No Oppo Supporters 2023 General AFL Discussion - incl. AFL Grand Final

Yeah Gil announced 3 more years in SA at the last game.

getting ready for it to be in Tassie from 2028 onwards
Would be good for the game to rotate it and give states like Tassie a go once the stadium is finished but the biggest issue I would see is accomodation and people being able to get around and explore. Would there be enough hire cars as the public transport is not sufficient? Would there be enough accomodation to cater for the estimated 70,000 influx Adelaide had for Gather Round?

The King could use his own fleet including the Kingmobile

Tassie…..have you seen flight schedules to,Tassie…no way could they cope with it without significant flight scheduling changes

I'm just the guy at the meeting who suggested it then left everyone else to work out the logistics.

It is the sort of thing the government should actively chase and that would include working with airlines etc to accomodate it.

I did see a report on accommodation capacity for the state , again would presume they would spread it around the state? I guess SA kept it all in the Adelaide and surrounds.

Hobart has developed a fair bit of accomodation space though, and more to come.

Flights could be an issue.

Maybe it will never happen, but I think it would footy wise if the stadium were finished say a year before the team joined it would be a neutral venue for all

Tassie…..have you seen flight schedules to,Tassie…no way could they cope with it without significant flight scheduling changes
I think Tassie would be a brilliant idea.
You people do realise it is quite developed and not a spot in the Tiwi islands, yes?

Yes I do. But the points I have raised are valid. Accomodation for an influx of 50,000 people would be a concern. Hire cars are scares and overpriced as it is down there. No way it would cater for need unless you are assuming that people are going to go for the footy and go nowhere else while they are over there?

More than fair the government has programs to extend hire cars and accomodations in place, so it is a known issue. Not saying it could be fixed to host gather round anytime soon, not across it enough. Accomodation has certainly increased massively the last 5 years

Car hire firms will top up rentals in Tasmania by shipping from the mainland.

Heaps will go by Ferry and take their car. Filth airlines will put on extra flights into Launy and Hobart.

heaps of air bnb plus mainstream accommodation across the State.

Car hire firms will top up rentals in Tasmania by shipping from the mainland.

Heaps will go by Ferry and take their car. Filth airlines will put on extra flights into Launy and Hobart.

heaps of air bnb plus mainstream accommodation across the State.

I am sure it's more than doable ,

Government should be chasing it , Legit questions but as you say can be worked through. Who knows.

Won't be in Victoria anytime soon

What’s to disagree with bedford ?

After being treated by the VFL with disdain and ripped off by Hawf and lolNorf, TAS deserve reward.

There is plenty of lead time for planning out a great time for all.

There is room on here for as many Kings, Tsars and Kaisers as people want.

The Caesars are a little more exclusive though

Maybe I should change my username to god

I nearly coached there !

I've had a muck around training kick there

was bloody odd.

Some distant second cousins play down there and my grandfather was from there , tough players down there in the old days

Try flying from Adelaide to Hobart….Tassie is poorly served, one cancelled flight and it’s toast. I fly there regularly and it’s the biggest issue for me.

I can only comment from NSW and we have no issues with flights, from both Sydney and Newcastle airports.
But on that point then, wouldn't the opposite apply for Tassie fans trying to fly to Adelaide for it?

My point is that I believe the weekend should be shared around and I don't think citing a lack of accommodation and car hire as viable points, a quick look on hotels.com shows not too dissimilar amounts of both, probably more in Tassie seeing as the games would be split between two major areas.
If the amount of accommodation or hire cars was the main criteria in deciding where the weekend was held, it would be Sydney or Melbourne every year with an occasional dalliance to Brisbane.

10 of the previous 14 were won by teams out of Victoria

It was 9 of the 14

but either way they launced a bloody investigation into it, because heaven forbid everything doesn't favour the sooky vics