List Mgmt. 2023 Trade & List Management Thread

Edit: will update if ppl happy for this to sticky

Ok starting the hit list of names mentioned in any rumour as linked to us for 2023 trade period.
  • Mac Andrew
  • Hunter Clark
  • Zac Fisher
  • Sam Flanders
  • Mitch Georgiades
  • Liam Henry
  • Dougal Howard
  • Lewis Melican
  • Jack Silvagni
  • Dylan Stephens
  • Adam Tomlinson

our small and medium defenders get sucked into the contest too often as well.

A lot of our defensive woes is our players doing dumb shit but that could be because they wanna kill the ball knowing they lack agility or leg speed.

Guys like Young, Dawson, Perez, Goater and Bergman are gonna be crucial.

I want to keep McKay.

McKay at FB and Logue at CHB are a strong defensive spine you can build around.

We badly need to upgrade our small and medium defenders though.

Our back 6 is complete shite, if Mckay leaves it makes it absolute shite.

Hall, Ziebell, Corr are all terrible, Mcdonald is offering not much at all. Bergman and Logue look the only locks going forward.

In my opinion even if Mckay stays we need to spend a lot of draft picks and trades on fixing the back 6, this year.

If we're all in furious agreement that defence needs to be a priority this trade season, how much draft capital are we prepared to spend to get it into a competitive shape?

Would we be happy with say Port's first, our future second and a third for 2 players around the Bergman-Ash-Clark mark?

Or should we still be spending most of our hand on the draft?

If we're all in furious agreement that defence needs to be a priority this trade season, how much draft capital are we prepared to spend to get it into a competitive shape?

Would we be happy with say Port's first, our future second and a third for 2 players around the Bergman-Ash-Clark mark?

Personally, I think we've got enough top-tier young talent.

We should hold on to our first pick, but use the Port pick + any priority pick/s as trade bait to try and bring in quality guys at that 24-26 year old/100 games~ played mark who can really contribute as best 22 players from day 1 next season.

I don't have any specific targets in mind, but in general my role priority list would be;

1. Medium defender
2. Rebounding/run-and-carry half-back-flanker
3. Small forward
4. Ruck (pending Goldstein contract)

ports first for either ash or bergman
a future second for hunter clark

Bergman, Goater, Perez, Archer and Drury

I'd want at least 3/5 of these guys to hit - I'm confident in Bergman and Goater becoming players. I'd be looking at drafting a winger (I'll keep carrying on about Darcy Wilson and Freijah being 2 we need to work on drafting) which would allow Goater to play in defense. I like Perez but have to admit I'm slightly concerned he's on the outer and playing VFL at the moment considering his contract finishes up at the end of this year. Even if you get 3 of the names above to hit, you want to build depth and competition for spots.

I'd also potentially be looking at picking up another small/medium defender with a later pick. I'd be looking at state league for one who can come straight in and compete - a name that comes to mind is Jack Henderson from Werribee VFL but there'd be a number of others out there that could step up to AFL level.

I'd want at least 3/5 of these guys to hit

Gun to my head, I think we're looking at 2/5 at best.

So much dead wood and wasted picks.

McKay - told he's gone. :(
Hall - delist
Spicer - delist
Edward - delist, WTF
Howe - delist
Bonars - delist
Mahony - delist
Turner - delist
Goldy, Cunners, Shiels, Ziebell - all ready to retire. EDIT: Greenwood as well.
Young - seems gone, altho I reckon he's a tad stiff. Improved a lot last year.
Dawson - seems gone, altho again I reckon a bit stiff. Has looked good in VFL.
Perez - see Dawson.

Contracted and lucky IMO, not best 22 (left LMac off this one)
Lazzarro
CCJ
Corrs
Taylor
Tucker

Speculative, more hope than confidence:
Archer
Harvey
Free
Hansen
Drury

And there's Comben as well, who is injury savaged.

I'd want at least 3/5 of these guys to hit - I'm confident in Bergman and Goater becoming players. I'd be looking at drafting a winger (I'll keep carrying on about Darcy Wilson and Freijah being 2 we need to work on drafting) which would allow Goater to play in defense. I like Perez but have to admit I'm slightly concerned he's on the outer and playing VFL at the moment considering his contract finishes up at the end of this year. Even if you get 3 of the names above to hit, you want to build depth and competition for spots.

I'd also potentially be looking at picking up another small/medium defender with a later pick. I'd be looking at state league for one who can come straight in and compete - a name that comes to mind is Jack Henderson from Werribee VFL but there'd be a number of others out there that could step up to AFL level.
What bout Dawson? We already have him. Haven't been a huge fan but in VFL he has been rebounding well and improved his ball use, which was a concern last year.

I'm surprised we haven't given him more of a go this year to be honest. It's worth seeing what he has to offer at the top level before we let him go at the end of the year. I feel like he's been decent at VFL level in recent weeks and has a good athletic base to work from.

Everything seems to be suggesting that he's on the scrap heap though as he hasn't had a look in all year.

I'm surprised we haven't given him more of a go this year to be honest. It's worth seeing what he has to offer at the top level before we let him go at the end of the year. I feel like he's been decent at VFL level in recent weeks and has a good athletic base to work from.

Everything seems to be suggesting that he's on the scrap heap though as he hasn't had a look in all year.
yeah, I don't get it. Watched him last year and wasn't a fan. But he looks much better this year, especially by foot.
It's not like we have anyone great back there.
Corrs is terrible at moment and Jack is on last legs.
What have we got to lose????

