Opinion 2023 captain

Who should be our captain next year onwards?

• Simpkin

Votes: 139 50.7%
  • McDonald

Votes: 58 21.2%
  • Ziebell

Votes: 4 1.5%
  • LDU

Votes: 51 18.6%
  • Other

Votes: 22 8.0%

My opinion?

This isn’t some 5 year contract / commitment we’ve made.

It’ll work for as long as it works, and until it doesn’t, or until a better option presents itself.

Ziebell was a wonderful war-time Captain, and while we’re hesitantly looking at brighter days, sharing the load between two young(ish) leaders seems like the smart play.

LMac realises a life-long dream and embodies the Shinboner to the boys (and lets be honest, this is great maintenance of the “fabric of the club” stuff) and Jy proves the reward for a relentless work ethic and setting standards club wide, after carrying the midfield for two years and back-to-back Syds.

I tend to talk myself into things, especially those I have no control over, but this one feels right.

Wrong on several counts.

• i haven't commented on the co-captain situation
  • i never said AEC can't comment. In fact, i highlighted that it's a forum to discuss. So she is free to discuss anything she pleases.
  • there is no free speech. We aren't living in the US.
And I'm saying you're wrong on all counts about everything you've ever posted here and I have absolutely no expertise on your posting but as it's a discussion forum, I have the right to make that assertion.

Of course you do. I'm not going to try and stop you
:$

Better close down the board then.

No one can criticise players, list management, coaches, selections, membership team, mods...can't because none of us are privy to what happens in the four walls of the footy club or the chaddy food court.

Beyond bizarre that any opinion that's shared on this board is met with comments like this when we all know full well that it's a discussion forum.
Nobody is saying that you can't criticise. But if people act like the sky is falling after every bit of news that they slightly disagree with then it shouldn't be surprising if they get called out for being sooks.

This is what the group wanted and if it doesn't work then we can move on from it. Its not a big deal. Definitely not close to overshadowing the good news to Jy and Lmac, like it has on here.

Was the only difference between Jack Ziebell and Joel Selwood as captains, that Selwood was surrounded by good players and Ziebell wasn't? Would Brisbane or Hawthorn have won threepeats had someone other than Voss or Hodge been captains? I honestly don't know.

Good point and yes Brissy would have been equally successful had they had anyone of the below in their side as Captain.

Actually you could have dropped Hadley and slotted me in as Cpt and it would not have made any difference to the result.

1674427723704.png

That side is ridiculous, good job AFLs.

Who is captain doesn't really impact as I found out late last year when Mr Selwood himself was at our internal awards ceremony. Was asked questions about his leadership style.

Was lead by example on field, didn't really have a great deal to do off field. Clubs have plenty of support staff now for the players.
I imagine it would be harder captaining a shite side, you'd feel under more pressure.

And I stand by not being a fan of co-captains and also have no issue if someone else is. I realise a club that has 9 wins from its last 58 starts is bereft of many things.

Port had Co-captains for 2019 only, was a miserable year for them.
Adelaide- same 2019 only- dismal year for the Crows
Carlton- 2019/21- we all know how they've been travelling
Freo- another one, finished last that year.
Melb - did it on and off over the journey with no success. Last year was 2019 finished second last, dropped the concept and won the flag two seasons later lol.
Tigers did it in 2022, made a final, so that's a little different.
Saints- they've tried it with no success.

Swans have done it successfully it would seem. They use three Captains.

For the most part it is only the shittest of shit sides that have more than one captain. Sydney is the outlier, so many we should have six?

I think that is why I don't like it, seems to be telling the world we know we're no good.

Oh well indeed

Nobody is saying that you can't criticise. But if people act like the sky is falling after every bit of news that they slightly disagree with then it shouldn't be surprising if they get called out for being sooks.

This is what the group wanted and if it doesn't work then we can move on from it. Its not a big deal. Definitely not close to overshadowing the good news to Jy and Lmac, like it has on here.
It wasn't about being called out though. It was about trying to shut down opinions under the guise of "we don't know what happens inside the 4 walls and therefore you shouldn't comment on it"

Personally I'm shocked that people would react like the sky is falling...normally we are all such a level headed bunch that react calmly and rationally to every bit of news...

