List Mgmt. 2022 Trade Thread - Part III

The worst thing for Jack was Crouch coming in tbh. Took his spot
They played a fair bit of footy together in the same team in 2021 but Bytel just wasn’t doing enough to keep his spot.

I think Jack's issue (and it was the same for Dunstan) is that Ratts' values foot skills over everything else. If you can't kick you don't play.

RTB will see that differently.

I think a midfield of Steele, Crouch, Ross, Bytel and Jones could work. Ross can play a little more outside, Jones can rotate to HF or HB, Steele rests forward more, Crouch can go to a wing/HF rotating with someone like Gresham.

In fact, a 3 man swing of Gresh/Jones/Crouch could be pretty sexy if they get it right.

I think Jack's issue (and it was the same for Dunstan) is that Ratts' values foot skills over everything else. If you can't kick you don't play.

I think a midfield of Steele, Crouch, Ross, Bytel and Jones could work. Ross can play a little more outside, Jones can rotate to HF or HB, Steele rests forward more, Crouch can go to a wing/HF rotating with someone like Gresham.

In fact, a 3 man swing of Gresh/Jones/Crouch could be pretty sexy if they get it right.
His biggest issue is he just doesn’t get enough of the ball. His skills look fine to me but if you’re a midfielder that isn’t getting the ball then what are you really doing.

Oh he's got things to work on, for sure.

I do wonder what the messaging and development has been previously.

Let's not forget, he had a pretty horrific back injury coming into the comp as a hard nosed, first possession mid. He then gets a coach and game plan built on running and kicking the ball as a priority - the two things that are probably his biggest issues in becoming a top liner.

I think that, given the chance, he could explode and find his groove as a tackling inside mid. If he's the pig in the middle that frees up Crouch, Steele and Jones to go forward more, and Ross to get on his bike up and down the ground...

Not saying it will happen but there's an opportunity under a coach that values the contested ball and stoppage tactics.

I'm hopeful for Bytel, but I think Windy is ahead of him now.

Let's not forget, he had a pretty horrific back injury coming into the comp as a hard nosed, first possession mid. He then gets a coach and game plan built on running and kicking the ball as a priority - the two things that are probably his biggest issues in becoming a top liner.

I think that, given the chance, he could explode and find his groove as a tackling inside mid. If he's the pig in the middle that frees up Crouch, Steele and Jones to go forward more, and Ross to get on his bike up and down the ground...

Not saying it will happen but there's an opportunity under a coach that values the contested ball and stoppage tactics.
I think what hurt him the most was Owens and Windhager coming in straight away and outperforming him by so much and then there was Byrnes who was almost matching them as well. Bytel was getting his 20-25 touches but that doesn’t count for much when first year players are dominating next to him.

He’s also less than 20 games into his career (quite a few of those as sub).

He has no issue in getting the pill at Sandy… reckon he just needs game time & those possie numbers will jump.

Steele maybe but while crouch has kicked goals before I don’t think “freeing up” crouch and jones to go forward is terrifying any opposition.

I don't think there is a lot wrong with Bytel's kicking. Definitely not at a Dunstan sort of level, he's probably better than Crouch.

Steele maybe but while crouch has kicked goals before I don’t think “freeing up” crouch and jones to go forward is terrifying any opposition.

Don't need to be terrifying. Just do enough that they have to put some thought into matchups vs playing 3 blokes loose on Max and then running off him all game haha

Re Bytel; thought this was an interesting statement in the article on Saints website:

“Jack has continued to show us what he is capable of in his games for Sandringham. Our hope for him next year is to really see this transfer to the training track and then senior selection.”

Perhaps a bit of an insight as to why he wasnt getting picked and not offered a contract until so late?
Sounds like the perfect case for a certain someone rumoured to be our next coach...

ryW5joi.gif

ugODKbq.gif

Don't need to be terrifying. Just do enough that they have to put some thought into matchups vs playing 3 blokes loose on Max and then running off him all game haha
We shouldn’t need to rely on jones going forward to draw attention away from max. Shouldn’t our other talks be more than capable enough?

