Discussion 2023 General AFL Discussion

One of the “leadership “ aspects brought over by Hannebery.
You have your head in the absolute sand if you think drugs haven't been prevalent on St Kildas list well before hanneberry arrived.....

Absolutely gobsmacked by the amount of sheer stupidity you see from some punters spewing stuff like this...

On SM-G960F using BigFooty.com mobile app

You have your head in the absolute sand if you think drugs haven't been prevalent on St Kildas list well before hanneberry arrived.....

Absolutely gobsmacked by the amount of sheer stupidity you see from some punters spewing stuff like this...

It's a normal thing that happens everywhere these days

2005 Brownlow night, about half a dozen Saints players were coked off their ****.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

And the piece of s**t has been told he won’t do any jail time
What a joke

1677130426683.png

This bit made me want to find a Christopher, roll up a newspaper and beat him across the back of the head as hard as I could. Dodgy heart, character references about how he checked bins at the salvos and didn't take anything, disgusting. You diddled, you got busted, you didn't have the balls to plead guilty originally and basically have taken a plea, bring back corporal and castrate that man, eunuch him. You want to diddle, get a strap on an GAGF, see how you like buggery.

He then get a graft after the 2 years suspended if he wants.

View attachment 1614048

This bit made me want to find a Christopher, roll up a newspaper and beat him across the back of the head as hard as I could. Dodgy heart, character references about how he checked bins at the salvos and didn't take anything, disgusting. You diddled, you got busted, you didn't have the balls to plead guilty originally and basically have taken a plea, bring back corporal and castrate that man, eunuch him. You want to diddle, get a strap on an GAGF, see how you like buggery.

He then get a graft after the 2 years suspended if he wants.
Why? He’s just doing his job.

And the piece of s**t has been told he won’t do any jail time
What a joke

I don't get why he doesn't get jail time. Why does he ge let off? Is it because he's a Z grade celebrity?

One if the difficulties with historical sex offences used to be that you were sentenced according to the sentencing guidelines of the day at the time of the offending, which were often quite different to the present day…

And also sentenced as if you WERE the age you offended at.

I don’t imagine that’s changed.

Why? He’s just doing his job.

It's still baffling that he doesn't see jail. The legal system is there to make a call on what we see as standards of agreed behaviour. He has admitted to committing what most consider one of the worst crimes and they have let him walk free.

One if the difficulties with historical sex offences used to be that you were sentenced according to the sentencing guidelines of the day at the time of the offending, which were often quite different to the present day…

And also sentenced as if you WERE the age you offended at.

I don’t imagine that’s changed.

When was the crime committed, I thought it was recent?

It's still baffling that he doesn't see jail. The legal system is there to make a call on what we see as standards of agreed behaviour. He has admitted to committing what most consider one of the worst crimes and they have let him walk free.
The legal system is there to interpret and enforce extant legislation and case law. End of.

That’s got nothing to do with enforcing behavioural standards.

If the law was subservient to so-called “community standards”:

1. It would change every three hours, making it utterly unworkable, and;

2. We’d have to work out which community was the “standard”. You ever tried to get a room full of people to agree on anything? Good luck with that.

Its BS he fuucked up a kids life he should be doing time. End of.
That’s not how the law works. Sorry.

Sentencing is a very complicated system of weighing competing interests.

The legal system is there to interpret and enforce extant legislation and case law. End of.

That’s got nothing to do with enforcing behavioural standards.

If the law was subservient to so-called “community standards”:

1. It would change ever three hours, make it utterly unworkable, and;

2. We’d have to work out which community was the “standard”. You ever tried to get a room full of people to agree on anything? Good luck with that.

Are you a lawyer Barrels? That probably sounds about right as much as I hate admitting that I might be wrong. I prefer a more trial by Today Tonight type set up myself.

I’m just an eloquent and erudite piece of cooperage, mate.

That’s not how the law works. Sorry.

Sentencing is a very complicated system of weighing competing interests.
The Law is wrong

You touch young kids - rape people you should go to jail. Its not that hard

And if judges can't get it right they should be sacked

I've purposefully avoided this because of my relationship with his family but I'll just say it's not as clear cut as what is being reported and there's other factors that determined the outcome.

I get what everyone is saying and obviously agree with all of it but that's when you take what is being reported as the truth and so I don't blame anyone for their outrage at the outcome.

I'm not saying it's not true either, I'm saying the media's reporting of it is not word for word how it all went.

The Law is wrong

1. The law isn’t wrong. Sexual offences tend to carry significant maximum sentences.

If anything, the basis of your complaint would be that the extant and/or historical sentencing guidelines are.

2. “Sack the judge” is a knee-jerk dogwhistle response.

For one, you can’t, only Parliament can, and it’s a long and difficult process, and two, that’s why we have an appeal system.

Also, if you really want to go down the US route of judges being easily sackable, or elected like the US, be my guest. I’ll sit back with some popcorn and watch how it turns out.

The Law is wrong

I watched some wanna be current affairs show last night on a forensic pathologist in South Australia. They keep this guy for years despite knowing that he was as shonky as ****. Heaps in and out of jail because of this dickhead's incompetence. It looks like prosecutors wanted to keep him around because he'd help nail cases when they had **** all on a suspect.

This is it.

1. The law isn’t wrong. Sexual offences tend to carry significant maximum sentences.

If anything, the basis of your complaint would be that the extant sentencing guidelines are.

2. “Sack the judge” is a knee-jerk dogwhistle response.

For one, you can’t, only Parliament can, and it’s a long and difficult process, and two, that’s why we have an appeal system.

Also, if you really want to go down the US route of judges being easily sackable, or elected like the US, be my guest. I’ll sit back with some popcorn and watch how it turns out.
Like you'd know, Chieftan