Discussion 2023 General AFL Discussion

plugger what is this thumbsdown-a-thon you're undertaking tonight? There's red thumbs downs appearing all over the place and we're 2-0, these are happy days m'boy
I could quote and disagree but I just thought I would use the button occasionally. I disagree with people about the two newer clubs. I think they are vital so more people play the game. And they cover the amount the afl give them by extra tv rights. I actually don’t agree with the Tassie side because there is no extra tv money and another new side makes the standard worse. Don’t worry I’m over the moon with the 2 wins. Hardly slept when I got home last night. Was home at 1 then watched the whole game.

Imagine Jobe & Tim chewing the fat over the game

Dummy Feeling Dumb GIF

Feeling Dumb Jim Carrey GIF

I could quite and disagree but I just thought I would use the button occasionally. I disagree with people about the two newer clubs. I think they are vital so more people play the game. And they cover the amount the afl give them by extra tv rights. I actually don’t agree with the Tassie side because there is no extra tv money and another new side makes the standard worse.

Yeaaaaaaaaaaaah but people in Tassie actually like football??? May as well move one of them there, people would go to games and they'd have fans.

But Tassie have made it clear they are t going to be party to that. Yes they do like footy there but it’s a small population. I’m the bigger states you only need to get a small percentage involved in the game and it’s probably more people than Tassie. I could disregard the figures the afl and others give about growth in those states but I actually trust most people. Cost me a fortune once but I still rather trust than think it’s all crap.

I dunno, I reckon a fair few would reconsider once they actually had a team. There's half a mil in Tassie, they'd only need about 5% to jump on board and they'd have more than Gold Coast. Gold Coast are claiming 21,000 members, I reckon a few of that number must be "John Smith's" paid for by the AFL, if they bottom out hard just pack them up and send them South.

The government have said no money is going into a ground unless it’s a new side. No relocated. Not merged. I’d rather either of those if we want a side in Tassie but it just won’t get a new ground I’m certain the people would eventually support but the government won’t so we will never find out.

I want to watch Kingy and his stats on the first crack but this sh*t game is holding it up
Couldn't think of three games I could be less bothered watching than the three on today.
I feel like Footy went from Thursday to Saturday this week - long gap to On the Couch and AFL360 on Monday.

(Maybe that's how non-Saints supporters feel every week, given we usually bring up the rear)

Can’t wait for Round 11 on 27 May…

I want us to run up a cricket score… and the Hawks will want us to…
Playing them twice in their Harley Tank year is going to be the biggest gift the AFL have given us sin e chipping in for the Moorabbin redevelopment.

The only interest in those two matches beyond watching our boys strut their stuff will be seeing if it's possible for the league's most miserly defence to keep the league's most pathetic rabble to zero goals for a whole 4 quarters.

Playing them twice in their Harley Tank year is going to be the biggest gift the AFL have given us sin e chipping in for the Moorabbin redevelopment.

The only interest in those two matches beyond watching our boys strut their stuff will be seeing if it's possible for the league's most miserly defence to keep the league's most pathetic rabble to zero goals for a whole 4 quarters.
And watching King kick 15 on Sicily.

Last two seasons, I spent $100 on GA home game membership each season, which was a deal the club isn’t running anymore. Went to 90% of home games, caught public transport in, either treated myself to a pie or brought a sandwich, avoided the beers, brought a water bottle. Across 2 seasons worth of games, I probably spent $250-$300 total by choosing to be frugal, and also having some student concessions for PTV which was fortunate. That’s for transport, food/drink, membership, and about 15-20 games I guess.

Alternatively, I have spent far more on maintaining my MCC membership in that time, and only been to a few saints games there, AND it costs $50 to bring a guest. Feels like a scam to keep that going (proportionate to my income), but I trust in due time it’ll be worth it.

Kayo One costs $25 a month, and if you run it during the footy season alone that’s priced OKAY.

7AFL is free, replays on AFL website after all matches are free. Pirating is free if you’re so inclined. Going to the pub and watching fox footy there is free / the price of a pot. Radio is free.

Totally believe that you can go to the footy on the cheap, say $18 GA (IIRC), $4.50 pie, $4.50 public transport (after 6pm IIRC) = $27 for the night ain’t bad.

IMO, public transport should be significantly cheaper if not free, and GA footy tickets should be capped at $10, and pies capped at $2.50, so anyone no matter who you are, can have the basic Australian footy experience (which is still world class) for a great reliable price. But hey, that’s just my imagined utopia, it’s all a business at the end of the day isn’t it, so there will always be every incentive to spend more and more, and Aussie’s are big spenders.

And the other thing is that it’s relative, right now spending a lot of money on the footy to me is ludicrous, but it’s possible down the track I will be fortunate enough not to batt an eyelid at paying my KAYO subscription, or buying a beer or two at the stadium, or getting a nicer st kilda annual membership perhaps with reserve seats, or buying a $70 scarf etc etc. Would be an immense privilege.

For now I’m just stoked I get nice MCC seats for our 150th next week!membership ticket and reserve seat.

$2.50 for pie, would make Patties making a loss.

