Player Watch 2025 AFL Draft Thread

I had the pleasure of seeking some shade on a warm day under the same tree with Kobe’s old man at training over summer. We had a good chat for half an hour or so. All I can say is what a genuine ripping person. Will cherish it forever 😊. We spoke about the 08 granny a lot could write a couple of pages on it 😂. Dad no different to any of us with kids he was happy to have Kobe getting an opportunity to train with the Hawks, having exposure and experiencing a high performance environment to see the hard work involved/required to make it.

I got the impression that Kobe was also training at Doggies to give himself more of an opportunity but given the choice (if a spot was offered by Hawks as there were still no promises made by the club at that stage) he would choose us. As I said it is just a hunch and the impression I got as dad still loves the club.

Watching Kobe in the match sim over summer I think he only played a half. Just a kid playing against our seniors who were cracking in hard …… unfazed Kobe showed plenty of composure and was very clean with his disposal by hand and foot. He looked fantastic!
I had the pleasure of seeking some shade on a warm day under the same tree with Kobe’s old man at training over summer. We had a good chat for half an hour or so. All I can say is what a genuine ripping person. Will cherish it forever 😊. We spoke about the 08 granny a lot could write a couple of pages on it 😂. Dad no different to any of us with kids he was happy to have Kobe getting an opportunity to train with the Hawks, having exposure and experiencing a high performance environment to see the hard work involved/required to make it.

I got the impression that Kobe was also training at Doggies to give himself more of an opportunity but given the choice (if a spot was offered by Hawks as there were still no promises made by the club at that stage) he would choose us. As I said it is just a hunch and the impression I got as dad still loves the club.

Watching Kobe in the match sim over summer I think he only played a half. Just a kid playing against our seniors who were cracking in hard …… unfazed Kobe showed plenty of composure and was very clean with his disposal by hand and foot. He looked fantastic!

Looked extremely composed and highly skilled - time to bury him and pick him up in the rookie draft

I'm an Ollie Greeves fanboy, can't see him still being on the board at our carlton pick re 10-14. Scum and the aints surely keen and likely to have multiple picks in that 5-10 range unfortunately.

Given the afl is under new management, and some of the bizarre NGA eligibities that seem to keep bobbing up, wonder if hawks will try again for Oli Greeves
IMO Hawks should try and give it a fair shake. Point at all the other NGA access and raise a stink and whine like couple of other clubs that shall not be named. Point out all the other times we have been hurt, including the injustice of Buddy compo, not being treated as a special case inspite of all the evidence.

Ollie G had another big game for Eastern on the weekend, 33 touches, 7 clearances. Improved kicking, some suggest he is a bit slow but he definitely covers the ground well and can accelerate when he needs too. The kid is a unit, should play 12-15 games next year with most clubs

Star.
Take him with the Blues pick.

Is there no room to try again with Swann coming in as Football boss?

He's not we need though. We have enough of his types. Speed and versality is what we need now in our midfield. Good player but we need other sorts in there to balance out Nash, MacKenzie, Ward and if he unlikely stays Worp.

Star.
Take him with the Blues pick.

I like Harley with that pick and think that pick alone will be enough to get it done. Reid's an explosive athlete just waiting to break out after a killer off-season conditioning program, landing in a group of young fellas he connects with, and under the tutelage of a coach who absolutely knows what strings to pluck to give him a strategic individual game plan that will exploit the rest of the league.

Come play with his mate the Wizard and we'll see the version of the player so many forecast.
Would make us silly good as an on-balling group.

I like Harley with that pick and think that pick alone will be enough to get it done. Reid's an explosive athlete just waiting to break out after a killer off-season conditioning program, landing in a group of young fellas he connects with, and under the tutelage of a coach who absolutely knows what strings to pluck to give him a strategic individual game plan that will exploit the rest of the league.

