BigFooty Official 2022 OFFICIAL BIGFOOTY PHANTOM DRAFT

PICKS AND ORDER
    IF YOU WANT TO READ THROUGH THE THREAD AND ONLY SEE THE SELECTIONS RATHER THAN COMMENTARY FROM NON-DRAFTERS, CLICK 'READER MODE' NEXT TO YOUR 'WATCH' BUTTON

If you want to read a specific player profile/ selection, you can use the 'Search' function on the top right of your page, and change the area from 'Everywhere' to 'This Thread'

Round 1
    Pick 1 - Brisbane - Will Ashcroft [Matched Bid]
    Pick 2 - GWS - Aaron Cadman
    Pick 3 - North Melbourne - Harry Sheezel
    Pick 4 - North Melbourne - George Wardlaw
    Pick 5 - Essendon - Elijah Tsatas
    Pick 6 - Gold Coast Suns - Mattaes Phillipou
    Pick 7 - Hawthorn - Cam MacKenzie
    Pick 8 - Geelong - Darcy Jones
    Pick 9 - West Coast Eagles - Jhye Clark
    Pick 10 - St Kilda - Bailey Humphrey
    Pick 11 - Carlton - Lewis Hayes
    Pick 12 - Western Bulldogs - Reuben Ginbey
    Pick 13 - West Coast Eagles - Elijah Hewett
    Pick 14 - Melbourne - Matthew Jefferson
    Pick 15 - Sydney - Jedd Busslinger
    Pick 16 - GWS - Oliver Hollands
    Pick 17 - Essendon - Alwyn Davey [Matched Bid]
    Pick 18 - Brisbane - Jaspa Fletcher [Matched Bid]
    Pick 19 - Collingwood - Isaac Keeler
    Pick 20 - Sydney - Brayden George
    Pick 21 - GWS - Jacob Konstanty

Round 2
    Pick 22 - GWS - Coby Burgiel
    Pick 23 - West Coast Eagles - Olli Hotton
    Pick 24 - Western Bulldogs - Josh Weddle
    Pick 25 - North Melbourne - Lachlan Cowan
    Pick 26 - Hawthorn - Charlie Clarke
    Pick 27- Collingwood - Harry Barnett
    Pick 28 - West Coast Eagles - Henry Hustwaite
    Pick 29 - Adelaide - Max Michalanny [Matched Bid]
    Pick 30 - Collingwood - Mitch Szybkowski
    Pick 31 - St Kilda - Max Gruzewski
    Pick 32 - Carlton - Ed Allan
    Pick 33 - Fremantle - Jed Hagan
    Pick 34 - GWS - Harry Rowston
    Pick 35 - St Kilda - Harry Lemmey
    Pick 36 - Port Adelaide - Kobe Ryan
    Pick 37 - Melbourne - Nick Sadler

Round 3
    Pick 38 - Western Bulldogs - Jaiden Magor
    Pick 39 - North Melbourne - Tom Scully
    Pick 40 - Hawthorn - Anthony Munkara
    Pick 41 - Sydney - Adam D'Aloia
    Pick 42 - North Melbourne - Cooper Harvey
    Pick 43 - Fremantle - Jed Adams
    Pick 44 - Gold Coast Suns - Sam Gilbey
    Pick 45 - St Kilda - James Van Es
    Pick 46 - Hawthorn - Brandon Leary
    Pick 47 - Carlton - Billy Dowling
    Pick 48 - Hawthorn - Jake Walker
    Pick 49 - Collingwood - Jakob Ryan
    Pick 50 - Hawthorn - Cooper Vickery
    Pick 51 - Richmond - Phoenix Foster
    Pick 52 - Essendon - Bailey MacDonald
    Pick 53 - GWS - PASS
    Pick 54 - Geelong - Hugh Davies

Round 4
    Pick 55 - Adelaide - Jonti Schuback
    Pick 56 - Port Adelaide - Ryan Eyers
    Pick 57 - GWS - PASS
    Pick 58 - Essendon - Jack O’Sullivan
    Pick 59 - Richmond - Harvey Gallagher
    Pick 60 - Geelong - Lachlan Scannell
    Pick 61 - Adelaide - Will Verrall
    Pick 62 - Hawthorn - Jerome Lawrence
    Pick 63 - Carlton - Blake Drury
    Pick 64 - Fremantle - Jaxon Binns
    Pick 65 - Essendon - Jayden Davey
    Pick 66 - Western Bulldogs - Ethan Phillips
    Pick 67 - North Melbourne - PASS
    Pick 68 - Gold Coast Suns - Josh Draper
    Pick 69 - Essendon - PASS
    Pick 70 - Gold Coast Suns - Tyrell Dewar
    Pick 71 - Sydney - PASS
    Pick 72 - Fremantle - Noah Long

Round 5 (To get teams to 3 picks)
    Pick 73 - Port Adelaide - Kyle Marshall
    Pick 74 - Richmond - Luke Teal
    Pick 75 - Melbourne - Harry Cole
    Pick 76 - Brisbane - Tom McCallum

BID Matching details
    Pick 1 Will Ashcroft - Brisbane use Picks 34,35,36,38,55 and take on a 150 point deficit for 2023

Pick 17 Alwyn Davey - Essendon use Pick 23 to match

Pick 18 Jaspa Fletcher - Brisbane have no picks with points, so take on a bigger deficit with the Ashcroft one

Pick 29 Max Michalanny- Adelaide use 44 and 53 to match, 53 moves to 61

2023 MINI DRAFT ORDER
    Pick 1 - North Melbourne - Harley Reid
    Pick 2 - West Coast Eagles - Daniel Curtin
    Pick 3 - GWS - Ashton Moir
    Pick 4 - Essendon - Nick Watson
    Pick 5 - Adelaide - Zane Duursma
    Pick 6 - Gold Coast Suns - Jed Walter [MATCHED Bid]
    Pick 7 - Hawthorn - Archer Reid
    Pick 8 - North Melbourne (From Port Adelaide) - Nate Caddy
    Pick 9 - St Kilda - Koltyn Tholstrup
    Pick 10 - Carlton - Riley Hardeman
    Pick 11 - Western Bulldogs - Jack Delean
    Pick 12 - GWS (From Richmond) - Will Lorenz
    Pick 13 - Melbourne (From Fremantle) - Sam Frangalas
    Pick 14 - Melbourne - Nathan Philactides
    Pick 15 - Western Bulldogs (From Brisbane) - Will Patton
    Pick 16 - Collingwood - Cooper Simpson
    Pick 17 - Sydney - Riak Andrew
    Pick 18 - Geelong - Jayden Matz

Pick 1 - Will Ashcroft
  • 2 minutes early? What a treat!

GWS will bid on Will Ashcroft, maybe a little early but hoping to shake him loose from Brisbane's grasp TDS7
    Brisbane match, to the shock and awe of all who bear witness. We use all our picks, going ~150 points into deficit for next year.
    On a side note, can you match a second bid while actively in deficit? Asking for a friend.

