Fixture 2024 AFL Fixture

Nope. The GWS game finished after the last train out not by a lot but too late just the same

Used to have a dedicated bus. But Covid kinda killed that off.
That's ridiculous. Our PT runs long enough hours these days but in the past we always had a dedicated footy train for night games.

Yeah a little disappointing but the way it is. Its probably too far here to have a dedicated train.

I know there are plenty that use the train for footy trips from the former bus group.

Leave early from Marvel and you can make it, from the G I'd probably have to leave at half time to be sure. But why as it is Sat/Sunday afternoon suits most twilight is all but a night game

Interesting back end. If we keep playing at the same level most weeks they should be a chance but given we are not the finished product list wise they could easily fall away again if the defense and pressure drops off. Right now we are where we are off the back of improvement in a few players but more so buy in and effort so we probably do not have anything to fall back on if the effort drops off a bit.

Can't remember all the details (Old timers disease)

Was watching the "Midweek Tackle" on fox last night and they mentioned the Essendon were asked if they wanted to play in the "Opening Round" but apparently we knocked it back as we wanted to play the Hawks as our "Round 1 game" as we want it to be a permanent fixture.

The fixture is probably one of my biggest issues with our competition.

I know this will be shot down and probably rightly so, but I reckon its worth considering a seismic shift in our game by squeezing 2 games a week in from time-to-time like they do in the EPL. This would mean every second week you play twice and games are shortened to around 15 minute qtrs. The benefits in doing this is that you get to play each team twice and the length of games would be less taxing on players on game day. The obvious draw-back is that we would need to better manage team balance from week to week. Main training sessions would be lost every second week and of course some older players would need closer management by being left out of double-up weeks. The reserves comp would be relied upon a lot more to rotate players in and out but obviously that would create issues for topping up the reserves when needed. I'd also hate to be the one creating the new fixtures to accomodate all the marquee matches and coinciding double-game weeks. Is this too demanding on our players in a contact sport? Possibly. But training modification would become more important than ever and if it's equally affecting all teams i see some merit in at least considering it.

Its either that or go for a conference style comp where you may not play West Coast for 5 years or more.

Or don't change anything and continue with this farce of a fixture...

Or kill off six or seven teams and be done with it...

Or we create a breakaway comp with other big-drawing teams and **** the AFL off completely... actually, I think I prefer this option.

I know this will be shot down and probably rightly so, but I reckon its worth considering a seismic shift in our game by squeezing 2 games a week in from time-to-time like they do in the EPL. This would mean every second week you play twice and games are shortened to around 15 minute qtrs. The benefits in doing this is that you get to play each team twice and the length of games would be less taxing on players on game day. The obvious draw-back is that we would need to better manage team balance from week to week. Main training sessions would be lost every second week and of course some older players would need closer management by being left out of double-up weeks. The reserves comp would be relied upon a lot more to rotate players in and out but obviously that would create issues for topping up the reserves when needed. I'd also hate to be the one creating the new fixtures to accomodate all the marquee matches and coinciding double-game weeks. Is this too demanding on our players in a contact sport? Possibly. But training modification would become more important than ever and if it's equally affecting all teams i see some merit in at least considering it.

Its either that or go for a conference style comp where you may not play West Coast for 5 years or more.

Or we create a breakaway comp with other big-drawing teams and **** the AFL off completely... actually, I think I prefer this option.
I reckon people carry on too much about the fixture. Of course it isnt equal but hard to say the best team doesnt win in the end. They are always going to do what maximises revenue and they dont want blow outs so will weight the fixture based on last year's results.

I am not an avid NFL follower but they have something like 30 or more teams and play around 17 matches. They have their 2 conferences but i think teams play at least some teams in the other conference but arent obviously playing each team even once. NBA has more match ups based on conferences and divisions too and not a level number of match ups.

It just is what it is. Except we shouldnt have to play Syd in Syd ever again cos that mob and their umpire friends are a bunch of cheating campaigners.

Our game is much harder physically than EPL.

Absolutely a no from me for shorter quarters. We are changing the game too much and that may lead to more injuries as players would be at full pace for longer.

No idea where this should Go but has Damien battery analysed the first half of our draw. The guys is a dead set **** breath

IF ...
non-Victorian clubs are, rightly, getting nice and worked up about favourable travel requirements of the Victorian clubs

THEN ...
they may lose their minds when they analyse the remaining Bombers' matches. Extraordinarily, having just played at the MCG, their next nine matches are scheduled for Marvel Stadium or the MCG.

No idea where this should Go but has Damien battery analysed the first half of our draw. The guys is a dead set **** breath

IF ...
non-Victorian clubs are, rightly, getting nice and worked up about favourable travel requirements of the Victorian clubs

THEN ...
they may lose their minds when they analyse the remaining Bombers' matches. Extraordinarily, having just played at the MCG, their next nine matches are scheduled for Marvel Stadium or the MCG.
Glad someone else noticed this - I used to not mind Damo’s input from time to time but now he’s shown himself to be an anti-Essendon tool. What are we supposed to do, play every interstate team on their home deck twice per year instead of once? 🤬

Our game is much harder physically than EPL.

Absolutely a no from me for shorter quarters. We are changing the game too much and that may lead to more injuries as players would be at full pace for longer.
I’m fully aware of the more taxing nature of our game compared to EPL. I’ve thought a bit about this concept recently and I think clubs would adjust to man management and the AFL would need to further modify some of the interchange rules to account for players being at full pace. There would be more recovery focus every other week and you still get full weeks of training to refine strategy. Having said all this I can’t see them ever making such a big change to the game but I think it would make for a better competition.

I think with Tassie comming in the AFL will have enough fixture headaches to deal with.

eg. With every week a team has a bye, who misses out on Gather round?

I think with Tassie comming in the AFL will have enough fixture headaches to deal with.

eg. With every week a team has a bye, who misses out on Gather round?
always port adelaide

Glad someone else noticed this - I used to not mind Damo’s input from time to time but now he’s shown himself to be an anti-Essendon tool. What are we supposed to do, play every interstate team on their home deck twice per year instead of once? 🤬
Excuse Me What GIF by CBS

If you're only just figuring this out now, I say congratulations, because you've obviously been able to avoid teading his dribble for the last 20+ years. 'Damo' is a ****ing parasite, and hates EFC with a passion

Can't remember all the details (Old timers disease)

Was watching the "Midweek Tackle" on fox last night and they mentioned the Essendon were asked if they wanted to play in the "Opening Round" but apparently we knocked it back as we wanted to play the Hawks as our "Round 1 game" as we want it to be a permanent fixture.

I hate this idea that a lots of games need to be a permanent fixture. Don’t mind Anzac Day, Dreamtime but ffs some variety is needed.

Fixture 2024 AFL Fixture