Premium Platinum
- Aug 17, 2015
- AFL Club
- St Kilda
- Other Teams
- Phi Eagles & Phillies, Liverpool, PAO FC
- Banned
- #1,126

Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
Hes 28 next year though
We've got enough young kids that also want to play as an inside mid
Geelong are one team out of many to win a flag though. The make up of every premiership team is very different and will continue to change every year I'd imagine so I wouldn't get hung up on copying themThere’s a constant obsession with clubs playing youth. Geelong have bucked that trend. The top teams are now playing a very experienced starting midfield group with their youth playing a more supporting role.
Harmes is at a good age as long as we think he’s best 22. I’d take him even know he looks like some newly discovered amphibian that’s just crawled out of the Mariana Trench.
I’m not only talking about Geelong though. The teams at the top end of the ladder are all player a more experienced midfield group. Harmes isn’t old by any measure and recruiting him wouldn’t be a short term strategy.Geelong are one team out of many to win a flag though. The make up of every premiership team is very different and will continue to change every year I'd imagine so I wouldn't get hung up on copying them
IMO we are still lacking the top end talent to win a flag.
Sydney made a grand final with quite a few young players runnig through the midfieldI’m not only talking about Geelong though. The teams at the top end of the ladder are all player a more experienced midfield group. Harmes isn’t old by any measure and recruiting him wouldn’t be a short term strategy.
Btw I wouldn’t invest too much draft capital on him. I like him as an option if free agent or very cheap.
Geelong are one team out of many to win a flag though. The make up of every premiership team is very different and will continue to change every year I'd imagine so I wouldn't get hung up on copying them
IMO we are still lacking the top end talent to win a flag, especially through the middle
Good to see you on board, but it was only a few weeks ago you were suggesting we'd stuffed the list by bringing in too many mature players and not playing kids?I don't think Geelong's midfield were that flash last year. Richmond's triple premiership midfield was only okay apart from Dusty, Sydney made the GF with a very meh midfield.
You just need good players across the ground more than a few premium mids like Carlton, Bulldogs and Melbourne have these days.
I'd say we have enough talent to take it up to most sides now. Sinclair has become absolutely elite and easily our best most impacting player now. You kind of forget how good he is rolling off HBF but watching him hit up forwards with his weighted kicks and picking up ground balls at top pace make you realise how ridiculously good he is now.
Steele, Crouch and Seb are not elite but all would be A grade. None are absolute ball pigs but they can all run and spread and all of them are super accountable two way runners. Hunter Clark looks like he might be that little ball-pig now.
Marshall isn't a perfect ruckman but he's an extra quality mid and field mark.
Our backline is solid and stingy and are holding sides to low scores- that usually translates well to finals.
I reckon King and Snags are top shelf with levels to go up and their support cast and youth back ups are looking good. Owens looks on track to be at least A grade and Phillipou won't take long to catch up.
Sydney made a grand final with quite a few young players runnig through the midfield
I'd be more than happy to make our young mids wait a little longer if we were bringing in top end talent, but It doesn't make a lot of sense to do it for a GOP mid when we aren't desperate for one
Owens will be in his third year next year, Phillipou is already starting to get some midfield minutes. I think those are the two that could take us to the next level.
Bont won a flag in his 2nd year playing as a genuine mid
Good to see you on board, but it was only a few weeks ago you were suggesting we'd stuffed the list by bringing in too many mature players and not playing kids?
I'm rapt with the way we are travelling but still think the list isn't ready to contend. Hopefully you are right though.
I wasn't taking a cheap shots mate, just pointing out it's early days and more likely we are further away then what our ladder position tells us. No need to get defensive.I said that we stuffed up timing and made the rebuild longer by trading in guys instead of drafting. It's a cycle and I think we could have shortened it by doing it the usual way. It is what it is and looks like we are getting there anyway. Good to see you taking cheap shots as usual and pretending that you were all over everything stupid that we've done in the last 10 years.
