List Mgmt. 2023 Trade & List Management Thread

Edit: will update if ppl happy for this to sticky

Ok starting the hit list of names mentioned in any rumour as linked to us for 2023 trade period.
  • Mac Andrew
  • Hunter Clark
  • Zac Fisher
  • Sam Flanders
  • Mitch Georgiades
  • Liam Henry
  • Dougal Howard
  • Lewis Melican
  • Jack Silvagni
  • Dylan Stephens
  • Adam Tomlinson

I'd argue we are far better placed for KPF's now then we were for KPD's 12 months ago.

This time last year we had Ben Mckay, Josh Walker (coming to an end) & MM (Luff lol). Fast forward 12 months, we added Dawson through MSD who looks like a good prospect & a guy who if not swung forward in the last few games, would have finished top 3 or 4 in Freos BNF. Leaving us with two really high quality starting KPDs & a solid depth KPD in Dawson.

We currently have Larkey & Chom, with CCJ as backup KPF. Souv is a lock. I've seen enough of Chom to know that if his body stays right, he will be a player (Viney echos this). CCJ with opportunity may also be able to become a solid KPF option. Regardless, fast forward 12 months and we could have A.Reid &/or N.Caddy on our list + an FA/Traded KPF + a MSD KPF.

Things can change quickly.

I'd argue we are far better placed for KPF's now then we were for KPD's 12 months ago.

This time last year we had Ben Mckay, Josh Walker (coming to an end) & MM (Luff lol). Fast forward 12 months, we added Dawson through MSD who looks like a good prospect & a guy who if not swung forward in the last few games, would have finished top 3 or 4 in Freos BNF. Leaving us with two really high quality starting KPDs & a solid depth KPD in Dawson.

We currently have Larkey & Chom, with CCJ as backup KPF. Souv is a lock. I've seen enough of Chom to know that if his body stays right, he will be a player (Viney echos this). CCJ with opportunity may also be able to become a solid KPF option. Regardless, fast forward 12 months and we could have A.Reid &/or N.Caddy on our list + an FA/Traded KPF + a MSD KPF.

Things can change quickly.

Dunno on that one psi. Larkey is currently the only guy you'd wager playing 10 games in a row for 20 goals.

Charlie simply can't be relied on yet nor can CCJ be assumed to deliver week on week as a forward.

McKay, Walker and Corr alarmingly were the more reliable key position sub-group.

Dunno on that one psi. Larkey is currently the only guy you'd wager playing 10 games in a row for 20 goals.

Charlie simply can't be relied on yet nor can CCJ be assumed to deliver week on week as a forward.

McKay, Walker and Corr alarmingly were the more reliable key position sub-group.
Me when KC disagrees with me:
christoph waltz television GIF by Saturday Night Live

I see Larkey & McKay as comparable.

Walker whilst being a solid servant & handy stop gap, was never a medium or long-term solution. Chom is, despite being injury plagued, he and the club are very confident that he's past it now.

If we are going to include Corr, then lets include Zurhaar down the other end.

Perhaps we aren't "far" better placed, but they are absolutely comparable & I personally have our KPF stocks 2023 >> KPD stocks 2022.

Me when KC disagrees with me:
christoph waltz television GIF by Saturday Night Live

I see Larkey & McKay as comparable.

Walker whilst being a solid servant & handy stop gap, was never a long-term solution. Chom is, despite being injury plagued, he and the club are very confident that he's past it now.

If we are going to include Corr, then lets include Zurhaar down the other end.

Perhaps we aren't "far" better placed, but they are absolutely comparable & I personally have our KPF stocks 2023 >> KPD stocks 2022.

Haha.

I see you like to live dangerously.

Charlie Comben's AFL/VFL Games Played:

2020: 0
2021: 2
2022: 10

The trend is going up but if we add in his 2 underage years he's sitting at something like 20-25 games across 5 seasons.

Reckon he's a ripper but I just wouldn't factor 100% of his output into a depth chart if I was a list manager. Too risky.

Walker was the reverse in that sense. Limited but got on the park every week. So you could at least include his output in your list demographics.

Haha.

I see you like to live dangerously.