PMBangers start us up for real now mate.

Will Ashcroft | 182cm 76kg | Inside Midfielder

What is there to say about Will Ashcroft that hasn't been parroted by every SEN shock jock already? The kid is amazing, with clean hands, great running, clean disposal, and a knack for stoppage positioning that makes midfield coaches Australia wide gleam in awe. Nick Daicos is a comparison that has been thrown around a ton, but a more apt starting point for my liking is Lachie Neale or Sam Walsh. Will is a natural in-and-under, gutsy mid with an impressive work rate and a katana-sharp footy mind. Now, with all that praise heaped upon the golden boy, let's get to what he isn't seemingly the best in the world at.

First of all, he's a midfielder. While Daicos has the elite disposal by foot and penetration to play off half-back, I can't see Ashcroft thriving there long term. As a wing, he'll be effective, but again he's a superstar because he's a well-trained and seasoned inside mid. Taking him out of stoppages takes Will away from where he stands out most, his quick hands, fast reactions, bodywork, and stoppage plays. Athletically, Ashcroft is good without being great. He works insanely hard, looking back over the past two years his endurance has skyrocketed into one of the best in the class and his burst speed went from sluggish to swift. But he isn't a natural-born sprinter who'll burst out of a stoppage as fast as lightning and hammer it 60 on his boot. He has great core strength, standing up in tackles and moving opposition midfielders around at stoppages.

His kicking is very good without being elite. Will takes safe options and hits them well, he won't blaze away unnecessarily but he isn't sniping teammates from 50 meters or stabbing a bullet on a 90-degree angle to center it inside 50. Defensively he gives a ton of effort, but holding up against the larger AFL bodies will be challenging for his first season or two.

That is essentially all you can say wrong about Ashcroft. The kid is insane in his work ethic, mentality, footy smarts, endurance, leadership, and everything a coach wants a player to have. He has areas to improve on, but with the head, on his shoulders, I'd back him into working as hard as it takes to get where he needs to be. Brisbane supporters are in for one hell of a treat over the next decade.

Pick 2 - Aaron Cadman
    GWS Pick 2
    Aaron Cadman
    GWV Rebels | VIC Country
    Tall Forward
    195 cm 91 kg

cadders.jpg

Strengths;
    Work Rate, Rapid Development, Mobility, Scoreboard Impact, Consistency
    Improvements;
    Set Shot Conversion

Rapidly rising throughout the year, Cadman stamped himself as the Number 1 tall in the crop with his second half of the year, rapidly improving his output as he started to understand his role as a target up forward more, given he has been largely a defender and winger in his previous junior years, a large growth spurt saw him reach true KPF height.

There's a lot to like about Cadman, and a lot has been highlighted enough in the media that I don't really need to go in depth, there's just not a lot he doesn't do to a good level; wins a heap of the ball with his work rate to push up the ground when it's not getting forward, has good follow up work when he doesn't hold a mark, tackles strongly, and hits the scoreboard regularly, for a modern day key forward these are some really promising traits heading into the next level and will bring an obvious point of difference to our rather, vanilla for lack of a better term, tall forward stocks.

I really like talls that have late growth spurts, guys like Cripps fit into this, they've learnt a lot of their craft when size wasn't an advantage, and then had that extra weapon added on later in the piece where a lot of their development to come is more about learning to use that size to their advantage, and Cadman fits in a bit with this. I also think despite how good he's been this year, there's still plenty of room for work with his forward craft to come, and when you have a Champion of the game like Nick Riewoldt saying that Kingsley was the best forwards coach he's had, it's very exciting.

I'll be honest, Cadman isn't a best available selection for me, I think everyone knows by now I think Wardlaw is pretty clear at the top, but he's a best available for GWS given how our recruiting works, we need to address needs in the draft, and get players that are likely to stick with us, and for that Cadman is the best.

I could go on, I do love what he brings after all, but I'll leave it there for now.

Also Considered;
    George Wardlaw

roos_fanatic08 up with two picks!

Pick 3 - Harry Sheezel
  • North Melbourne
    Pick 3

Harry Sheezel
    Sandringham - Vic Metro
    13/10/04 184cm 77kg

Justification

Since Boomer retired in 2016 North have really lacked players with genuine class and creativity. With Sheezel, you get all those traits and so much more.

Player Profile

Harry Sheezel is a classy half forward/mid who can find space in a phone booth. Despite not being the quickest player in the draft his situational awareness and fantastic vision allows him to move through the contest and hit the lowest % targets orgoals. Additionally, he is a quick thinker, which also allows him to sum up situations and chose the best option.

He is duel sided, smart, and excellent over head for a prospect of his size. The combination of his ground level game and aerial ability means he doesn’t have to have a lot of posessions to be damaging.

Sheezel is also blessed high footy IQ, natural footy smarts, balance and composure, which has lead to Scott Pendlebury comparisons.

While there are question marks on his speed and ability to transition to the midfield at AFL level, I think he has more than enough tools and elite attributes to overcome those deficiencies.

At championship level he played 4 of 4 games. Unfortunately he didn’t get the opportunity to show his class in the stacked metro midfield, but that didn’t stop him from having an impact. He played both as a deep forward and high half forward, and showcased his elite talent in every game.

At NAB League level he played 14 games, avg'd 19.2 disposals, 3.3 marks and 3.3 tackles, and 2.5 goals per game. He only went goalless once, which is a testament to his consistency and impact. While there were many impressive performances his best game came in round 4 against a solid Tassie lineup where he was a level above. He stuffed the stat sheet with 28 disposals, 5 marks, and kicked 6.2 in a BOG performance. He also kicked bags of 3 or more in 5 other games.

roos_fanatic08 you are up again you bloody legend 😂

Pick 4 - George Wardlaw
  • North Melbourne
    Pick 4
    George Wardlaw

Oakleigh Chargers - Vic Metro
    18/07/04 182cm 81kg

Justification

While North would of loved to have a had a key forward available at this pick, we simply have to go best available, which in my opinion is Wardlaw. Despite not playing much this year, he still has claims to be the number 1, which highlights his considerable his scope for potential.

Despite taking a number of genuine midfielders since the start of our rebuild, north still need more class, ball winning ability and depth especially with previous number 1 pick, Jason Horne-Francis requesting a trade back to Port in the off season. Wardlaw will hopefully be the heir to Ben Cunnington and will end up making a scary explosiveness combination with Luke Davies-Uniake.

Player Profile

Explosive, tough and physical inside midfielder, Wardlaw has the ability to take first possession and explode from the contest. The power he has through his hips and initial burst of speed makes him the perfect modern-day stoppage midfielder. He also has a nice side step that allows him to get space in close. When he isn’t winning the footy at the coal face he has hassling opponents and providing excellent defensive intensity.