Based on Corr’s form, surely we couldn’t do any worse than give Dawson a run.

If we were giving Spicer an extended run on the back of little impact, then surely they can afford to see if this bloke can make the transition?

Admittedly when you're playing the winless Coburg, it's easy to look good, but he's been in good form recently, playing with some real dash to get the ball out of the back half and going forward. He can't take the gorillas like BMac, but if the latter is leaving, I'd be keeping Dawson as depth

Hall - delist
Spicer - delist
Edward - delist, WTF
Howe - delist
Bonars - delist
Mahony - delist
Turner - delist
Goldy, Cunners, Shiels, Ziebell - all ready to retire.
Perez - see Dawson.

Lazzarro
CCJ
Corrs
Taylor
Tucker

Archer
Harvey
Free
Hansen
Drury

I generally agree with the point you make - there's a lot still to do, but I'm a little more open-minded about keeping some depth (eg Howe, Young Dawson, Perez).

It's not so long ago the senior side AND the VFL team were being pumped by 100 points - incl by stand alone sides like Frankston - but now the VFL side should be headed for finals. One reason - apart from some canny recruiting from below (eg Tyler Sellers) and 'above' (Ben Davies, Conner Downie) is that we have AFL-listed players like Howe, Young, Dawson etc in the side. It's much more likely that Archer, Harvey etc will come on in a winning culture than being belted every week by the likes of Frankston. I'd be keeping a few on your 'delist' column for that reason - retirements and obvious delists (eg Turner and Hall) should free up enough spots while leaving some experience in the 2s

I generally agree with the point you make - there's a lot still to do, but I'm a little more open-minded about keeping some depth (eg Howe, Young Dawson, Perez).

It's not so long ago the senior side AND the VFL team were being pumped by 100 points - incl by stand alone sides like Frankston - but now the VFL side should be headed for finals. One reason - apart from some canny recruiting from below (eg Tyler Sellers) and 'above' (Ben Davies, Conner Downie) is that we have AFL-listed players like Howe, Young, Dawson etc in the side. It's much more likely that Archer, Harvey etc will come on in a winning culture than being belted every week by the likes of Frankston. I'd be keeping a few on your 'delist' column for that reason - retirements and obvious delists (eg Turner and Hall) should free up enough spots while leaving some experience in the 2s
Yep, plenty of those will be kept for 12 more months. He named 26 players! (and forgot Greenwood). Some may even still be around in 2025. They're still 'deadwood/wasted picks' unless some miracles happen.

Hall - delist
Spicer - delist
Edward - delist, WTF
Howe - delist
Bonars - delist
Mahony - delist
Turner - delist
Goldy, Cunners, Shiels, Ziebell - all ready to retire. EDIT: Greenwood as well.
Perez - see Dawson.

Lazzarro
CCJ
Corrs
Taylor
Tucker

Archer
Harvey
Free
Hansen
Drury

Mate I get your angst but there's no chance all those guys leave after this season. Do you really think, with that sheer volume of necessary replacements, that we'd be any better off? Recruiters would be scrambling for anyone to plug the vacancies in the list. You're calling for a more severe version of what we did at the end of 2020. Which got us absolutely nowhere.

Calm down, give some blokes a chance, and have some faith in our development. There are ok players in most of those you mentioned, but the COVID/Nobles era has wreaked havoc with the club. We're gradually undoing the damage, and undoing the damage does not involve culling more than a third of the list in one

Admittedly when you're playing the winless Coburg, it's easy to look good, but he's been in good form recently, playing with some real dash to get the ball out of the back half and going forward. He can't take the gorillas like BMac, but if the latter is leaving, I'd be keeping Dawson as depth
He’s had a good month of footy.

Mate I get your angst but there's no chance all those guys leave after this season. Do you really think, with that sheer volume of necessary replacements, that we'd be any better off? Recruiters would be scrambling for anyone to plug the vacancies in the list. You're calling for a more severe version of what we did at the end of 2020. Which got us absolutely nowhere.

Calm down, give some blokes a chance, and have some faith in our development. There are ok players in most of those you mentioned, but the COVID/Nobles era has wreaked havoc with the club. We're gradually undoing the damage, and undoing the damage does not involve culling more than a third of the list in one
Of course there is no way they all leave at end of year.
But normally there are four obvious delistings and a few on the cusp.
This list is far too full of both!

Of course there is no way they all leave at end of year.
But normally there are four obvious delistings and a few on the cusp.
This list is far too full of both!
Reckon you've jumped the gun a bit on a couple though.

Shiels isn't ready to retire, I don't think Greenwood is either, I reckon we could get one last year out of Goldy too, but it's entirely up to him. Another year or two of those blokes driving standards could be invaluable.

Young, Perez and Dawson all have assets to their game and shouldn't be written off yet.

I also actually don't think Hall should be delisted, and instead played on a wing, but that's neither here nor there.

Howe is useful depth and has actually had some good games at the level. It's just that when he's bad he's really bad. A good VFL player and a solid leader to boot.

If Archer gets his body right, he won't die wondering, and I reckon his ceiling would a Maynard type. OP's a bitch so judgment should be reserved there.

We have the right people at the club for at least some of these blokes to flourish. They just need some time to gel, improve their fitness, and strengthen their mentality under the tutelage of staff who aren't blowing the club up from within.

He’s had a good month of footy.

He should've played yesterday ahead of Corr who looks slow, reactive, lazy with ball use and disinterested at times.