1 genuine big lockdown key defender and then a couple of guys like Bazzo and Busslinger who can float, read the play as well as forwards (or in the Bus's case better than almost all forwards) and then intercept or bring the ball to ground. You then need 1 lockdown small on the ground and two run, kick and carry HBF's. Busslinger at 197 with the footskills and playreading of an elite HB is a huge tick from me. He as you know was my safety pick at 2. I also wouldn't write off his ability to play man on man yet either. From what is reported to me his shoulder affected pretty much his whole year. So to put in the performances he did before having to go off for surgery was a huge tick for me.”

“I think there will be the same level of talent at 12 as at 8, you just don't have your pick of it. By the way I see busslinger on talent above pick 8.”

“I'll give you a little bit of info. Clark doesn't particularly like the cats. Not to say that means they won't draft him but we'll see.”

“And his kicking even at speed can be pinpoint to a leading player or a player on the run. Mackenzie's only drawback so far is not quite high enough production otherwise he'd be rated in the top 3-5.”

“You can find the rumours but he changed school twice” (Hewett)

“I've been in on an interview with him (Hewett) and he does interview well. Whilst he said the right things when it came to questions about moving interstate his body language stiffened before answering.

Now I know almost no other club is going to have someone like me reading people like that but it's certainly a reason to slide.

He is an on field leader and comes across very composed both on field and in interviews.”

“Yes I do think clubs will be doing it more if they can find someone and fit it under the soft cap. They aren't going to get a full-time psychoanalyst with a football background to do the job. It would cost the same amount as the entire recruiting department discounting the head recruiter.

Of all the WA players interviewed he (Hewett) was the only one with negative triggers in this manner.

Im not going to mention names but a couple of SA players had similar ticks and or subconscious reactions.

Even interviewing Vic players we still ask the moving interstate question as it works as a good baseline for body language and how they respond to other questions.”

“I'll ask you a question Mop. If you were given the opportunity to draft Jared Polec in any year at pick 8, would you? Their junior games are so close it's hard to differentiate. Tsatas slightly quicker, Polec a better kick. Both outside but got a lot inside (mainly as first receiver) on the inside.

He is quick, he gets a lot of the ball but isn't damaging. His stats are like counting Ashcrofts possessions with all the 1-2's he gets.”

“I see him (Humphreys) as a slightly more dynamic SPP without as much midfield experience as a junior. Do not want.”

“Would happily draft Van Es late. But is a pure lockdown and spoil. Can be led around a bit but has been able to overcome that against his peer group with great speed. Has very poor skills. I don't think he lasts to the rookie draft and would only look at him there but only as an option if we don't think Edwards will make it.

Would likely need a few years of development so he is more proactive than reactive and to get more body on body as he will get caught out at AFL level. The problem with Key defenders without great skills now is you have to surround them by guys with elite skills. However he does have a couple of elite AFL characteristics in his speed and jump.”

“In Melbourne, know of at least 4 teams trying to trade up the order and GWS almost certain to sell their pick 19 for an early second this year and a future second.

Not allowed to post much more than that at the moment.”

“Still don't rate Ginbey.

He has come a long way this year but is still reactive around the ball and in particular stoppages and I don't rate his kicking. In a lot of ways he is a spectacular athlete who is a man playing against boys and not putting up numbers representative of that.”

“Arrogance and confidence are great things if they come with leadership. If they can bring leadership to the team and instill that never say die attitude in years to come, absolutely.

I have seen many, many, many times juniors who are overly confident (having been told by everyone they are the best their whole lives) fall apart in the professional environment”

“Not at all. I said months ago the draft wasn't deep and pointed out key areas where it didn't have specific types of players in quantity and quality it normally would have.

Also almost all of the tall talent hasn't come on as expected.”

“No i'm back home in the SW for the next few weeks before heading back. Once the rookie draft is done i'm done with it as well i think. I don't want to move into a permanent role, I don't want to live in Melbourne and even for the head recruiter it's a love not money job. I'm certain almost all of the senior recruiters who have been at clubs a few years could make very good player agents and earn much, much more money.”
now we don't want Van Es

Watch Tsatas win the Rising Star next year after a Judd like rookie season.

Maybe he will, but Judd won loads of contested ball right from the start, whereas Tsatas had an incredibly low contested ratio this year, for someone who was playing predominantly midfield all season.