In my opinion, his kicking is a little bit undersold, not only is he a long kick, but he also has the ability to hit beautifully weighted shorter kicks to leading forward targets, making him extra dangerous when kicking the footy inside 50. His hands in close are genuinely elite, making it easier for his teammates to drive the ball forward.

Wardlaw, is also a fantastic character. Smart, well spoken and is the ultimate professional on and off the field. For a club like North that desperately needs stability, players of his attitude are highly desirable.

After an injury interrupted year there are question marks as to how his hamstrings with handle the rigours of AFL football, but from all accounts there aren’t many in recruiting circles who have long term concerns about his body. I believe that access to AFL medico’s combined with his professionalism means he will leave no stone unturned to get the best out of his rehab and comes back firing next year. There are also some small questions marks as to his versatility, but I’m sure with his athletic traits and professionalism he could play multiple roles across the ground.

Unfortunately re-occurring hamstring strains meant Wardlaw didn’t get to represent Vic Metro at the championship level. However, he did have a best on ground performance in the AFL academy game against Collingwood’s VFL side. On the day he showcased his elite ball winning ability, defensive intent and explosiveness.

At NAB League level he only played 3 games, avg'd 20.7 disposals, 5 marks and 5.7 tackles per game.

Other players considered at pick 3 & 4: Elijah Tsatas, Bailey Humphrey, Jedd Busslinger, Cam McKenzie, Oliver Hollands and Mattaes Phillipou.

eDPS Essendon is up!

Pick 5 - Elijah Tsatas
  • Pick 5 - Essendon - Elijah Tsatas
    186cm - Midfielder

Copy pasting my profile on Rookie Me Central because i cbf

SNAPSHOT: “One of the most attacking midfielders in the draft Tsatas uses his speed and smarts to win plenty of the ball on the inside and outside”

Elijah Tsatas has been a highly rated prospect for ahwile now with selection in SSA squads and some strong performances in 16s pre-season games, 17s Vic Metro and even a debut as a 16 year old for Oakleighs under 19 side last year. Tsatas has spent a lot of his time either as a stoppage midfielder or running wingman and has excelled at both roles.

Tsatas started the year in ripping form with some strong results in the pre-season testing and some big games for Oakleigh before APS started highlighted with a 42 disposal game against Eastern Ranges but a foot fracture during his game against Collingwood VFL for the AFL Academy ruled him out for 3 months missing a large chunk of the National Championships but would make a strong return through APS team Wesley with a 3 goal game followed by a 37 disposal and 10 clearance game.

Tsatas’s return to NAB League couldn’t have been better with a dominant display against eventual premiers Sandringham with a stacked midfield including Will Ashcroft, Cam Mackenzie and Olli Hotton finishing with 38 disposals and 13 inside 50s and would back that up with a 34 disposal game against Bendigo in Oakleighs last game as the Oakleigh Vice Captain gave his all in a losing effort.

The natural ball winner would finally get to play for Vic Metro and would end the game with 29 disposals and 5 clearances and was only 2 possession of Will Ashcroft who was the highest ball winner for the game. Tsatas wasn’t able to back up his strong pre-season testing at the National combine but was impressive in interviews with the well spoken charger embracing the pressure and understands the draft and how he may have to play interstate at the next level.

STRENGTHS:
    • Speed
    • Agility
    • Vision
    • Clean Hands
    • Consistency
    • Production
    IMPROVEMENTS:
    • Strength
    • Tackling

There is no player in the draft who can spread from a stoppage quite like Tsatas can; Tsatas uses his elite speed often to escape congestion usually after pouncing on the ground ball. Tsatas is hard to stop when he hits a stoppage at pace and takes the ball cleanly so if a ruckman can tap it to his advantage you can almost bank on Tsatas getting to the ball first and then sending the ball inside 50.
    The Speed of Tsatas has been used to great effect whether on the inside or outside and formed a great partnership with teammate George Wardlaw on a few occasions this year with Wardlaw going the grunt work and Tsatas capitalising on the outside. That speed and agility combo will always bring attention to Tsatas so there is certainly no shortage of pressure whenever Tsatas goes for the ball because if you give him an inch he will take a mile as he also doesn’t fumble the ball.
    Tsatas has been Oakleigh’s top possession winner in every game he has played and beaten only twice by the opposition top ball winner so its safe to say Tsatas has no problem winning the ball. Whether its winning his own ball when he goes to stoppages, leading to space around the ground on sweeping on the loose ball he has many avenues to winning the ball using his football smarts and natural ability despite having a rather low endurance based compared to others in this years crop.
    Of course being Oakleighs top possession winner every game Tsatas has been very consistent this year averaging 33.8 disposals and not far behind Will Ashcroft who averaged 34.5 disposals. Ashcroft wins more contested ball as a more permanent midfielder but although Tsatas plays a more outside role he isnt just a receiver and wont hesitate to attack a loose ball at speed but his lighter frame makes it harder for him to play a more contested style to enhance his best attributes when playing in the centre.

Skills wise Tsatas certainly hits more targets than he misses and by hand he can be very clean and weight them well and to teammates advantage and this is what could see him have a great career as a more inside player especially with his speed and clean hands at stoppages. Kicking on the other hand could use some improvement with a lack of penetration at times and he tends to kick out one step after marks which can loop up and put his teammates under pressure but kicking inside 50 he often kicks to advantage and makes the right decisions so there is certainly no big concern but overall could be better.
    The one big area for Tsatas to improve at the next level is his defensive running and tackling only averaging 1.3 tackles a game which is rather poor for a midfielder but not uncommon for a pure winger but it is certainly an area to improve with pressure becoming more important with each year. Tsatas will use his speed with ball in hand but doesn’t push as hard to put pressure on and it may come down to that lower endurance base compared to the likes of Ashcroft but you could argue Tsatas would be a more well rounded player winning 5 disposals less but averaging 3 more tackles per game.

DRAFT RANGE: 1-5
    SUMMARY:
    Despite missing 3 months of football in an important period Tsatas remains a big chance to be one of the first selected in this years draft, standing at 186cm and possessing elite speed and a good leap and couple that with his natural football ability and production its hard to ignore Tsatas in the top 5 picks in this years draft. There is also some upside with Tsatas as he is the least readymade out of the top mids and with an interrupted year who knows how much better he could have gone.

For Essendon I’ve gone for the best player available which is an easy strategy with early picks and no team can have too many midfielders.