Bytel : 16 games. Most disposals. 21. Games with more than 15 =5 Games with less than 50% TOG :( sub ) = 5
games with 8 or more contested possessions : 4 Games with 6 or more tackles : 5 Games with 5 or more clearances : 4. Goals :2

Windhager : 17 games. Most disposals 23. Games with more than 15=3 Games with less than 50% TOG : 1
games with 8 or more contested possessions : 1 Games with 6 or more tackles : 2 Games with 5 or more clearances : 1 Goals :4

Owens : 7 games. Most disposals 18. Games with more than 15 = 1. Games with less than 50% TOG : 2
games with 8 or more contested possessions :1 Games with 6 or more tackles : 2 Games with 5 or more clearances : 0 Goals: 3

Jones 2022:( 13 games ) Most disposals 27 Games with more than 15 =10 Games with less than 50% TOG ( 2022) = 1
games with 8 or more contested possessions : 6 Games with 6 or more tackles :1 Games with 5 or more clearances : 4 Goals :2

Clark 2022: ( 8 games ) Most disposals 22 Games with more than 15= 5 Games with less than 50% TOG (2022)= 1 Goals 2
games with 8 or more contested possessions : 1 Games with 6 or more tackles : 0 Games with 5 or more clearances : 0 Goals 0.

Josh Kennedy ( Hawks ) 2008/ 2009 13 Games Most disposals 26. Games with more than 15: 9 Games with less than 50% TOG = 0
Games with 8 or more contested possessions : 5. Games with 6 or more tackles : 2 Games with 5 or more clearances : 3. Goals 4.

Jack Bytel had a bit of a dud year , he peaked too late to get a call up.

I don't think the others have gone past him just yet, i think he still has good credentials if we need someone in the guts.
Particularly if we want someone to win clearances.
His use as a medical sub needs to stop, it has clearly cut into his development.

Note : Never use these ":" next to brackets unless you want to look miserable.

Note : I didn't call it a colon in case George got excited.

We shouldn’t need to rely on jones going forward to draw attention away from max. Shouldn’t our other talks be more than capable enough?

I guess what I'm getting at is that, under Ratts, we are very focussed on Max, Snags and Members to kick the bulk of our score.

It made us predicatble.

If guys like Jones, Crouch, Billings, Gresh etc can get dangerous inside 50 then it makes us that much harder to defend. They don't need to kick bags but if they can get 10-15 goals a season ala Guthrie, Touhy, Duncan, Smith, Holmes... It's a huge boost.

I think what hurt him the most was Owens and Windhager coming in straight away and outperforming him by so much and then there was Byrnes who was almost matching them as well. Bytel was getting his 20-25 touches but that doesn’t count for much when first year players are dominating next to him.
Owen’s and Windhager can also impact in other areas of the ground. Bytel needs to be in the top 3-4 choice mid or he misses out which makes it tough for him to get a look in.

Yeah its tricky.

Saints won around 216 centre clearances during 2022. ( can't find the exact figure ).
Steele attended 66% of bounces won 19% of the centre clearances. Ratio: 0.28
Crouch attended 59% , won 22% Ratio 0.37
Ross attended 59% , won 15% Ratio 0.25
Gresham attended 48% won 19% Ratio 0.39
Jones attended 25%, won 9%. Ratio 0.36
Windhager attended 18%, won 3.2% Ratio 0.18
Sinclair attended 7% , won 3.2% Ratio 0.45
Owens attended 8%. I think won zero.
Hannebery 4.4% won zero
Byrnes 1.4% won zero.
Clark 1.4% won zero.

In 2021 Bytel won 12 centre clearances.
I can't find the other data on centre clearances for that year. But he seems to have attended the bounce about as often as Clark, who won 4.

Only 5 Saints players won more than 12 centre clearances in 2022. Windhager won 7, Jones 20.

Its great that Gresham has that ability, but what if he won the clearance in the forward 50 instead?
Ross has never been great at that clearance ability, and is still pretty average.
Interesting to see Sinclair's ratio, highest clearance to attendance ration in the team.

There is a role there for Bytel if he can take it.

List Mgmt. 2022 Trade Thread - Part III