2023 Crowds and TV/Streaming

They are allowed to sell 10,000 standing room
How so? It has a 95,000 seated capacity with 5000 standing room taking up the rest. Legally they wouldn't be allowed to sell extra under licensing laws. Maybe they unofficially sell more but they wouldn't legally be allowed.

Now who gets these standing room tickets considering the club allocation get 2500 each and AFL members standing room is sold as part of the club allocation. So where would these 5000 other standing room be sold as I doubt they would be part of corporate packages.

Because you want to keep the casual viewer for as long as possible, only die hards would change to 7 mate. Also I doubt in nsw and qld where you wanna capture the market as long as possible, would their news have much more than a small spiel at the start, nothing like the Melbourne news, they'd be straight on to talking about the other sports grand final.

2.30pm is simply a crap timeslot for a number of reasons.
Even if the game is later, Ch7 can still go to the news shortly after the game like the always do - they could have started the news later last night.

Anyway, most people disagree that 2.30pm is a crap time , including the new AFL CEO, so it won’t be changing and time soon.

Even if the game is later, Ch7 can still go to the news shortly after the game like the always do - they could have started the news later last night.

Anyway, most people disagree that 2.30pm is a crap time , including the new AFL CEO, so it won’t be changing and time soon.

Yeah that concerned me when I heard that from Dillon. Now they have some switched on people like Ireland and de boer on the commission it might change, but we will see.

Its reach. They get the same press release i posted here.
But lets face it the ratings figures are an educated guess as they cannot count the extra people like at my place where we had 20 to the BBQ and later watching the match let alone all the pubs and clubs so I suspect the REAL figure is much higher.

There is something the swans womens team are getting right for their home games in Sydney that the others including big 4 Melbourne clubs just aren't doing.

This is coming from a side that lost every game in it's first season last year, and yesterday they were playing West Coast, a team that has barely won a game in its existence, yet they have doubled the crowd of Richmond v Carlton.

Its worthy of discussion.

Last I heard Swans have the biggest AFLW membership. What's more we had the biggest AFLW membership last season when we were winless. In fact it's possible we had the biggest membership from before we had played our first game last season. I was a foundation member but I wasn't the most hardcore - they started selling memberships before we were going to be playing any games and I was not prepared to sign up at that stage. IMO it was just a fundraising gimmick. Fundraising is fair enough but they dressed it up like it was a proper membership only it didn't include admission to any games, which I didn't appreciate. However, when they had some actual games to flog I jumped aboard straight away.

Speaking just for myself, there was a huge appetite for us to have an AFLW team. I personally was massively impatient about it and consistently raised it at AGMs and other times when I had an oppotunity to get in the ear of our senior management. The club's reason was that we just didn't have space until we upgraded to our new facility. And the fact that the moment we got our new facility we immediately joined the AFLW backs up that explanation.

Sydney 324,000 / 5,297,089 * 100 = 6.1%

Melbourne 1,150,000 / 5,031,195 * 100 = 22.6%

Brisbane 414,000 / 2,628,083 * 100 = 15.7%

Adelaide 265,000 / 1,418,455 * 100 = 18.7%

Perth 312,000 / 2,224,475 * 100 = 14.0%

Based on greater capital city populations

Edit- I suspect the Melbourne, Adelaide and Perth numbers do not fluctuate as much between when a local team is in the GF or not compared to the numbers in Sydney and Brisbane.

So I presume the AFL and channel 7 would see a Brisbane Lions vs Sydney Swans GF to be the best outcome for a tv ratings?

I suspect if we had data for pubs and multiple people at ones house most of these figures would be upward of 30%

There is something the swans womens team are getting right for their home games in Sydney that the others including big 4 Melbourne clubs just aren't doing.

This is coming from a side that lost every game in it's first season last year, and yesterday they were playing West Coast, a team that has barely won a game in its existence, yet they have doubled the crowd of Richmond v Carlton.

Its worthy of discussion.

Not only the Swans, Geelong is doing well too.

IMG_7346.JPG

Sorry for the three posts in a row. I guess no one on the east coast is awake to reply in between.

But here are two graphs I’ve been compiling.

One compares the population of Melbourne, Adelaide and Perth from 1950 to now. And the other compares the average H&A attendance to the VFL/AFL, SANFL, WAFL and VFA/VFL from 1950 to 2023.

The second graph is repeated, and enlarged to see the smaller leagues.

I probably should add in the TFL and Hobarts population.

Does anyone have any sources to fill in the gaps in average attendances for the SANFL and VFA? I’ve shown links to where I got the data I displayed.

IMG_7347.JPG

Sorry for the three posts in a row. I guess no one on the east coast is awake to reply in between.

But here are two graphs I’ve been compiling.

One compares the population of Melbourne, Adelaide and Perth from 1950 to now. And the other compares the average H&A attendance to the VFL/AFL, SANFL, WAFL and VFA/VFL from 1950 to 2023.

