Discussion 2023 General AFL Discussion

I stopped watching after the lights went out and went down a bit of rabbit hole and re-watched us v Essendon in 1996, and then 1999 Richmond Carlton when the scoreboard caught on fire.

I remember watching our game live lol like nothing we'd ever seen before.

Grundy's ruck work is so ineffective

Every tap just lands right at his feet, he may as well bot tocu the footy and sheppard the other ruck off it

He was always a Marshall style ruck who is an extra mid and good mark but average at tap work.

For a bloody good player, Dunkley is legitimately AWFUL by foot.

In the practice match against us seemed like half of his kicks were turn overs including a few OOTFs. Thought the same thing at that time.

Dees are obviously gonna hurt with Gawn gone for at least a few, I reckon he's their most important player. Just the versatility he brings to their lineup in being able to go back and take marks and go forward and kick goals, as well as being the best ruck in the game, means he's pretty irreplaceable.

However it looks like the Dees have caught a break, here is their next seven games...

Sydney, West Coast, Essendon, Richmond, Norf, Gold Coast, Hawthorn.

You'd think that run of games will minimise the damage that could have been possible to their season had the draw been a little different.

For the good of the game though, let's hope his injury isn't too serious.

He was always a Marshall style ruck who is an extra mid and good mark but average at tap work.
Are you sure? I thought he has always got plenty of hit outs and good taps to advantage. Still all crap stats though. If gawn is out for a while it could be the greatest fluke recruitment ever.

I can’t read the article unfortunately but I’ve never understood how people complain about the price of watching the footy. I’ve never been one to bring food and drink to the footy but if you want to it’s so bloody cheap. Best case scenario is it costs petrol money and a parking ticket or a train fare. That’s obviously if you are members which is a choice hopefully many make. Even if you aren’t you can get general admission family ticket for about $60. Bloody great value. Now if want to do as I do at every game and have 10 beers and food and the wife wants some drinks and the kids want some food it could easily be over $300 for the game but that’s your choice. No one is forcing you. Footy is great value if you want it. It’s like going to Thailand. You can probably do it on $50 a day with accommodation but if you want to have a massage that makes you happy every day it might cost $200 a day.

Like I said I can’t see the article so everything I’ve just said could completely irrelevant to the article

Then, from the darkness, a gong sounds at the Gabba

rising up the undertaker GIF by WWE

BY GOHD

Are you sure? I thought he has always got plenty of hit outs and good taps to advantage. Still all crap stats though. If gawn is out for a while it could be the greatest fluke recruitment ever.

In his early days he was an extra follower with average ruck work but has improved like Marshall. Still his best work is as an extra mid type like Marshall and Tim English.

I can’t read the article unfortunately but I’ve never understood how people complain about the price of watching the footy. I’ve never been one to bring food and drink to the footy but if you want to it’s so bloody cheap. Best case scenario is it costs petrol money and a parking ticket or a train fare. That’s obviously if you are members which is a choice hopefully many make. Even if you aren’t you can get general admission family ticket for about $60. Bloody great value. Now if want to do as I do at every game and have 10 beers and food and the wife wants some drinks and the kids want some food it could easily be over $300 for the game but that’s your choice. No one is forcing you. Footy is great value if you want it. It’s like going to Thailand. You can probably do it on $50 a day with accommodation but if you want to have a massage that makes you happy every day it might cost $200 a day.

Like I said I can’t see the article so everything I’ve just said could completely irrelevant to the article
Of course it’s expensive for a family with food and drinks included. I can stay home and watch it live on tv, invite the family over and order enough of my favourite Thai to feed an army. Also if people want a drink a couple of bottles of wine and a slab of beer etc is what $120 ?. So that’s a fair bit for under $300 and we’re watching the same game live from the comfort of home.

Also at home there’s the option to just watch eat and drink what’s on hand and not spend a cent. Anyway this is an issue for every sport, you get smashed at the soccer, tennis etc.