It wasn't about being called out though. It was about trying to shut down opinions under the guise of "we don't know what happens inside the 4 walls and therefore you shouldn't comment on it"

Personally I'm shocked that people would react like the sky is falling...normally we are all such a level headed bunch that react calmly and rationally to every bit of news...
'Shut down opinions' lol

Good point and yes Brissy would have been equally successful had they had anyone of the below in their side as Captain.

Actually you could have dropped Hadley and slotted me in as Cpt and it would not have made any difference to the result.

View attachment 1591587

Who is captain doesn't really impact as I found out late last year when Mr Selwood himself was at our internal awards ceremony. Was asked questions about his leadership style.

Was lead by example on field, didn't really have a great deal to do off field. Clubs have plenty of support staff now for the players.
I imagine it would be harder captaining a shite side, you'd feel under more pressure.

And I stand by not being a fan of co-captains and also have no issue if someone else is. I realise a club that has 9 wins from its last 58 starts is bereft of many things.

Melb - did it on and off over the journey with no success. Last year was 2019 finished second last, dropped the concept and won the flag two seasons later lol.

For the most part it is only the shittest of s**t sides that have more than one captain. Sydney is the outlier, so many we should have six?

I think that is why I don't like it, seems to be telling the world we know we're no good.

Oh well indeed

And to think the other clubs voted against North-Fitzroy for fear of creating a 'super club.'

yes, it is. I used to be anti co-captains but all for it now. Did a bit of reading and seen it first hand. It can work really well. You dont need to be a captain to be a leader and both these guys are going to lead regardless of who has the ceremonial title, so why not give he title to both of them.

At the end of the day, if Rick Charlesworth says its good, its good.

Enlighten me with your studies, so far nobody has.

I think you're overrating the leadership of the last few years.

On SM-S901E using BigFooty.com mobile app

Mate, I've been against the state of leadership for a while now and was pleading for some change including captaincy. This is all just a consequence of how poor its been that nobody stands out enough for the club to back them fulily or they themselves don't feel comfortable. That's rudderless.

Enlighten me with your studies, so far nobody has.

Mate, I've been against the state of leadership for a while now and was pleading for some change including captaincy. This is all just a consequence of how poor its been that nobody stands out enough for the club to back them fulily or they themselves don't feel comfortable. That's rudderless.
Here's Ricks views, but theres plenty on leadership if you want to look around.

View attachment 1591587

For the most part it is only the shittest of s**t sides that have more than one captain. Sydney is the outlier, so many we should have six?

Oh well indeed

The world already knows. No point us denying it.

As “exhibit A” and old duck came up to me at training this morning…

OD: How are they looking?”
P: “Not bad”
OD “They won the wooden spoon last season”
P: “Yeah…oh well, only way is up”
OD: (laughs and shuffles off)

I look forward to us being less “no good”

Ziebell was a wonderful war-time Captain, and while we’re hesitantly looking at brighter days, sharing the load between two young(ish) leaders seems like the smart play.

Are you talking France and Italy WW2 war-time captain or Titanic level of captaincy?

I really like Ziebs as a person, think he is a great guy... but.

2017 15th 6 wins, 16 losses (Brad Scott)
2018 9th 12 wins, 10 losses (Brad Scott)
2019 12th 10 wins, 12 losses (Brad Scott 10 games/Shaw 12 Games)
2020 17th 3 wins, 14 losses (Shaw)
2021 18th 4 wins, 1 draw, 17 losses (Noble)
2022 18th 2 wins, 20 losses (Noble 16 games/Adams 6)

6 years, 37 wins, 1 draw, 89 losses (29.13% win rate) Zero finals

52 games Scott as coach
29 games Shaw as coach
38 games Noble as coach
6 games Adams as coach

What a diabolical period and we have poor leadership on and off the field, poor player discipline, disastrous covid period, a coach suffering nervous breakdown, another two getting murdered due to "losing the players" and the players not putting up a fight.

It is not really CV material. There was a complete lack of pride in each other, the supporters and the jumper through too much of this period and a lot of it happened before we retired off everyone.

Are you talking France and Italy WW2 war-time captain or Titanic level of captaincy?

52 games Scott as coach
29 games Shaw as coach
38 games Noble as coach
6 games Adams as coach

What a diabolical period and we have poor leadership on and off the field, poor player discipline, disastrous covid period, a coach suffering nervous breakdown, another two getting murdered due to "losing the players" and the players not putting up a fight.

It is not really CV material. There was a complete lack of pride in each other, the supporters and the jumper through too much of this period and a lot of it happened before we retired off everyone.
The whole time under his captaincy we weren’t fit enough. He never set the standard high enough.