I have a membership and seat, pick up $10 parking on weekends, tree my self to hot chip for$6. bring my own coffee. in a thermos. altogether usually y spend $20

The aspect to Tassie that concerns me is how do they retain players if they do start up.

If GC with the beach, weather and low cost of living (relatively) cant seem to retain players how many 18 year olds will wanna stay on the Apple Isle when they are 1-7 in the middle of June/July on freezing cold training days.

Yes its a first world modern problem but it concerns me for the team to just become another talent factory for other teams

The aspect to Tassie that concerns me is how do they retain players if they do start up.

If GC with the beach, weather and low cost of living (relatively) cant seem to retain players how many 18 year olds will wanna stay on the Apple Isle when they are 1-7 in the middle of June/July on freezing cold training days.

Yes its a first world modern problem but it concerns me for the team to just become another talent factory for other teams

My feel, unlike QLD where the general feel is rugby first and some sort of support for AFL, Tassie being so long in and so vocal with the need for it to happen, any Tassie start up will have full sport from state, full immediate support from the AFL and thus any who want to or end up there will be almost fully supported by multiple levels. As opposed to what happens with GCS where they had no buildings, their ground was being constructed/renovated and all they had immediately was "let's GTFO of professional aspects and go to the beach and have fun" as the attraction to go there.

Would be a sort of similar aspect to any NT effort, though of course the NT would be on a very minimal scale but something like that say would have an almost full backing to up tourism aspects and not just stay for 2 weeks and leave sort of vibe. Who then knows what Darwin might do to house a branded AFL team and sporting precinct for example. It'd be those sort of things when compared to GCS and to a lesser sort GWS who started in backwater sort of areas that were semi expanding and support was iffy.

My feel, unlike QLD where the general feel is rugby first and some sort of support for AFL, Tassie being so long in and so vocal with the need for it to happen, any Tassie start up will have full sport from state, full immediate support from the AFL and thus any who want to or end up there will be almost fully supported by multiple levels. As opposed to what happens with GCS where they had no buildings, their ground was being constructed/renovated and all they had immediately was "let's GTFO of professional aspects and go to the beach and have fun" as the attraction to go there.

Would be a sort of similar aspect to any NT effort, though of course the NT would be on a very minimal scale but something like that say would have an almost full backing to up tourism aspects and not just stay for 2 weeks and leave sort of vibe. Who then knows what Darwin might do to house a branded AFL team and sporting precinct for example. It'd be those sort of things when compared to GCS and to a lesser sort GWS who started in backwater sort of areas that were semi expanding and support was iffy.
Hope you’re right, I’d like to see Tassie get a team and have some success.

Another thing to consider is that GC and GWS are staying afloat on-field largely due to topping up with top draft picks every year or 2 using their compensation picks.
If Tassie come in, and those picks drop back a few spots for a few years, we could see those teams struggle even more both on and off field. They don't have the history or loyalty to fall back on.

Like you say, I hate the fact that free agency came in when GWS and GC were in their infancy, as they've just become feeder clubs for Richmond, Collingwood, Geelong, Hawthorn etc. Giving them free access to players they didn't have the picks to get in the first place.

I hope Tassie get their team, and it somehow works out. Would love the NT to have their own team too from an emotional perspective.

Another thing to consider is that GC and GWS are staying afloat on-field largely due to topping up with top draft picks every year or 2 using their compensation picks.
If Tassie come in, and those picks drop back a few spots for a few years, we could see those teams struggle even more both on and off field. They don't have the history or loyalty to fall back on.

Like you say, I hate the fact that free agency came in when GWS and GC were in their infancy, as they've just become feeder clubs for Richmond, Collingwood, Geelong, Hawthorn etc. Giving them free access to players they didn't have the picks to get in the first place.

I hope Tassie get their team, and it somehow works out. Would love the NT to have their own team too from an emotional perspective.
We want to make damn sure we are nowhere near the bottom of the ladder when Tassie comes in. Not a good time to be there when all the good draft picks will be gifted to the new team.

Yes, that's what happened last time.

Yeah, it sucks. Not only can you not draft any kids, but you can't trade anyone in because nobody wants your crappy picks.
Maybe the bottom 4-6 sides should be compensated when a new team comes in, like extra 2nd rounders or an extra rookie list spot or something. If they miss out on the cream, they could be given a bit of an extra chance at pulling someone out of nowhere.

I love Tassie, would pick that over Gold Coast any day of the week. First time I visited there I knew I'd want to end up there one day.

Surely there'd be some weirdos like me who prefer cold weather and who also happen to play football!

I love Tassie, would pick that over Gold Coast any day of the week. First time I visited there I knew I'd want to end up there one day.

Surely there'd be some weirdos like me who prefer cold weather and who also happen to play football!
I mean im 35 and i would also probably pick Tassie to live over the GC but as an 18 year old about to make hundreds of thousands of dollars and live like a rockstar... Yeh thats not Tassie.

The way I see it, if Adelaide can field TWO teams of presumably willing individuals, Tasmania could surely manage one.

Yeah the cashed up young fellas may prefer the girls up north 😃

g3OJ72v.jpg