List Mgmt. 2023 Trade & List Management Thread III

I watched a youtuber talking AFL draft, seemed to know his stuff until he said it would take pick 2,3,15 and f1 to get Harley Reid. There are a lot of people out there and in here who believe in unicorns.
That would be beyond West Coast's wildest wet dreams if we offered that. You say this YouTuber knew his stuff?

As I said, pick 2 treated like it’s just another first rounder, it’s for the bloke I believe they actually want. ……..they are the most deluded and arrogant supporter base I’ve come across. That stupid pick 1 trade thread is mind numbing. Actually can’t believe how full of themselves they are. You’d think they’d been dominating the competition for eons. It‘s actually weird.
There’s even some claiming 2 and our F1 in there, plus additional picks. No way known we would even do 2 and our F1, possibly one or the other, but no way would we pair them up.
The media in Perth is a giant Eagles' arse smoke blowing machine. It's 24/7. The West is virtually an Eagles' fanzine.

Brady Rawlings doesn't get to make that sort of offer without a whole bunch of people rubber-stamping it.
Exactly. He's not some sort of lone wolf, there would be Thursfield, Clayton, Viney and Clarko all talking about the offers made.
I think it'd be highly unlikely we'd trade our F1 but theoretically if we did it would have to be to teams with multiple 1sts like the Dees (6, 11), GWS (7, 16) or maybe at a stretch the Crows (10, 14, 20) if they club is that keen on somebody else in the top 10 or as a play to get Reid. It would certainly be a bold move to trade an F1 though when it's likely a top 4 selection.

I like Highmore more.

The Rock Thank You GIF by E!

If we do trade for 1 I hope we pick Walters.....take the pressure off McKercher, erm Reid, whoever. Media guessing with the 2 and 2 of our teens picks for 1 and 23. We would have definitely tried 17/18. I reckon 2 and 15 is enough. 2,15 and 18 probably fine too for 1 and 23. As long as we have 2 of the top 3 picks, I think Brady/Clarko/Viney have a good handle on who they are targeting to fill list needs with other picks.
But if there's near certainty of WCE Eggles picking Reid (or McKercher) at one, then it wouldn't make sense to trade if North's real target is Walters.

Let the Iggles pick who they want with one (or they can trade it to another team if they want). North then pick their choice from the next available (Jed Walter, Colby McKercher / Harley Reid, Dan Curtin, Nick Watson, Ryley Sanders, Nate Caddy, Zane Duursma etc.).

But if there's near certainty of WCE Eggles picking Reid (or McKercher) at one, then it wouldn't make sense to trade if North's real target is Walters.

Let the Iggles pick who they want with one (or they can trade it to another team if they want). North then pick their choice from the next available (Jed Walter, Colby McKercher / Harley Reid, Dan Curtin, Nick Watson, Ryley Sanders, Nate Caddy, Zane Duursma etc.).
We'd still have to trade if we want Reid, we can't actually get Walter, GC will match the bid on Walter at pick 1 so whoever we take next becomes pick 2 and doesn't have the pressure of being the no. 1 pick.

No way suns don't match on Walters,

Walters isn’t in the open pool mate.

I’m pretty much resigned to missing out on Reid. That horse has bolted the day we beat a disinterested Gold Coast down in Tassie. Failed to win any meaningful games since round 2, yet won the meaningless one which has cost us.

Oh well. Now Reid will ask for a trade to Collingwood in 2026 - who cares

I’m pretty much resigned to missing out on Reid. That horse has bolted the day we beat a disinterested Gold Coast down in Tassie. Failed to win any manful games since round 2, yet won the meaningless one which has cost us.

We didn't have much choice, everything we did was under the microscope whether resting players or coaching moves and I suspect we got a little bit more from the AFL for not tanking that last game. Reid would be nice but we probably should've won 2-3 other games so the result was probably right in the end. It worked out well for us not having the no. 1 pick last year so let's hope the two we take can band together with Sheez and Wardlaw and form a real nucleus going forward.

I’m pretty much resigned to missing out on Reid. That horse has bolted the day we beat a disinterested Gold Coast down in Tassie. Failed to win any manful games since round 2, yet won the meaningless one which has cost us.

Meaningless, was it? Eddie's first win in 20-odd efforts, our only successful example of maintaining a lead in twenty weeks, a giant mental monkey off the back with that PC goal as the Suns pushed back, and a preseason without any crap from the media about a historic losing streak or tanking allegations.

I too want Reid. But assuming West Coast are still jizzing themselves silly with their ludicrous delusions, if we can't enact drastic change with two early shots at the first round and three later shots at it, we might as well shut up shop

List Mgmt. 2023 Trade & List Management Thread III