List Mgmt. 2023 List Management thread

Mod notice after Mr Bob did a lot of annoying work in moving days of posts out of here. As we are heading into offseason, this thread is for 2023 list management only. Getting upset on previous trades can be taken to the vent thread. Lets keep this thread on track in the part of the year it's actually relevant

We wouldn't need to worry about West Coast though? They need their picks for the draft and wouldn't want to trade any out for English next season. If we have the PSD as a threat surely we might be able to offer them something less than future first as a big FU for screwing us over.

Pickett and Jackson for two first and two seconds does feel a whole lot more reasonable.

Serong I am fairly sure was also a more than handy forward as an underager. Neither him or Ras have spent much time there since being drafted so I think both are irrelevant when talking about our forward stocks. At least under the current coach.
Semantics really Joao, when discussing with BrunoV you are dismissing his points, he is being condescending imo, I think you may need to listen to other points of view?

Yes all players are drafted on underage positional performances, invariably players end up playing other positions than that they weee drafted.

Fyfe - skinny half forward that tore apart a Colts GF. Plays off half forward and a bit of mid half back in his first couple of years - becomes the competition’s best midfielder- arguably drafted as a forward.

Naughton - Not drafted by us imo as he was seen as a key back, similar to Cox these types have multi position capabilities….
Now seen as a forward- of whom is a very unreliable kick…. Not sure I would would go after him to be our saviour as a KPF as some are wanting.
See Chris Tarrant- forward to back.
See Liam Jones - forward to back.

Brennan Cox - u18 All Australian CHB for SA, showed real ability forward and got a rising star nomination in that position, imo should be slotted up forward… very creative and now having played a lot back this has boosted his confidence and composure, I would play him forward- our biggest issue is we let Logue go and go FA for a top 10 pick whom we really need now to shuffle the players.

You are saying we haven’t drafted KPF’s in along time, this is true to an extent, but I think we have had so many holes to fill and there is no magic solution.
Could be argued that we when we have had high picks - there haven’t been elite KP’s - apart from the Hogan debacle….of which I wanted to see succeed because he was a WA boy coming home and was exactly what we needed in a football sense….the reality was unfortunately much different.
Drafting a King would have been phenomenal- but a go home penchant like Cerra??? I trust Walls would have had some insight on some of this after we recruited Cerra and that imo was a mistake and the lost opportunity to draft a couple of KPP’s

Semantics really Joao, when discussing with BrunoV you are dismissing his points, he is being condescending imo, I think you may need to listen to other points of view?

Yes all players are drafted on underage positional performances, invariably players end up playing other positions than that they weee drafted.

Fyfe - skinny half forward that tore apart a Colts GF. Plays off half forward and a bit of mid half back in his first couple of years - becomes the competition’s best midfielder- arguably drafted as a forward.

Naughton - Not drafted by us imo as he was seen as a key back, similar to Cox these types have multi position capabilities….
Now seen as a forward- of whom is a very unreliable kick…. Not sure I would would go after him to be our saviour as a KPF as some are wanting.

Brennan Cox - u18 All Australian CHB for SA, showed real ability forward and got a rising star nomination in that position, imo should be slotted up forward… very creative and now having played a lot back this has boosted his confidence and composure, I would play him forward- our biggest issue is we let Logue go and go FA for a top 10 pick whom we really need now to shuffle the players.

You are saying we haven’t drafted KPF’s in along time, this is true to an extent, but I think we have had so many holes to fill and there is no magic solution.
Could be argued that we when we have had high picks - there haven’t been elite KP’s - apart from the Hogan debacle….of which I wanted to see succeed because he was a WA boy coming home and was exactly what we needed in a football sense….the reality was unfortunately much different.
Drafting a King would have been phenomenal- but a go home penchant like Cerra??? I trust Walls would have had some insight on some of this after we recruited Cerra and that imo was a mistake and the lost opportunity to draft a couple of KPP’s

Perhaps it was naive of the club to think Hogan and McCarthy would do well returning to Perth but they were both traded in as guys who could be at least 10 year players. During this period Taberner has gone from being promising slow burn to a 29 year old who can't stay fit.