Players considered: Bailey Humphrey

Ysaye

Pick 6 - Mattaes Phillipou
  • Gold Coast Pick 6: Matteas Phillipou

Height: 190cm Weight: 80kg

Strengths: Aggressive quick decision making, footskills, marking, size and athleticism, versatility, goal kicker, very bottom aged

Areas for Improvement / queries: Exposed Leadership, tackling, exposure to SANFL seniors

Justification / Other Players Considered:
    My rule is go best available with a top 20 pick; but obviously that needs some clarification. In the end I have gone with Phillipou here; I would probably pick Jhye Clark here (I had even written up my reasons for doing so) if I wanted to pick what I thought was going to happen in reality (or otherwise trade the pick down for Hollands), but what instead I have gone with the available player that excites me the most. Historically pick six compared to pick seven gets a bad reputation and it is probably for the very reason that it is often at the tipping point between a safe choice but potentially underwhelming, or an exciting but potential bust pick; in this instance I am probably going with the latter.

Short Player Profile / Discussion on Position:
    Phillipou potentially fits a large number of positions including potentially any midfield position, forward or off a half back flank. I think Phillipou starts off forward; he can take marks anywhere and can also pick goals from a large number of locations with ease and has a high goal rate per game (think his average was 1.5). I think longer term though he probably moves closer to the centre and is an offensive weapon delivering into the forward 50.

I guess we are sticking Youtube videos in at this point these days?

Pick 7 - Cam MacKenzie
  • Hawthorn Pick 7:
    Cam Mackenzie 187cm 80kg
    Sandringham Dragons
    Midfielder

A player that has increasingly impressed me as the season went on, for context he was playing hbf last year for VM and this year he finally got his chance as a midfielder in his draft year and has taken huge strides forward, the trial games were the first time I saw him blitz open a game and since then he has been consistently dominant in games showing speed, agility, footy smarts and most importantly composure and clean skills/ high quality decision making skills, he is linked to the Saints as an NGA, but has no chance of getting past pick 40, he stepped up in the absence of Wardlaw and Tsatas to give Ashcroft a partner in crime for VM which was the difference this year and meant a championships win for VM.

Hawthorn are rebuilding our midfield and I think Phillipou or Mackenzie are high on our wish list, so I'm happy to take 1 of them here.

Chris25 youre up

Pick 8 - Darcy Jones
  • #8 Geelong - Darcy Jones (175cm, 67kg forward/mid from WA)

It seems like there’s always someone in the draft that people are saying ‘if only he was taller…’. Well size isn’t everything. If Darcy Jones was 185cm, he’d be in the #1 mix in my opinion. So why can’t 175cm get him into the top 10?

As we get closer to the draft, Jones is the player I’m liking more and more and I’ve well and truly given up on my dream of him coming to Fremantle. It’s not a draft stock full of elite attributes, but Jones has them in his athletic ability, running patterns and scoreboard impact. Plus his genuine ball winning and reading of the play. And he actually uses his athleticism and speed on the ground - which is definitely not always the case with the draft combine stars.

It seems high, and I don’t think this happens on draft day. But I think Jones is the closest prospect we’ve seen to Shai Bolton, and using a top 10 pick on him would look pretty good. I expect Jones to start as a small/half forward but in a few years I see no reason he won’t be able to go through the middle. But for now, it makes the Geelong forward half faster and more.

Otherwise, Jedd Busslinger was high on my list for Geelong and I think he’s a very good chance to be the pick in the real thing. I’d take him over Jhye Clark who is probably the bookies favourite here. But Geelong will bring him ‘home’ in 2 years anyway, so why waste the pick. But with my two late picks I think I’m a better chance of finding a tall defender I like than a game changing small.

Monocle I think is up next

Pick 9 - Jhye Clark
  • Pick # 9. West Coast. Jhye Clark. 181 cm 77 kg.
    Midfielder. Geelong Falcons.

download-12.jpg download-13.jpg

Clark is one of those unique players who has no elite qualities in his game style, yet he still gets consistently mentioned as being a candidate for a single digit draft pick.

The inter play to that is the fact that neither does he have any glaring weaknesses to his game.

I would however challenge the no elite qualities notion ..... because he possesses one playing trait that, I happen to rate very highly and thats consistency.

He is a consistent contributor in all quarters and through out the entire game.
    Likewise he is consistent week in, week out, from one season to the next.
    How many times do you hear or read about player X mentioned and that if he is on song that will go a long way to winning the game.
    Clark doesn't go missing in games.

He is a contested ball winner who best work is done on the inside, where he is often the first set of hands that starts a chain of moves in motion.
    Being a high volume, contested ball gets winner, is just such a valuable in the modern game ( actually in any era).

There are certain players that I use the term bust proof on and ,IMO, there are three in this years cohort.
    Sheezle, Busslinger and Clark, now the term bust proof should not be misconstrued as being the best players, rather it means they display a skill set that is difficult to see them failing at the next level.
    I think all three of those, mentioned will be 200 game players.

Clark has been an acknowledged leader at all levels that he has played at, and is the current Geelong Falcons and Vic Country Captain.

He is also a person of high character , an intangible thats sought by all Clubs, as it makes them very low risk off field.

While he isn't the quickest on the ground, the role he plays need more strength to get the ball away to the outside run and carry and its a link role that he does well.

Of course you will always get the pessimists that say an interstate player is a flight risk, thats implied in any kid that moves interstate.
    That should not deter a Club before some background check is done on the prospective draftee.

Over its history West Coast have been good at retaining its interstate players.

Successful Clubs back them selves in, its not perfect but I think our record stands up well.

There are some who point to the Judd defection as exhibit A as to why to not draft interstate kids................ lets just put it this way, if Clark leaves after five season as a Premiership Captain, Norm Smith Medalist and a Brownlow Medalist, I can live with that.

He brings a skill set that West Coast are in real need of and his inclusion on our list instantaneously make us a better list.

Therefore it's a pretty easy decision to call his name out at pick # 9 come draft night.

Pick 10 - Bailey Humphrey
  • Pick 10 | Bailey Humphrey | 186cm 86kg | Inside Midfielder/Medium Forward

Bailey "Humphrey B. Bear" Humphrey has landed down at Moorabbin. The definition of an upside prospect, Humphrey has all the physical tools and mental strength to carve out a place among the greats. To get there, he'll need to overcome the bane of many a footballer: kicking. While Bailey's skills with the footy have been overblown a touch, there's no doubt that he's dreadful with a set shot and pretty ordinary around the ground. He also needs to build up his tank a bit more to play further up the ground, something he's been working on throughout the season. With his deficiencies out of the way, let's get onto what he brings to the St. Kilda Football Club. Baz is a strong, agile, fast midfielder with vices for hands, dynamite in his footy boots, and a rousing will to get his team over the line. A vocal leader who impacts the game with every kick, Humphrey injects some excitement into St Kilda's one-paced midfield and some grit into their forward line. He finds his way on the scoresheet an incredible amount for someone who splits their time between the forward line and the midfield, tackles hard, and runs both ways with a ferocious dedication to getting the footy. Despite an interrupted year, Bailey has shot right into top-10 contention. With a few preseasons in the AFL system, his drive and leadership coupled with the mountain of upside he has St Kilda are in a perfect place to inject some excitement and ferocity into their new future under Ross Lyon.

