Rumour 2024 Hypothetical trade and FA Thread

Serong is every chance to be a saint next year.

Can’t fault him for looking at more opportunity especially with Battle and Barrass coming in. Had a cracking year at Box Hill, and the only reason he's not in the AFL team is because Sicily/Scrimshaw have been so good.

From a depth perspective, it would hurt us a bit. He’s been better than DGB and Phillips who are both unlikely to be on the list.

Given his age, position, VFL form and contract status I'd be asking for a second with something going back for them.

Makes sense for Serong to move, he’s too good to be so far down the depth chart.

Doubt we can ask for much really, we won’t be getting a good pick for a bloke about to be our 8th choice option as a key/intercept defender.

If it is to the saints, 30 and Serong for 24 or something similar.

Well, seeing he's contracted, why not just keep him instead of basically GIVING him away for **** all as per your suggestion?

His brother Caleb was at the Box Hill game yesterday with Meeky hopefully laying some ground work 😉. Even Josh Giddey was there in a hoodie which my son and his mate got a photo with. Their day was made regardless after that

Hope Josh was in good spirits. Absolutely demented what he had to go through with American crowds this year. There’s something very wrong with a lot of people in that country.

They can send us the Battle compo pick for him if they want him.

21, contracted and clearly good enough for AFL

St kilda currently has pick 24 (will probably end up 28 or something)
Serong and a future 3rd for that?
If there is any truth to a possible StKilda move, perhaps we can bundle him and Butler for pick 24

We do need to clear the decks a bit

It's going to be tough for all the fringe players next season if everyone stays fit.

Barrass and Battle (plus one other possibly) mean there are 2/3 less spots.

It's the freedom to send one or two of Sicily Weddle Amon Hardwick etc etc to other places up the ground which will mean a few blokes will be considering their options this off-season.

Finn, Harry, CJ, Reeves / Ramsden, Seamus, Jai and HH all probably get a gig elsewhere else - and in the best 22 for the bottom 3 sides.

Do they take the first team action in a lower side or stay for depth and 'hope' someone gets a long-term injury.

That's the only way these guys play AFL for Hawthorn next year.

They are fringe this season - next it's VFL.

And before people bring it up - yes some have a contract.

So does Tom Barrass - but he's moving clubs. Sometimes you sign a player up to get a better trade when they move on.

All the above have tried hard, and been good 'Hawthorn men', but the writing is on the wall with the new guys coming in.

I'd like to think we would do all we can to get them to new homes if they decide to move on.
And when Lewis is fit another B22 player.

Nice problem to have

Cox has already said no hasn’t he?

Does Hale want a senior gig? He’s been an assistant a while now and doesn’t ever seem to be mentioned.

If we add Barass and Battle, and seek out a third player as well - we are definitely going to have to lose at least one current best-22 player.

There's no way we can bring in three guys of this calibre and just offload some fringe players.
No

Gunston Breust frost play limited games and the team is managed better

Will also prolong careers such as Sicily as we manage the squad better and the load is spread throughout the season

Makes sense for Serong to move, he’s too good to be so far down the depth chart.

Doubt we can ask for much really, we won’t be getting a good pick for a bloke about to be our 8th choice option as a key/intercept defender.

eliminate round table GIF by Disciple

Having an extra year of picks to trade will help.

Even if Trac doesn’t get traded just pushing hard for a trade will probably make it happen.

I still reckon there is a big chance he would have asked for a trade had the clubs he wanted had the picks to get it done. So instead he tries to wait it out a year and see what happens.
Trac should just get on the piss all summer and come back looking like current day Darren Jarman.

Frost has been fantastic this year, but if we get Barrass (as 99% likely) it means he'll likely be squeezed out. So how do we feel about a player who's been key to our success this year becoming a depth player at BH next year?
It is what it is. If that is how it pans out Frost will not be the first to suffer that fate and he will not be the last.

Hawks have had a charmed run this with injury this year. That probably does not repeat. Players on the fringes will get their chance next year.

Frost has been fantastic this year, but if we get Barrass (as 99% likely) it means he'll likely be squeezed out. So how do we feel about a player who's been key to our success this year becoming a depth player at BH next year?
Everyone keeps saying this but Frost has genuinely always played when fit, even Sam has said that Frost is playing out of his usual position with Blanck out meaning that if we had a Barrass type he would be in the side just as a second tall. Frost will be in the side until his form diminishes to the point he is omitted imo, we'll move other backs into new roles before he's pushed out.

Outside of the Frost renaissance of this season I feel like he's played his best footy on the smaller/medium forwards under Clarkson.

He's got the athleticism to keep up with them on the deck but also the height and power to dominate them in the air.

I can see him releasing Hardwick forward.