It's why I have such a high regard for the list management. You've basically rebuilt the list twice in 6 years. There was a period in 2018 when the pretty awesome potential of that team was on show before injury ripped the heart out of the season.

The intention for the current side would have been at least Hogan realising his potential and Taberner being a consistent 40 goal a year player. It's much easier to move the ball quickly to that.

Mate, I'm sorry. Here I was thinking that a tall forward line consisting of an 8 game KPF, a 6 game third tall, with the experience coming from the 58 game KPF, still very much learning the craft, was going to create a problem.

As for Erasmus, my reading of the draft profiling was that he was more a forward. I am surprised that he's not playing forward at Peel because his attributes seem well suited to what is needed forward in the AFL team (and it will take him, like anyone else, years to develop into the clearance busting mid he could be).

As for Benning, I only mentioned him as an example of the talent you're getting out of the NGA. That point stands because all you can do is draft the talent, what then happens tends to take on a life of its own. It is a shame he is struggling because I understood him to be another Clem Michael / Paddy Ryder.

But I now understand why you're being so unpleasant about this. I was under the mistaken belief Walker (who we bid on) and Frederick were NGA players (note that I have 'WA' next to Frederick in my original post). When my post mentioned 2 points of difference from the NGA I was referring to Walker and Frederick, definitely not Benning.

As for Jackson you're always going to overpay if you want him before free agency. Paying the money now actually works out well because there should be space for a heavily front ended deal. There are extremely rare circumstances in which I think these monster trade deals can really be justified. I've set out why I think Jackson is a no-brainer, it's the quality of the 3 proceeding drafts. Jeremy Cameron was another because all of the other pieces were in place for a shot at a flag.
He's not a KPF, he's a ruckman. If we brought him in as a KPF then even most of his staunch defenders on here wouldn't defend the move.

This is my point, you are basing your "analysis" on the wrong information. Frederick was Port NGA. See why I find it hard to take you seriously?

I'm not disputing the mechanics of trading for players or the cost.

Semantics? If the dude is never going to play forward, then in what sense is he a forward? I'm not saying he has no ability, I am saying he doesn't play there then he isn't a forward. JL has given precisely ZERO indication he plans on playing him forward. To the contrary, he has on multiple occasions said he is an inside mid long term. Serong has been here 4 years and I reckon started in the forward pocket pretty close to zero times.

Its not an alternate POV, there would be literally 20+ Freo posters who have said some variation of this. There is nothing new or interesting in it. It's just lazy and its condescending to waltz over here, be factually incorrect about numerous players which demonstrates you don't understand the list and still think you are breaking new ground.

If you come over here, take the time to understand the profile, and actually suggest something that hasn't been said a million times then its worth engaging of course.

Sorry BrunoV I meant you we’re not being condescending- typo…😬
It is condescending. It's the same basic principle as those people who like to give platitudes on the opposition board after a win or thinking your footy IQ improved because your team won the flag.

I'm all for a quality discourse, this ain't it.

Realistically what can we do in the trade period this year? The Ryan Daniels talk of Naughton/Georgiades seems absolutely no chance of happening given how we've started the year. Georgiades will go to the Eagles and Naughton seemed pretty happy to bask in how shit we are on Friday night. Beyond that I don't know who else we would target.

Plus we don't exactly have a heap to give up. The only way we get picks that are actually useful is if someone leaves.

Realistically what can we do in the trade period this year? The Ryan Daniels talk of Naughton/Georgiades seems absolutely no chance of happening given how we've started the year. Georgiades will go to the Eagles and Naughton seemed pretty happy to bask in how s**t we are on Friday night. Beyond that I don't know who else we would target.

Plus we don't exactly have a heap to give up. The only way we get picks that are actually useful is if someone leaves.
And we’ll get virtually nothing for Fyfe when he goes.

More Freo ****ededness. That should be our new slogan. Freo forever ****eded.

He's not a KPF, he's a ruckman. If we brought him in as a KPF then even most of his staunch defenders on here wouldn't defend the move.

This is my point, you are basing your "analysis" on the wrong information. Frederick was Port NGA. See why I find it hard to take you seriously?

I'm not disputing the mechanics of trading for players or the cost.