I have only heard good things about him.One of the best appointments we have made. Damien Carroll is amazing, he was my coach at gippy power back in the day and was just so methodical in the way he spoke and went about it. You would seriously run through walls if he asked you to, just an amazing bloke
On SM-G960F using BigFooty.com mobile app
100% want dow but i think he'll go to a club that can give him game time. i dont think we can do that
I'd rather 1 x Seb Ross who is going to give 100% every single week and bleed for the crest, than any number of big-name blow-ins who are here for the cheque. He's seen some crappy, crappy days, and I'd back him to lift bigtime when we get to the big stage.Yes seb has been much maligned, but at the end of the day, he has got every last drop of talent out of himself to end up a dual best and fairest winner, and will end up a 200 game player for the club. Not many players end up with a cv like that. Apart from Geary, we haven’t really had a long serving, 200+ game player since the rooey, Joey, dal days. It’s hard to play one afl game, let alone 200.
I wasn't taking a cheap shots mate, just pointing out it's early days and more likely we are further away then what our ladder position tells us. No need to get defensive.
I definitely haven't been all over everything we've done, which is exactly why I think we won't be contending unless we get some big improvement from our kids over the next 18 months.
Hope you are spot on, but feel you at be getting ahead a littleI reckon we've only scratched the surface with this list. King and Membrey playing forward will take time to settle in but you imagine that that's an area that can have an even bigger output. Guys of Jones, DMac and Billings quality are sitting outside the current best 22.
To me if we can get luck with injury and continue to cement this really solid system we can definitely expect top 4 and then it's having a ticket in the lottery. This season doesn't seem to have a dominant side and that's a very good year to have one of those tickets.
Apparently and I understand things change.Hope you are spot on, but feel you at be getting ahead a little
We will know more by the end of the year. If we miss out on a GF by a kick or two and feel that adding another GOP to the midfield rather than giving that time to kids may get us closer to a flag then I may jump on board
100%Adding Membrey and King to a 16th ranked forward line should hopefully at least get us to mid table in that area but the midfield is still a worry. To be down almost 30 in contested ball in one half is a serious smashing, how we were even in that game is a credit to Ross but that doesn’t exactly scream premiership midfield.
Adding Membrey and King to a 16th ranked forward line should hopefully at least get us to mid table in that area but the midfield is still a worry. To be down almost 30 in contested ball in one half is a serious smashing, how we were even in that game is a credit to Ross but that doesn’t exactly scream premiership midfield.
100%
Our midfield was exposed against Carlton. Against a more rounded team we would’ve been well beaten. But it’s the first time all year we’ve been beaten in the contested ball so Crouch, Steele, Ross etc have credits. In saying that I still think we need to add quality to our midfield. Perhaps that comes from within ie Owens, Pou, Wind. I wouldn’t say no to getting some more quality through free agency though. I’ve mentioned Parish a number of times. Still don’t see the knocks on him: wins plenty of his own ball, can spread & runs both ways. Yes please.
At 25, he's a good age to bridge the gap in our midfield. If you could get him for around 750k a year, it would be a great get.100%
Our midfield was exposed against Carlton. Against a more rounded team we would’ve been well beaten. But it’s the first time all year we’ve been beaten in the contested ball so Crouch, Steele, Ross etc have credits. In saying that I still think we need to add quality to our midfield. Perhaps that comes from within ie Owens, Pou, Wind. I wouldn’t say no to getting some more quality through free agency though. I’ve mentioned Parish a number of times. Still don’t see the knocks on him: wins plenty of his own ball, can spread & runs both ways. Yes please.
Parish I can get behind100%
Genuine questionWe want 1 or 2 genuine best 22 talls this off season.
Key back (weekend showed how we could use that)
Forward/ruck - another obvious one.
I’d be all over Parish but the likelihood of a player changing from one Melbourne team to another for money is very rare. That’s why I’d be all over any interstate mids.100%
100%