List Mgmt. 2022 Trade & List Management Thread

Knowing full well, this suggestion will be received with a mixture of derision, disbelief, disdain and any other negative reaction starting with d, may I suggest that we consider turning either of X or CCJ into a key defender.

Both are 200 cm or taller so maybe too tall, but the main query would be their pace and if they are quick enough to play that role. It would be an experiment that would be bound to see several goals kicked by opposition forwards, but the instruction would be, "just follow your man to the marking contest and spoil; we don't care how many times you get outmarked and how many goals get kicked on you.".

If either have got the required pace then in time it will click. They are only marginally taller than Robbie Tarrant, once a forward who made the successful transition and Majak, (who I also called for this to happen with and received the aforesaid reactions) while *dustin *fletcher at 198cm was a pretty handy defender.
Nah Goldy should retire end of this year

Next year we will easily fit both, they have this year to get ready for taking over

If we turn Comben into a KPD I will riot
Why will you riot?

Tarrant started as a forward and then became arguably an AA level defender.

We have a massive hole on our list at the moment and would you rather he play VFL or get AFL game time, even if it means exposing him to CHB?

It doesn’t have to be permanent, but it might help his development long term to play at the other end anyway?

Why will you riot?

Tarrant started as a forward and then became arguably an AA level defender.

We have a massive hole on our list at the moment and would you rather he play VFL or get AFL game time, even if it means exposing him to CHB?

It doesn’t have to be permanent, but it might help his development long term to play at the other end anyway?
I would rather the guy we earmarked as a forward, who has kicked bags in the VFL in just a few games being there, learn the craft and play there, rather than trying to turn gumtrees into forwards. I'd rather he play VFL than play out of position in the AFL. Happy to play the waiting game with him.

We opted for mids in the 2020 draft when there were key forwards aplenty around our pick, which it seeming to be indicated that Chom was the depth we needed in the KPF stakes. I'm totally supportive of our decision to pick Phillips, I think he'll be a gun. But I don't want to see us ****ing with a bloke's career to shore up our shitty list management.

I would rather the guy we earmarked as a forward, who has kicked bags in the VFL in just a few games being there, learn the craft and play there, rather than trying to turn gumtrees into forwards. I'd rather he play VFL than play out of position in the AFL. Happy to play the waiting game with him.

We opted for mids in the 2020 draft when there were key forwards aplenty around our pick, which it seeming to be indicated that Chom was the depth we needed in the KPF stakes. I'm totally supportive of our decision to pick Phillips, I think he'll be a gun. But I don't want to see us ****ing with a bloke's career to shore up our shitty list management.
Not sure it’s ****ing with his career to give him exposure to another part of the ground?

Unfortunately our shitty List Management might mean out of necessity we have to find someone currently on the list to convert to a defender.

The draft is pretty much going to be a long shot given the time it will take to develop a key back and there are no guarantees that a quality KPD is going to hit the FA/Trade market. Leaves the options pretty thin on the ground.

Been many a story of a young KPF being converted into a KPD. If it helps us to a flag I don’t think anyone including Comben will complain about a switch.

Not sure it’s ******* with his career to give him exposure to another part of the ground?

Unfortunately our shitty List Management might mean out of necessity we have to find someone currently on the list to convert to a defender.

The draft is pretty much going to be a long shot given the time it will take to develop a key back and there are no guarantees that a quality KPD is going to hit the FA/Trade market. Leaves the options pretty thin on the ground.

Been many a story of a young KPF being converted into a KPD. If it helps us to a flag I don’t think anyone including Comben will complain about a switch.
I think we're also pretty thin on the KPF front. Larkey and two gumtrees isn't gonna cut it IMO. Xerri isn't a forward and CCJ was brought in to ruck. We're thin at both ends of the ground, potentially even thinner in the forward half than the defensive half. Taking our most promising forward talent in quite a while and shoving him back (when he hasn't shown he wasn't cutting it in the forwardline, unlike Tarrant) is robbing tomorrow to pay today.

We have McKay and Walker as KPDs, plus Corr as someone who can play tall if need be. We have all of...Nick Larkey as a forward. Arguably it takes more to learn forward craft than defensive craft so I have no idea why we're going with the 'plonk a ruck there and hope for the best' strategy.

If we HAVE to do convert Comben then I think we have the right to expect list managers be made accountable.

I think we're also pretty thin on the KPF front. Larkey and two gumtrees isn't gonna cut it IMO. Xerri isn't a forward and CCJ was brought in to ruck. We're thin at both ends of the ground, potentially even thinner in the forward half than the defensive half. Taking our most promising forward talent in quite a while and shoving him back (when he hasn't shown he wasn't cutting it in the forwardline, unlike Tarrant) is robbing tomorrow to pay today.

We have McKay and Walker as KPDs, plus Corr as someone who can play tall if need be. We have all of...Nick Larkey as a forward. Arguably it takes more to learn forward craft than defensive craft so I have no idea why we're going with the 'plonk a ruck there and hope for the best' strategy.

If we HAVE to do convert Comben then I think we have the right to expect list managers be made accountable.
Corr is not a key defender and Walker is not a long term option. Arguably you could say our KPD depth is going to be McKay and McGuiness (which is a massive question mark).

At the moment up forward, while not ideal we have Edwards developing, CCJ as a Ruck/Forward, Comben and Larkey. If McGuiness is a bust then the backline becomes more of an issue than the forward line.

Now is the perfect time to trial Comben back while results are irrelevant. Especially if they are going to leave him in the VFL.