Semantics? If the dude is never going to play forward, then in what sense is he a forward? I'm not saying he has no ability, I am saying he doesn't play there then he isn't a forward. JL has given precisely ZERO indication he plans on playing him forward. To the contrary, he has on multiple occasions said he is an inside mid long term. Serong has been here 4 years and I reckon started in the forward pocket pretty close to zero times.

Its not an alternate POV, there would be literally 20+ Freo posters who have said some variation of this. There is nothing new or interesting in it. It's just lazy and its condescending to waltz over here, be factually incorrect about numerous players which demonstrates you don't understand the list and still think you are breaking new ground.

If you come over here, take the time to understand the profile, and actually suggest something that hasn't been said a million times then its worth engaging of course.

It is condescending. It's the same basic principle as those people who like to give platitudes on the opposition board after a win or thinking your footy IQ improved because your team won the flag.

I'm all for a quality discourse, this ain't it.

You could just be honest about it, that you had and have no intention of taking me seriously, or however else you want to express it.

I came here to post that the Jackson deal made sense when seen in the context of the rebuild. To look at how his profile fits in with a rebuild and recruiting strategy which started in 2019.

You want to make the whole thing about tertiary points I made in support relating to Benning (a point which you misunderstood because you were looking for something to be critical of), whether 6 games over 4 seasons is a lot, and me being incorrect about whether one of the potential gun players you've recruited (on his incredible running power alone Frederick will be a very good AFL half forward) was tied to your NGA.

At the end of the day, Jackson for what is really 1 first round pick and a second round pick is almost a steal. That's all it is. He's still a 10 to 12 year player. In terms of list profile he is another first round pick.

There are plenty of ways it can work with Darcy. It could be as a KPF or Jackson could be a utility in the mould of Blicavs, who is one of the most valuable players in the league.

I never actually said the deal works or doesn't work based on whether Jackson is a KPF. I discussed it in terms or his generational talent. He is being criticised in the media at the moment because of his lack of impact forward. There are pretty good reasons for that.

I wonder if that means Liam will head there now instead :think:
Not a bad outcome if that is the case. Whilst Kosi is an awesome player we need to really pull back on these high cost trades.

Henry if he can’t cement his spot in the team, which looks likely will leave and if so we make out as best we can. A late second would be a great outcome if we can get that.

Not a bad outcome if that is the case. Whilst Kosi is an awesome player we need to really pull back on these high cost trades.

Henry if he can’t cement his spot in the team, which looks likely will leave and if so we make out as best we can. A late second would be a great outcome if we can get that.
It wouldn't be high cost, future first for a proven player would be a win. You have seen how valuable Sonny is, we will need a replacement soon for him.

What do you consider the difference between a draft pick and trading a draft pick for a young player like kosi?

I'd take Liam Ryan in a heartbeat.

But not while contracted. Cost too much and the thought of helping West Coasts rebuild is distasteful. Ha.

You could just be honest about it, that you had and have no intention of taking me seriously, or however else you want to express it.

I came here to post that the Jackson deal made sense when seen in the context of the rebuild. To look at how his profile fits in with a rebuild and recruiting strategy which started in 2019.

You want to make the whole thing about tertiary points I made in support relating to Benning (a point which you misunderstood because you were looking for something to be critical of), whether 6 games over 4 seasons is a lot, and me being incorrect about whether one of the potential gun players you've recruited (on his incredible running power alone Frederick will be a very good AFL half forward) was tied to your NGA.

At the end of the day, Jackson for what is really 1 first round pick and a second round pick is almost a steal. That's all it is. He's still a 10 to 12 year player. In terms of list profile he is another first round pick.

There are plenty of ways it can work with Darcy. It could be as a KPF or Jackson could be a utility in the mould of Blicavs, who is one of the most valuable players in the league.

I never actually said the deal works or doesn't work based on whether Jackson is a KPF. I discussed it in terms or his generational talent. He is being criticised in the media at the moment because of his lack of impact forward. There are pretty good reasons for that.
I'm not taking you seriously because I think your opinions are generic yet you think you've stumbled on some great insight. They add literally nothing new and do it in a condescending tone.

Take the time to scroll back through all of our threads on Jackson and you'll find everything you've said, except without people tying their arguments to factually incorrect statements. I disagreed with them there too and you can read that if you like.