Everything costs heaps these days. Take a family to a movie or the Melbourne Show and you’ll be paying heaps more. Footy is a cheap night out. Took my son last week and cost $11 for by parking and didn’t get any food or drinks. Don’t know how much it is per game on the membership but must be $20 each or something. That’s cheap as.

In his early days he was an extra follower with average ruck work but has improved like Marshall. Still his best work is as an extra mid type like Marshall and Tim English.
He was the only current ruckman I could find who had over 1000 hit outs 2 years in a row and that was reasonably early in his career.

Of course it’s expensive for a family with food and drinks included. I can stay home and watch it live on tv, invite the family over and order enough of my favourite Thai to feed an army. Also if people want a drink a couple of bottles of wine and a slab of beer etc is what $120 ?. So that’s a fair bit for under $300 and we’re watching the same game live from the comfort of home.

Also at home there’s the option to just watch eat and drink what’s on hand and not spend a cent. Anyway this is an issue for every sport, you get smashed at the soccer, tennis etc.
Did you read what I said? I agree it’s expensive but only if you want to make it expensive. It can also be done very cheaply. No one is forced to eat or drink at the footy. If I couldn’t afford I’d bring my drink and food. Watching all sport on tv is cheap. If I had a choice I’d go every single time and if I couldn’t afford the add ons I’d bring stuff. Can’t beat being there. Unfortunately Saturdays for me are usually out when local footy starts. Not this week though. There goes $200. And that’s just for me. And I get free train travel because I’m old.

Everything costs heaps these days. Take a family to a movie or the Melbourne Show and you’ll be paying heaps more. Footy is a cheap night out. Took my son last week and cost $11 for by parking and didn’t get any food or drinks. Don’t know how much it is per game on the membership but must be $20 each or something. That’s cheap as.
Your son must really dislike you not having chips and a hot dog.

Even taking the kids to the movies these days is an expensive thing. Cost me over $150 for tickets popcorn and drinks recently

On SM-G960F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Last two seasons, I spent $100 on GA home game membership each season, which was a deal the club isn’t running anymore. Went to 90% of home games, caught public transport in, either treated myself to a pie or brought a sandwich, avoided the beers, brought a water bottle. Across 2 seasons worth of games, I probably spent $250-$300 total by choosing to be frugal, and also having some student concessions for PTV which was fortunate. That’s for transport, food/drink, membership, and about 15-20 games I guess.

Alternatively, I have spent far more on maintaining my MCC membership in that time, and only been to a few saints games there, AND it costs $50 to bring a guest. Feels like a scam to keep that going (proportionate to my income), but I trust in due time it’ll be worth it.

Kayo One costs $25 a month, and if you run it during the footy season alone that’s priced OKAY.

7AFL is free, replays on AFL website after all matches are free. Pirating is free if you’re so inclined. Going to the pub and watching fox footy there is free / the price of a pot. Radio is free.

Totally believe that you can go to the footy on the cheap, say $18 GA (IIRC), $4.50 pie, $4.50 public transport (after 6pm IIRC) = $27 for the night ain’t bad.

IMO, public transport should be significantly cheaper if not free, and GA footy tickets should be capped at $10, and pies capped at $2.50, so anyone no matter who you are, can have the basic Australian footy experience (which is still world class) for a great reliable price. But hey, that’s just my imagined utopia, it’s all a business at the end of the day isn’t it, so there will always be every incentive to spend more and more, and Aussie’s are big spenders.

And the other thing is that it’s relative, right now spending a lot of money on the footy to me is ludicrous, but it’s possible down the track I will be fortunate enough not to batt an eyelid at paying my KAYO subscription, or buying a beer or two at the stadium, or getting a nicer st kilda annual membership perhaps with reserve seats, or buying a $70 scarf etc etc. Would be an immense privilege.

For now I’m just stoked I get nice MCC seats for our 150th next week!