List Mgmt. 2022 Trade Thread - Part II

I don't know much (anything!) about Tanner Bruhn apart from the fact he was a first round pick and he's now at the end of his first two years. Just looking at his numbers, he played 17 games this year and the numbers are rather underwhelming. How did they play him? Did he get much midfield time?

Who does he play like, who would you compare him to?
I’m not even sure we are in the running for him.

Atleast not with our current draft hand and by the time we have picks in place, he might have already moved on.

He had a few games early that he was getting midfield minutes

He had 22 touches against the Demons and 24 touches and 2 goals against North playing maybe half a game midfield.

As the year went on though he was mostly stuck down forward.

His stats are pretty similar to Jack Steele was was played in a similar role at that age. Steele with a couple more touches but Bruhn was kicking more goals.

He looks like a player to me. He's also played some good footy in the VFL
I reckon if we hold, there is a buy low opportunity in the next 12 months on Chesser

He looks like a goal kicker. Steele kicks goals sometimes. Owens is a goal kicker

Steele seems to be kicking less goals every year (with out checking stats). That was one of his strengths early. Looked like he could rest up forward and score pretty efficiently.

Yeah Chesser has had a pretty tough start to his AFL career. Having to move across the country and then doing his ankle and out for the year before the season even began. That's pretty rough on the body and the mind.

He had a few games early that he was getting midfield minutes

He had 22 touches against the Demons and 24 touches and 2 goals against North playing maybe half a game midfield.

As the year went on though he was mostly stuck down forward.

His stats are pretty similar to Jack Steele was was played in a similar role at that age. Steele with a couple more touches but Bruhn was kicking more goals.

He looks like a player to me. He's also played some good footy in the VFL

It's a tricky one, he'd probably cost a decent pick. It's the old balancing act of chasing a semi developed kid that has less chance of being a superstar but less chance of being a bust. I watched him play and he didn't seem anything special but then the whole side looked like they couldn't give a **** this year.

If you got him for a future second you'd grab it and run but if he was a first rounder he'd look a lot less appealing.

It's a tricky one, he'd probably cost a decent pick. It's the old balancing act of chasing a semi developed kid that has less chance of being a superstar but less chance of being a bust. I watched him play and he didn't seem anything special but then the whole side looked like they couldn't give a * this year.

If you got him for a future second you'd grab it and run but if he was a first rounder he'd look a lot less appealing.
I'd happily give a 2nd rounder as well as a later pick to sweeten the deal.

I don't think he has less chance of being a superstar than anyone we'd take outside of the top 10 of this draft

Well if you want a name to wet your beak over.

Tarryn Thomas

Most clubs in the league are asking the question.

I really rated him early on but his attitude this year sucked. Looks like a guy that would be poor for culture.

I'd happily give a 2nd rounder as well as a later pick to sweeten the deal.

I don't think he has less chance of being a superstar than anyone we'd take outside of the top 10 of this draft

I meant more if you give up a first round pick you might end up with a Fyfe or Riewoldt, Bruhn looks like his ceiling is a Steele type of A grade mid but he doesn't seem to have heaps of ceiling.... but I haven't watched heaps of him either. He looked a solid but unspectacular type to me. If you got him for what we paid for Steel and a little bit more it looks a no brainer.

Aren’t you the primary advocate for more campaigners?

It's his attitude to the club and teammates. I want them to be campaigners on the field not in the change room or meetings.

I meant more if you give up a first round pick you might end up with a Fyfe or Riewoldt, Bruhn looks like his ceiling is a Steele type of A grade mid but he doesn't seem to have heaps of ceiling.... but I haven't watched heaps of him either. He looked a solid but unspectacular type to me. If you got him for what we paid for Steel and a little bit more it looks a no brainer.

I think finding those guys outside of the top 10 are very hard though. Occasionally you'll get lucky with a Fyfe type.

I'd happily trade a late first for him if we had it to be honest.

I think he's got a fair bit of upside. He's a goal kicking mid with really clean hands and great in traffic.

I'm a big fan of those types

I think finding those guys outside of the top 10 are very hard though. Occasionally you'll get lucky with a Fyfe type.

I think he's got a fair bit of upside. He's a goal kicking mid with really clean hands and great in traffic.

Unfortunately we’re not.

Me too. How do we get the late first? Is that Hill compo? Pick 19 seems about right for him. Not too little not too much.

Will be interesting to see if GWS are happy with that or if they push for at least 1 or 2 of those 1st rounders to be in the Top 10.

Apparently very keen to clear money off the books. Perhaps to have a crack at some more mature types of their own on lesser money. Goldy did well with more low profile high output types who have a bit to prove. The guys GWS are over-paying look disinterested and comfortable.

That would be very excellent

If his ankle is right he should get games next season and like Nas he might come around to life interstate after another year settling in. If he has a great year I don't know if he'll be low priced or without lots of competition for his services. WC aren't going to be playing him in the WAFL if fit and when you are getting games it's a lot easier to stay put.

That was one of Ratt's early call that was never followed up.

I really hope there is still a forwards coach on the horizon. To me even fixing that structural issue gives us a decent chance of playing finals.