Come play with his mate the Wizard and we'll see the version of the player so many forecast.
Would make us silly good as an on-balling group.
3 firsts is the starting point for Harley. That has never shifted.

On output thus far, he's worth an early 2nd round pick. Literally. Done verrry little to vindicate being the first overall pick.
If we get #4 from the Blues, I'm hunching the Eagles will want to move forward.
No other team Harley would actually want to play for will have that high a pick available for trade.
Would you take a couple late firsts from Geelong or the number #4 pick?
Will be interesting to wait and see.

Oh, and we'll have a few players on our list surplus to the most important of needs available for possible add ons.......... ;)

Harley's stats so far in his career.

18 disposals per game. (160th ranked AFL player by disposals per game)
2 marks p/g
0.5 goals p/g
3.5 tackles p/g
2 frees for, 2.5 frees against
1st in total clangers, 2nd in clangers per game in 2025

Struggles to play a team first game, can get lost in general play, not a huge tank, hasn't had NEAR the influence forward one might have imagined - even if struggling as a young player in AFL footy, has not displayed much leadership quality, no left side........
This is where I'd have Sleepy Mark start in negotiations. :cool:

On output thus far, he's worth an early 2nd round pick. Literally. Done verrry little to vindicate being the first overall pick.
If we get #4 from the Blues, I'm hunching the Eagles will want to move forward.
No other team Harley would actually want to play for will have that high a pick available for trade.
Would you take a couple late firsts from Geelong or the number #4 pick?
Will be interesting to wait and see.

Oh, and we'll have a few players on our list surplus to the most important of needs available for possible add ons.......... ;)

You aren't giving up those picks for what Harley is now. You're giving them up because he has all the tools to not only be the best player in the comp but quite possibly the best player of his generation.

Three firsts, I'd do it in a heartbeat. He's that ****ing good.

Oh, and Tony.......you know everyone else can see your snarky douchey laughing emoji's too right - not just me?
If you've got something worthwhile adding to a forum, why not post it in word form.

Too many on this Forum just go around using the red thumbs down and sneery laughing button instead of posting their thoughts.
Save that button for big the ones, no?
gun middle finger GIF

You aren't giving up those picks for what Harley is now. You're giving them up because he has all the tools to not only be the best player in the comp but quite possibly the best player of his generation.

Three firsts, I'd do it in a heartbeat. He's that ****ing good.

Yeah, no I get that.
It's why I want to trade.
But, tell me........you say 'he's that ****ing good'. Based on what games has he ripped apart in Senior football?
I kind of agree on the potential, but has not even sniffed being what you describe.
Aaaaaaand you aren't giving up three picks inside 5 are you, coz no one in their right mind would do so.
It's the relative value of high draft picks, leveraged against a player who looks for all the world like he wants to return to his home state, and who if doing so may make it hard to lever out the picks you THINK he's worth.
Again, if someone has three first rounders they're at best going to look like 10, 11, and 15.
Coz he's not going to accept going to North, Richmond, Melbourne, St Kilda, etc etc.
I think pick #4 for a wanting-to-move-forward-and-rebuild-Eagles-team might be acceptable, plus some add on players like Ned, Serong and Hust.
Anyway, happy to have shared my thoughts and happy for you to think differently.:thumbsu:

Just that one first for Harley is laughable. Nothing more is needed. Don't sook because people disagree with you.
PS: The red thumbs down means disagree. Which I do with your trading suggestions. It is a public forum.

Uh, you used laughing emoji for the post showing his stats.
I don't sook, though you may feel that way at having been called out for being douchey.
It's not a new look for you, so many won't be surprised.

Uh, you used laughing emoji for the post showing his stats.
I don't sook, though you may feel that way at having been called out for being douchey.
It's not a new look for you, so many won't be surprised.

Just do what he does and put him on ignore, and then be sure to announce it to everyone. Job's a good'n.

Player Watch 2025 AFL Draft Thread

Write your reply...