52 games Scott as coach
29 games Shaw as coach
38 games Noble as coach
6 games Adams as coach

I reckon there's a book to be written or a doco to be filmed about the NMFC Covid Hub of 2020. Unfortunately, it would be about the utter failure of leadership at all levels of an organisation and the implosions that were both the cause and effect of it.

Sadly, for such a stalwart and warrior, the club captain would have to be examined.

52 games Scott as coach
29 games Shaw as coach
38 games Noble as coach
6 games Adams as coach

I think it’s disingenuous to correlate wins and losses to the role of a single player, whether that be on field or off, regardless of their role.

Ziebs led the club through some of our toughest times, in the roles that were asked of him on match day and awarded to him by his peers and the club.

There was no magical player on our list that if given the captaincy that could’ve changed our fortunes.

I think it’s disingenuous to correlate wins and losses to the role of a single player, whether that be on field or off, regardless of their role.

Ziebs led the club through some of our toughest times, in the roles that were asked of him on match day and awarded to him by his peers and the club.

There was no magical player on our list that if given the captaincy that could’ve changed our fortunes.

I wasn't correlating wins or losses of a single player, I was suggesting that the period that he was captain was probably the worst portion of the history of our club in the AFL outside of our inception years so I probably don't share the feeling that he did a good job as a war time captain because we didn't put up a fight for most of that period and we lacked the leadership we needed to upgrade from a joke that needs handouts to one that has their pride intact.

Jack wasn't the only problem we had, we had poor leadership throughout our senior group and the leadership group, but we only had one captain and he had zero on-field presence. When things turned to shit on-field the only thing that stopped or paused the rot was the end of the quarter siren.

Oh well indeed

But were those sides no good because they had co-captains or were they no good so they gave co-captains a go?

I'm normally not in favour of co-captains but given where we are I don't mind it in the next year or so.

Ah well.

But were those sides no good because they had co-captains or were they no good so they gave co-captains a go?

I'm normally not in favour of co-captains but given where we are I don't mind it in the next year or so.

Ah well.

I think we should have had Cunners and Jy as co-captains, Cunners the behind the scenes captain, Jy the media face of it and when Cunners retires then he could take it over.

Is there anyone respected more at the club than Cunners?

I think we should have had Cunners and Jy as co-captains, Cunners the behind the scenes captain, Jy the media face of it and when Cunners retires then he could take it over.

Is there anyone respected more at the club than Cunners?
Well he clearly didn’t get the amount of votes as jy and Luke who topped the count

Having just watched their first presser, I think I can better appreciate the decision to share the role now.
For one, Luke has little trouble coming up with shit to say when faced with random journo questions.
He’s also got this chipper nature, and the coaches seem pretty keen to instil a bit of buoyancy to the internal culture after two torrid years, so his irreverent temperament seems fitting for the times.
Jy will be a great solo captain one day.

Having just watched their first presser, I think I can better appreciate the decision to share the role now.
For one, Luke has little trouble coming up with s**t to say when faced with random journo questions.
He’s also got this chipper nature, and the coaches seem pretty keen to instil a bit of buoyancy to the internal culture after two torrid years, so his irreverent temperament seems fitting for the times.
Jy will be a great solo captain one day.

Yes was impressed on the AFL App with the coverage

The only shock was hearing TT doing well in the backline

I love Jack. Great bloke and legendary footballer. But fukc me his captaincy was ordinary.
I blame the admin under Ben Buckley for this but can't help but notice standards dipped to an all time low.
The years 2017-2022 are simply some of the worst in our history if not equal worst with late 80s and early 90s.

2 captains reeks of an inability to make a hard decision on whom to give it to but at the end of the day who gives a shit.

Whenever I hear “alpha” I hear a bitch. Not that you said anything wrong, anyone that believes anyone is an alpha above them selves is deluded. To use the term Alpha in humans they would need to maim and kill and be the top the food chain and be never touched. Its flippantly used by the wrong people with money. You are not an alpha if you are rich and you are not an alpha if you are a leader at a club. Its the wrong ideology, its the incorrect way to walk amongst peers.
In primate groups alpha males are leaders that are unscrupulously fair and courageous as well as strong. Leaders who behave like the so xalled alphas in the business world might get rolled by a bunch of other males if the behave the way modern human leaders in business and politics behave.