The second graph is repeated, and enlarged to see the smaller leagues.

I probably should add in the TFL and Hobarts population.

Does anyone have any sources to fill in the gaps in average attendances for the SANFL and VFA? I’ve shown links to where I got the data I displayed.

View attachment 1819530
Great job.

Seems quite clear the biggest crowd growth in the AFL came from transitioning from suburban grounds to bigger stadiums like the MCG and Waverly.

Population growth in Melbourne would be a minor factor as much of that growth would come from foreign migrants whom dont convert to footy fans very well.

Yep watching yesterday I was taking note of a few things, the game started at 2.30pm and finished at 5.22pm. The post game missed the players lap of honour on the main channel, as it went to the news. Therefore the perfect start time for me is not 4.30 pm but actually 4.20 pm. It would finish just after 7 in prime time and allow time for the presentation and lap of honour prior to going to the news at 8pm. Plus it mostly cuts out the annoying switch from sun to shade which occurs when starting at 2.30.
Even worse in Adelaide when it went to a travel show for the 5:30-6 time period and missed most of what happened after the cup was presented.

It looks like the Capital Cities AFL GF TV ratings @ 2,465,000 will be bigger in Australia than the NRL this year @2,000,045 - this is amazing considering the RL is on in prime time on a Sunday night which is the best night of the week for FTA TV and would have had a lot more casual viewers.
It will be interesting to see the total viewers = over to you Wookie.

And the AFL Kiss extravaganza killed the Tina Turner imitator at the NRL GF who was over weight and could not dance like Tina could, which was a big part of any Tina Turner show = it was almost cringeworthy.

Would I pay to see that show NO way!

Edit- I suspect the Melbourne, Adelaide and Perth numbers do not fluctuate as much between when a local team is in the GF or not compared to the numbers in Sydney and Brisbane.

So I presume the AFL and channel 7 would see a Brisbane Lions vs Sydney Swans GF to be the best outcome for a tv ratings?
Those populations aren't TV populations

Correct, they aren’t. Do you have the data of TV populations, so I can update the percentages?

But the percentages I showed does a good enough job of reflecting the situation, especially since the ratings data is only estimates too.

Correct, they aren’t. Do you have the data of TV populations, so I can update the percentages?

But the percentages I showed does a good enough job of reflecting the situation, especially since the ratings data is only estimates too.
They use to be readily available from the OZTAM website. but by the look of things they aren't now.

So, will Nine Entertainment’s Australian Financial Review report 'AFL grand final thriller trounced by Matildas still outrates NRL grand final thriller' or will its independent journalists let that one through to the keeper?

Lol I was thinking the same thing. I remember news.com.au going hard on the afl tv ratings in 2019 and 2022 saying how poor they were and the old cronie Roy Masters penning an article about how the nrl ratings will flog the AFL's (2019), then afterwards when theirs were even less we heard absolutely nothing from news or masters 😅.

Rd 5 AFLW
4,312 - Geelong v Melbourne - Kardinya Park (GMHBA Stadium)
3,300 - Adelaide v Gold Coast - Unley Oval (Wigan Oval)
2,807 - Western Bulldogs v St Kilda - Whitten Oval (Victoria University Whitten Oval)
2,406 - Richmond v Fremantle - Princes Park (Ikon Park)
2,079 - Carlton v Sydney - Princes Park (Ikon Park) (the later game in the double header but smaller)
1,833 - North Melbourne v Greater Western Sydney - Arden Street Oval
1,755 - Hawthorn v Brisbane - Frankston Oval (Kinetic Stadium)
1,422 - Collingwood v Essendon - Punt Road Oval (Swinburne Centre)
1,134 - West Coast v Port Adelaide - Lathlain Park (Mineral Resources Park)

Rd 5 AFLW
4,312 - Geelong v Melbourne - Kardinya Park (GMHBA Stadium)
3,300 - Adelaide v Gold Coast - Unley Oval (Wigan Oval)
2,807 - Western Bulldogs v St Kilda - Whitten Oval (Victoria University Whitten Oval)
2,406 - Richmond v Fremantle - Princes Park (Ikon Park)
2,079 - Carlton v Sydney - Princes Park (Ikon Park) (the later game in the double header but smaller)
1,833 - North Melbourne v Greater Western Sydney - Arden Street Oval
1,755 - Hawthorn v Brisbane - Frankston Oval (Kinetic Stadium)
1,422 - Collingwood v Essendon - Punt Road Oval (Swinburne Centre)
1,134 - West Coast v Port Adelaide - Lathlain Park (Mineral Resources Park)
Was at the Sun's v Crows game.
There was actually a decent number of Sun's supporters there tbh. Great venue for AFLW.

370B3F48-B3C9-4961-B03A-609B70BC9EB5.jpeg

Has the Punt Road redevelopment started yet? As in, is it running at a lowered capacity? I couldn’t tell watching on TV.

Because if not, that’s a spectacularly disappointing crowd.

2023 Crowds and TV/Streaming