Arr0w is up with the Blues.

Pick 12 - Reuben Ginbey
  • Pick 12 - Western Bulldogs - Reuben Ginbey
    189cm, 85kg
    East Perth
    Midfielder/defender

In a few words, Ginbey is a powerfully built specimen and a competitive beast.

Ginbey has had an outstanding year and performed well at all levels and in multiple roles. Starting off the year as backman at WAFL U18 level where he performed well, Ginbey moved into the midfield in the U18 championships and surprised us all winning the MVP for his state side and claiming All Australian honours. He then went back to the WAFL and managed 4 senior games where he impressed again as a defender. He then topped it off with a superb combine with top 10 finishes in leap (70cm), 20m sprints (2.92s) and 2km time trial (6.15m).

Ginbey for one is a very consistent performer, that rarely plays a bad game. He's solid, dependable, competitive and versatile. Down back he has the defensive capabilities and athletic capabilities to shut out an opponent. He's also quite reliable with his disposal with time and space.

In the midfield he has the ability to break tackles with strength and burst out of stoppages with speed. He has very clean hands and uses his running ability to spread away from the contest as well as defend. His attack on the ball is very good also and by all reports he has some good leadership qualities captaining his school side. He should also be able to make an impact very early as he's well built and has a good fitness base.

Adding more class to his game is the biggest one. A bit too often he can get it and boot the ball out of congestion as far as he can if there's no handball option rather then assessing for better kicking options. He also usually runs fast and straight like a bull which is a very good thing to have, but it could be more beneficial to his side if he could add more of a sidestep to his game. He could also learn to hit the scoreboard a bit more too if I'm being picky.

With the bulldogs backline being highly attacking, Ginbey provides a defensive skillset that our other defenders don't have and could play as early as round 1 next year. He may also be used in small bursts in the midfield after the loss of Dunkley. In a few more years time he should be able to make the full transition into the midfield with Libba and Treloar most likely finding themselves in retirement.

Brayden George, Oliver Hollands, Lachie Cowan, Jedd Busslinger, Josh Weddle

Monocle you're up

Pick 13 - Elijah Hewett
  • Pick # 13. West Coast. Elijah Hewett. 186 cm 82 kg. Midfielder. Swan Districts.

download-1.jpg

Hewett has been on Clubs radar for the past two years and while it would be fair to say, his 2021 season was better, in totality, than his 2022 season however the collective body of work is impressive. Without wanting to make too many excuses for his 2022 season it is worth noting that Covid affected him pretty badly in the early parts of the year and its something that he didn't fully break free from that setback.
    He played most of the year in the seniors at Swan Districts where they did him few favours by playing him on a half back flank, as opposed to in the midfield where he shines best.

Anyone who watched the thrilling WAFL Colts 2021 Grand Final, would know that Swans don't beat Claremont that day with out Hewett, he won the medal and he was simply the difference between two really good teams.
    Players always get more kudos when they show that they can perform in big games with high stakes riding on the game.

What he does bring to a Club is a very enticing set of skills and attributes.
    He has power and quickness that enables him to burst through and away from packs in a contested situation.
    His athletic build when coupled with his agility all help him be a balanced mid, it's not hard to imaging another 10 kg on his muscular body and that will be a lump of a lad to have to play on.
    He can contribute to the scoreboard, plus he is a very good goals assist player when he links up.

His foot skills are very good and the fact that he performs so well on either foot make his a dangerous player with ball in hand, you can imagine any forward being thrilled with the way he presents the ball to leading players.
    He does have a combative streak to him, which is ideal when he hunts the ball at the coal face.

He comes to a Club that is traditionally weak at stoppages and at the coal face.

He does need to stay more consistent and more involved in games and if he can master that, then West Coast will have a very good player on their hands.

He has a skill set thats very much needed at West Coast and I see no reason why he doesn't play early in 2023.

I am happy with the pairing of Clark and Hewett, together they make a good combination to help bolster a flagging Eagles midfield.

Busslinger was a hard leave on the board, however West Coast have greater midfield needs that KPD depth, so it was the way to go.

Pick 14 - Matthew Jefferson
  • Pick 14 - Melbourne - Matthew Jefferson
    194cm/76kg
    Key Forward
    Oakleigh Chargers

Justification

It was incredibly difficult to leave Jedd Busslinger on the board here, but between May, Lever and Petty it was hard to feel like this was the right spot for him. Melbourne do have a number of key forwards on their list, but none of them are the clear long term solution. Jefferson enters a situation where he'll be given the time he needs to develop into the number 1 or number 2 key forward for the Dees in 3-4 years time.

Jefferson projects as a mobile key forward, capable in the air and on the lead. He moves well, using his speed to create separation on the lead. His ability to read the flight of the ball, float in and mark it amongst a pack is one of his greatest attributes. Improving his capacity to impose himself physically in the marking contest will be critical to Jefferson's development, and adding size and strength will go a long way to helping that part of his game.

Stylistically, he's been compared to Essendon's Harry Jones and I think that's a pretty fair comparison. He could operate in a forward line with JVR long term, whose ability to push up the ground as a CHF would leave Jefferson to roam the 50, complementing his game nicely.

Other considerations:
    Jedd Busslinger, Oliver Hollands, Alwyn Davey Jr

eDPS

Pick 15 - Jedd Busslinger
  • Pick 15 - Sydney - Jedd Busslinger
    196cm - Key Defender

Although Swans just brought in Aaron Francis he is far from a bankable player and Jedd Busslinger would be a great choice offering a bit more drive and height compared to the McCartin brothers. Busslinger is a strong interceptor and runs hard to provide rebound, his biggest question mark would be his actual defending as he struggled on bottom ager Jed Walter in a champs game this year but his shoulder injury may have had an influence on his contested work.

Players considered: Oliver Hollands

Pick 16 - Oliver Hollands
    Pick 16 GWS
    Oliver Hollands
    Murray Bushrangers | VIC Country
    Balanced Midfielder
    183 cm 71 kg

OlHol.jpg

Gonna just use the RookieMe Central write up given I wrote it;

SNAPSHOT:Arguably the best two-way runner in the pool, Hollands brings a well balanced approached to his midfield craft, but has shown himself to be more than capable of impacting up either end of the ground.”

Rewarded for taking his limited opportunities in 2021 with AFL Academy Selection, it is obvious Ollie Hollands came into the season rated highly, and he lived up to that throughout. Splitting his time this season with the Murray Bushrangers, Geelong Grammar and Vic Country, Hollands has been a consistent performer across all competitions he’s played a part in. Predominantly a midfielder, he has shown his ability to impact both on the inside and outside, with his endurance level and accompanying work rate allowing him to get from contest to contest effectively and burn opponents in transition. He also managed to apply that same high level work rate off the back flank at times, most notably in the AFL Academy game against Collingwood’s VFL side.