Charlie Comben's AFL/VFL Games Played:

2020: 0
2021: 2
2022: 10

The trend is going up but if we add in his 2 underage years he's sitting at something like 20-25 games across 5 seasons.

Reckon he's a ripper but I just wouldn't factor 100% of his output into a depth chart if I was a list manager. Too risky.

Walker was the reverse in that sense. Limited but got on the park every week. So you could at least include his output in your list demographics.
Charlie has had a horror run, no doubt about that.

Even with him aside, I personally I see Larkey & CCJ as a comparable combination to McKay & Walker (who despite being durable, I do not rate at all).

I recall vividly the anxiety 12 month ago on this board around KPD stocks & I have learnt through that period, that list management can change quickly with some smart moves.

We don't need a solution to all our holes at once (it would actually be impossible). IMO an additional state league/sh*tman KPF &/or developing raw KPF that our recruiters don't rate enough to select, isn't going to change our fortunes in 2023.

Lets see where we sit in 12 months time. I expect, to be doing a Christoph:
Inglourious Basterds Bingo GIF

I can't see that, but i can definitely see him being a fair way back.

I think Jy or LMac need to be made captain asap.

For a young side like ours having a guy that can plug some holes as a big body with leadership is valuable. He’ll play two more years. He should consider time under Clarkson as an apprenticeship - who wouldn’t want to learn under him. If that means playing some VFL but leads to a coaching role beyond his playing days then that would be the smart play for him and the club.

I am especially bored now that the cricket is over in two days so, like last year, I will give a synopsis, in jumper number order, of each player on the list. Obviously for newcomers to the Club it will be based on their draft notes. All comments welcome.

1 Jack Mahony

Afer three years on the list what is his weapon? At 178 cms you need a weapon to survive and I have not seen his. Good footy IQ, disciplined but not quick. We have targeted smaller forwards in recent drafts so there is plenty of completion for his place. Can he go further up the ground or maybe be a tagger? Fell out of favour when Patch took over this year. Might be playing for his career.

2. Sleevo

It might be a bit premature but perhaps he is playing for his career but if Clarko can’t get the best out of him after Naffan & Nobes couldn’t where will it leave him. His best is very good: quick, good vision, good skills, a natural line breaker but his commitment to the physical stuff has not improved. Turns 24 next month so there is time but he will need to demonstrate a commitment to the contest. It will be interesting to see where Clarko plays him as there is a lot of competition for the medium HF roles.

3. Harry

Likened to Toby Greene & if he can get close to that standard without the brain farts we will have a beauty. Good overhead, highly skilled & can sniff a goal. His type of player relies on quick ball movement into the forward line so he can use his superior play reading one-on-one & this has not been a forte of ours in recent times. The aim now must be to get him to 50 games as quickly as possible. We have a few medium forwards (Eddie, Cam, Paul C) but he has to be the priority.

4. Aidan Corr

After 2021 was a write-off injury wise, in 2022 he started to show why we recruited him. Reminds me of Scooter, without the agro, in that he can play tall & small but not on gorillas. Logue’s recruitment should free him up to be more of a rebounder and play more on the medium sized forwards.

I think Corr is more than capable of playing on the big forwards.

It's just that when the ball gets turned over and most of the time, in very close proximity of our defensive 50, how do you defend that?

I'd write off any analysis of our defensive 50 setups because what was in front of them was 100 billion times worse.

5. Curtis T

Has got better each year. He has now reached the mythical 50 game mark so the improvement should escalate. Good overhead and good skills but we have a few similar types on the list so the challenges will keep coming. It will be interesting to see where he fits in Clarko’s plans and where he is played. I suspect he will rotate thru HF & the wing & he must own this role by year’s end.

2. Sleevo

It might be a bit premature but perhaps he is playing for his career but if Clarko can’t get the best out of him after Naffan & Nobes couldn’t where will it leave him. His best is very good: quick, good vision, good skills, a natural line breaker but his commitment to the physical stuff has not improved. Turns 24 next month so there is time but he will need to demonstrate a commitment to the contest. It will be interesting to see where Clarko plays him as there is a lot of competition for the medium HF roles.

Stephenson is contracted for another 3 years.

Also Buckley did get the best out of him. His first 2 years were very good.