Preview 2024 AFL Draft General Discussion

Fair bit of pressure on the kid if they give him number 4 as well. Be a bold move but hope tigers give him number 4.
I doubt that we'd put any pressure on the kid, he is what he is, but has obviously molded his game around Dusty and why wouldn't he, I see him more in the De Goey/Raynor type, but you never know. Langford has said that he loves how Bont plays and has used him as something to attain to, Smillie has done the same with Cripps. It's just natural that the young blokes look to those players who have been and are successful to mold their games around.

You think you give him number 4?

Where do you have him?
Based on how this crop is coming along he has definitely slid into round 3. When players fall into that bracket they become a 50/50 prospect. His skill execution is poor which is a red flag and I reckon clubs tread cautiously when that’s the case. Having said that he does win a lot of the footy and can kick some decent snags.

No they won't. That's ludicrous.
Unless there's a change of policy, that's what we will do.

Since Dimma started, new draftees get high numbers and have to earn lower ones. Dusty started in 36, Astbury in 39, Grimes, Lambert and Baker all in 48, Vlastuin in 31, etc.

#12 has been vacant since Astbury retired. Edwards presented Maurice Rioli with his #10 this year, but Jack and Cotch's 8 and 9 remained vacant. I don't think we have a kid yet who's earned those legendary numbers so I expect they'll be vacant again next year, as will 2 and 4 - unless Grimes has a backman he was particularly close to who he wants to pass the #2 to.

A lot of us Tiger fans expect to see Lalor in 4 and FOS in 9 come 2026, but not in 2025. There are some who want to change that, but not me. It's an 'earn your stripes' tradition and if it was good enough for Dusty it's good enough for anyone.

Consensus is Lalor at 1 and if we trade up for 2 then FOS. Levi has no bearing on who we take at 1
Interesting that Jagga was the most nominated no 1 pick from the draftee class themselves. Pretty hard to miss with early picks this year.

Strange I think Jagga has the most upside in the draft and would be a perfect fit for Richmond but their obsession for finding the next Dusty is gonna cost them I believe

The number 1 pick saga is truly a roller coaster ride.

Before making this video I was team Lalor but after it I think I am leaning to Jagga.

Lalor / FOS / Jagga have different things they can offer, it will be interesting to see what way the club want to go.

Unless there's a change of policy, that's what we will do.

Since Dimma started, new draftees get high numbers and have to earn lower ones. Dusty started in 36, Astbury in 39, Grimes, Lambert and Baker all in 48, Vlastuin in 31, etc.

#12 has been vacant since Astbury retired. Edwards presented Maurice Rioli with his #10 this year, but Jack and Cotch's 8 and 9 remained vacant. I don't think we have a kid yet who's earned those legendary numbers so I expect they'll be vacant again next year, as will 2 and 4 - unless Grimes has a backman he was particularly close to who he wants to pass the #2 to.

A lot of us Tiger fans expect to see Lalor in 4 and FOS in 9 come 2026, but not in 2025. There are some who want to change that, but not me. It's an 'earn your stripes' tradition and if it was good enough for Dusty it's good enough for anyone.

What Richmond number is Jagga going to end up wearing though? That's the real question. :tearsofjoy: