Autopsy 2023 Rd 8 Mediocre Blues gone after Quarter time

Who played well for the Blues in Round 8 vs Brisbane?

Yep it’s been tough for us 90s kids. Every year just gets harder and harder to accept. Still holding out hope I see one in my lifetime. What a time it will be!

My old man grew up in Sth Melbourne, and was a dyed in the wool Blood. Born in '38, he never saw a premiership in his 70 years. I made the very lucky decision to follow the only footballer I'd ever heard of to follow Barrassi to Carlton in '65. 8 flags later.....

We continue to play with 15 men (our 3 small forwards are f***** useless)
I'm not going to get excited about a goal or some junk time highlights
They are rarely front and centre
They never cause a turnover/HTB
They rarely get separation
Tonight, we played with about 10 men cause most of our midfield were absolute trash...yes folks, the same stellar midfield that Dow can't break into...the same midfield that contains our captain having a laugh after the game and the same midfield who were embarrassed by not only the Lions, but embarrassed by Kennedy's output in the last qtr

Lost it in the middle again. Stats don't really show it but they beat us pretty convincingly around the packs. They were constantly standing up in tackles and dishing it off, we were constantly doing the opposite. Even though the stats looked even they got the ball out away from the packs much more easily than we did tonight.

This. Aided by the bewilderingly lopsided HTB calls
Pitto’s ruckwork was poor tonight, didn’t see too many taps to our advantage. Maybe our midfielders were out of touch and out of position which didn’t help…but the connection between ruck and midfield players just wasn’t there.

I’m glad the coaches recognised Young needed to be subbed off. He was just awful. His panic with ball in hand summed up the rest of our defence tonight.

Newman, Weitering, Saad are our leaders and they put us to the sword tonight with constant brain fades and turnovers. Just horrible.

Cripps and Hewett both poor.

Cez incredible. Leading our BNF easily.

Honey’s time has come and gone sadly.

IN: Unsure
OUT: Honey and ECurnow. Young is extremely lucky that Durdin is injured.

Can't get over some of the really lazy efforts...

Young, Weitering, Newman, Ed, Cripps... many others..

The gall of Cripps to start laughing as soon as the game was over too... you'd think the *en captain of the club would be hurting with that result.
I absolutely cannot stand this. Totally agree.

Some of you are a pack of whingers.
We are a lower end of the 8 team at best with our current team.
Brisbane are a top 4 side and we got beaten by a better side.
Some days we will play to our absolute ceiling and beat any team.
What we need to except is that we need to find our best combination and with some injury luck play the same 26 or so players for a couple of seasons, as we move up the ladder.
Enjoy the ride cos no matter what we will win some and lose some.

On SM-A115F using BigFooty.com mobile app
You do realise we have overpaid players to the max. We have a list that is ageing fast and wont get any quicker and smarter. We have 10 to 15 players on oour list who wouldnt get a game at any top 8 team. Unless we money ball. we arent going anywhere and when tassie comes in these guys will leave is for free agency

Why do you do this?
Can't get too down like a lot of supporters. I'm optimistic. 95% of people here are down on the club. Don't need everyone saying the same thing.

Pitto’s ruckwork was poor tonight, didn’t see too many taps to our advantage. Maybe our midfielders were out of touch and out of position which didn’t help…but the connection between ruck and midfield players just wasn’t there.
Pitto has literally stopped jumping at the ball at centre bounces. Just saunters across with the arm out and tries to negate the oppo ruck. Obviously it has generally served him well, given he leads hit outs to advantage %. But he now just tries to block the opposition ruck, every time, and the umpires penalise him accordingly.

Don't kid yourself. This was not a close contest. Brisbane asserted their dominance through the 2nd and 3rd when the game was in the balance and got out to an unlooseable 40 point lead.

A few junk time goals to us doesn't make it a close contest
Pretty sure agro is taking the piss.

My old man grew up in Sth Melbourne, and was a dyed in the wool Blood. Born in '38, he never saw a premiership in his 70 years. I made the very fortuatous decision to follow the only footballer I'd ever heard of to follow Barrassi to Carlton in '65. 8 flags later.....
Great. But that was then. We are all dealing with the NOW. And what’s happening now is not unlike what was happening at Carlton in the 50’s and early 60’s, which is why the then administration went after Barassi. So try living in the moment Old Girlfriend!

JSOS never gives up. That’s literally his best quality. Has footy smarts. But he’s slow, treacle slow. He double grabs or drops everything. He’s a third tall forward, his main job is to mark the footy. He’s absolutely not the only player in the firing line but if we are fair dinkum we need to move past him.
Nah, don't agree. Footbal sides need heart and soul. Jsos and Doc are the heart and soul of this team.

First of all lions are a top 2-4 team.

Second we seem to pick and choose when we play which is infuriating.

Lots and lots of passengers tonight,Cripps/Walsh/Weiters to name a few.

We simply can’t play ECurnow and Honey anymore and I think our backline looks better without Young.

Mitch/Kemp/Weitering is enough.

Lastly Voss has no gears when it comes to coaching.Dosent seem to read the game.

We are at this stage bottom of the 8 at best.

Don't know that I agree with this.

We do have levers, 2 of them, but we are only good at 1 of them. We can't play fast for a full 4 quarters. I don't know any team that ever has, so sure we do choose "when we play" as it's just not sustainable.

Young has been good but like many young players drops his head when things aren't going his way. Hope he works past it soon but he's not the first and won't be the last. Isn't he on 50 games? Big shoes to fill for a 50 gamer.

Regardless, this game felt as though everything was against us. I can't believe the pure discrimination that was the umpiring. When was the running through the mark rule changed? And holding infringements - my god - are only applied to teams wearing navy blue. This game was decided in the umpire's locker room before the match had even begun.

Mate. Get a new club to support if you are so blasé
I'd be concerned about how the team is progressing if the coach wasn't carrying a few too many players that wouldn't be getting a game in any other top8 contending side mate - my realism makes me immune to a loss and my optimism makes me happy - but my disdain for the 'entitled' who post dribbly comments that make no sense and convey no meaning sometimes needs voicing.

I’m glad the coaches recognised Young needed to be subbed off. He was just awful. His panic with ball in hand summed up the rest of our defence tonight.

Newman, Weitering, Saad are our leaders and they put us to the sword tonight with constant brain fades and turnovers. Just horrible.

Cripps and Hewett both poor.

Cez incredible. Leading our BNF easily.

Honey’s time has come and gone sadly.

IN: Unsure
OUT: Honey and ECurnow. Young is extremely lucky that Durdin is injured.
I have seen Saad mentioned in some 'expert' AA teams thus far, I reckon he has been pretty average most of the year. No zip, poor disposal and just average (his best has been fantastic but in small doses and outside of that has been average at best)

On CPH2005 using BigFooty.com mobile app

Our midfielders badly beaten tonight.

Kennedy 12 disposals in the last quarter was a fair effort, the most of any player on ground. Should be starting next week.
I agree but can we please stop highlighting this as an extraordinary feat. Fresh legs and fresh body vs gassed players - of course he is going to ‘dominate’

Autopsy 2023 Rd 8 Mediocre Blues gone after Quarter time