STRENGTHS:
    • Endurance
    • Two-way running
    • Decision making
    • Accumulation
    • Versatility

IMPROVEMENTS:
    • Strength
    • Kicking under pressure

There is notable footballing heritage running through Hollands' family, with great-grandfather Martin Cross (Carlton), father Ben (Richmond) and brother Elijah (Gold Coast Suns) all playing at the highest level. Ollie looks like joining the ranks after an impressive two years leading into the draft. Hollands was one who stepped up to the level of competition through the year, with some of his best games being when representing Vic Country, playing a particularly important role in the championships decider game against Vic Metro at Marvel Stadium.

On-field, Hollands has proven himself as a more than capable midfielder when stationed on the inside or outside, with pretty advanced stoppage craft he was regularly able to get to the fall of the ball as a first possession winner and feed it out by hand, but is equally as good when acting more as a receiver with the timing of his runs often catching opposition off guard. Where Hollands has managed to make himself standout amongst the draft class comes with his two way running and elite endurance base, able to get from contest-to-contest effectively across the entire game, but also use his work rate to impact in defence by getting back and aiding his defenders in winning the ball, then burn his opposition in transition with his quick spread.

It is not just the fact Hollands gets around the ground that has drawn the eye, his decision making and ability to win a high amount of the footy rounds out a dangerous list of traits. Outside of an injury affected Round 1, Hollands did not drop below 20 disposals in any of his Under 18 appearances for the year, more often than not using the ball damagingly when he won it with smart hands in close and clean kicking in space.

Despite being predominantly a midfielder over the past two years, Hollands versatility is something that will appeal to clubs given his performances when briefly played up forward or down back, able to run and carry well from a defensive position, and create plays in the forward half, without taking a significant hit to the amount of footy he wins.

Looking towards the future, Hollands has noted that he would like to improve on his strength and ability to play one-on-one as he looks to move to the inside at the top level, sometimes being moved off the ball a little too easily around stoppages, and also mentioned scoreboard impact is an area he wants to work on. Outside of this, Hollands may look to improve on his kicking under pressure, sometimes rushing when a tackle is coming.

In terms of Hollands at GWS, for a long time now we've had a flock of talented midfielders that don't have any sort of two way urgency, it's very predictable when watching us that if we win a stoppage it'll generally end up inside 50, but if we lose a stoppage there's rarely a follow up one because one of our players ran hard for a tackle. Hollands comes in an addresses this pretty well when he's fully developed, but early days his work rate off the ball from a wing would be valuable as a link up player between the arcs.

Also Considered; Jacob Konstanty
    Pie 4 Life

Pick 17 - Alwyn Davey [Matched Bid]
  • Pick #17 – Collingwood bid on Alwyn Davey Jr

Will eDPS match?
    You have no idea what you have unleashed onto this phantom draft, a powerful enemy you have made

Pick 18 - Jaspa Fletcher
  • Pick #18 Collingwood bid on Jaspa Fletcher

TDS7 you willing to take him or reckon there's better at Pick 69?
    I'm tempted to not match, just because if a bid comes this high I don't know how the Lions do it without destroying their picks next year. However, briztoon and blueiris scare me, so I'll match and go into another deficit for next year.

BID MATCHED: PICK 18 Jaspa Fletcher

Jaspa Fletcher | 184cm 73kgs | Outside Midfielder

The forgotten son of the Brisbane Lions 2022 AFL Draft rort, "Jaspa" defies all connotations his name may have and brings class, cleanliness, and a sharp footy mind to a Lions team bursting at the seams with classy, skillful midfielders with clean hands. At the moment, Fletcher is a wiry wingman with the burst speed and smooth boot to rip apart a defensive line. He takes contact well for a lightweight midfielder, but without a few kegs and a few years in the system he won't be attending any centre bounces. His skills are sharp around the ground, he takes his chances on a few riskier kicks and pulls them off at a decent clip without being extraordinary. Going inside 50, his skills start to shine and the old 40-meter run 60-meter kick will become a defining tool as he makes his way into the Lions side. Not a natural accumulator like his father-son peer Ashcroft, what Jaspa lacks in ball winning he makes up for in damage and penetration both by hand and foot. If I had to compare him to a player, I'm looking at Karl Amon as a speedy outside midfielder with clean skills and effective disposal going inside 50.

Pie 4 Life let's do this for real now mate.

Pick 19 - Isaac Keeler
  • Michalanney now Pie 4 Life ?
    Soon. I thought about it. But I'll instead go for the South Australian tall I'm willing to take a punt on.

Pick 19 - Collingwood selects Isaac Keeler (North Adelaide/South Australia)

Position:
    Key Forward/Ruck
    Height: 198cm
    Weight: 88kg

Reasoning:

There is little doubt that on pure talent and upside, Keeler is up there with the best in this draft. Can he fulfil that potential at AFL level? Yet to be seen obviously, but I'd rather take the punt on the player that could be incredible, and for me that is Keeler. I thought about a few options here (tall and small) but think I've got more chance of one of them squeezing through to my next selection.

Draft Profile:

There’s not a lot of things on a football field that Isaac Keeler can’t do. The mercurial forward/ruck continues to flash the x-factor and match-winning ability that brings fans to games. Keeler has put together patches of brilliance throughout the year, most recently in the SANFL U18 Semi Final against Norwood. Keeler’s start to the second half set the tone for his side and his dominance through the middle and around the ground helped turn a quarter time deficit into a comfortable victory.

Spending large periods through the ruck for North Adelaide this season, Keeler does his best work as an extra midfielder in that part of the ground. His ability to read the opposing ruckman’s tap and win his own clearance helps shake up the midfield mix for his side. A capable leaper too, Keeler can rise above the opposition ruck and get first hand to the football. Averaging a touch under 18 disposals a game this season is a testament to his ability to win possession around the ground. Keeler is equally dangerous inside 50 where he’s a threat on the lead, in the air and below his knees.

Isaac Keeler looks to have one of the highest ceilings of any prospect in this year's draft pool. The 198cm talent from Port Augusta teases a rare combination of athleticism, mobility and skill for a player his size. A tough cover on the lead due to his range and speed, Keeler comfortably gets separation from his opponent, with few defenders in the SANFL Under 18 competition able to stay with him. Poor entries inside 50 won't take him out of the contest, with his ability to collect the ball cleanly below his knees and finish around his body, Keeler has the skillset of a small forward in a key forward's body.

Technically gifted, Keeler is a capable set shot goalkicker who can easily cover the distance from beyond the 50 metre arc. This natural ability to use the football also extends to his field kicking, where his ball use around the ground is of a quality rarely seen in a player his size.