Corr is not a key defender and Walker is not a long term option. Arguably you could say our KPD depth is going to be McKay and McGuiness (which is a massive question mark).

At the moment up forward, while not ideal we have Edwards developing, CCJ as a Ruck/Forward, Comben and Larkey. If McGuiness is a bust then the backline becomes more of an issue than the forward line.

Now is the perfect time to trial Comben back while results are irrelevant. Especially if they are going to leave him in the VFL.
Particularly if he’s going to starve up forward in an ordinary vfl team too

I dunno mate to use a TAO-ism it feels like we'd be going out of our way to create a shitmen.

Tarrant got thrown back because he wasn't getting the job done up forward.

In the short time Charlie has been available he has acquitted himself very well up forward. Edwards and CCJ are ruck/forwards, not key position forwards.

Let the kid who has shown a bit up forward be a forward and kick some bloody bags I say.

You gave the reason that our shit list management might mean out of necessity he's tried back this year. Walker as a stop gap and Corr as a stretch are relevant to this - we're currently one Larkey injury away from being absolutely rooted up forward, whereas Walker and Corr can hold the fort. Plus, Corr is taller than Scooter was. He's not the best KPD and excels as the third tall, but if he's not an option at a pinch, why the hell did we poach him?

Get ready for us taking 3 KPD this year as we play Catch up
Then hope in 3-4 years they might be ok
Would be typical of our list management pray and hope style

Brady needs to be talking to all the out of contract key backs in the comp right now if he hasn’t already starting with Moore and Pearce as free agents

Get ready for us taking 3 KPD this year as we play Catch up
Then hope in 3-4 years they might be ok

Use pick 1 in the draft, split pick 2 PP for two ready made defenders, profit.

Not going lie. Seeing Sam Skinner debut this weekend for the Power will be a hard pill to swallow.

Really should’ve been on our list would’ve of cost nothing and looks like exactly the player we need.

Brady needs to be talking to all the out of contract key backs in the comp right now if he hasn’t already starting with Moore and Pearce as free agents

Our list management team who have just walked in the door?

I'm doing an about turn on best available this draft assuming we track lowly.

The list has structural needs that should probably be addressed now to hold us in good long term stead.

More rebounding HBs, more opportunistic small forwards and some key defenders.

Maybe some of these can come via trade or DFA.

We have 3x potential rebounding HBs under 30. Perez's durability remains an issue. Goater might be a guy who shuffles around and AFL field to find best spot, not convinced he's 'just' a HB. Which leaves Miller as 1x genuine option unless Scott et al are repositioned down there ongoing.

We have Curtis all on his lonesome as a creative crumber. Need more options to create possible variations in team structure and ground level potency.

At least 2 KPDs need to get on the list too IMO. 1x replacement for Tarrant's spot and at least 1 additional. We're already seeing that we're exposed in that area very quickly with only 1 bona fide high grade KPD on the list.
Spoke with one of my Roo mates yesterday about the exact thing. He still believes you pick best available with your 1st then second pick players you require. Would like to see how may kkp picked in top 10 turn out to be long term players. The club have stated a few times we went midfield first now we go kpp back and forward . I would reckon our second pick will be a key defender next draft and they will go best available at our first.
Doing a proper rebuild takes time possibly be bottom 4 this and next year and there is still no guarantees of a Premiership, however it probably gives you a really good chance as you get the cream of the crop and the start of each round in the draft.

I dunno mate to use a TAO-ism it feels like we'd be going out of our way to create a shitmen.

Tarrant got thrown back because he wasn't getting the job done up forward.

In the short time Charlie has been available he has acquitted himself very well up forward. Edwards and CCJ are ruck/forwards, not key position forwards.

Let the kid who has shown a bit up forward be a forward and kick some bloody bags I say.

You gave the reason that our sh*t list management might mean out of necessity he's tried back this year. Walker as a stop gap and Corr as a stretch are relevant to this - we're currently one Larkey injury away from being absolutely rooted up forward, whereas Walker and Corr can hold the fort. Plus, Corr is taller than Scooter was. He's not the best KPD and excels as the third tall, but if he's not an option at a pinch, why the hell did we poach him?
If we are looking to turn a forward into a KPD, then we should be looking at other lists for key forwards that we think could make the transition, not shoehorn our own scarce depth in.

I love how all the supporters were flagging the KPD issue on the radio and in the q and a’s all post-season. Being constantly reassured by the club that it would be right - we have McGuinness who has grown 4 cm’s

All just for one quarter of footy in round 1 for all that reassurance to be completely thrown away.

Not going lie. Seeing Sam Skinner debut this weekend for the Power will be a hard pill to swallow.

Really should’ve been on our list would’ve of cost nothing and looks like exactly the player we need.
we never would have had the foresight to send him down back as a key defender.
He was a forward at South Adelaide before he moved down back earlier into the season.

Yep would be typical of our old list management team

Let’s hope they aren’t stupid enough to make the same mistakes

I guess your original post is irrelevant then isn’t it? The current list management team have literally nothing to do with the past list management team. Should we blame Brad Scott for Sunday?

There is absolutely no chance that Moore will leave the Pies and come to us. Stop running that "fantasy land" line.

He will almost certainly stay at the Pies or if he does decide to leave, it will be to go to a top 4 club where he might feel he has a chance of playing in a flag.

History says that these type of shall we say "marque" players do not join clubs like ours. Collectively on this board we wasted so much time salivating over the prospect of Dusty, Gaff and Kelly, the main culprits, when the reality was, we were never in the hunt and they just used us to get a few more (thousand) dollars from their club of choice.