Judd in fact won more contested ball than uncontested in each of his first 5 seasons, including 246 to 168 in his 2nd year (to go with 120 clearances!).

Tsatas seems to have some very big holes in his game for someone touted so highly.

No he didn’t, I think you should rewatch some of his champ games in full, apart from one or two quiet games in the champs for his standard he was solid all year in all grades he played. Can agree he was a touch inconsistent throughout games in the champs but was still in his sides handful of players.
The WA vs SA game he was unreal while phillopou was just about unsighted. No kid is the finished product as phillopou and hewwet were at times inconsistent but what is certain is they have elite afl quality’s and if we get the development right for once we will be laughing
Yes he did.

I watched all his champs games. Whilst he was able to have a few really good quarters here and there he never really put in a quality game after the first one.

I think there's a reason why some are thinking he may slide to the 2nd round. His inconsistency must he an issue for a few recruiters

I actually think it’s a really well balanced draft. Good mids good forwards some really decent kpd later and enough forwards.

This recruiter sounds v harsh imo. At some point you also have to remember that they’re kids still and even between now and rd 1 they’ll develop heaps.

The top end doesn't look particularly top end and the talent looks solid more than exciting. It looks even more than good. I think players taken in the 40s could still be good players but it's a bit meh.

Next year already looks to have a better top end. Harley Reid was easily BOG and that small forward not bad either, playing the country v metro match against this years crop.

If we have pick 15 next year and gave it up for a Hewett type it might be okay but if we end up losing something like pick 8 for him he'd want to be a gun.

This draft seems to have a lot more guys that are gambles than usual. Humphrey types could be anything from spud to star. Busslinger is starting to appeal after reading the recruiter though. He's depressing.

Maybe he will, but Judd won loads of contested ball right from the start, whereas Tsatas had an incredibly low contested ratio this year, for someone who was playing predominantly midfield all season.

Judd in fact won more contested ball than uncontested in each of his first 5 seasons, including 246 to 168 in his 2nd year (to go with 120 clearances!).

Tsatas seems to have some very big holes in his game for someone touted so highly.

Yeah it was a tongue in cheek comment.

Funnily enough, I was doing a bit of part time work at the Lions in 2001 while at uni & spoke to Kinnear Beatson occasionally. He knew I was a mad Sainter so we discussed that draft a few times.

On Judd “super player, but can’t kick & shoulders are fkd”.

The top end doesn't look particularly top end and the talent looks slid more than exciting. It looks even more than good. I think players taken in the 40s could still be good players but it's a bit meh.

Next year already looks to have a better top end. Harley Reid was easily BOG and that small forward not bad either, playing the country v metro match against this years crop.

If we have pick 15 next year and gave it up for a Hewett type it might be okay but if we end up losing something like pick 8 for him he'd want to be a gun.

This draft seems to have a lot more guys that are gambles than usual. Humphrey types could be anything from spud to star. Busslinger is starting to appeal after reading the recruiter though. He's depressing.
I agree about trading future picks. Although not for the same reasons. paying it forward has worked really well for Melb. The concern I have is more about where we may finnish. I mean in a Worst case scenario we could be bottom 3/4 and we shouldn't be trading out pick 3 or 4 imo.

I think his game will end up more like Gaff than Judd. I'm think a more erratic but high possession version of Nas. Footy has changed a bit since they brought in the stand rule and 666. Run, pace and spread seems to have become a much more valuable asset. Flanks are extra wings that are expected to run the field. High half forwards are extra runners too. You actually need about 6 quick endurance runners who can run end to end more than 4 grunt inside mids for today's game. Perhaps that suits guys like Tsatas?

Sounds like the Dees need a Pou.
If you think it through.

Melbourne are offering 3 first round picks … in the teens

For pick 4 (5) and pick 22.

It is a shit deal for the bombers + the fact if they are willing to offer all that. Why wouldn’t you just pick either player yourself

Happy Draft Day everybody
I can't wait to get home and not watch the mind numbing over commercialized snooze fest.
Instead I'll be checking out yet another episode of some rehashed formulaic garbage on nettafrix that my better half reckons is friggn awesome and not in the least bit like the 6000 episodes of whatever it's called that came before it.

Love draft nights!!

List Mgmt. 2022 Draft Thread - Part I