Keeler's exploits in the ruck have been somewhat of a mixed bag at this stage. While he has a big enough leap to compete for the hitouts, he hasn't yet embraced the physical nature of the ruck battle, leading to some varied results for him in that part of the ground. Where he looks most comfortable in that role is in his ability to read the opposing ruckman's hit-outs and contribute as an extra midfield option. Keeler's size and athleticism are again a major advantage for him and he's more than capable of winning clearances and kicking his side into attack. Outside of the ruck contest, Keeler has demonstrated his ability to accumulate the football around the ground, where his teammates trust him with ball in hand.

Whilst his size and athleticism is a strength, adding more physicality to his game will help Keeler take his football to the next level. At times he can be too easily moved out of a marking contest and when denied a clean run and jump at the football, Keeler struggles to bring the ball to ground. Improving his physicality would likely see further development in his ruck craft and if he can become a consistent contested marking threat, Keeler would be well on his way to reaching his ceiling as a footballer. Although he may be a few years away from being AFL-ready, the upside with Keeler makes him one of the more intriguing prospects in this year's crop.

eDPS

Pick 20 - Brayden George
  • Pick 20 - Sydney - Brayden George
    185cm - Medium Forward

A tough choice but made easier with Swans having 2 picks here and can afford the risk. George was on track for the top 10 but injury and then an ACL heavily effected his draft year but at his best he was one of the most damaging players in the draft and a tough matchup with his power and forward craft, there isn’t many powerful pure medium forwards in the AFL with many of those types also midfielders and a lack of midfield time does effect his value. George won’t play next year but could hit the ground running and play AFL early in 2024.

Players considered: Jacob Konstanty

Pick 21 and Pick 22 - Jacob Konstanty and Coby Burgiel
  • (same as Hollands, I wrote these RMC profiles so will just use them)

Pick 21 - Jacob Konstanty
    Gippsland Power | VIC Country
    Small Forward
    177 cm 73 kg
    Jacob-Konstanty-Gippsland-Power-2022-NAB-League-1.jpg

SNAPSHOT: “Arguably the best defensive forward in the crop, Konstanty manically applies pressure inside 50, creating opportunities for himself and teammates when the opposition makes mistakes.”

Having kicked four goals for Vic Country in an Under 17s match in 2021, it’s not surprising that Jacob Konstanty was a prospect with eyes on him from the very start of the year. He took a little bit of time to get going in 2022, but a switch from the midfield back to his usual small forward role saw him flourish.

Whilst Konstanty isn’t always a massive goal kicker each week, it could be argued he creates more goals than most with his forward half pressure, manically chasing down opposition defenders in an effort to create opportunities for himself or his teammates in the forward half. With an average of 5.8 tackles from his 14 NAB League games, his effort in this regard is consistent.

In his top-age campaign, Konstanty popped up as a dangerous asset throughout Vic Country’s 3-1 National Championships run, while helping Gippsland to a minor premiership and preliminary final berth en route to his richly deserved National Combine invite. Not bad for a soccer convert who was picked out of Drouin’s reserves.

STRENGTHS:

• Clean hands
    • Evasiveness
    • Smarts
    • Tackling
    • Work rate

IMPROVEMENTS:

• Consistency
    • Conversion

Whilst not a traditional small goal kicking forward, Konstanty presents as a prospect who fits well into the pressure forward prototype which is in vogue at the top level, with his NAB League season total of 81 tackles the second highest in the competition. He started the year in the midfield with mixed results early on, but started to flourish with a move to a more permanent forward role, showing off the same defensive work rate he did in the centre of the field, but also proving himself as a solid playmaker and scoring option himself. He continued on with this when representing Vic Country at the National Championships, getting himself a bag of three goals against the Allies, but arguably impressing most with his work rate and pressure game again, with his efforts allowing other teammates to score more heavily.

There’s a lot of impressive aspects to Konstanty’s game, but the area where he truly sets himself apart from other forward prospects is his tackling in the front half. For a player of his size, Konstanty’s ability to stick tackles on bigger opponents is quite admirable, able to pull down key position sized players just as easily as he can run down those closer to his own size. On the occasions that Konstanty can’t quite make it to apply a tackle, his efforts in pressuring opponents and forcing them towards the boundary are just as valuable, forcing mistakes by the opposition with his intensity.

With a lot being said about Konstanty’s pressure through the season, it’d be easy to think he was lacking in his scoreboard impact, but that’s not the case. Konstanty has only been held from hitting the scoreboard in one of his appearances this year, often following up on his own pressure work to manage this, he’s also showed some deft forward craft and footy smarts on his way to goal, with his front and centre work at a high level, but also showing a few times his smarts when positioning well to receive the footy out the back of a pack.

It helps his front and centre work, as well as his general crumbing ability, that Konstanty is clean below his knees at speed, rarely fumbling regardless of conditions. This cleanliness was also an asset when he was playing in the midfield, using his speed well to run onto loose balls from stoppages or packs and cleanly taking the footy, getting into space to send it forward.

With selection at the draft looking more likely than not, Konstanty would still benefit from improving some aspects of his game. Whilst he has consistently hit the scoreboard through the year, Konstanty does have a tendency to fade in and out of games at times. Naturally hitting the scoreboard often is promising, but Konstanty does still have some work to do on his conversion in front of the sticks.

Pick 22 - Coby Burgiel
    Gippsland Power | VIC Country
    General Utility
    183 cm 80 kg
    gettyimages-1420352087-1024x1024.jpg
    SNAPSHOT: An athletically gifted midfielder with proven versatility, Burgiel played across all 3 lines at various points this season, bringing his daring run and clean disposal to each role”

Somewhat flying under the radar due to the plethora of talent in all his sides, Coby Burgiel has been a consistent and reliable force through the midfield, but has shown his versatility when forced to play as a defender or forward for Vic Country at the Under 18 Championships. Burgiel’s speed and cleanliness below his knees are two traits that standout amongst other midfielders in the crop, finishing equal second in the 20m sprint at the National Combine with a stunning 2.88-second run, Burgiel has no trouble showing this speed on-field.

STRENGTHS:

• Speed
    • Consistency
    • Cleanliness
    • Scoreboard Impact
    • Versatility

IMPROVEMENTS:

• Composure
    • Accumulation

Being a part of some pretty successful sides in 2022, it Is no surprise that Coby Burgiel has drawn an increasing amount of attention as the year's rolled on. Playing predominantly as a midfielder for Wesley College and Gippsland Power, Burgiel was a consistent clearance winner for his sides, using his burst and cleanliness at ground level to collect the ball easily around stoppages and deliver forward. His campaign for Vic Country was a different story however, with only some brief stints in the midfield, Burgiel got the opportunity to showcase his talents up either end of the ground. Having displayed his ability to hit the scoreboard from the midfield at NAB League level, Burgiel showcased a more goal assist orientated game in the Championships when up forward, with his ability to gain separation on opposition with that speed pivotal to that. When in defense, Burgiel was accountable when required, but looked at his best when running the ball further up the field.

His scoreboard impact was a consistent part of his game through the NAB league season, kicking 12.11 from nine games in the competition, with two hauls of three the best performances in that regard, despite playing majority of his time in the centre square set up. His work rate of the ball in offence allows him to get to opportune positions heading forward, often in a good spot to receive a handball from a teammate when running towards goal.

As mentioned, Burgiel’s cleanliness in gathering possession is a real asset of his game, able to collect the ball both in the air and off the deck with one hand at speed, allowing him to hold off on making his runs until the last possible second. It is a weapon at stoppages no doubt, but around the ground, in open play, is arguably when Burgiel uses it most. In the heat of the game when skills aren’t at the highest quality, Burgiel still rewards his teammates efforts even if a handball or kick is not precise, again able to pluck the ball with one hand easily.

There is a lot to like about Burgiel when considering draft prospects, and the building blocks to be a high level midfielder are there, however there is some work to do with his disposal under pressure. Whilst it was an area that saw improvement as the year went on, there are still times where Burgiel can rush his kicks or handballs when in the thick of congestion or with a tackling imminent. When compared to other midfielders in the draft, and at the next level, Burgiel could also do with winning the ball a bit more to allow him to impact at a higher level.
    There's a bit to work through here with two picks, so I'll try my best to address everything, starting with Konstanty.
    My love of this boy can not be overstated, and I think whoever gets him during the draft will join me quickly given the increasing importance of pressure forwards, and especially ones that can still hit the scoreboard regularly, the bottom line here is that GWS's forwards are shocking defensively, Toby Greene is statistically our best pressure forward and I would be shocked if anyone would refer to him as being 'elite' in that area, and Konstanty brings the pressure in spades.

Burgiel I'm a big fan of, I'm really optimistic about what he can bring to the table at an AFL club due to his speed, cleanliness and versatility, and with a few others in the my thinking with the first two, the fact he has and can play anywhere to a good level tipped me his way, as well as being a teammate of Konstanty's with retention in mind.

Now I know what everyone is thinking, as TDS7 pointed out, I'm Hotton's biggest fan, and be was there, ripe for the taking. It took a lot not to take Hotton, and I'm sure Monocle will do him justice with his write up, but at the end of the day it came back to Burgiel's versatility and already advanced game in those positions, and we have a bigger need for inside leaning mids than outsiders right now, so with Hollands already locked in we had hit our quota so to speak. It also felt as if going Hotton would've been too forward half heavy of a draft, especially with Rowston still to come in (hopefully), so someone who could realistically start as a defender or defensively minded mid appealed from a balance perspective

FWIW, come the real thing I expect that Charlie Clarke will be one of these picks, still one of my favourites, but I don't see him quite as high as I do these two and Hotton

Also Considered; Olli Hotton, Charlie Clarke, Mitch Szybkowski

Monocle

Pick 23 - Olli Hotton
  • Well bugger me dead .

I am needing to do a little regig.

Singing happy birthday to myself as I type this …… never expected him to drop this far.

Pick # 23. West Coast.

Ollie Hotton.

Will do write up in a minute……. Just got to finish eating all the birthday cake 🎂

goodcop badcop you are up

Pick 24 - Josh Weddle
  • Pick 24 - Western Bulldogs - Josh Weddle
    192cm, 91kg
    Oakleigh Chargers
    Tall/Medium defender

Weddle's game has really grown and has slowly built confidence as the year's progressed. He started off reasonably well at NAB league level where he impressed enough to get selected for state side Vic Metro. Weddle struggled initially at the champs, but really found form in the 2nd game against WA where he was very good both offensively and defensively. In the 3rd and 4th games, he defended really well and often found himself on the oppositions best talls such as Cadman and Lemmey as well as spending time on mediums such as Phillipou. His performances were well received earning him an All Australian jumper. Weddle also starred at combine with top 10 finishes in both jump categories, 20m sprint (2.94s) and the 2km time trial (6.03).

Weddle is very capable defender, able to to rebound well and lockdown particularly well on a range of different opponents. A very strong one on one player that's equally as good defending on a lead with his elite speed and endurance. He also displays a fair bit of aggression and appears to hate getting beaten displaying good competitiveness. He's also more then capable of intercepting and providing some good running offense.

In Josh's own words in a recent interview he did, decision making, kicking composure and playing with confidence. He's quite a capable kick, but needs to slow himself down a bit and not rush things.

Whilst not something he can improve on, his height must be of some concern testing in at 191.6cm at the combine as well. Whilst he can play taller then he's listed at, he may struggle against the really tall 200cm plus forwards like the king boys for example. This may limit him a tad.

With the loss of Wood and even going back further to Morris, the dogs defence has struggled noticeably without these mediums that can play tall. Weddle will help in a big way to fill that hole in the future and could get early games like Ginbey as he's quite a solidly built player with a good fitness base already.

This was very much much a toss up between Weddle and Lachie Cowan. In the end I think Weddle suits our side better and I was always hoping to land a taller defender here.

Pick 25 - Lachlan Cowan
  • North Melbourne
    Pick 25
    Lachie Cowan

Tasmanian Devils - Allies
    01/12/2004 188cm 81kg

Justification

Once again, North would of loved to have a had a key forward worthy of being taken at this pick, but considering the state of our list we simply have to go best available. Cowan in my opinion is the best distributing half back in this draft pool, no matter what level he has played this year he has always had an impact.

North have taken a few half backs in recent years with the likes of Josh Goater and Miller Bergman, but we still lack a player who can accumulate the footy behind the ball. Having two 50-100m line breaking players in Cowan & Goater will go a huge way to fixing North’s lack of drive off half back.

Player Profile

Cowan is the premier half back in this years draft class. He plays the game with flair and creativity. Given any chance he will use his long kicking and speed to break the lines and get the ball moving forward. His initial few steps are impressive and he has good agility that allows him to get around would be tacklers.

Cowan’s long kicking is his biggest asset. He can kick the ball 55+m with ease and can do so at close to top speed which is impressive. While his long kicking is a mainstay he does need to sharpen up his shorter passes. Far too often he can overlook shorter options instead choosing to kick long. Cowan doesn’t often use the handball, with 85% of his posessions coming the way of kicking.

Another feature of Cowan’s game is his intercept marking. He isn’t afraid to fly in contests, choosing to back himself to mark rather than spoil. Due to his flair, his defensive work is a little bit undersold, he has good closing speed and defensive positioning. With his ability to read the play, he is also very capable in locking down on his direct opponent.

Cowan played all four games for the Allies. While he was consistent across all games, he probably didn’t quite live up to the standard he had set at NAB league level.

At NAB League level he played 12 games, avg'd 26.7 disposals, 5 marks and 8.3 R50’s per game. In doing so, he won the leagues Morrish Medal, which is a fitting accolade considering his consistency.

Other players considered: Max Gruzewski, Henry Hustwaite, Charlie Clarke, Harry Lemmy & Tom Scully.

Davo-27 Hawks are you next.